Should Gay AFL Players come out?

Lol at Ron tenuously clinging to the fact that Homsexuality is a scientific disorder and/or inherently immoral.

Despite admitting to it going against the overwhelming consensus of Scientists and admitting to not being a Christian.

Ron, youre a homophobe blindly clinging to discredited Science and the views of a religion you dont even belong to to justify your views and bigotry.

If you cant see this mate, you have even worse problems that homophobia.

dont knock him too hard, we might need him to 'cure' the first player brave enough to come out in the face of bigotry like his...

Ron, youre a homophobe blindly clinging to discredited Science and the views of a religion you dont even belong to to justify your views and bigotry.

If you cant see this mate, you have even worse problems that homophobia.

On the contrary, I've been at pains to avoid citing religion as support for my beliefs. As for the science, some seem to be of the opinion that the end justifies the means, just so long as they agree with the end.

In hindsight, I'm comfortable that I've attempted to post in an even-handed manner on this topic (apart from one outburst). Even so, I regret that some of my posts have caused sufficient grief to prompt various people to resort to personal attacks; hence I will refrain from posting on this subject on the main board in future.

On the contrary, I've been at pains to avoid citing religion as support for my beliefs. As for the science, some seem to be of the opinion that the end justifies the means, just so long as they agree with the end.

Ron, Im not sure you understand how scientific consensus and falsifiablity work.

Youre clutching at straws attempting to find some form of external objective justification (moral/ ethical/ scientific) for your own internal subjective personal bias.

There isnt any external reason or justification for your bias mate.

You find homosexaulity confronting. Cool, we get that.

You just need to be aware that the reason is all in your head (and probably for deepseated personal reasons, such as fear of the unknown, your own sexual inadequacy, repressed latent homosexual urges, confusion whatever).

You might want to be honest with yourself as to the reasons why, rather than look for some external justification that doesnt exist.

Youll be a better person as a result.

Could you make that on any subject on any board? Cheers.

To Ron's credit he has tried to discuss his point of view in a reasonable manner and even though I don't agree with his view of this topic I do admire him for having the guts to speak his mind.

The world gets a little too PC at times and sometimes a robust discussion can enlighten people from all sides of politics.

As I have said before in this thread that just because you may not be into a particular race, creed, political persuasion, lifestyle or sexuality doesn't mean you shouldn't show empathy and tolerance towards others different to you.

But this thread has gotten way off topic now so maybe it is a good time to lock it so we can all move on.

The hypocritical and schizophrenic mentalities are so rich in this thread.
The "tolerance/acceptance" preachers stress anyone that doesn't agree with them need be silent and anything a certain group say doesn't matter when it conflicts with their desire to be champion of right and get a pat on the back from a similarly conditioned team-mate.
This is utterly bi-partisan idiocy at it's finest, it's flag flying nothing intellectual.
Conned populist/socialists, you know all the zombie films are about you right?
Championing unsustainability and dysfunction, eating the brains of anyone presenting you a cogent argument with personal attacks based on assumptions.

This is a gendered dual-electric state universe, the entire terminology made popular for these cultures is backward there is nothing straight about a hetero-dyne motion.
It is not progressive to encourage to popularity certain fetishes that create social disharmony among the greater population and take your cues from these populized minorities.
Introducing sexual confusion and "born this way" populist junk science propaganda to the public is disastrous for those who find thinking burdensome in favor of fitting in.
If you want hard science, you are not predetermined by genetic factors, this is bunk science. Your bodies made of basically strings expressed in sequence in line with external influences, the core function of the individual mechanism is a reproductive factor.
If you remove the core of a cell, that cell continues to function for it's life cycle as the processing and function of a cell is performed via the membrane and receptors. The cell though lacking it's core does not replicate and dies.

This belief that so many things are genetic is similar to saying so many things are result of instinct or "gravity does that". All things that are ill defined phenomena that are all interrelated to states of hetero-dyne phase conjunction, infinite compress-ability that thing that junk science theoretical deities never understood while they were pushing ungrounded belief based pseudo-science explanations of phenomena over what is experimentally observable. You all believe in this magical thing called the atom, it's a made up construct about something invisible based on the actions of waves through mediums, the model doesn't work.

That you cannot prove a normal in subjectivity is a case that can be made by denying common sense, but to pretend gender functionality isn't closer to a normal then an induced fetish is just foolishness for the purpose of pushing your teams cause whether as shills of propaganda or actually having a dog in the fight and feathering your own nest.

True there is no differentiation between anything if you want to be about absolutes philosophically, but the manner of shapes and patterns of motion are what create the environment for life. In this north runs from south due to it's levity of energetic propulsion from attraction through commonality to cancel desire/voltage of their hetero circuits.
The simple matter of no homosexual procreation makes for a simply adverse of the norm derangement that doesn't need correction nor encouragement either way as it provides some biodiversity. Encouraging it to much can be as problematic as persecuting it. At this stage persecution is hardly a reality in socialist communist country bent on the mirage of what it deems equality according to the programmable mob to the point of destructive masochism.

As for this thread and this article it doesn't deserve so much oxygen.
It's obvious what any individual chooses to do in the matter of managing their fetishes and tastes is obviously their business and they will act in accordance with their environment, it doesn't require media spotlight.
The media being the most desirous to know these details for both profit and due to their own fetish leanings. To pretend the media is anyone's friend but it's own interest, like it has altruistic designs would be more nonsense but that would match the caliber of replies here.
Wannabe victim worshipers a plenty

Queue the shaman proponents of theory-science.
Ignorance is easier, Idiocracy is now.
Hell I'm tired of what females are led to become, may as well change sides.
Noone will even know much what I'm saying in this reply I imagine.

A very long winded way of saying you think homosexuality is wrong.

Whilst I agree the change in society to accept and embrace those who find themselves conflicted with archaic social expectations has caused some social experimentation, I believe your stance on "not being born that way" is just plain ignorant. You claim science - I implore you to research the topic sufficiently.

To answer the thread title: No. Gay players shouldn't come out. They should do whatever they feel comfortable doing.

A better question would be 'Should the AFL have an environment where gay players feel comfortable to come out?' To that I would answer yes. I'm happy for a North player to out themselves, and if the clubs culture is strong enough for something like that then great.

To answer the thread title: No. Gay players shouldn't come out. They should do whatever they feel comfortable doing.

A better question would be 'Should the AFL have an environment where gay players feel comfortable to come out?' To that I would answer yes. I'm happy for a North player to out themselves, and if the clubs culture is strong enough for something like that then great.

If the thread title was "should gay afl players have to come out" then I'd agree. The big taboo exists because it is still taboo. Once a few came out it simply wouldn't be an issue anymore.

Should they have to come out? No. But the footy world would be better off if it was no longer such an issue.

If the thread title was "should gay afl players have to come out" then I'd agree. The big taboo exists because it is still taboo. Once a few came out it simply wouldn't be an issue anymore.

Should they have to come out? No. But the footy world would be better off if it was no longer such an issue.

Yeah, that's my point, only you put it much better than I did.

The hypocritical and schizophrenic mentalities are so rich in this thread.
The "tolerance/acceptance" preachers stress anyone that doesn't agree with them need be silent and anything a certain group say doesn't matter when it conflicts with their desire to be champion of right and get a pat on the back from a similarly conditioned team-mate.
This is utterly bi-partisan idiocy at it's finest, it's flag flying nothing intellectual.
Conned populist/socialists, you know all the zombie films are about you right?
Championing unsustainability and dysfunction, eating the brains of anyone presenting you a cogent argument with personal attacks based on assumptions.

This is a gendered dual-electric state universe, the entire terminology made popular for these cultures is backward there is nothing straight about a hetero-dyne motion.
It is not progressive to encourage to popularity certain fetishes that create social disharmony among the greater population and take your cues from these populized minorities.
Introducing sexual confusion and "born this way" populist junk science propaganda to the public is disastrous for those who find thinking burdensome in favor of fitting in.
If you want hard science, you are not predetermined by genetic factors, this is bunk science. Your bodies made of basically strings expressed in sequence in line with external influences, the core function of the individual mechanism is a reproductive factor.
If you remove the core of a cell, that cell continues to function for it's life cycle as the processing and function of a cell is performed via the membrane and receptors. The cell though lacking it's core does not replicate and dies.

This belief that so many things are genetic is similar to saying so many things are result of instinct or "gravity does that". All things that are ill defined phenomena that are all interrelated to states of hetero-dyne phase conjunction, infinite compress-ability that thing that junk science theoretical deities never understood while they were pushing ungrounded belief based pseudo-science explanations of phenomena over what is experimentally observable. You all believe in this magical thing called the atom, it's a made up construct about something invisible based on the actions of waves through mediums, the model doesn't work.

That you cannot prove a normal in subjectivity is a case that can be made by denying common sense, but to pretend gender functionality isn't closer to a normal then an induced fetish is just foolishness for the purpose of pushing your teams cause whether as shills of propaganda or actually having a dog in the fight and feathering your own nest.

True there is no differentiation between anything if you want to be about absolutes philosophically, but the manner of shapes and patterns of motion are what create the environment for life. In this north runs from south due to it's levity of energetic propulsion from attraction through commonality to cancel desire/voltage of their hetero circuits.
The simple matter of no homosexual procreation makes for a simply adverse of the norm derangement that doesn't need correction nor encouragement either way as it provides some biodiversity. Encouraging it to much can be as problematic as persecuting it. At this stage persecution is hardly a reality in socialist communist country bent on the mirage of what it deems equality according to the programmable mob to the point of destructive masochism.

As for this thread and this article it doesn't deserve so much oxygen.
It's obvious what any individual chooses to do in the matter of managing their fetishes and tastes is obviously their business and they will act in accordance with their environment, it doesn't require media spotlight.
The media being the most desirous to know these details for both profit and due to their own fetish leanings. To pretend the media is anyone's friend but it's own interest, like it has altruistic designs would be more nonsense but that would match the caliber of replies here.
Wannabe victim worshipers a plenty

Queue the shaman proponents of theory-science.
Ignorance is easier, Idiocracy is now.
Hell I'm tired of what females are led to become, may as well change sides.
Noone will even know much what I'm saying in this reply I imagine.

It's "than", not "then".

You'd be hard pressed to find anything right in it. Biggest load on clap trap I've read since the bible. I'll declare my hand, I'm a atheist and a geneticist. Most of the points in that post are beyond laughable. So far beyond laughable that I see no point in refuting them. Some folk just refuse to take the blinkers off. And that is their choice. Good luck to them.

The hypocritical and schizophrenic mentalities are so rich in this thread..........Noone will even know much what I'm saying in this reply I imagine.

you then fall prey to what you accuse others of doing. You're nothing but a wind bag and a homophobic one at that. Another Neanderthal beating his hairy chest in frustration because his world is changing and you can't do anything to stop it.

either evolve or become extinct

NB I've been arguing about the topic of gay marriage since just after Christmas. Some fairly innocuous posts were met with heated insults and accusations, which prompted me to do some reading/research in order to be able to clarify and verbalise my opinions in a manner that was not offensive. Obviously I've failed.
hah, not quite. you were espousing hypocritical views so i reasonably questioned whether you were a hypocrite or perhaps a mere simpleton who was not aware of their hypocrisy.

this reasonable and innocuous post was met with you calling me a smart **** and threatening to 'pop me on the nose'. 'heated insults' indeed... :eek:

This thread only exists because of a ridiculous fascination people have regarding lack of/knowledge of who the gay players are.The fact that a few are well known already and have not chosen to "come out" should be enough to close the thread. Just reading the responses here, if this is an accurate sample of human existence in Melbourne/ Australia, suggests the reason this knowledge remains private and confidential. WE could not handle it.

hah, not quite. you were espousing hypocritical views so i reasonably questioned whether you were a hypocrite or perhaps a mere simpleton who was not aware of their hypocrisy.

this reasonable and innocuous post was met with you calling me a smart **** and threatening to 'pop me on the nose'. 'heated insults' indeed... :eek:

You do realise that BigFooty isn't the only forum in town?

To Ron's credit he has tried to discuss his point of view in a reasonable manner and even though I don't agree with his view of this topic I do admire him for having the guts to speak his mind.

The world gets a little too PC at times and sometimes a robust discussion can enlighten people from all sides of politics.

As I have said before in this thread that just because you may not be into a particular race, creed, political persuasion, lifestyle or sexuality doesn't mean you shouldn't show empathy and tolerance towards others different to you.

But this thread has gotten way off topic now so maybe it is a good time to lock it so we can all move on.

I do not think Ron The Bear has discussed his point of view in a rational manner at all and shows no empathy or tolerance towards others different than himself. Robust discussion is great but everybody who participates is hopefully listening. You cannot hear when your mind is closed and your mind made up.

Kudos for you though, one hopes you receive the respect you show to others.

You'd be hard pressed to find anything right in it. Biggest load on clap trap I've read since the bible. I'll declare my hand, I'm a atheist and a geneticist. Most of the points in that post are beyond laughable. So far beyond laughable that I see no point in refuting them. Some folk just refuse to take the blinkers off. And that is their choice. Good luck to them.

You would be an interesting person to have a long discussion with- a Bible reading atheistic geneticist!

I have no complaints if a player were to come out except for the fact that, once they come out that is what they'll be remembered for and not as a player.

What about if it's a gun like Pendlebury? Surely he'll still be remembered as a really good player too? And he could be gay, I reckon gay or not, any bloke would have a crack at his missus! :thumbsu:

Should Gay AFL Players come out?