Should footy fans be concerned about Dustin Martin?

I would have thought it has more to do with whether he can make the most of his talent in an uber-professional environment. I don't care if he's a "bad boy"; I care if that means he can't bring it on the field due to club or fitness requirements

Now this is actually a half decent question :)

Dusty has come back in great condition since the fat attack of his first end of season break. His condition is looking good again this year, so I don't think there is an issue with fitness.

The issue though is his tank, its getting better, but he doesn't have the same tank as most midfield "guns", which is why you see him playing the high half foward role more than the others.

Some players take some time to get an AFL tank going, others it just doesn't happen. I think this year will be the tell. If he doesn't, it just means we focus on making him a deadly high forward - not ideal, but far from a wasted talent.

Didn't Choco back in the day say that after interviewing Martin he'd never recruit him because he was "too dumb"?

no

during the draft camp interviews, he asked Dusty if he was dumb because he couldn't finish high school. Apparently Chocco is famous for giving the draftees ball breaking questions like this.

The 2nd best talent in his draft year (no way is he better than Fyfe), but he's looking like one of those guys who will never fulfill his talent. Buddy and Hurley had issues, but they look well behind them.

Jetta could go past him too, if he hasn't already ...

Disagree. Martin is far closer to be being a genuine gun than Hurley, despite being younger.

Barry_Badrinath - I'm sure Rohan and morabito would love the opportunity to have reached their potential o_O

He walks the line as lots of guys with his talent do, only time will tell whether he makes the right choices. ATM it really is a non story and typical of off season journalism. Stern words could of even been lack of application at training but that doesn't sell papers does it.

well we don't know. You're right, it could be anything. But if he's needing to be "pulled back into line", that's not great whichever way you carve it. Is it? Bongs or turning up to training late or out late doing hookers and blow or whatever.

Cap is different to needing to get another environment to get the best out of yourself. How often have we seen players need the reality of a second chance for the penny to drop?

On the first, not everyone is a Trent Cotchin/Nathan Buckley uber professional type. Some guys will always be 5 mins late for work, some will always be late with their homework. Doesn't mean they are a waste though, and a major worry as you are alluding to. Just means they are not captain material and are one of the many types it takes to make a footy team

This obsession people have with wanting everyone to be automatons these days is sad IMO.

On the second, if he leaves it will be because another club offers up cash we cannot match (because securing Cotch and Jack are bigger priorities). If he is tarnished goods, his price will go down and we may as well keep him. I think its a bit of wishful thinking from you though, long way to go before he write this kid off.

Absolute fluff article, based on nothing. The media seems out to get Dusty for some reason. Why not focus on the excellent pre-season he's putting in?
how is it based on nothing? It was put to Newman that there'd been a conversation between player and coach that was out of the ordinary and far from ideal, and it was not denied. I know footy fans like to cry foul when it's about their team but you're way off here saying it's based on nothing. It is actually quite the opposite.

The conversation appears to seriously take the gloss of this "excellent pre-season" you're talking about. Take your head out of the sand, remove your rose coloured glasses, and enact a few other cliches would you

On the first, not everyone is a Trent Cotchin/Nathan Buckley uber professional type. Some guys will always be 5 mins late for work, some will always be late with their homework. Doesn't mean they are a waste though, and a major worry as you are alluding to. Just means they are not captain material and are one of the many types it takes to make a footy team

This obsession people have with wanting everyone to be automatons these days is sad IMO.

On the second, if he leaves it will be because another club offers up cash we cannot match (because securing Cotch and Jack are bigger priorities). If he is tarnished goods, his price will go down and we may as well keep him. I think its a bit of wishful thinking from you though, long way to go before he write this kid off.
I am in no way writing him off. And I don't want players to be automatons. But there's a reality in modern footy.

I go to the footy to see the guns play. I am concerned that Martin's behaviours are going to prevent him from being all he could. Maybe it is just a small personality thing, but it's a bit disturbing it keeps repeating, above and below the official line.

I am in no way writing him off. And I don't want players to be automatons. But there's a reality in modern footy.

I go to the footy to see the guns play. I am concerned that Martin's behaviours are going to prevent him from being all he could. Maybe it is just a small personality thing, but it's a bit disturbing it keeps repeating, above and below the official line.

Speaking to someone who knew him pre-draft, he is a typical country lad. Hates attention, hated school, and likes to have fun with his mates (and this often involves a drink).

He will never be considered a gun these days, because he won't do the stuff that comes along with it now. Apparently he loathes media work, he's not a great speaker, and he's incredibly shy. This means he's never going to be the face of the club, or present a positive "Dustin Martin" media portrait. He will always just be a bloke who plays footy. Unfortunately this means that he will have no media good will, and any incident he will cop it between the eyes on (and he isn't alone on this), but thats something he will just have to learn to accept.

Speaking to someone who knew him pre-draft, he is a typical country lad. Hates attention, hated school, and likes to have fun with his mates (and this often involves a drink).

He will never be considered a gun these days, because he won't do the stuff that comes along with it now. Apparently he loathes media work, he's not a great speaker, and he's incredibly shy. This means he's never going to be the face of the club, or present a positive "Dustin Martin" media portrait. He will always just be a bloke who plays footy. Unfortunately this means that he will have no media good will, and any incident he will cop it between the eyes on (and he isn't alone on this), but thats something he will just have to learn to accept.
does every "country lad" get a stern talking to every pre-season though?

It would be interesting to find out what he did that needed the coach to get into his ear, at this stage we just don't know but you can bet the media will be doing everything in their power now to find out. It could be just as simple as telling him to worker harder at training, we don't know so suggesting he's off the rails again is unfair.

does every "country lad" get a stern talking to every pre-season though?

To keep them in line, yes.

Also lets not get carried away with this phrase "stern talk" (and yes I know I used it). That was the journos own phrase, not Newmans. Read the article and what happened:

Journo - Newman was asked on Monday about rumours that Tigers coach Damien Hardwick had been forced to have stern words with Martin and pull him into line a few weeks ago.

Newman - ''I think with Dustin it is an ongoing thing and I think he is still trying to develop himself, not only as a footballer, but as a person. And off field, we've got a standard here that everyone has to adhere to. So Dustin is still trying to get that good balance between having a healthy lifestyle outside football and also delivering on field.''

Now does this mean Dimma hasn't had discussions with him, absolutely not, but the level and detail of them is not even touched.

The irony for me on this is you would be smashing the club if they were not having regular discussions with Martin. "Great talent, wasting it away, and yet again the weak culture at RFC lets it happen because they don't have the strength to handle these type of players". They are working with him, and providing him with the feedback to know when and how he is crossing the line. As long as this happens, and Martin continues to do his part to learn (and it is a process, so don't start the next bit of expecting him to become a saint after one cup of tea), I'm all good.

Richmond needs less Caroline Wilson and more Graeme Richmond.

on the first part, no argument

on the second part, please no - one stupid trade war in my life time is enough.

To keep them in line, yes.

Also lets not get carried away with this phrase "stern talk" (and yes I know I used it). That was the journos own phrase, not Newmans. Read the article and what happened:

Journo - Newman was asked on Monday about rumours that Tigers coach Damien Hardwick had been forced to have stern words with Martin and pull him into line a few weeks ago.

Newman - ''I think with Dustin it is an ongoing thing and I think he is still trying to develop himself, not only as a footballer, but as a person. And off field, we've got a standard here that everyone has to adhere to. So Dustin is still trying to get that good balance between having a healthy lifestyle outside football and also delivering on field.''

Now does this mean Dimma hasn't had discussions with him, absolutely not, but the level and detail of them is not even touched.

The irony for me on this is you would be smashing the club if they were not having regular discussions with Martin. "Great talent, wasting it away, and yet again the weak culture at RFC lets it happen because they don't have the strength to handle these type of players". They are working with him, and providing him with the feedback to know when and how he is crossing the line. As long as this happens, and Martin continues to do his part to learn (and it is a process, so don't start the next bit of expecting him to become a saint after one cup of tea), I'm all good.
it's the "to pull him in to line" bit that I would be worried about. Sure, it could be something minor, but it's more when you see it in context of a pattern isn't it?

Also, I did of course read the argument, and the response by Newman was very telling. He is always going to spin it as positively as he can, and frankly, if that's the most positive spin a senior team mate can put on it: "off field, we've got a standard here everyone has to adhere to"... then I reckon that's just about as damning as you can get, isn't it?

it's the "to pull him in to line" bit that I would be worried about. Sure, it could be something minor, but it's more when you see it in context of a pattern isn't it?

Also, I did of course read the argument, and the response by Newman was very telling. He is always going to spin it as positively as he can, and frankly, if that's the most positive spin a senior team mate can put on it "off field, we've got a standard here everyone has to adhere to"... then I reckon that's as damning as you can get, isn't it?

I admit that it didn't look good, the language used all but confirmed that he still has problems achieving the required levels of behaviour.