SC Defenders Discussion Thread

Re: 2011 SC Defenders Discussion Thread

MPP has made Gibbs a lock this year, he won't even play in the backline

Two cheap mature agers who haven't been discussed yet:

Karmichael Hunt (will definately play) - is he likely to make average enough to justify a bench spot? Seems to likely play as a lockdown first type early on.

Puopolo - Hawks got in knowing the Bulldogs were keen, rebounding defender so may score ok, but will he get gametime?

Hunt will be 2011's Relton Roberts, Puopolo as you mentioned would be a much better choice, Duigan should also see plenty of action early on as both he and Laidler will move into Carlton's backline as rebounding defenders whilst Gibbs moves back into the midfield.

Yeah, was actually contemplating him earlier today mate. I guess depending on what other risks find their way into my team... He'd be a pretty good risk to take if he's liekly to stay fit and keep up his average.

Bower should rack up some good scores. He isn't really suited to CHB which he was playing last year. This year hopefully one of Austin or Watson stand up and at least partially relieve Bower from CHB so he can focus more on the third tall role and his running game.

I would have thought Jack, Goodes and McVeigh were ahead of him in the tagging order.

If Mal plays more midfield he won't be able to have as many long kicks as he usually does which is what made him such a good scorer in the past.

Not many teams will tag jack considering he is used in a run with role a fair bit, and if Goodes plays up forward again this year he wont be as dangerous as he would be in the middle (Pretty hard player to tag in the middle anyways) McViegh and Malceski would sit about even in the tagging order, just depends on whether the opposition wants to stop run out of the back line or through the middle.

I would have thought Jack, Goodes and McVeigh were ahead of him in the tagging order.

If Mal plays more midfield he won't be able to have as many long kicks as he usually does which is what made him such a good scorer in the past.

Not many teams will tag jack considering he is used in a run with role a fair bit, and if Goodes plays up forward again this year he wont be as dangerous as he would be in the middle (Pretty hard player to tag in the middle anyways) McViegh and Malceski would sit about even in the tagging order, just depends on whether the opposition wants to stop run out of the back line or through the middle.

danny stanley for gold coast 114 or somthing like that and will be a regular for sure at gc at collingwood he was never that bad? cash cow maybe??

I have Goddard, Gibbs and Deledio locked in and I think Bruce, Otten and Gilbert are probables. Is Otten this year's Malceski?

Other players I'll look at will be Laidler, Drum, X Clarke, Heppell, Hibberd, etc.

EDIT: Laidler will probably be too expensive, and Clarke is injured.

I'd keep an eye on Duigan rather than Laidler. You don't draft 26 year olds unless you're going to play them and he tore up the first intra club match.

Hunt will be 2011's Relton Roberts, Puopolo as you mentioned would be a much better choice, Duigan should also see plenty of action early on as both he and Laidler will move into Carlton's backline as rebounding defenders whilst Gibbs moves back into the midfield.

No way will Hunt be Roberts. Hunt will be in the GC team all year unless "rested" for a couple of games. You don't pay that much for a guy and then not play him. He may not score well, but he'll be on the field.

I meant solely in terms of his scoring potential, he's potentially a player that could lose value from his starting price.

Coad and Toy will also play pretty much all year for them and will actually score decently, not to mention blokes like Heppell, Jacobs or Duigan who all look pencilled in for a round one start. Brodie Smith from the Crows could be another very interesting backline prospect if given a go from Round 1 aswell. It could even be possible to start two backline rookies this season given the depth of quality amongst them this season, a stark contrast to last season.

Goddard
Gibbs
Deledio
Mackie
Adcock
Otten
Heppel

Toy
Cripps
Duigan

May change Mackie but otherwise that's settled.

danny stanley for gold coast 114 or somthing like that and will be a regular for sure at gc at collingwood he was never that bad? cash cow maybe??
He always got high possessions in the VFL but then struggled big time in the AFL. I wouldn't pick him unless you saw he was doing well, and even then I'd be careful. He's got a strong body though.

A couple Im considering that havnt been mentioned are Josh Drummond and Lindsay Gilbee.

What do you guys think of these 2 this year?

Both very good SC players. Only thing with Drummond is that he gets injured a lot. Though if he has a full year i have no doubt he'll finish in the top 20 players overall.

Goddard
Gibbs
Deledio
Mackie
Adcock
Otten
Heppel

Toy
Cripps
Duigan

May change Mackie but otherwise that's settled.
If you are settling positions on February 2, you are mad.

A couple Im considering that havnt been mentioned are Josh Drummond and Lindsay Gilbee.

I want to pick Drummond, I really do. If he plays all year he'll end up in the top 7 backs with ease. But you just can't trust a guy who gets injured so much. Although, with more trades this year, he is a risk you could take and not have it hurt you as much. A case of big risk vs huge reward.

Gilbee, much better players to pick around his price. Is getting on in years and being thrown around the ground far too much these days for my liking. He's not the lock in player he once was.

@Flameboy, not a bad looking backline. Question regarding Adcock, with the Lions having lost quite a few of their midfielders from last season, do you envisage him playing more in midfield? I know Brisbane have a few youngsters that they can throw in their, specifically Polec who looks the goods however Adcock, who I always found to be a pretty decent tackler and pretty hard at it could have a nice role on the ball. Also, what is the likelihood that Josh Green will play? He is one who looks capable of being a pretty decent scorer.

If you are settling positions on February 2, you are mad.

So please inform me why i should change Goddard, Gibbs or Deledio?? Even Andy Otten and Heppell..why would i want them out?

Don't know what you're on about mate.

TheOz said:
@Flameboy, not a bad looking backline. Question regarding Adcock, with the Lions having lost quite a few of their midfielders from last season, do you envisage him playing more in midfield? I know Brisbane have a few youngsters that they can throw in their, specifically Polec who looks the goods however Adcock, who I always found to be a pretty decent tackler and pretty hard at it could have a nice role on the ball. Also, what is the likelihood that Josh Green will play? He is one who looks capable of being a pretty decent scorer.

Thanks oz. Jeddy Adcock is a fine player, i'll start by saying that. Injuries have cruelled him over the past couple of years. With Rischitelli and Brennan out, yes he will spend more time in the middle. His best footy is in the guts and he's a real grinder. Good point scorer, great leader. Though depending on injuries to players and position of the game, he could play a fair bit in defense. We'll just have to wait and see.

Not to sure on Josh Green tbh.

I had Gilbe for all 22 rounds last year. He got some ripper scores and probably helped out more then he didn't. But towards the end of the season he really dropped off and let me down in crucial games posting low scores.

So please inform me why i should change Goddard, Gibbs or Deledio?? Even Andy Otten and Heppell..why would i want them out?

Don't know what you're on about mate.
Well I don't know yet, but if you can come back to me in 50 days and your side is still the same I'd be impressed/concerned.

I can guarantee my side won't be the same haha. Just saying there won't be any major overhauls (barring injuries) between now and then.

Mark Nicoski? 198k seems cheap but im not sure.

One word, no. Will play his best footy in the pre-season and resume to be a crab once round 1 starts, if he is in their 22 to begin with.

Nathan Krakouer? Very likely to play 22 games for the Suns, and Harbrow would be tagged by a defensive forward before him. $269.7k, worthy of inclusion?