SEASON 2018

With all the talk about SEFNL, nothing has been mentioned about junior footy. I would assume however that nothing there will really change? i.e. That the 14 AFLYR junior clubs pretty much continue as they are and whatever comp the SEFNL juniors play in also basically stays the same?

I see this below from the KDFL forum. Has anyone hears anything about this? Would be a shame to lose these clubs, they are not the strongest but it's always a nice trip up there for the Div 2 guys. When will the new league format be fully finalised?

upload_2018-6-27_17-8-56.png

Surely this league merge is a piss take?

I cannot imagine anyone with a functioning brain from the Yarra Ranges being keen for this.

I see this below from the KDFL forum. Has anyone hears anything about this? Would be a shame to lose these clubs, they are not the strongest but it's always a nice trip up there for the Div 2 guys. When will the new league format be fully finalised?

View attachment 518475
I heard Alex and Thornton had already left and the league is looking for two replacements. (I know one club has already had a pitch from the league)

Surely this league merge is a piss take?

I cannot imagine anyone with a functioning brain from the Yarra Ranges being keen for this.
Something like 80% of clubs voted in favour of it

I know there was early talk of a third division being the northern based clubs (Yea, Alex, TE, Kinglake etc.) with other clubs from that area from neighbouring comps. Whether that plan has changed or whether it's still on the cards and the poster above has confused that with leaving the comp?

There will be a third division. Powelly, yj, Warburton, kinglake, yea, yg plus they’re looking at adding two. As I said I know the valley league has already made a pitch at one club and was pretty strong in trying to get them to join.

There's currently 19 teams in yarra ranges plus the new 5 from senfl makes 25 in the new league....if your saying Alex and TE are not in ...they will need more than 2 new clubs too make 3 divisions work and where is Alex andTE off too?
Sorry. You’re correct on the numbers. 2 9s and a 7
A 10, 8 and 7
There’s plenty of ways to do it

They’ve approached leagues closer to home.

Are you suggesting they’re going to run a 2 division Como with 25 teams?

Last thing you want is a bye in Div 1. Any interest from teams like Bonnie Doon or towards Seymour who might join a northern division?

I heard Alex and Thornton had already left and the league is looking for two replacements. (I know one club has already had a pitch from the league)

Something like 80% of clubs voted in favour of it

When you say "clubs" that may be the view from 1 person at the club the league met with.

Lets look at the issues i see.

Logistics - These clubs are clearly not close. This will hurt gate takings and bar takings with many supporters not making away trips. Most clubs struggle fielding reserves and many 19s. How much harder will that be when asking them to travel ridiculous distances to get thrashed by clubs from towns of 49,000? Netballers will be a similar story

Divisions - Right now many clubs have the notoriety of being a "divison 1" side. As far as i know only 2 or 3 clubs from the Yarra Ranges will be in the Division 1 next year. Meaning at least 2 of Wandin, Healesville, Woori, Olinda will be division 2 clubs next year. These clubs being the most recent premiership sides will be relegated to a division 2 comp.

Growth of Clubs - Pakenam and Berwick for example are in Growth corridors of Melbourne. The Yarra Ranges is almost of the opposite. Some of these towns have over 40,000 people compared to 2000 of Olinda. That means more Juniors, more sponsors, more 1 point local superstars than any other club can compete with. If these SEFNL clubs get their act together itll make it virtually impossible for anyone to compete.

But but the salary cap and points? Simply the better juniors you have the more the points system is irrelevant. They will have huge amounts of juniors at all levels. They will be fielding heaps of 1 pointers compared to clubs who simply have to import many players.

Why? - The league has been going strong for many years. The premierships have been shared around and very small towns are winning them. Introducing powerhouses small teams simply cant compete with isn't going to help with the sustainability of these struggling clubs. I think thats the beauty of this league is seeing these small towns like Olinda, Healesville ect break long term droughts.

How will these tiny towns compete will clubs who have pokey machines or am i to understand they are happy to be stuck in division 2 maybe win a flag and get thrashed the following year.

When you say "clubs" that may be the view from 1 person at the club the league met with.

Logistics - These clubs are clearly not close. This will hurt gate takings and bar takings with many supporters not making away trips. Most clubs struggle fielding reserves and many 19s. How much harder will that be when asking them to travel ridiculous distances to get thrashed by clubs from towns of 49,000? Netballers will be a similar story

Divisions - Right now many clubs have the notoriety of being a "divison 1" side. As far as i know only 2 or 3 clubs from the Yarra Ranges will be in the Division 1 next year. Meaning at least 2 of Wandin, Healesville, Woori, Olinda will be division 2 clubs next year. These clubs being the most recent premiership sides will be relegated to a division 2 comp.

Growth of Clubs - Pakenam and Berwick for example are in Growth corridors of Melbourne. The Yarra Ranges is almost of the opposite. Some of these towns have over 40,000 people compared to 2000 of Olinda. That means more Juniors, more sponsors, more 1 point local superstars than any other club can compete with. If these SEFNL clubs get their act together itll make it virtually impossible for anyone to compete.

But but the salary cap and points? Simply the better juniors you have the more the points system is irrelevant. They will have huge amounts of juniors at all levels. They will be fielding heaps of 1 pointers compared to clubs who simply have to import many players.

Why? - The league has been going strong for many years. The premierships have been shared around and very small towns are winning them. Introducing powerhouses small teams simply cant compete with isn't going to help with the sustainability of these struggling clubs. I think thats the beauty of this league is seeing these small towns like Olinda, Healesville ect break long term droughts.

How will these tiny towns compete will clubs who have pokey machines or am i to understand they are happy to be stuck in division 2 maybe win a flag and get thrashed the following year.
The vote has already happened with the valley clubs mate. When I say “clubs” I mean decision makers.

You honestly believe Wandin, Healesville, Olinda and Worri won’t be in Division 1 next year? LOL

Yep, 100% at least 1 if not most likely 2 will not be.

Funnily you laugh at how stupid that sounds but that’s reality. Thats exactly my point!

Last thing you want is a bye in Div 1. Any interest from teams like Bonnie Doon or towards Seymour who might join a northern division?
I may be wrong but Bonnie Doon tried to join us when the BDFL disbanded. They were told no. The closest game they currently play is 1 Hr away.

I think a North or Hills division with - YG, Kinglake, Thornton, Yea, Alexandra, Bonnie Doon could work if they could find a few more clubs. IMO Panton Hill, Avenel, Nagambie or even Longwood could work.

I may be wrong but Bonnie Doon tried to join us when the BDFL disbanded. They were told no. The closest game they currently play is 1 Hr away.

I think a North or Hills division with - YG, Kinglake, Thornton, Yea, Alexandra, Bonnie Doon could work if they could find a few more clubs. IMO Panton Hill, Avenel, Nagambie or even Longwood could work.

No Avenel Longwood imagine Kinglake to Longwood nah.
Still say the best solution is a workable management between EFL and YVMDFA would be in the best interest, especially with the new clubs entering the competition. Yes I also concur with the YVMDFL management with a separate hill comp, this could well achievable with the inclusion's of say Chirnside and or Coldstream. Reading the articles from the current SESNFL clubs is that YVMDFL Netball arrangements are far better coordinated than EFL so if EFL were to streamline netball perhaps we could see a more inclusive comp