Official Match Thread Season 30 Round 10: East Side Hawks vs West Coast Wonders at The Eyrie

Santoz

Chief's Public Enemy #1
30k Posts 10k Posts Freeze MND Challenge 2021 Chess Club Member
Mar 10, 2006
Weir Stables
Baghdad Bombers

ji8wSz9.gif

A warm welcome to the inaugural SFA Jack Reacher Round! Of the 2012 action flick, one critic framed it as a movie, “dispensing righteous violence and hard-boiled aphorisms.” The aforementioned quote could easily be used interchangeably as a summation of this match thread this week. What an action packed game in the Sweet FA this promises to be. No doubt a season-defining affair with both teams primed and ready to roll. The real winner, of course, will be Qootball and no doubt some riled up Simmer with a score to settle.

Running the ruler over last round clearly either both teams lost, both won or one lost and one won. Regardless, this has the hallmarks of an all-time classic! Last week saw heaps of players with plenty of kicks, marks and handballs. A select few kicking some goals and the odd one getting some free kicks. Make no mistake both sides have some in form players ready to cause havoc!

Many times in life clichés like footy speeches and movie scripts alike are used repetitively because they’re familiar, comfortable and easy to do. This weekend isn’t one of those times though, it’s far too serious and important for that. Without question, no quarter will be asked and no quarter will be given. Both teams will have their noses to the wheel and shoulders to the grindstone. If they stick to the process the result will take care of itself. This is the ultimate "8 point game" and both teams will just be happy to get the 4 points. Agent93 will without a shadow of a doubt be looking to shaft the Wonders early doors whereas Sab22 is likely to have his hands full all week as he’d no doubt have his eye on a few of the bigger boys of the Hawks.

Best of luck to both teams.

Personally I could not give a fu** when you submit your team sheet and to be honest if you put it in late it will be a fun week of media but.....

As always team sheets are due at the league legend enshrined time of 11:59pm Thursday, Vic bias time.

- TL & Santo

Hi teams!

11th v 12th extravaganza :)
Jeez, we'll have a sell-out crowd for this one I feel.

The Hawks hey. Glad to see your club's still involved in the Sweet FA. Always a pleasure come Sunday night when we're through with what feels like a bye-week against you guys.

Hi Chipmunk, how was your head Saturday morning?

Jeez, we'll have a sell-out crowd for this one I feel.

The Hawks hey. Glad to see your club's still involved in the Sweet FA. Always a pleasure come Sunday night when we're through with what feels like a bye-week against you guys.

Hi Chipmunk, how was your head Saturday morning?

Got the bill later that day. 7 pints. And had 2 work socials come up later in the day which I ‘attended’.

"I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom I can tell you I don't have money, but what I do have are a very particular set of skills. Skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let me win at Games Night that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you, but if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you and I will buy you a beer."

ClarkeM to Chipmunk on Friday.

Got the bill later that day. 7 pints. And had 2 work socials come up later in the day which I ‘attended’.

"I don't know who you are. I don't know what you want. If you are looking for ransom I can tell you I don't have money, but what I do have are a very particular set of skills. Skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let me win at Games Night that'll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you, but if you don't, I will look for you, I will find you and I will buy you a beer."

ClarkeM to Chipmunk on Friday.
I must say, I was pretty shattered I couldn't get that over the line. Perhaps there's a gap in the market for intercontinental beer deliveries.

Guess I'll just have to come back to London and buy you one.

I must say, I was pretty shattered I couldn't get that over the line. Perhaps there's a gap in the market for intercontinental beer deliveries.

Guess I'll just have to come back to London and buy you one.

You are awesome and thanks for that.

To answer your question specifically, a little sore. Haven’t done one of those seshes for a long time. But doing Games Night from the pub for me worked out perfectly, I had quite the office space! The next one will be in 2 or 4 weeks I think, depending on when people are free and if people would be up for it on GF Friday.

Hello Wonders.

I look forward to definitively proving once and for all U2tigers and the other guy are the most overrated posters in the history of the league.

10% SSwans2011 is twice the poster Elton Johns Flog ever was

Do you have any other posters? I would like to talk them up to really drive this point home but their names escape me right now.

Hello Wonders.

I look forward to definitively proving once and for all U2tigers and the other guy are the most overrated posters in the history of the league.

Do you have any other posters? I would like to talk them up to really drive this point home but their names escape me right now.
I've got some gems to share with you this week, mate.

To answer your question specifically, a little sore. Haven’t done one of those seshes for a long time. But doing Games Night from the pub for me worked out perfectly, I had quite the office space! The next one will be in 2 or 4 weeks I think, depending on when people are free and if people would be up for it on GF Friday.
I'm always down for those things if I'm available for them. Would be good to get more people on - especially for akkaps' game.
Hello Wonders.

To answer your question, yes.
I've got some gems to share with you this week, mate.

Reminds me, there's this YouTube channel I've watched of two young American twins reacting to music they claim to have never heard. But they're literally listening to songs that are in every movie, commercial, radio station in the world, it's bullshit - according to me anyway.
Let me link:

... like seriously, "first time"

One question that I still don't know the answer to, did you get a pic of the Harry Potter girl?

I'm always down for those things if I'm available for them. Would be good to get more people on - especially for @akkaps' game.
So, with 7 contestants, the game took about an hour from start to end. Games i've watched only, featuring 20 players, can last 6 hours.
But definitely keen to run another game with a little bit more preparation on the rounds and everything set out.
And, I know that there are people on the M&E board that are also keen to play, so can also tag them in the hope to sign them into the SFA.

I'm always down for those things if I'm available for them. Would be good to get more people on - especially for akkaps' game.

To answer your question, yes.

Reminds me, there's this YouTube channel I've watched of two young American twins reacting to music they claim to have never heard. But they're literally listening to songs that are in every movie, commercial, radio station in the world, it's bullshit - according to me anyway.
Let me link:

... like seriously, "first time"

yeah I'm sorry no American has ever not heard the song Hey Ya! (aka the greatest pop song of all time)

Ah fu** this guy? Didn't realise the Wonders were such staunch members of the local young liberals
I'm a bit of a lefty myself.
1601285966038.png

Ah fu** this guy? Didn't realise the Wonders were such staunch members of the local young liberals

Ya barking up the wrong tree Comrade.

As I understand it, several Wonders are involved with the #goalsfortheprols movement. It is believed to have over 40 members. They are a broad united front, though I am not a member. I object to anarchists, vegans and Trotskyists.

One question that I still don't know the answer to, did you get a pic of the Harry Potter girl?

I did. I don't know whether I'm allowed to post because of BF rules. Can someone advise?

Ya barking up the wrong tree Comrade.

As I understand it, several Wonders are involved with the #goalsfortheprols movement. It is believed to have over 40 members. They are a broad united front, though I am not a member. I object to anarchists, vegans and Trotskyists.
SweetD is so liberal he believes in fairytales like capitalism, trickle down economics, equality in modern society and coal being a good energy choice

Official Match Thread Season 30 Round 10: East Side Hawks vs West Coast Wonders at The Eyrie