Prediction Sell me on Port Adelaide 2023

Well of course, Melbourne based teams don’t need to charter a flight to get to their home ground Grand Final, but certainly the promotion of a Grand Final experience.
Nah you're making up shit.

Where was our grand final promotion in 2021 then? Or the doggies?

I never saw Jack Trengove advertise a pre Grand Final flight charter on the eve of the preliminary final for supporters from SA?

Just admit it, it was cringe and embarrassing for your footy club.

Nah you're making up s**t.

You mean the one where it was literally illegal for most of your supporters to travel to WA? Yeah can't think of any reason why they would've struggled to charter a plane for that one.

That sort of promotion is absolutely commonplace among every non-Victorian side, just because you're stuck in your ignorant Melbourne bubble doesn't mean it's not a thing elsewhere.

Here's one Sydney were offering: https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL Tenant/SydneySwans/Club HQ/AM2101 GF Packages brochure_Syd.pdf

Here's a Dockers one: https://s.afl.com.au/staticfile/AFL Tenant/Fremantle/Files/2015_Grand_Final_Experience_updated.pdf

Nah you're making up s**t.

I never saw Jack Trengove advertise a pre Grand Final flight charter on the eve of the preliminary final for supporters from SA?

Just admit it, it was cringe and embarrassing for your footy club.
So ignoring my post... ok whatever you think is clearly correct in your mind.

Every club in prelim finals plan functions on the premise of making a GF.
Hell, every supporter that puts themselves in a ballot for GF tickets before their team has made it.
Or hundreds if not thousands of supporters booking flights for interstate travel on the premise their team is going to make it.

Do I want to troll through websites from years past trying to prove my point to you? No I don't.
Am I correct in what I write? Absolutely.

There seems to be a lot of buzz around Kenny (aka Lenny) and the supposed star loaded recruiting PAFC did during the trade.period,

Where is this buzz? What buzz?

All the betting agencies have us around the middle of the pack in terms of odds, there has been no extra media attention, at best the focus on us, our recruits and our prospects has been fleeting and conservative.

seems like you’re trying to make it seem like we’ve been oversold so you can call it out.

I do not think Port Adelaide addressed their desperate needs (especially in tbe key position front) during the draft and trade period, and I honestly think they will ne exposed from an offensive midfield and forward line perspective (esp under.Ken's style of.coaching)

I have been wrong before and am nor ashamed to put my hand up about precious failed predictions, but I look at Port's current list and their arguably average National Draft recruits and their on field losses (like the brilliant and grossly underrated Robbie Gray) and I see no reason why to be excited about Port Adelaide in 2023 (least from a supporter's perspective)

I believe PAFC is going to finish bottom 4 in 2023, and possible Spoon candidates.

1. Kpp front? We drafted 3 key position players and will have trouble fitting quite a few players into our first 22.

Arguably we could use an immediate upgrade on one of our key defenders but could level the same criticism at most teams.

2. Exposed from an offensive midfield and forward line perspective?

Tell me you’re reaching for straws without telling me. Jesus. We’ve brought in a host of forward line options recently including rioli and evans this year.

We’ve got rozee butters and jhf in our midfield. Telling me that midfield doesn’t have any offensive firepower? Lol. Gtfo.

3. Average national draft recruits? Huh? We did pretty damn well with the picks we had, especially when you consider we also brought in the previous years number 1 draft pick.

The kids haven’t even played yet but you’ve written them off.

4. Ports current list? Lol. It’s in pretty damn good shape, it’s certainly not a concern.

5. Our losses? Gray is an outstanding player, irreplaceable even, but he was 34 last year playing on one leg. Gray hasn’t been the irreplaceable gray for a few years now.

Who else did we lose?

6. No reason to be excited as a supporter? **** off. We’ve got plenty of things to get excited about. The developing young kfs. The young mid tyros. The recent pick 1 we just added. The development of recent highly rated players like Bergman and sinn. And so on.

7. Bottom 4 and possible spoon candidates. Get the **** out.

There’s arguments for why we might stumble from reaching the pinnacle, but what you’re suggesting is utter hogwash.

You have a history of weird anti port takes (and pro-crow opinions).

It’s really laughable, just such bad takes.

1. Kpp front? We drafted 3 key position players and will have trouble fitting quite a few players into our first 22.

Arguably we could use an immediate upgrade on one of our key defenders but could level the same criticism at most teams.

2. Exposed from an offensive midfield and forward line perspective?

Tell me you’re reaching for straws without telling me. Jesus. We’ve brought in a host of forward line options recently including rioli and evans this year.

We’ve got rozee butters and jhf in our midfield. Telling me that midfield doesn’t have any offensive firepower? Lol. Gtfo.

3. Average national draft recruits? Huh? We did pretty damn well with the picks we had, especially when you consider we also brought in the previous years number 1 draft pick.

The kids haven’t even played yet but you’ve written them off.

4. Ports current list? Lol. It’s in pretty damn good shape, it’s certainly not a concern.

5. Our losses? Gray is an outstanding player, irreplaceable even, but he was 34 last year playing on one leg. Gray hasn’t been the irreplaceable gray for a few years now.

Who else did we lose?

6. No reason to be excited as a supporter? * off. We’ve got plenty of things to get excited about. The developing young kfs. The young mid tyros. The recent pick 1 we just added. The development of recent highly rated players like Bergman and sinn. And so on.

7. Bottom 4 and possible spoon candidates. Get the * out.

There’s arguments for why we might stumble from reaching the pinnacle, but what you’re suggesting is utter hogwash.

You have a history of weird anti port takes (and pro-crow opinions).

It’s really laughable, just such bad takes.

Huh ? Crows fans would tell you the opposite with your last comment.

I have admitted I was wrong/retracted by Port finishing bottom 4 next season, which was a lazy and ill-thought of observation from me, but I still believe I am not sure where Port's improvement next season is going to be enough to make it back to the finals, and yes, I am worried still about your ruck and KPD stocks.

Absolutely will be the first to put my hand up if Port do well next season and finish in the top 4/6. .

Certainly no person grudge or bias from me against PAFC, if that is what you are implying.

Pacey engine room (midfield) a lack of true, proven KPF stock (Dixon's cooked imo) and am not sold on your ruck prospects either.

I don't believe your list bats deep either, if (hopefully not) Port Adelaide sustain injuries to key personnel next season, I think it's pretty frim

Pace in the midfield?

We’ve literally got rozee butters jhf with duursma Bergman Spp Farrell to run through there. It’s like you don’t know our list at all.

Proven kpf stock? Marshall kicked something like 45 goals last year. Georgiades has shown what he can do. We’ve got finlayson fighting for a spot and he’s more than serviceable. That lot on top of Dixon.

How many teams bat deeper than that for kpfs?

Feel free to name them.

Our list bats plenty deep.

we somehow need to work ..

Boak , wines , rozee butters jhf drew Bergman duursma into our midfield with guys like sinn Farrell Spp and more also.

That’s quality exciting talent that’s missing out.

We’ve got Marshall Georgiades Dixon and finlayson 4 starting kpfs to fit into 3 kpf spots.

We’ve got more quality half back flankers than we can play.

Ill wait to see how we can pick all of Fantasia rioli Spp into our forward line with butters / other mids like jhf probably needing to be named there cause they can’t fit into our starting midfield.

Depth is not an issue.

Any team will hurt if injuries happen to the wrong players

You don’t think melb or Geelong are screwed with injuries to the wrong players?

The issue isn’t our list. The issue isn’t that we’re crap

The issue is are we good enough to be the best? There’s question marks there. Can we beat the best teams when it matters? Those are valid questions.

Certainly no person grudge or bias from me against PAFC, if that is what you are implying
Mate, pull the other one.

How tf can you can think we'll finish wooden spooners?

You have zero credibility. Just another poster going for shock value who has ZERO idea on our list.

Mate, pull the other one.

How tf can you can think we'll finish wooden spooners?

You have zero credibility.

I have already said I was wrong/misguided about my OP finishing bottom 4/let alone the spoon ?

I have arguably zero credibility as you say, but what reason would I have to be anti Port ?

Grow up.

I have already said I was wrong/misguided about my OP finishing bottom 4/let alone the spoon ?

I have arguably zero credibility as you say, but what reason would I have to be anti Port ?

Grow up.
It's still on the OP. Don't deny it. You said it.

I dgaf if you deny it buried in the thread.

I'm not the one making stupid calls for attention, maybe you should grow up.

It's still on the OP. Don't deny it. You said it.

I dgaf if you deny it buried in the thread.

I'm not the one making stupid calls for attention, maybe you should grow up.

Zzzst. I was bit inebriated when I stated the OP, I'll admit, however I never denied posting what I did or admitting afterwards I was wrong

Regardless, I feel like you are overreacting a tad. I am still not convinced at all Port have the players (and coaching panel) to be significant players in 2023.

Just an opinion, not a prediction though..

Chill out dude.

I don’t understand why people get upset about predictions. No one can predict the future.

Port are one of the most hard to read teams going into 2023, i admit I may have gotten several things wrong with my OP, but certainly not with the intention of trolling/antagonising Port Adelaide fans (which I have been accused of doing)

We get very little news about Port Adelaide here in Melbourne (esp with regards to how their recruits/draftees are going)

Wish Port Adelaide all the best going into 2023 and wouldn't surprise me or bother me at all if they finished ahead of Carlton this season.

I do have not much faith or trust in Hinkley and his coaching though, can he get the best out of the cattle he had at his disposal ?,

Closer to bottom 4 than top 4. On the days their mids don’t break even there will be heavy scoring against the back 6.
What are you basing that on?

That weakness for us was the 2nd best defence in the league (by 13pts to you) last year despite missing the 8....

Can a port supporter tell me what major injuries they had last year?

Not being a smart arse, just don't know the team real well so thought I would ask.

Was highly deceptive because players played injured. Rd 1 were up by 4 goals late into the 3rd quarter against Brisbane at the Gabba. By this stage Duursma has been shirt fronted in the neck and subbed out (played next game hardly able to lift his arm above his shoulder played very poorly, was dropped, and never seemed to recover in the season), Aliir to a syndemosis around half time and played out the game poorly, and then Mckenzie was injured in the 4th quarter with what looked like a serious knee injury (he plays the next few games completely cooked until he is finally given a rest) and Brisbane completely runs over the top of us. Not sure how many people were already injured, but obviously fantasia, Bergman, Clurey, and Dixon were unavailable, so that's 7 first choice players by the end of round 1. The rest of the season was non stop injuries/illnesses and I doubt we ever came close to have a fully fit squad on the park.

Bergman - Had to have a minor shoulder Opp early Jan, so was touch and go to be ready for round 1. Wasn't ready by rd 1 and picked up a virus that had him in hospital (drs apparently couldn't figure it out and apparently everyone was very worried). Was unavailable for 1/3 of the season, was massively cooked for the next 1/3 and then had a decent block of games at the end of the season.

Dixon - missed half a season.

Lycett - Missed basically the whole season

Fantasia - missed the whole season

Duursma - as above, hard to quantify the effect the injury had on him. He was subbed out in rd 1, played half injured in rd 2, had a neck injury (not sure if connected) in the SANFL in the first couple of months, and seemed to never get into the season.

Aliir - Injured round 1, came back in what was called a miracle about a month later. Realistically, he wasn't even close to ready and didn't play any good until midway through the season. Also some story that he had a dodgy hand somewhere in the back half of the season so whilst he was moving well by then wasn't clunking marks like 2021.

Clurey - Can't remember the injury but had a 6 weeker in preseason and was unavailable for the first few rounds. Broke his jaw again somewhere in the middle of the season and missed another decent block of games. Might have been available for 14-18 games - but realistically never got to his best).

Wines - Played 21(20 and a bit really) games, a miracle to be honest. Had the heart issue. I assumed that that was the reason for his inability to get to contests like he had in 2021. It was found out that he had a worse knee issue that he was carrying for at least half a season. Went for a cleanout at the end of the year and discovered it was worse than first thought.

Mckenzie - Went down with what looked like a career ending ACL in rd1 - had a miraculous 'recovery' and plays next week. Was absolutely cooked, which the club acknowledges by round 6-8ish. Again hard to quantify the impact as he didn't miss that many games but went from being the quickest player at Port to being Tom Jonas.

Teakle - Gets the mid year draft, gets picked immediately, played well for a half then breaks his collarbone.

Lachie Jones - multiple soft tissue injuries - played 14 games despite arguably being best 22.

Josh Sinn - 1st rd pick that we paid a king's ransom for - looked good in the pre-season - played a game in rd 2 was slow and awful - missed most of the year with OP.

Gray - Played 16 games - injured his knee early in the season and had to be nursed through the season - was always going to fade last year, but played his worst season for the club.

Pasini - Would have got games with all of the KPD injuries. The guys who watch the SANFL reckon he was/hopefully still will be a gun. Was held back for 6 games to make sure he was good to go when called upon and then did his ACL.

Finlayson - Not injured, but his families personal struggles were not known until later in the year. Did almost nothing for the first few rounds when we cooked our season, then seemingly flicked a switch and was very consistent for the rest of the year.

Farrell - Coming back from the ACL - missed the first 5 games of the season then played 15 out of a possible 16.

Sam Skinner - looked cooked and I query how he got on our list in the first place. Nevertheless was given a chance and got about a 6-week soft tissue injury early-mid season.

Riley Bonner - contrary to media reports was first 22 - played 17 games (can't remember if it was 1 or 2 as sub). Missed a game with covid and 4 with a broken cheek/eye socket.

Miscellaneous 1 week offs for covid - can't remember all of them, but Boak was one who then strung a couple of 'meh' games afterwards. Houston missed a game but seem to come back okay.

I am sure I missed an injury or 2 in there. Hopefully it shows that we were constantly in a state of missing 5-6 players with maybe 1-2+ more still regaining fitness by playing (some when they probably shouldn't have been). Structurally, it was a huge issue as we had 5 KPDs unavailable or playing when they shouldn't have been for large parts of the first half of the season. At one point, 6'1 Bergman was playing full back in the SANFL. Whenever someone came back we seemed to pick up another 4 week injury to someone else so Port never got a clean run at it.

Realistically, these issues were basically never acknowledged by the media, because they're scumbags. I can remember one game (not sure the team) when we were winning and the commentators kept on pumping out the line on the opposition's injuries whilst failing to acknowledge we had just as many out. That's pretty consistent though as everyone trots out the covid line in 2020 when we played about 2 more games in SA than many Vic teams did in Victoria. Getting up at 3am to get on a flight to Brisbane to play at 1.30pm against a Vic side that was living in a 5 star resort with the families for the past month 200m from Metricon sure was a massive advantage to us.

Last season was a combination of underperforming, a tough draw, injuries, and losing pretty much every close game (instead of winning every close game) like we had in previous years. Basically, everything that could go wrong, did. Even with that we finished 3 games and 30% out of the bottom 4. Essendon were 15th and we pumped them by 90 points on their home deck in rd 21. That's how far away we are from the bottom 4. I can't see anyone below us from last year climbing above us. WC and North were 2 of the worst sides of the past decade. GWS underperformed, but also lost 2 quality midfielders. Essendon are poo. Adelaide's season is massively overrated. Of their 8 wins, 4 were against North/WC, 1 was against us by a kick when half our team was missing, and they got some teams at the right time (like Carlton when they started to shit the bed). Hawthorn blew up their list. GC are GC and until they string a full season together you can't trust them no matter how good the vibes are. That leaves us at 11th. I can't say we are clearly better than anyone above us, but there are a few that don't inspire fear either. St Kilda are poo, and already have injuries that should see them drop down the ladder. Does anyone trust anything Carlton does? Back to back Colemans, and a Brownlow medalist and still can't make the finals. Western Bulldogs very vulnerable in 8th. 1-7 look better than us on paper but historically at least one will shit the bed. 6-12 is where we will finish. Something completely unforeseeable has to happen to fall outside that range either several players become god tier or we cop worse injuries than last year.

Given our fixture it's more likely to be the opposite if anything. Very tough first 5 games. If we start strong, we'll finish strong. But there's every chance we come out 1-4 or 0-5 again and the sack Hinkley drums start beating unbearably loudly.
Imagine a 0-5 scenario where Ken gets sacked after Round 5, Josh Carr takes over and then we go gangbusters after, making the finals?
I'd say that it'd be a wet dream for most Port supporters

I find the way they blame Hinkley for everything a bit odd. They’ve had a good squad the last few years but not like it’s a walk up premiership squad. Better teams than Port have missed a flag in their window.

And literally every single one of those teams in the history of the VFL/AFL took less than ten years to sack their coach and try again with some fresh ideas, except Port.

Prediction Sell me on Port Adelaide 2023