zero

May 5, 2003
Oval, SW8, South London
WA state-of-origin
by which i mean, recreational drugs

two good articles by bucks and tim lane in the age

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/afl-opened-this-pandoras-box-now-what/2007/08/26/1188066948241.html

http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/drugs-policy-is-a-wreck-buckley/2007/08/26/1188066945230.html

the AFL has no right whatsoever to know what players do in their private lives, yet they consented to testing for recreational drugs and an invasion of their privacy for the good of the game, and ultimately this has resulted in players PRIVATE MEDICAL RECORDS being published.

the AFL has failed to protect players privacy that was not easily given up. the AFLPA should scrap the policy, and not allow any more drug tests for recreational drugs for players. its none of their ****ing business. their duty of care DOES NOT extend to making decisions for them in how they live their lives, who they **** or what they do for fun.

this information should not even exist in medical facilities for money grubbing slags to steal.

in return, they should spend the money on something that is genuinely their problem and business... tests for performance enhancing drugs. they should seriously beef up testing for PEDs, including freezing urine samples from match days so that they can be revisited when testing techniques improve. this way players would not only have to content with modern testing but also FUTURE testing techniques. a pretty strong deterrent.

stop the testing for bullshit, beef up the testing for whats actually important

well - what tests do normal people have to do??

I mean.. I know if you work for a government agency you are subjected to drug tests. Do any non government agencies test for drugs?

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...as-box-now-what/2007/08/26/1188066948241.html

http://realfooty.com.au/news/news/drugs-policy-is-a-wreck-buckley/2007/08/26/1188066945230.html

the AFL has no right whatsoever to know what players do in their private lives, yet they consented to testing for recreational drugs and an invasion of their privacy for the good of the game, and ultimately this has resulted in players PRIVATE MEDICAL RECORDS being published.

the AFL has failed to protect players privacy that was not easily given up. the AFLPA should scrap the policy, and not allow any more drug tests for recreational drugs for players. its none of their ****ing business. their duty of care DOES NOT extend to making decisions for them in how they live their lives, who they **** or what they do for fun.

this information should not even exist in medical facilities for money grubbing slags to steal.

in return, they should spend the money on something that is genuinely their problem and business... tests for performance enhancing drugs. they should seriously beef up testing for PEDs, including freezing urine samples from match days so that they can be revisited when testing techniques improve. this way players would not only have to content with modern testing but also FUTURE testing techniques. a pretty strong deterrent.

I disagree

Its wrong what channel seven did.

However a club is investing thousands of dollars in a player that is going out and doing something detrimental to their health, is that fair?

I personally do not want to go watch a bunch of players that i know will get high after the match, it does not set a good example to kids :thumbsdown:

I mean.. I know if you work for a government agency you are subjected to drug tests. Do any non government agencies test for drugs?
my dad has worked for the government for at least 30 years, and my mum off and on for that long too, and neither has ever mentioned getting tested

normal people dont have to do drug tests for recreational drugs, drug tests are usually confined to industries where safety is a massive concern, like in the mining industry (where you can be sacked for having pot in your system, and fair enough, cant have a demolitions engineer high)

I believe employers have the right to test thier employee's. Im pretty sure my mate who's a software programmer, has been tested. Whatever the situation though, it's all bullshit; as long as it's not affecting work, what right should they have to intrude on your private life?

"Here is my final point. About drugs, about alcohol, about pornography and smoking and everything else. What business is it of yours what I do, read, buy, see, say, think, who I ****, what I take into my body - as long as I do not harm another human being on this planet?" -Bill Hicks

recretional drugs can be performance enhancing. Coke surely is, as I said the other day after a bit of that I'm banging like a dunny door in a cyclone when usually after a minute I'm gasping for air.

In hindsight the AFL probably wishes they had ditched there own procedures and just complied with WADA's like most other sporting codes had at the time

I suppose they were just trying to do the "right thing" by testing out of competition as well.

recretional drugs can be performance enhancing. Coke surely is, as I said the other day after a bit of that I'm banging like a dunny door in a cyclone when usually after a minute I'm gasping for air.
fair call, but coke is only performance enhancing IN COMPETITION. it should still be tested for as a PED, on match day (as it is now), but not out of competition and especially not out of season

I dont believe the actions of last week affect the trustworthy nature of this.

A criminal act (or at least has been charged) was committed. You cannot consider those types of things. The real issue here is the media giving a piece of paper 3k value encouraging others to commit crimes.

fair call, but coke is only performance enhancing IN COMPETITION. it should still be tested for as a PED, on match day (as it is now), but not out of competition and especially not out of season

no worries, makes sense

You calling me a moron haha :thumbsdown:

Kid's look up to these players, idolise them, if they take drugs then they think its ok.

Adults can understand the behavior better, research has proven that kids are influenced by their heroes.

Well i guess it's end of story then :rolleyes:

So you're in favour of drug testing for musicians and movie stars, too?
what about testing for homosexuality? sacking on a first offence?

not that long ago it was just as illegal as recreational drug use, and considered far more immoral.

people seem to put alot of stock in the fact that players are doing illegal and immoral things, and that kids might look up to them....yet morality and legality change with the times, and morality is subjective once again. if fred nile was an AFL commissioner you would probably be deregistered for have sex out of wedlock.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...as-box-now-what/2007/08/26/1188066948241.html

eagles supporter?

well no $hit, ur an eagle

I agree though.

Why should it matter if they take recreational drugs? Legality aside, playing footy is just their profession. If it isn't standard for ALL employers to test for recreational drugs, why should the AFL be any different? Moreover - why does it matter? Test them for performance enhancing drugs, sure. Who cares if they smoke weed or snort coke on occasion. Who here has honestly never ever tried even one puff of weed??

people seem to put alot of stock in the fact that players are doing illegal and immoral things, and that kids might look up to them....

It's just another example of modern laziness and lack of personal responsibility. "I can't be bothered putting the effort into raising my kid; I want society to do it for me". Kids shouldn't go around thinking that drugs are cool. But it's not AFL players' responsibility to ensure that they don't.

I'll adopt my kid if he starts to look up to Brendan Fevola.

Bidders just in case? I'll even throw in some medical records to show he's legit.

I believe employers have the right to test thier employee's. Im pretty sure my mate who's a software programmer, has been tested. Whatever the situation though, it's all bullshit; as long as it's not affecting work, what right should they have to intrude on your private life?
"Here is my final point. About drugs, about alcohol, about pornography and smoking and everything else. What business is it of yours what I do, read, buy, see, say, think, who I ****, what I take into my body - as long as I do not harm another human being on this planet?" -Bill Hicks

Everything if you are doing something ILLEGAL, :rolleyes:

I agree Zero!

Look, Coke has been in the "look the other way" category for a while now .. and there is a reasonable explanation for that.

Clubs want to win, supporters want their clubs to win and so do the club sponsors. But we are working here with 17, 18, 19, 20 year old "boys" who are in the prime of their lives, earning a fair slab of money. Don't forget, the average career in AFL is just under 3 years - so you may start at 18 - but, odds are, you'll be finished by 21.

So we have a pretty toxic mix of fit athletic boys, earning good dough, in a very popular sport, with a huge media focus.

So, in the main, the boys now don't socialise for a beer after the game due mainly to the media interest in that and also the weight gain, liver issues and all the other inherent issues that come with beer drinking.

Now let look at cocaine. (and this isn't an advertisement for it, it is just some facts and observations) It is relatively cheap and easy to get, it is somewhat socially acceptable in this day and age (esp if you're a Y-Gen bloke), it gives you the same high as having a beer. Like beer, it is hard to get addicted to - you can, but then again people get addicted to food and have a weight issues, so anything can become addictive if your personality and what you associate with that "thing" is. You don't get any of the bloating or liver issues that you get with beer.

So for a finely tuned athlete, beer will show up in your physical training over the next week or so, and in the longer term, the clubs dietician will be onto you, as they will notice physical differences. Cocaine, on the other hand, gives you the "high", and you will have some "coming down" effects the next day - but generally that's it.

So for young men who have the money, the time, and an athletic reason and the desire, will turn to cocaine as a very easy option to having a "normal" social life (ie: drinking and partying with mates)

I AM NOT CONDONING THIS BEHAVIOUR - only trying to show you why these boys do these kinds of drugs.

I think it is naive if you believe that this kinda thing is not going on in every club at some level. It is going on within a % of guys in this age bracket across this wide brown land of ours, so why not AFL, NRL, A-League etc etc.

IMHO - as long as it doesn't and isn't affecting positively (or negatively) their abilities on the field (ie: performance enhancing), then they should be free to do as they wish (as the rest of us can). If the long arm catches them in the act, outside the game, then that is when the role of police and courts will judge their character and actions.

As for role models ... well I am a dad to 2 kids and I am hopefully going to be their role model (as I will invariably be anyhow!) and it is my role to guide them through media and other info sources to what is right or wrong with their favourite footy players or business leaders or whoever!!!

Cheers

scrap tests for illicit drugs