SFL Division Two - 2012

Sorry Norman :). Diluvio had great relationship with dean andrews at parkdale and when dean got the job diluvio was priority number 1! Agree about georgie, not only would he go alright on the field if he lined up, but he would do some serious after hours damage on the fillies around the hammers and would be giving that meat axe a serious working over!!!

Bloody parkdale blokes talking crap trying to knock on C.Stephens

seriously you blokes at parky talk a fair bit of crap about skye for no reason!!

Agreed Hynesy is a quality player and Skye are a solid unit but anyone saying they should stencil them in for the premiership this year is beyond delusional. They are yet to prove themselves this year after losing to East Malvern Round 1 and beating an undermanned Southern Dragons without Abela and a quarter of their premiership squad. Beat Bentleigh this week and maybe we can take them for a genuine chance at a flag but until then they are just a mid-tier club IMO. I still have Bentleigh, Springy, Malv, Oakleigh and Murrumbeena ahead of them to round out the finals. Hampton and Skye are near a bouts giving Skye a slight advantage due to depth and Dragons, Black Rock and South Yarra will fight it out for their life to stay up in Div 2. Fair call? Waiting for all the potshots from you hammers and bombers :D:D:D

dahawkeye even though i dont rate us as low as what you rate us you basic premise is correct. We at Skye are under no illusions and trust me this premiership favourites bullcrap is laughable in our opinion, this crap aint coming from us thats for sure.

Until we beat finals teams from last year in no way are we getting ahead of ourselves, there is no doubt this weeks game against bentleigh at bentleigh is gunna be huge, these are the games that determine who will be there at the end of the year but even if either Bentleigh or Skye lose this game its round 3 and in no way is it season over!!

these games give the oppurtunity for teams to make statements to the league, just like Murrumbeenas win over Oakleigh in round 1, and East malverns win over Murrumbeena in round 2.

The boys in the senior team are pumped for this game this week, and are desperate for the oppurtunity to play against potential finals teams to prove our worth, we let ourselves down in round 1, ( i say we even though im a ressies palyer but i love my senior team dont worry about that, im the big knumbskull yellin from the sidelines) and i have no doubt the boys see this as a way to make amends

Premiership favourtism is an opinion based conversation, right now, bentleigh and Springy are on the top line of betting, throw a balanket over the next 4 teams

id-iots who hop on here and talk themselves up are not from skye or the teams they pretend to be from, obviously you blokes know that, so no need to get sucked in....

I heard last night that they should have 4 to 5 players back possibly including Abela and 2 other recruits this week, should be a great contest.

Do you know who these new recruits are and where they are coming from? Also any idea on what is happening with Yap? Has he signed with another club?
Surely he can't be sitting on the sidelines for a whole season watching his team get pumped after last weeks horrid performance.....

Do you know who these new recruits are and where they are coming from? Also any idea on what is happening with Yap? Has he signed with another club?
Surely he can't be sitting on the sidelines for a whole season watching his team get pumped after last weeks horrid performance.....
i think i remeber someone on this forum saying he has work commitments hawkeye, which is a shame would of loved seeing him run around with some of the class thats in divvy 2.

was having a beer with deano today and he let slip that Big Anthony Tasca was going to be joining the Hammers along with Greg Jenkins!! If thats the case especially with metaxis a chance, i think the hammers may suprise a few in the next couple of weeks!!

You are probably across the following from Matt Duck which makes me think you are not. If the clubs are against this they need to get off their bums and make sure it doesnt happenned. As I said earlier there is one board member ( who has done a lot of good for comp ) that wont let it go.
Whilst the League is similar to many others in terms of adopting a Promotion/Relegation system, it has differed to many other leagues in that currently only one side per division is promoted, and only one side per division is relegated each season.

The League has recently undergone an extensive review of its Promotion/Relegation system, with the Board (and in particular the Football Operations Committee) engaging in robust discussion and research on the merits of our current system as opposed to systems implemented in other competitions across many sports and countries.

On the basis of these extensive discussions, the decision has been made to this year alter the Promotion/Relegation system to a ‘2 up, 2 down’ system.

At the conclusion of the 2012 season, two teams will be promoted from Division 3 to Division 2 and two teams from Division 2 to Division 1, whilst two teams will be relegated from Division 1 to Division 2 and two teams from Division 2 to Division 3.

We reiterate this decision has been made after lengthy consideration on the back of strong evidence and research from other competitions here and abroad that supports the implementation of a similar process.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

This is what has come out from Wayne today 26/04/2012 so make sure your clubs send back there answer as NO
Clearly, given the recent communication we have received from clubs, our level of consultation appears to have not been broad enough. This was clearly an error on our part and we regret not seeking the views of all member clubs prior to making the decision. We apologise.

Accordingly, after considering the submissions made by several member clubs against the decision, the Board has resolved to take a poll of member clubs with respect to the “two up/two down” system.

I would appreciate one member representing your club responding to this email with a simple ‘YES’ you support the “2 up/2 down” change or ‘NO’ you wish to retain the one up and one down system.

The poll results will then be reviewed and taken into account by the Board, who will then make their decision based on the result of the poll.

If you would kindly respond by close of business Friday 4th May 2012 that would be appreciated.

Tips for round 3:
Bentleigh by 4 goals
East Malvern by 10 goals
Black Rock by 10 points
Sprinvale by 3 goals
Murrumbeena by 6 goals

The Oracle is back for the first preview of footy of the year. Winters starting to come around and it will be interesting how some sides adjust from the warm summer weather to the cold wintery conditions. If you start over using the footy and dont like playing hard contested footy its going to be a long cold and painful winter.

Bentleigh vs Skye (Game of the Round)

What a way to kick of the review with 2 of the 3 premiership favourites in action at Bentleigh Reserve. After coming out after half time last week and putting Black Rock to the sword bentleigh will be looking to carry their form into this weeks game against Skye. Who similarly came off an comfortable win against the Dragons. I see both teams having an equal if not similar midfield and defence, but it will be a question of can Skye get enough of the footy to feed superboot McGuinness and kick a winning score and hold Robbo and the Porpus to limited touches. But i feel like Bentleigh will have too many options up forward to keep Skye defenders on their toes. Bentleigh by 6

East Malvern vs South Yarra

Having eaten my words for the last 2 weeks i am going to go with the boys from Malvern this week against South Yarra. After coming out and knocking off Skye in round 1 it seems the old TM boys are up and about in season 2012. Pro Hart looks set to have a day out up forward and expect a big bag against a very dissappointing South Yarra defense. It will be tight early on as i expect South Yarra to come out breathing fire after back to back massive losses, but East Malvern should blow this game open in the last half and run out comfortable winners. East Malvern by 85

Black Rock vs Hampton

Black Rock play host to Hampton in their first home game for the year. Hampton have come off the last 2 weeks of very promising football. They have acquited themselves nicely in both games against Top 4 sides and arent too far away from stamping themselves as a premiership threat. As mentioned previously in the Game of the Round Black Rock last week showed in the first half they can play good footy. Dont know what happened after half time though. Like South Yarra i expect the Rockers to come out seething and if they put together 4 qtrs well they might just knock Hampton off. It seems like Harris and Durie have figured in the best each week. Need contribution from 22Hampton by 30

Oakleigh vs Springvale

It was a flip of the coin as to the game of the round and this along with the Bentleigh vs Skye game is sure to be an entertaining affair. With both teams recording some massive wins. Vassallo, Alimovski, Aitken and Issac could turn this into a shootout with both Forward lines boasting some pretty potent players. I liked Springvale on Opening Night and backed it up again last week after being challenged by Hampton and are clear favourites in most eyes for the flag. But if Oakleigh can contain Keenans influence and stop Aitken and Vassallo they might just cause an upset. But im not counting my chickens yet. Springvale by 25

Southern Dragons vs Murrumbeena

The Dragons lost their way last week and showed what may look great now came crashing back to earth pretty quickly. With news, rumours and speculation running around about Yips future at the club and players that were missing last week its hard to put a reason as to why they were so dissappointing after playing so well in Round 1. Murrumbeena are flying under the radar and i see them as a genuine top 4 chance. With multiple players capable of kicking a bag i dont see this one being close as i believe the early season hype about the dragons is yet to be proven. Murrumbeena by 80

The Oracle
:):)

"The Dragons lost their way last week and showed what may look great now came crashing back to earth pretty quickly. With news, rumours and speculation running around about Yips future at the club and players that were missing last week its hard to put a reason as to why they were so dissappointing after playing so well in Round 1. Murrumbeena are flying under the radar and i see them as a genuine top 4 chance. With multiple players capable of kicking a bag i dont see this one being close as i believe the early season hype about the dragons is yet to be proven." Murrumbeena by 80

6 players including possibly best 3-4 were out last week, hence the dissapointing result, i wouldn't be tipping too heavily against the Dragons, key position players missing can really upset a teams structure, i wouldnt be suprised if the dragons get up, a mate informed me last night that upto 6 changes were made by the Dragon boys last night and with the game at Keeley Park, anythings possible if they get a run on. Just my opinion obviously, you may end up very correct.

Quite a few interesting results from yesterdays games. Went and watched Bentleigh and Skye and enjoyed a fantastic game. I believe Skye were just much harder at the footy than Bentleigh. Looks like the Southern Dragons will be very competitive most weeks and Black Rock require a few forwards? Does anyone else have feedback on the games.

Watched Skye v Bentleigh too. Good game and good result by Skye, they probably should have won by 8 goals. Bentleigh were saying they had a few out. What's the go with Springy or are Oakleigh just that good.

The quotes i am hearing from bentleigh is that they had a few out and they played liek crap!!

Eitherway i dont care, huge win by Skye and after the result from Springy and Oakleigh, and the Dragons V's Beena, its clear anyone of the top 6 can beat anyone on any given day, great start to the year in Div 2 i reckon, no Clear Cut dominate team!!

The quotes i am hearing from bentleigh is that they had a few out and they played liek crap!!

Eitherway i dont care, huge win by Skye and after the result from Springy and Oakleigh, and the Dragons V's Beena, its clear anyone of the top 6 can beat anyone on any given day, great start to the year in Div 2 i reckon, no Clear Cut dominate team!!

I personally hate that excuse whenever I hear it because at the end of the day, which team doesn't have a few out??

I thought Skye controlled the ball better with stronger marking around the ground & were a bit more polished with their footskills, which at the end of the day was the difference. Was weird how no team scored a goal in the last quarter though.

Looking to bounce back this week against Beena which will be another tough game in both grades. Might be a tough week on the track

On a side note: was a little surprised with the Oakleigh/Springy result. Not that Oakleigh won, but by how much they won by!! Early wins against strong teams are like gold at the pointy end of the season

managed to stop past dunlop reserve on saturday to have a quick look at east malvern southyarra game, east malvern look like a pretty well drilled side, the hart boys are in for a big year. also i think south yarra didnt look too bad, give them a few more games to gel and will be alot more competitive think the southern dragons game next week will be and interesting affair..... exciting to see the comp looking very even this year like madman said, which ever team turns up wanting it more can certainly take the 4 points...the dragons showed that on saturday by all reports..1 point loss..bad luck boys...well done beena.

"The Dragons lost their way last week and showed what may look great now came crashing back to earth pretty quickly. With news, rumours and speculation running around about Yips future at the club and players that were missing last week its hard to put a reason as to why they were so dissappointing after playing so well in Round 1. Murrumbeena are flying under the radar and i see them as a genuine top 4 chance. With multiple players capable of kicking a bag i dont see this one being close as i believe the early season hype about the dragons is yet to be proven." Murrumbeena by 80

6 players including possibly best 3-4 were out last week, hence the dissapointing result, i wouldn't be tipping too heavily against the Dragons, key position players missing can really upset a teams structure, i wouldnt be suprised if the dragons get up, a mate informed me last night that upto 6 changes were made by the Dragon boys last night and with the game at Keeley Park, anythings possible if they get a run on. Just my opinion obviously, you may end up very correct.

I went to watch the dragons again on satday and there were many surprises at Keeley Park. I caught the last half of the 3rds game against Cerberus and was shocked to see a handful of the dragons 2011 premiership team including Yap and Machine out there.. It was an amazing half of footy to watch as the dragons were led by Senior fill ins and showed amazing spirit and heart to win with a goal on the siren. Yap looks in great shape and showed glimpses of his magic that he has still got the goods. Is this the start of a comeback for Yap and Machine? I tried speaking to Yap at the halftime break of the seniors and i got the sense that he was keen to make a comeback which would be massive news for the club. He will bolster up their slight lackluster midfield and add some hardness, class and experience to the team.
- Seniors pushed Murrumbeena till the very last second of the game and would have had the W if not for falling asleep in the third quarter. Captain Panga was a standout cutting off many entries in their back 50 and Murrumbeena was very sloppy and wasteful in front of goal and struggled to adjust to the conditions and the dragons pressure. Very unlucky result for the dragons but they will get a lot of confidence after this game for playing patches of good footy and almost scraping in for a win against a quality side. Things are looking up for the dragons now. But they have to turn things around this week and have a convincing win again sth yarra.

The southern dragons and murrumbeena game makes no sense to me at all really??

How many players were they missing against skye?? for this result to make any sense they wouldve needed to be missing at least 10 senior players, they lost to skye by 18 goals!!!

Is their home ground that much of an advantage to them??

Were Murrumbeena missing any players on saturday?? once again for this result to make alot of sense maybe Murrumbeena were missing 5 or so and taking the dragons lightly?? its gunna be a weird and wonderful season

dont even get me started on the 90pt win by oakleigh over springy, that makes no sense at all also!! the more i look at it the more confused i get

I may need to study the team sheets from the last 2 weeks to get an idea of who really counts ins and outs wise for these 4 teams just mentioned!!

The southern dragons and murrumbeena game makes no sense to me at all really??

How many players were they missing against skye?? for this result to make any sense they wouldve needed to be missing at least 10 senior players, they lost to skye by 18 goals!!!

Is their home ground that much of an advantage to them??

Were Murrumbeena missing any players on saturday?? once again for this result to make alot of sense maybe Murrumbeena were missing 5 or so and taking the dragons lightly?? its gunna be a weird and wonderful season

dont even get me started on the 90pt win by oakleigh over springy, that makes no sense at all also!! the more i look at it the more confused i get

I may need to study the team sheets from the last 2 weeks to get an idea of who really counts ins and outs wise for these 4 teams just mentioned!!

While your there maybe you could study your reserves team sheet .:)

I went to watch the dragons again on satday and there were many surprises at Keeley Park. I caught the last half of the 3rds game against Cerberus and was shocked to see a handful of the dragons 2011 premiership team including Yap and Machine out there.. It was an amazing half of footy to watch as the dragons were led by Senior fill ins and showed amazing spirit and heart to win with a goal on the siren. Yap looks in great shape and showed glimpses of his magic that he has still got the goods. Is this the start of a comeback for Yap and Machine? I tried speaking to Yap at the halftime break of the seniors and i got the sense that he was keen to make a comeback which would be massive news for the club. He will bolster up their slight lackluster midfield and add some hardness, class and experience to the team.
- Seniors pushed Murrumbeena till the very last second of the game and would have had the W if not for falling asleep in the third quarter. Captain Panga was a standout cutting off many entries in their back 50 and Murrumbeena was very sloppy and wasteful in front of goal and struggled to adjust to the conditions and the dragons pressure. Very unlucky result for the dragons but they will get a lot of confidence after this game for playing patches of good footy and almost scraping in for a win against a quality side. Things are looking up for the dragons now. But they have to turn things around this week and have a convincing win again sth yarra.

What a load of b.s. at the minute black rock and dragons are going no better than each other.like us dragons have played only one half decent game and as i see it we will both finish bottom 2 division three here we come ,good luck to the sides with a chance of playin finals already we know who they will be maybe it should be 3 or 4 up and down.

why? not sure what your getting at?

Probably thinks Skye are stacking there 3rds (but I'm not a mind reader) I know from speaking to people at Skye that they had at least 10 people who missed out on a game still last week and may have picked up a couple more in the last week but we will see. Things seem to be going along ok down there at the moment. Apparently Black Rock had a lot of players out last week according to there coach so we will see how they go this week, they did beat Skye by 8 goals in the last game of the season last year too, don't forget. Still amazed that OD smashed SD by so much last week, is there some bigger issues down at SD:eek: