Analysis Should we be pursuing a secondary market post-Hobart? If yes, then where?

To get around $3M for those 4 games is good for the club. (More money than just tas alone). And although I wish we could just have 11 home games at home, I do get the need for the club to be financially secure. So if it’s beneficial to further securing our future, then good.

What’s Jakarta like mate? Been to Bali about 10 times and ticked off a lot of Asia, particularly the super cities, is it comparable to, say like Singapore? Or more like a Taipei?
I love it. It's ****ing hot most of the time but if you got AC you're good. I'd say it's more comparable to Bangkok but with less debauchery. Still some debauchery though.

We already play 4 matches in tassie anyway, the plan will be 2 in WA and at most 2 in tassie in 2025. Then returning to 9 home games in melbourne in 2026
I think we’d be in breach of our contract with Tasmania if that unfolded. We’re required to play four more games in Tassie (originally slated for 2025). However, I think next year’s WA games will mean that we’ll play two games in Tassie next year and our last two in 2026. The Devils AFLW team is supposed to start in 2027 (one year before the men’s team), so that timeline would work for our exit from Hobart.

No chance at all. None. Zip. Forget about it. That deal would make very little sense for the people writing the cheques.
The deal is partly done for tourism. If North supporters will travel then supporters of a big interstate would as well.

Also of note - footy in the state doesn't meet the market demand. Hence the rumblings for WA3 to be the 20th team. For instance there's a membership waiting list for the Eagles (it took 6 years for an Eagles mate who "joined" in 2016 to get full membership).

There's a market there to play a game against another club with a decent following, doesn't have to be a big 4 team either, there's plenty of Hawks and Cats supporters in WA.

I think we’d be in breach of our contract with Tasmania if that unfolded. We’re required to play four more games in Tassie (originally slated for 2025). However, I think next year’s WA games will mean that we’ll play two games in Tassie next year and our last two in 2026. The Devils AFLW team is supposed to start in 2027 (one year before the men’s team), so that timeline would work for our exit from Hobart.
It wouldn't surprise if the AFL takes care of any contractual obligations to exit us early just as they did with the Gold Coast. They will want to separate us from our Hobart members and have them affiliate with the Tasmania Devils as early as possible.

Where are you seeing 3 Tassie games reported?
I'm getting confused, I meant the four games.

While I admire the club's resourcefulness and acknowledge that without this spirit we probably wouldn't exist, I can't shake the feeling that four games and a farewell is kinder on our Tassie members than having half the games for two years. Like saying goodbye to someone then awkwardly walking three blocks together before going your separate ways.

Perth is like the only place we actually win in the past few years
Oh thank gosh! These pesky win% discrepancies don't mean a thing!

To repeat so maybe you'll get the point -

Against Us -

West Coast are:
17 wins, 10 losses at home
11 wins, 14 losses away

Fremantle are:
12 wins, 9 losses at home
5 wins, 10 losses away

The fact is we win 60% of our home games against WA opponents.
And 40% of our away games against WA opponents.

That means, based on these historical results, if we played all 23 games at home against West Coast and Fremantle we'd finish with 14 wins a season. Good enough for 6th place in 2024.

All 23 away? 9 wins and we'd finish 15th.

I know which one I'd prefer.

It wouldn't surprise if the AFL takes care of any contractual obligations to exit us early just as they did with the Gold Coast. They will want to separate us from our Hobart members and have them affiliate with the Tasmania Devils as early as possible.
Potentially, that could happen. Although I can also see an alternative where the AFL will want games to keep being held in Tassie’s capital city for a little bit longer. The Devils’ timeline is:

2026 + VFL
2027 + AFLW
2028 + AFL

Would the AFL be satisfied without any top-flight games in Hobart for two years?

Good for the WA members.

I’ve seen more wins at Optus than I have on footy trips to Melbourne over the last 5 years.

Hand over the cash. If we’re any good then travelling to Perth shouldn’t worry us.

Bunbury though, lol, yeah ok. It could make the wind at Tassie feel like a little breeze.

I'm getting confused, I meant the four games.

While I admire the club's resourcefulness and acknowledge that without this spirit we probably wouldn't exist, I can't shake the feeling that four games and a farewell is kinder on our Tassie members than having half the games for two years. Like saying goodbye to someone then awkwardly walking three blocks together before going your separate ways.

I don't mean to be harsh on our loyal Hobart brothers and sisters but our crowds this year were 5365, 4705, 10045, and 6619. For the most part, Tasmanians have fallen out of love with us.

Outside the obvious financial gain we will get from this deal. We've done the AFL & the two WA clubs a massive favour. I hope when negotiating this deal that was taken into account and we got some other things coming back our way.

ie - Fixture (more away games in Melbourne, less Sunday games etc)
- Backing from the AFL & local government/council for more upgrades to Arden Street (fencing, seats/stands)

Potentially, that could happen. Although I can also see an alternative where the AFL will want games to keep being held in Tassie’s capital city for a little bit longer. The Devils’ timeline is:

2026 + VFL
2027 + AFLW
2028 + AFL

Would the AFL be satisfied without any top-flight games in Hobart for two years?
The AFL had the same dilemma when we rejected a Gold Coast relocation and their solution was to send anyone but us to play the 3 games there over the next couple of seasons.

Outside the obvious financial gain we will get from this deal. We've done the AFL & the two WA clubs a massive favour. I hope when negotiating this deal that was taken into account and we got some other things coming back our way.

- Backing from the AFL & local government/council for more upgrades to Arden Street (fencing, seats/stands)

If we get a new stand at Arden St paid for by West Coast, then I'd be more than happy to name it after their inaugural captain.

Will be interesting to see if this means we don't have 'away' games in WA any more as well
Unless we get west coast in gather round we’d have to be playing an away game in WA. We’ll get west coast twice due to finishing positions.

What’s the point of developing a secondary market when you drop it like a hot turd as soon as something else comes along?

I’m all for reducing the number of games being sold and if this results in it being 2 then great, but if I were a Tassie member I would switch to the Devils as soon as games are being played.

Canberra, Sydney, Gold Coast, Ballarat, there’s a pattern of us investing in and then ditching the secondary markets. The members we make look great initially but I would guess they mostly drop off once the club loses interest. We keep making the same mistake.

seth meyers good job GIF by Late Night with Seth Meyers

Unless we get west coast in gather round we’d have to be playing an away game in WA. We’ll get west coast twice due to finishing positions.
Don't you just play more of the teams twice in your ladder zone rather than all of them the following year? E.g. 2023 we finished in the same 'third' as Richmond and Fremantle but only played them once in 2024

Analysis Should we be pursuing a secondary market post-Hobart? If yes, then where?