Seven and Ten discuss trumping Nine's bid

Eagle87 said:
How this leads to the death of AFL is somewhat beyond me. It seems the shift to Foxtel of NRL has simply lead to audiences watching on Foxtel rather the FTA - any reason why AFL viewers wont follow suit?

Already dedicated AFL fans who can afford Foxtel may make the transition, but the opportunities for the growth of the code will be limited. What use are all the Auskick clinics in the world if those kids can't then watch a match and get inspired to keep playing Aussie Rules.

I am a recent AFL convert (from a very League-obsessed area originally), and one of the main reasons I became a fan was because of much improved coverage in Sydney. And I am not alone. Most of my swans-friends are recent converts (say, the last 5 years or so). We're all now dedicated fans. Say all you like about the dominance of League, but I firmly believe AFL can fight League and it can win. Big call, I suppose.

But it won't happen with Demitriou and Channel Nine.

As an aside, Channel 10 have done a phenomenal job promoting AFL in Sydney. They even started a weekly AFL program based in Sydney, which is exactly what we needed. Barry Hall and Adam Goodes were on the station ads. They've given to code great publicity, and I think it is wrong that their concern for the game doesn't get some consideration. Granted, they may not exactly have done it for altruistic reasons, but still...

eirinn said:
Already dedicated AFL fans who can afford Foxtel may make the transition, but the opportunities for the growth of the code will be limited. What use are all the Auskick clinics in the world if those kids can't then watch a match and get inspired to keep playing Aussie Rules.

I am a recent AFL convert (from a very League-obsessed area originally), and one of the main reasons I became a fan was because of much improved coverage in Sydney. And I am not alone. Most of my swans-friends are recent converts (say, the last 5 years or so). We're all now dedicated fans. Say all you like about the dominance of League, but I firmly believe AFL can fight League and it can win. Big call, I suppose.

As an aside, Channel 10 have done a phenomenal job promoting AFL in Sydney. They even started a weekly AFL program based in Sydney, which is exactly what we needed. Barry Hall and Adam Goodes were on the station ads. They've given to code great publicity, and I think it is wrong that their concern for the game doesn't get some consideration. Granted, they may not exactly have done it for altruistic reasons, but still...

Fair enough... just so I have a better understanding, what are the current FTA arrangements in Sydney. I understand you get a prime time game on 10 on Saturday nights but other than that (and excluding finals) what else do you get?

Also, isnt it true that NRL is primarily on Fox (as is soccer/basketball and union)? So I assume that anyone interested in sports would likely already have Fox, is this wrong?

Cheers. :)

eirinn said:

Exactly

Great Post.....helps further explain what i meant :) :thumbsu:

ChrisFooty said:
Well if this is the case, why are so many people on this board bitching and moaning about the AFL decision to go with nine/foxtel.

I will think the best way to promote AFL in the northern states is free to air exposure.

The AFL will die quickly in the northesn states. Sad, yeah sure, But thats the way Andrew Dimetriou sees things in AFL.

Well many people on this board bitch for the sake of it. Many are ill-informed and incapable of an independent thought - so I wouldnt take some sort of "vox-pop" from this board as proof of anything much.

I agree that FTA is always the best exposure but I am not sure how much the FTA you guys get at present and therefore how much it will change.

Demetriou is a worry, although I reckon that he is not stupid enough to stuff things up in developing markets just to spite 7 - although I accept that his behaviour often falls well short of what is expected of a CEO in pretty much any other industry.

Cheers :)

Eagle87 said:
Fair enough... just so I have a better understanding, what are the current FTA arrangements in Sydney. I understand you get a prime time game on 10 on Saturday nights but other than that (and excluding finals) what else do you get?

Also, isnt it true that NRL is primarily on Fox (as is soccer/basketball and union)? So I assume that anyone interested in sports would likely already have Fox, is this wrong?

Cheers. :)

Out of season, my football brain has atrophied, but IIRC, we get a Sunday game live, or near live, on Channel 9, all Swans games live (or on 1/2 hour delay if they're in Sydney), and maybe one other. We often get Friday night football at sometime between 1 and 5 on Saturday morning.

What concerns me most is that there is no guarentee of any live football, and Channel 9 are notorious for treating AFL fans poorly. Remember when the Footy Show was live in Sydney last year? It was never on TV in Sydney. Not even in the middle of the night. The International Rules this year was scheduled to start around midnight, IIRC, but got pushed back to past 2 in the morning. Daggy eighties movies take programming precedence over AFL football.

Nine have also signed a new deal for League, which includes 2 Friday night games back-to-back, free-to-air. Not sure about the other requirements.

How will it play out in September, when NRL finals are also on? Ten were wonderful this year, playing non-Swans finals either live or pretty close to it, but I can't see that happening with Nine.

I guess what worries me is that, in past, Channel Nine seem to have had the attitude that NSW/QLD = League, the rest= AFL. They buy both rights so they get good ratings in all states, but if you're an AFL follower in NSW or QLD, you're stuffed. (Same for NRL fans in the AFL states, I suppose) It's interesting that when the NRL TV rights were renegotiated this year, NRL fans were asking for better coverage of the game in rural areas and in the "growth markets" of Vic, SA and WA. How can Channel 9 possibly commit to that and to improved AFL coverage in NSW/QLD?

ChrisFooty said:
Give them an official source and thats not enough for the HaRDCORE afl fan.

If seven/ten dont get the next AFL rights, it will be R.I.P AFL in NSW, QLD, ACT.

Didn't you read that 7/10 will only do what 9 are doing should they get the rights?

Demetriou is interested in cash, not coverage, so their original deal is off.

Fred Nerk said:
Didn't you read that 7/10 will only do what 9 are doing should they get the rights?

Yeah and thats sad.....AFL footy defiantly going backwards.

Fred Nerk said:

I can only speak from experience, but channel 10 has demonstrated committment and initiative to promoting Australian Football in Sydney. Channel 9 has shown utter contempt for AFL fans in NSW. Consequently, I hope Channel 10 gets the rights.

Oh, and another poster better answered the question about current coverage here: http://www.BigFooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4423358 He's clearly got a better memory than I.

eirinn said:
Out of season, my football brain has atrophied, but IIRC, we get a Sunday game live, or near live, on Channel 9, all Swans games live (or on 1/2 hour delay if they're in Sydney), and maybe one other. We often get Friday night football at sometime between 1 and 5 on Saturday morning.

What concerns me most is that there is no guarentee of any live football, and Channel 9 are notorious for treating AFL fans poorly. Remember when the Footy Show was live in Sydney last year? It was never on TV in Sydney. Not even in the middle of the night. The International Rules this year was scheduled to start around midnight, IIRC, but got pushed back to past 2 in the morning. Daggy eighties movies take programming precedence over AFL football.

Nine have also signed a new deal for League, which includes 2 Friday night games back-to-back, free-to-air. Not sure about the other requirements.

How will it play out in September, when NRL finals are also on? Ten were wonderful this year, playing non-Swans finals either live or pretty close to it, but I can't see that happening with Nine.

I guess what worries me is that, in past, Channel Nine seem to have had the attitude that NSW/QLD = League, the rest= AFL. They buy both rights so they get good ratings in all states, but if you're an AFL follower in NSW or QLD, you're stuffed. (Same for NRL fans in the AFL states, I suppose) It's interesting that when the NRL TV rights were renegotiated this year, NRL fans were asking for better coverage of the game in rural areas and in the "growth markets" of Vic, SA and WA. How can Channel 9 possibly commit to that and to improved AFL coverage in NSW/QLD?

Thanks for that.

FNF will be on Foxtel (live) but will likely only be on Nine (if at all) in the early morning hours. Similar to the current position - but better if you have Fox.

Part of the new deal involves Nine taking on a Saturday afternoon game, Saturday night game and Sunday arvo game. Obviously these (together with FNF) is how they will meet their FTA obligations in Southern States. The interesting thing (which remains unclear), is how they will show these games in Sydney (if at all). Some of the possibilities (discussed) are:

1. They show Sat night game but not until after 9.30pm

2. They sell a Sat night game to Ten (dont laugh, this is a likely outcome)

Obviously, they will work closely with the AFL to ensure they get Swans games on as often as possible for any games into Sydney.

I understand your concern re Nine, but not so sure "the sky is falling" prophecies will come true.

By the way, they have improved the NRL coverage into Perth by basicaly putting every game either live or delayed on Fox. :)

Cheers - thanks for that! :)

eirinn said:
I can only speak from experience, but channel 10 has demonstrated committment and initiative to promoting Australian Football in Sydney. Channel 9 has shown utter contempt for AFL fans in NSW. Consequently, I hope Channel 10 gets the rights.

Oh, and another poster better answered the question about current coverage here: http://www.BigFooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4423358 He's clearly got a better memory than I.
I agree with your comments. Ch10 has been fantastic for AFL in NSW/QLD, whilst ch9 has been totally invisible in NSW/QLD.

When ch7 had the AFL rights we were able to watch the Rex Footy Panel live on Sunday, but ch9 won't show their Sunday footyshow on Sunday as they have their NRL footy show, if ch7 get it maybe we might get the Rex Footy panel back.

To be honest if ch9 get the AFL rights Sydney Swans will probably play 99% of games on saturday afternoon or sunday afternoon, as they won't show any AFL match on Ssaturday night before 9:30.

This is very worrying for AFL supporters in NSW/QLD who wants the games to continue to grow in NSW/QLD.

ChrisFooty said:
Five days to go to AFL fans will hear horrible news for the future of the game.

Pfft horrible. Both deals have pros and cons but neither deal is horrible. What the nRL would do to get such a 'horrible' deal. :rolleyes:

Murray said:
No doubt 7/10 and fox both need each other (if 7/10 win).
But it is 7/10 who will then need fox far more than fox needs 7/10.
Not only because 7/10 will never (logistically) be able to show all 8 games but fox full fills the AFL coverage component ie "live or near live" into the northern states.

Fox will have 7/10 by the nuts

why?

can there be ANY doubt, that the future involves FOX buying the rights outight at some point in the future?

This has happened in EVERY major pay tv market around the world, without exception. this is how SKY etc. have gained real organic like for like growth.

for those who don't know, BSKYB, and FOX share the same ownership ;)

what are the odds, that FOX is prepared to sit on the sidelines for 5 or 6 years? which they won't.

Have you seen the latest ch 7 olympic ad where it is a shopping line and steve bradbury comes in and gets to the front at the last minute. Oh please what a cringe of an ad.

this is the reason why I am horrified at the thought of 7 getting the footy back. they are pathetic unimaginative morons who will end up with the same old marketing rubbish they always have had to publicise the footy.

Seth said:
Have you seen the latest ch 7 olympic ad where it is a shopping line and steve bradbury comes in and gets to the front at the last minute. Oh please what a cringe of an ad.

this is the reason why I am horrified at the thought of 7 getting the footy back. they are pathetic unimaginative morons who will end up with the same old marketing rubbish they always have had to publicise the footy.

Yea i remember that amazing moment...man i was laughing my ass off when Stevie won, watching the replay of the competitors struggling to get to the line and seeing Stevie past by.....funny stuff..:D

But yea i have come to the conclusion that i dont really care which stations win the rights, as long as its for the benefit of the AFL...hopefully Andrew picks the right one..

4 days to go - every discussion above is a hypothetical until the AFL makes the big decision - and even then we will have 15 months until the beginning of the 2007 season when the new agreement begins.

Fred Nerk said:

No they will only promise that as a minimum

Crow-mo said:
been caught out Fred, retreat gracefully.

do morons breed like Rabbits around here?

Seems some don't like the facts even when shown it.

See if I care

Seth said:
alot of how football is marketed really makes me cringe. it always has.

they honestly think we are idiots

Quote 1
Fred Nerk said:
Foxtel survived for years without it. No one bought Fox Footy so they had to make it free. It's a non rating channel.

The top 20 rating shows on pay TV this year were NRL games. Not one AFL game made it.

Quote 2
Fred Nerk said:
do morons breed like Rabbits around here?

Seems some don't like the facts even when shown it.

See if I care

In response to your first quote, a number of us pointed out that the comparison between NRL & AFL on Fox is not comparing apples with apples. For example all AFL games involving WA & SA teams are FTA (live) in WA & SA and similar arrangements exist in other states.

This was further illustrated by the FTA figures provided by Dan26 showing weekly (FTA) viewers for AFL at 5million+ and FTA viewers for NRL at under 2million.

Most NRL games are exlusively on Fox. If you dont have Fox, you dont see your team most weeks (at all).

Blind Freddy would understand that showing 5 games a week on FTA and covering the home state teams on FTA would likely diminish the viewing audience for Fox. One suspects (as stated earlier) that if Fox Footy had a "super saturday" (as per NRL on Fox Sports) with no FTA competition and had say Essendon v Collingwood, then West Coast v Adelaide then Sydney v Brisbane it might outrate (Nationally) the NRL.

Instead of responding intelligently to any of these comments you instead disappear and when someone mentiones said disappearance you revert to calling them morons.

There's a few facts for you, looking forward to your response.

Eagle87 said:
Quote 1

Quote 2

In response to your first quote, a number of us pointed out that the comparison between NRL & AFL on Fox is not comparing apples with apples. For example all AFL games involving WA & SA teams are FTA (live) in WA & SA and similar arrangements exist in other states.

This was further illustrated by the FTA figures provided by Dan26 showing weekly (FTA) viewers for AFL at 5million+ and FTA viewers for NRL at under 2million.

Most NRL games are exlusively on Fox. If you dont have Fox, you dont see your team most weeks (at all).

Blind Freddy would understand that showing 5 games a week on FTA and covering the home state teams on FTA would likely diminish the viewing audience for Fox. One suspects (as stated earlier) that if Fox Footy had a "super saturday" (as per NRL on Fox Sports) with no FTA competition and had say Essendon v Collingwood, then West Coast v Adelaide then Sydney v Brisbane it might outrate (Nationally) the NRL.

Instead of responding intelligently to any of these comments you instead disappear and when someone mentiones said disappearance you revert to calling them morons.

There's a few facts for you, looking forward to your response.

:thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Seven and Ten discuss trumping Nine's bid