Seymour District Cricket Association (Part 2)

ummm think your living in a fantasy land if you think the 10g your paying mr blackwell hasn't helped these 33 blokes put their hands up. also the inclusion of trav's mate mumford also a great inclusion and i'm sure there a few others who have decided to have a dip this season. where were all these guys last season when a and b grade both sucked??

i think it's great your club had paid out the money if it has turned your club around. money well spent but don't get on here and say guys are all keen and putting their hands up cause they couldn't be stuffed last season when your club was struggling and i think those are the times when clubs really need their players to stand up!!
And b barrow....
Considering when was the last time Thier A grade played finals or a GF????
Call it what it is, the money you forked out is the sole reason your "up and about" not 33 blokes all together as one and blah blah blah
And your B grade didnt even make finals last year so a bit rich to say you "Just missed out on a GF"

And b barrow....
Call it what it is, the money you forked out is the sole reason your "up and about" not 33 blokes all together as one and blah blah blah
And your B grade didnt even make finals last year so a bit rich to say you "Just missed out on a GF"

what i was trying to say in a nice way ;)

And b barrow....
yeah they did boss they played nagambie in the semi and completely outplayed them to declared for 200 and have nagambie 8/100 off 60odd overs before stumps was called after 1/2 the first day was lost. And just to note on all this t blackwell has a lot to do with why kilmore is up and about but a lot of work has been done over the last 3 years in rebuilding the side, younger guys have been pumped through a grade and a lot of credit should go to the likes of matty wilkins and rod mcleod who to seemed to have grown an extra leg this year too. And B Barrow is not getting paid if thats what you were insinuating granted he is living with trav but he paid his own way over here and was going to play with sake but that fel thur and trav knowing the coach down there said he can play at kilmore

Lol, yeh but i'd had enough of the same arrogant blokes pumping themselves up over and over again;)
Especially when they've had so little to do with the success.

what gives u the impression we re arrogant? and how do u know how much we ve contributed to the success of the teams???

Even if Trav Blackwell had only come down and just played cricket. It would mean that Kilmore would have made the finals. But not have done as well as they are. The one major difference that I can see is the wisdom that he is passing on to all the young guys. Helping to lift every ones level of cricket. In doing so their is now pressure on people to hold there spot in any side. What Trav has done is created competative cricketers. That work as a team. He has change the whole clubs atittude. As you can see. Worth every bit of what ever he is getting paid.

Should never have taken the big luring of The Wizard to get the young blokes head out of their ar$es and to focus on playing good cricket, although I can understand knowing how keen he is to succeed.

I agree with a lot of Kilmore CC old timers who feel for guys like Wig, Matt Wilkins and Rod McLeod who these same young blokes wouldn't fire for and at times who's attidues and efforts prevented them from producing the standard of cricket many rival teams (and umps) thought they were capable of. Put it down to maturing I spose ;)

At least for Matty & Rod they are around to be part of this exciting period and to their credit are contributing majorly, and as long as the folk at KCC reckon The Wiz is worth every cent then that's all that matters. Come 2010/11 other clubs will have to increase (or for most begin) their expenditure - just as long as it raises the bar somewhat in terms of A-grade standard then who really cares . . . . . it's happening everywhere else so it was just a matter of time before the SDCA had to follow suit $$$$$$$$$$

Should never have taken the big luring of The Wizard to get the young blokes head out of their ar$es and to focus on playing good cricket, although I can understand knowing how keen he is to succeed.

I agree with a lot of Kilmore CC old timers who feel for guys like Wig, Matt Wilkins and Rod McLeod who these same young blokes wouldn't fire for and at times who's attidues and efforts prevented them from producing the standard of cricket many rival teams (and umps) thought they were capable of. Put it down to maturing I spose ;)

At least for Matty & Rod they are around to be part of this exciting period and to their credit are contributing majorly, and as long as the folk at KCC reckon The Wiz is worth every cent then that's all that matters. Come 2010/11 other clubs will have to increase (or for most begin) their expenditure - just as long as it raises the bar somewhat in terms of A-grade standard then who really cares . . . . . it's happening everywhere else so it was just a matter of time before the SDCA had to follow suit $$$$$$$$$$

I have never heard of cricket clubs paying players before. In fact back at home in Swan Hill it is written into the constution of the league that paying players is illegal so i am surprised to hear that it happens in your league. McGregor sure as hell didn't tell me that a couple of yeats ago.

By the way a late congrats on the new arrival big fella hope the lovely and bub are well:thumbsu:

I have never heard of cricket clubs paying players before. In fact back at home in Swan Hill it is written into the constution of the league that paying players is illegal so i am surprised to hear that it happens in your league. McGregor sure as hell didn't tell me that a couple of yeats ago.

By the way a late congrats on the new arrival big fella hope the lovely and bub are well:thumbsu:

Can't believe they weren't at least giving you some travel $$$ when others around that time were getting a little bit :( oh and thanks, all is well on the home front, now once things settle down I'll have to find something to do "Satdy's only" by April . . . .

think guys are forgetting the impact mumford has had down there as well. seems to be getting wickets every week!!

Cricket resumes this week, who's playing who and what can we expect from the 2nd half of season 2009/10???

sad to say it but i feel the rookery might fall off the pace even further after the new year due to lack of players making themselves available. the club has really struggled to get our best sides on the park this season.

Spose ya's will seeking to turn more 2-dayers into one dayers then ;) Perhaps we will see the Rook become advocates for (instead of being strongly against) the phantom's previous push for all 1-dayers in B&C grades???? . . . . . what has happened to the phantom anyway?

Sign of the times Jazzy, when blokes in their mid to late 30's can make comebacks and still be more than competitive in the higher grades it says a fair bit.

For me it's the lack of commitment of the younger generations that will see the SDCA on it's knee's in the not too distant future. Not all of them are keen to play the longer format these days which for me is what a decent cricketer should be rated on and from what Im hearing there's more and more reluctance to play til 5.30pm on the 2nd day regardless of the match situation.

couldn't agree more doona. must admit tho am enjoying having a run in the b's, has been fun. when we going to see you back in the whites??

Bout another 10kgs and the all clear from the quack would get me feet itchy :thumbsu:

Spose ya's will seeking to turn more 2-dayers into one dayers then ;) Perhaps we will see the Rook become advocates for (instead of being strongly against) the phantom's previous push for all 1-dayers in B&C grades???? . . . . . what has happened to the phantom anyway?

Sign of the times Jazzy, when blokes in their mid to late 30's can make comebacks and still be more than competitive in the higher grades it says a fair bit.

For me it's the lack of commitment of the younger generations that will see the SDCA on it's knee's in the not too distant future. Not all of them are keen to play the longer format these days which for me is what a decent cricketer should be rated on and from what Im hearing there's more and more reluctance to play til 5.30pm on the 2nd day regardless of the match situation.
Been here all along Doona, just not that much to respond to these days, spose I've had my say on what i think needs to happen with SDCA over the past couple of years! just waiting now for the rest of you guys to get on board with what needs to happen.
Me I'm getting ready to start pushing for ALL ONE day GAMES A B and C grades, and to those that that don't like the idea of it your reasons are old, stagnent and unconsidered.:eek:

Been here all along Doona, just not that much to respond to these days, spose I've had my say on what i think needs to happen with SDCA over the past couple of years! just waiting now for the rest of you guys to get on board with what needs to happen.
Me I'm getting ready to start pushing for ALL ONE day GAMES A B and C grades, and to those that that don't like the idea of it your reasons are old, stagnent and unconsidered.:eek:

Finally someone willing to put their hand up, like your obvious passion for your comp phanto :thumbsu: I agree though - I dont like the idea personally but I was brought up on wanting to be the best I could and two-day cricket was a big part of that, and agree even more that my thoughts are purely my own and will be unconsidered when the time comes ;)

At least when the memo hit's each club about an upcoming brainstorming session regarding this, we will know the chairman and chief in charge of the push is the phantom . . . . . all the best with it :thumbsu:

While you're at it, any chance you can have a brainstorming session with your umps about rules etc.? I saw one of the worst LBW's ever given in my life at Yea on Saturday :thumbsdown:

Pitched outside leg and hit him on the hip (as evident by the bruise it left). Bit hard to start a run chase when your skipper gets a dodgy decision straight up.

How about the call of 'short run' when the batsmen strolled through for a SINGLE! Apparently the batsmen backed up too far haha. Ah well. At least he umpires every week and is the same to all teams

Pitched outside leg and hit him on the hip (as evident by the bruise it left). Bit hard to start a run chase when your skipper gets a dodgy decision straight up.

How about the call of 'short run' when the batsmen strolled through for a SINGLE! Apparently the batsmen backed up too far haha. Ah well. At least he umpires every week and is the same to all teams

sounds plumb to me...which umpire are ya talking abt here?

Just Bakes. Not too pissed at him, he's a decent enough fella and puts up with his fair deal of shite. Everyone had a good laugh at the short run call, bizarre

Seymour District Cricket Association (Part 2)