SFL Division One - 2011

Re: Div 1 2011

i might have an idea ;) but don't want to spoil anything.

Spoil anything? You asked the question in the first place. If you knew the answer then why bother asking?

As SF said Mick Stinear fits the bill but is hardly new to the comp. Has been back in Melbourne for a few seasons now.

8 teams, 8 comps, 2 grounds, 1 day- melbourne metros best of the best!

On Sunday March 6th this event will be broadcast live via SEN Radio 1116 AM.

8 of the premiership teams from 2010 around Melbourne have agreed to play in a 20/20 style competition for their chance to take out the prestigious trophy of becoming Melbourne metro footballs best of the best and win their club $5000 in prizes and money.

The event and day has been organised by Benjamin Charles from SPORT SUPPORT. Also helping promote and run the event is Matty Pillios (EDFL MEDIA HOST) along with various other high profile metropolitan footballers and current or ex AFL players.The day will start at 11am and games will be played at CT Barling Reserve located at Plenty Rd, Reservoir.

The 8 clubs representing their leagues are as follows:

NFL – West Preston F.C (Ran all over powerhouse Heidelberg F.C to take 2010 premiership coach and are known to be physical.)

VAFA – Old Carey F.C (Smashed the VAFA B section comp in 2010 and now in A section will represent VAFA. Have picked up close to 8 quality players for season 2011. Old Xavs F.C declined to participate.)

GFL – South Barwon F.C (One of the favourites from a powerhouse comp. Will be at full strength and have the entire town of Geelong behind them.)

EDFL – Marby Park F.C (Back to back premiers will try and stamp its name as the strongest metro football team in the country boasting a ton of talent.)

EFL – Mulgrave F.C (Represent one of the strongest Melbourne comps and this year are in Div 1. Have recently recruited quality AFL & VFL players for season 2011. Noble Park F.C declined to participate.)

RDFL – Riddell F.C (Strong club with a massive following and will be keen to keep momentum from their 2010 premiership win.)

SFL – Clayton F.C (The club has been a powerhouse in Div 1 for a long time. Have recruited very strongly for 2011. St Kilda City F.C could not confirm.)

WRFL – Albion F.C (Stunned the WRFL winning the 2010 flag and with some new recruits will give it a shake. Coming from a comp with physical football.

EXTRA EVENTS

“Melbournes Fittest Footballer” (Vertical Leap, 20 Metre Sprints and Push Up Comp.)

“Grand Final Curtain Raiser” (60 Person Beep Test between any local registered footballer.)

Should be a cracker of a day! What are everyones thoughts and feedback on it?

Re: 8 teams, 8 comps, 2 grounds, 1 day- melbourne metros best of the best!

Just my opinion but how can this be pitched as finding the best metro club/comp when at least 3 (VAFA, EFL, SFL) are represented by 2010 B grade clubs?

Would have more interest if Xavs, Noble Park & St.Kilda City were going up against Marby Park etc but can understand the reluctance to compete.

Pre season performances mean little but good on the organisers for trying something different. I reckon the numerous local cricket finals that weekend will attract more interest.

:thumbsdown::eek:

8 of the premiership teams from 2010 around Melbourne have agreed to play in a 20/20 style competition for their chance to take out the prestigious trophy of becoming Melbourne metro footballs best of the best and win their club $5000 in prizes and money.

The event and day has been organised by Benjamin Charles from SPORT SUPPORT. Also helping promote and run the event is Matty Pillios (EDFL MEDIA HOST) along with various other high profile metropolitan footballers and current or ex AFL players.The day will start at 11am and games will be played at CT Barling Reserve located at Plenty Rd, Reservoir.

NFL – West Preston F.C (Ran all over powerhouse Heidelberg F.C to take 2010 premiership coach and are known to be physical.)

VAFA – Old Carey F.C (Smashed the VAFA B section comp in 2010 and now in A section will represent VAFA. Have picked up close to 8 quality players for season 2011. Old Xavs F.C declined to participate.)

GFL – South Barwon F.C (One of the favourites from a powerhouse comp. Will be at full strength and have the entire town of Geelong behind them.)

EDFL – Marby Park F.C (Back to back premiers will try and stamp its name as the strongest metro football team in the country boasting a ton of talent.)

EFL – Mulgrave F.C (Represent one of the strongest Melbourne comps and this year are in Div 1. Have recently recruited quality AFL & VFL players for season 2011. Noble Park F.C declined to participate.)

RDFL – Riddell F.C (Strong club with a massive following and will be keen to keep momentum from their 2010 premiership win.)

SFL – Clayton F.C (The club has been a powerhouse in Div 1 for a long time. Have recruited very strongly for 2011. St Kilda City F.C could not confirm.)

WRFL – Albion F.C (Stunned the WRFL winning the 2010 flag and with some new recruits will give it a shake. Coming from a comp with physical football.

EXTRA EVENTS

“Melbournes Fittest Footballer” (Vertical Leap, 20 Metre Sprints and Push Up Comp.)

“Grand Final Curtain Raiser” (60 Person Beep Test between any local registered footballer.)

Should be a cracker of a day! What are everyones thoughts and feedback on it?[/quot

WHAT A LOAD OF GARBAGE WILL THERE BE CHEER LEADERS AND CARNIVAL RIDES AND SHOWBAGS:thumbsdown:

EXTRA EVENTS

Should be a cracker of a day! What are everyones thoughts and feedback on it?

Clayton will get absolutely monstered by South Barwon, the difference in standard between the GFL and SFL is huge. Mainly in the depth of the two leagues, while the best players in the SFL are extremely good and able to match it with most leagues. South Barwon has several current VFL listed(Geelong's VFL team has no reserves, listed players play GFL until called up to the senior team) and ex VFL/AFL players and last year had AFL scouts at their Grand Final.

While this competition is a good idea, the gulf between the strong teams of the VAFA, GFL, EFL, EDFL & to a lesser extent the NFL and the representatives of the other leagues is too great. The only saving grace is that the short length of the games may allow some closing of the talent gap with teams getting the 'jump' on other teams.

Also can we get an update about all 8 teams and where they will be at, whether that be predictions, ins & outs, regime changes etc rather than all the shit

Spoil anything? You asked the question in the first place. If you knew the answer then why bother asking?

As SF said Mick Stinear fits the bill but is hardly new to the comp. Has been back in Melbourne for a few seasons now.

i asked the question to see if word had got out yet, which obviously it hasn't.

will be a good pickup for whichever team has got him. has been getting a hard tag for 5 years up here, won't know what to do with himself in a real comp.

so who is it...?

A real comp? Don’t know what you have been told but the SFL is hardly elite. If he dominates the QAFL he should rip this comp apart.

Which club he is going to?

Why wouldn't they have chosen the nxt few teams in line e.g Chelsea Heights, St Pauls rather than Clayton.

Not a true representation of SFL top team and it will only embarass us.

Why wouldn't they have chosen the nxt few teams in line e.g Chelsea Heights, St Pauls rather than Clayton.

Not a true representation of SFL top team and it will only embarass us.

Like we embarassed the doggies in 06 Tiger ? And you are dreaming if you think the doggies are 2 nd in line mate seriously get your hand of it...:D
Its no wonder Snowdropper gets stuck into you really, before mouthing off you should have asked what the criteria was to be involved because you had to win the grand final to be eligable (something you have failed to do recently).
We realise there are some very strong and skillfull teams involved in this little comp but we will go out and do our best as usuall and see what happens.

Anybody know of a Chris McIldowney who may have played for the Sandrigham Dragaons U/18's about 7 or 8 years ago, he'd be about 25 now??
Just wondering what sort of a player he was, his names been thrown up as a possible recruit down home but I know nothing about him:confused:

Anybody know of a Chris McIldowney who may have played for the Sandrigham Dragaons U/18's about 7 or 8 years ago, he'd be about 25 now??
Just wondering what sort of a player he was, his names been thrown up as a possible recruit down home but I know nothing about him:confused:

in case

I like to research these things, i'd just like to know his credentials?
If he is legit and played at Sandy you'd have to think he's a fairly decent player?

BUT....let me tell you a story about Boofa McKenzie!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In the early 90's a few local's in Moe who had an association with the club noticed a bartender at the local jarshop that liked to scream his own name out!! His name was Boofa McKenzie who'd just moved to the area from downtown, now this bloke would've been 6 '3 and chiselled out of granite, but he had an unusually large head (literally like a big pumpkin), it's fair to say he wasn't the most attractive bloke going round but told anyone that would listen he was a champion footballer who'd played under 19's with Nth Melbourne!!
This soon got tongue's wagging around town and it wasn't long b4 word got back to Ken Rainsford the then Moe coach. Ken and numerous committee people tried to convince Boofa that they could do with the services of somene with his credentials even if poor Boofa was difficult to look at he still had the physique of an elite athlete! Who were we to doubt his talent?

Boofa was reluctant but finally convinced to sign with the club and it was said Ken and the match committee seriously considered playing Boofa in that weeks game against Traralgon without actually seeing him train.

Eventually it was decided Boofa would train the following week b4 making his debut with the club. Given Moe had some gun footballers running around at the time such as Gerard Foley, Dennis Ryan and Brett Szabo to name a few it seemed Boofa would be in good company with his Nth u 19's background.

Fast forward the following week and Boofa was a no show on Tuesday night training but turned up on the Thursday after Ken had phoned him.

The usual start to training a few laps warm up and some stretches then into a few hand ball drills and then some kicking lanework, well Boofa was leading out and went to mark the sherrin and as Boofa's leapt off the ground with his hands out to mark, the sherrin had hit Boofa flush on top of the melon and rebounded 20 metres over the boundary fence!!

Now either Boofa forgot to put in his contacts or it was apparent that Boofa may have pulled the wool over a few peoples eyes and I think it became obvious to Boofa he'd best get the hell out of there b4 he copped a good old touch up from a few dissappointed locals> Boofa failed to complete the session and was never ever seen again in Moe having decided it was best he move on.

This is a true story however I have tweaked it just a little to make it slightly more humerous.

I hope you can now appreciate me doing a little homework on players i've never heard of who say they have decent credentials. Cheers!!

Very amusing read Wildy. It would be a great idea for a book I reckon, a lot of country towns/clubs would have an anecdote like this particularly going back when AFL/VFL lists weren't formalised as they are now.

This guy certainly hasn't done anything of note in the SFL in the last 7-8 years, haven't heard of him.

Very amusing read Wildy. It would be a great idea for a book I reckon, a lot of country towns/clubs would have an anecdote like this particularly going back when AFL/VFL lists weren't formalised as they are now.

This guy certainly hasn't done anything of note in the SFL in the last 7-8 years, haven't heard of him.
Absolutely, I've no doubt there'd be some great stories out there of similar situations!!

thanks for the feedback.

Like we embarassed the doggies in 06 Tiger ? And you are dreaming if you think the doggies are 2 nd in line mate seriously get your hand of it...:D
Its no wonder Snowdropper gets stuck into you really, before mouthing off you should have asked what the criteria was to be involved because you had to win the grand final to be eligable (something you have failed to do recently).
We realise there are some very strong and skillfull teams involved in this little comp but we will go out and do our best as usuall and see what happens.

Homer relax buddy, if you have a look at my post it had Chelsea Heights (the runners up) and then us (who finished 3rd in 2010 season). That's a fair enough point to argue that if flags weren't the requirement, these 2 clubs would be next in line.

I didn't realise it had to be premiership winners so thats fair enough.

With regards to not winning a flag lately, you must have a short memory because 2008 wasn't that long ago.

Good luck with it...................

Rumour out of St. Kilda City is that they are struggling? Have heard that they are starting 2011 with $70,0000 in the red?

Is this just crap being spread around or is the powerhouse actually struggling?

Hey Wildy 25 how did you find the big man Kenny Rainsford as a coach? Was Paul Bryce there that year too???? I played with them both back in Tassie in 96 both a couple of party animals.....hehe

Rumour out of St. Kilda City is that they are struggling? Have heard that they are starting 2011 with $70,0000 in the red?

Is this just crap being spread around or is the powerhouse actually struggling?

Heard the same rumour, perhaps Rich has left a 3rd club in the poo!:eek: