we have some concrete blocks for everyone whose form doesn't improveSurely our form is overdue for a positive change
We particularly need our midfield to lift
we have some concrete blocks for everyone whose form doesn't improveSurely our form is overdue for a positive change
Hey all, just thought I'd let you know I reckon we will win. Thanks, Me.
Yep, tony ‘s mob definitely mean business
We can’t fool ourselves with the lack of changes after wholesale changes the week prior
-we are all on notice
Surely our form is overdue for a positive change
Give them a tennis elbow?I’m up against JackNah_8 today. Any tips on how to tame the beast?
Geeze the things I never knew I signed up for when I agreed to be captain ...Let’s make my moist meter go off the charts today Roys. Make me order a new one
Moisty RoysGeeze the things I never knew I signed up for when I agreed to be captain ...
He does have squirrel powersNot possible.
You don't have any super powers
1951 :
A Division :
Participating clubs included :
- East Brunswick,
- Merlynston,
- Pascovale,
- Reservoir,
- Richmond District,
- South Melbourne City,
- West Coburg and
- Windsor Stars.
Finals Series :
- Preliminary Final - Merlynston 10.4.64 defeated West Coburg 5.18.48.
- Grand Final - Merlynston 16.11.107 defeated Windsor Stars 13.14.92.
A2 Division :
- Balaclava (debut),
- Brighton Reserves,
- Fitzroy Community/Youth,
- Holeproof,
- Myers,
- Southern Stars and
- Wanderers Athletic.
Finals Series :
- Preliminary Final - Fitzroy Community/Youth 6.15.51 defeated Balaclava 7.4.46.
- Grand Final - Southern Stars 10.17.77 defeated Fitzroy Community/Youth 4.6.30.
B Division :
- Box Hill 3rds,
- Camberwell 3rds,
- Northcote 3rds,
- Port Melbourne 3rds,
- Port Melbourne United,
- Prahran 3rds,
- Richmond Citizens,
- Sandringham 3rds,
- Williamstown 3rds and
- Yarraville 3rds.
Finals Series :
- Preliminary Final - Camberwell 3rds 15.9.99 defeated Port Melbourne United 12.5.77.
- Grand Final - Port Melbourne 3rds 10.14.74 defeated Camberwell 3rds 8.9.57.
? Division :
General - It does seem as though there was a C (or B2?) Division, although it is not shown in any data viewed so far. There is no guarantee that this not a junior-age competititon.
- Brighton 4ths,
- City Newsboys,
- Jolimont,
- Port Melbourne 4ths and
- Port Melbourne YMCA,
- Prahran 4ths,
- TAA Apprentices.
You’re a legend Mobbs!!! 1951 sounds about right with the year he may have been playing. He was also a boxer around that time also. And the name Ken Boyd rings a bell coming from South Melbourne. Does it have a list of players who played in that 1951 team by any chance?For TheGoatBaron :
All I have on Footypedia re the VFA Sub-District comp:
Some links to round results on Trove (the last one was a final, perhaps a premiership?):
WEEKEND SPORT RESULTS - Junior Football - The Argus (Melbourne, Vic. : 1848 - 1957) - 26 Jun 1950
CAULFIELD- OAKLEIGH LEAGUE: McKinnon, 13—6. d. Bentleigh, 11—16; G[?]en Waverly, 20—18 d. Caulfield City, 18—11; East Brighton 18—11, d. East ...trove.nla.gov.auHere are screenies of those links:
View attachment 1937879View attachment 1937880View attachment 1937881View attachment 1937882
Via Google there is a group of old footy artefacts that were once listed for sale, including a membership card for the Southern Stars. The image is tiny and when I zoom the text is too blurry to read clearly, but does seem to express premiership years which might be 1952, 56 & 57 but I can't tell for sure.
View attachment 1937883A Football (mainly) miscellany, including 1950 Sporting Life Football Fixture, 1960 Southern Stars Membership Card, 1963 College Lawn Football Club Membership Card, 1973 & '74 South Melbourne Membership Cards, 1974 Caulfield Football Club Membership
A Football (mainly) miscellany, including 1950 Sporting Life Football Fixture, 1960 Southern Stars Membership Card, 1963 College Lawn Football Club Membership Card, 1973 & '74 South Melbourne Membership Cards, 1974 Caulfield Football Club Membership Card, Carlton 1979 Premiers medallion...auctions.leski.com.au
There is a kind of blog style webpage with a reference to a player (Ken Boyd) who was invited to play with the Southern Stars. It suggests that the club was mostly stocked with painters and dockers. Also confirms Southern Stars as a premiership team in 1956 (and runners-up in 1955). Apparently he went on to play for South Melbourne.
View attachment 1937886
And Bigfooty has an old thread on the league with a couple of posts including details of a season posted by Todman who helped me HEAPS with footypedia back in the day:
Discussion - Sunday Amateur Leagues
My father in law grew up in Port Melbourne and talks about playing in the Sunday Amateur League. There was also another rival competition called the SAFA. There were up to twenty or more teams in each competition and drew enormous crowds. Ive looked in the newspapers on Trove and see it existed...www.bigfooty.com
Enjoy!
There weren't any player lists or even goalkickers/best players that I could find with any of the articles - just scores from matches as the old newspapers used to collate for each Sunday or Monday paper. But I can examine Trove a bit more and see what else shows up.You’re a legend Mobbs!!! 1951 sounds about right with the year he may have been playing. He was also a boxer around that time also. And the name Ken Boyd rings a bell coming from South Melbourne. Does it have a list of players who played in that 1951 team by any chance?
Can you send a message to them for me please? ThanksThere weren't any player lists or even goalkickers/best players that I could find with any of the articles - just scores from matches as the old newspapers used to collate for each Sunday or Monday paper. But I can examine Trove a bit more and see what else shows up.
Blokes like Todman (here) and also Phil Gluyas on Facebook might also have a lot more data than I would. If you're keen on getting more info, those would be the ones to hit up. (VFA Sub-District 1951 / 52 specifically Southern Stars FC)
Tickets? Pfft back in my day we played for pride. For bragging rights. And for the chance to write dirty words on the high score table, three letters at a time.How I imagine you now: