- Jul 18, 2013
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
And a future fund to help generate non-football revenue.Good stuff.
Now to plow that cash into growing our Melbourne market
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
And a future fund to help generate non-football revenue.Good stuff.
Now to plow that cash into growing our Melbourne market
Thanks - I just read that on the app. Good to see it confirmed.Yes, Tassie members are receiving an email and there is an FAQ on the app covering this. They are automatically being refunded 50% to their payment account if their membership auto-renewed. They can also choose to donate that 50% to the club as a tax deduction through the ASF or they can take it in merch.
Ken Oath. I remember Funky trying to negotiate a better deal than what the AFL was offering us at Marvel, but given we never heard anything else, assume nothing ever happened. Now would be a good time to try and get that ship sailing again.And renegotiate Essendon's sweetheart deal that allegedly sees them profit from merch sales and catering within the stadium even when they are not a competing team.
I don't even know where the extra 40 bucks the club swipe each year goes, but hopefully, this is it.And a future fund to help generate non-football revenue.
No extra trips to Perth.
Rank | Club | Total members |
1 | Collingwood | 110,628 |
2 | Carlton | 106,345 |
3 | West Coast | 103,498 |
4 | Richmond | 98,489 |
5 | Geelong | 90,798 |
6 | Hawthorn | 83,823 |
7 | Essendon | 83,664 |
8 | Adelaide | 75,477 |
9 | Sydney | 73,757 |
10 | Port Adelaide | 66,015 |
11 | Melbourne | 65,479 |
12 | Brisbane | 63,268 |
13 | Western Bulldogs | 62,328 |
14 | Fremantle | 62,237 |
15 | St Kilda | 60,467 |
16 | North Melbourne | 50,628 |
17 | GWS | 36,629 |
18 | Gold Coast | 26,157 |
Settle petal. This club has history of making decisions that negatively impact the members and telling them about it afterwards. The infamous expansion of Hobart games literally the day after the club had its hand out for "debt removal" money from members was a particularly egregious example. Trust goes both ways, this is a good step, but they don't deserve our unwavering support, they need to earn it.All you raging before the club actually announced anything can finally calm down. Great deal.
They should thank us.
Making finals would be a good start.Any chance we could get an MCG game sometime this decade?
Sure. Call me crazy but when 4 clubs are full time tenants and 2 others at least are part time I reckon the AFL could wrangle the odd game there for us.Making finals would be a good start.
Great to see you're still on here Zondor!Now that we know what the deal is, it has to be said that it is a step in the right direction. Sure, ideally all home games played in Melbourne, is what we need to aspire to, but sadly we also need to balance those books. More $$$ for less home games played away from Melbourne is good business. Now onto getting rid of the “Tasmanian” from the Women’s Team. We are North Melbourne! :stern look
Any chance we could get an MCG game sometime this decade?
They should pay us.
They should thank us.
Honestly, I’d be surprised. Setting aside the emotion of announcing no more sold games interstate, we’d be asking people to pay $50 per extra game every season, on top of memberships that already go up every year, when plenty of them are already struggling with rising prices of things they actually need.Reckon half our membership base wouldn't prop up an extra $100 a year to see 11 Melbourne home games?
Theres $2.5M
Simplified it but only needing $2.5M to settle the annual books is encouraging thought it was more like $4M.
As others have pointed out here, the genius of this deal is how it satiates about 5 stakeholders:
AFL: Sick of hearing from WA clubs about Gather round/Opening Round.
WA Clubs: Pissed they don't get the advantage/attention SA and now QLD and NSW clubs get with Gather/Opening Rounds.
WA Govt: Good news story for footy fans + votes
Marvel Stadium/AFL: Needs more games at Marvel to manage giving Carlton and Essendon more at MCG.
Tassie Govt/Football types: allows them to bring other allegedly higher drawing clubs in for games ahead of arrival of Tasmania side.
If I was a Saints fan I'd be looking at this deal and asking why they didn't do it.
Whilst it's a small number I hope those remaining Tasmanian members are thanked beyond a suitable reduction in their membership price for the reduction of games in 2025. I'll leave that to the marketing boffins as to what that could be.