Silly Season.... Recruiting and other nonsense

OK.

Yes I do know Bruce Hardtigan along with many of the other club presidents Bill Lovell, Graeme Deleeuw, Brett Schmidt, Murray Jensen, David Stewart and Brian Smith. I know of Shane Rathgeber from Stawell but have never met him personally and the late John Saxton also.

Still not sure what "my man Hardy means".

No I have no grudge against the Kookoos it was just one of the more bizarre comments I have ever heard from a club president. I am a believer in being gracious in victory as well as in defeat.

Fact is stranger than fiction and as such it stuck in my head. As I said, one of the most arrogant statements I have ever heard. How would one person know how 1/2 of country clubs are run let alone them all.

In regard Harty one word I would never use in regard Bruce Hartigan is arrogant. For those who have met him and know him he is a very down to earth person. Still everyone for their own, but a strange assessment of the man indeed. As a learned gentlemen of your establishment though I respect your opinion, but my opinion of the man, and a majority of persons willing to take on such a club role commands my utmost respect.

I agree 100% and ive never played for or supported the Horsham football club, Bruce is a fantastic bloke and deserves the utmost respect and he gets that from everyone at the HFC because they know how much heart and work he puts into the club, sure they probley dont have following such as your 1 team per town clubs like (nhill,warrack,dimmy,stawell etc) but you have 3 clubs in the WFL alone coming from horsham not to mention pimp taylors lake an kalkee which are only a stones throw away from horsham.

This horsham side we've seen over the past 5 years or so is possibly one of the most Successful in Victoria they have achieved something which is rarely seen and anyone who has or is involved in it deserves adoration.

Yes, good call on all that. Bruce is a great human and in my humble opinion there are not too many bad people in footy. All administrators are volunteers and give up there time for the good of their communities. However tribalism would dictate that you still have a crack at the opposition when you get the chance! You also shake their hand and have a beer with them after the game.
For season 09 I just hope that I won’t know who is going to win the flag 5 rounds out from the finals. The Evil Empire has dominated for a long time now and I think it would be great to have a really even comp. I am genuinely excited by the recruits the Kookoos and the Zero Tigers have picked. It just seems for once our league is gaining more than it is losing. Especially good for the Kookoos as almost all of them are guys are originally from the club returning back.
I think everyone is sick of 30 goal thrashings. That never used to be part of the Wimmera League and was one of the things that set us apart from the district League. You can see how the Horsham crowd is bigger when they play sides that push them. It will be good for footy to have some new blood at the clubs that have struggled.

Maybe the Kookoos are not run by ‘a bunch of arrogant buffoons’ maybe one bloke just got a bit overexcited after winning three flags.

I agree on a lot of your points.

As far as what is best for the Wimmera League, Horsham coming back to the pack certainly is not. It is up to every other team to catch up to Horsham. We want and need the strongest league possible, therefore it is the problem of every club other than Horsham to improve their lot. Therefore I am not sure the "Evil Empire" is attached to the right club. All they have done is improved their club and player list out of sight and obviously done it in a very affordable fashion.

Not sure a lot will change this year as United and Dimboola could really struggle and that is something those clubs need to address. It is not a problem for any other club other than their own.

As for the Kookoos their actions as a club in the late 1990's post merger is what decimated their lot. They played a "dads army" team where half of them were over 35. They had some really good kids in their ranks but they stuck with the Lindsay, Clarke, Petering, Hotker etc and did not play those kids. When the "dads army" retired they were decimated to a rabble that got floged most weeks. That was there doing. Even their recruiting they targeted guys like Lloyd & Reid who also fitted the "dads army".

That is where clubs need to get smarter and work out how to play catch up footy not try to bring the stronger teams down.

Errrrr. Not sure what your talking about there. Who is trying to get The Evil Empire ‘to come back to the pack’? Isn’t the recruitment that has gone on actually good for the Wimmera League? The Kookoos played in 4 grand finals and won three of them with the guys you mentioned because they were the best Wimmera League players at the time. Would you have dropped them so a bunch of kids could finish third before they went off to Uni?
You seem to have a real thing against the Kookoos. I’m tipping you played and lost against some of those sides.

In this case it may not be the accused who has an infatuation but the accuser.

I am simply expressing an assessment I made on the post merger years on the Kookoos. In 1995 both Minyip and Murtoa both played finals. In 1996 they merged and mad a very powerful combination.

What they did let slip by was a real opportunity to set the club up for years to come. Yes they were great players but the club forgot to think 5 years ahead and keep things in balance.

You tell me 5 years after the merger in 2000 season where did M/M finish on the ladder?

Don't let blind faith get in the way of the path of the future. The recruiting the Kookoos have done is fantastic for them and for the league. Always risky bringing in blokes who have to travel as again where will they be in 5 years time? It is all about balance.

And no I did not play in a losing team against the three-peating kookoos.

Hey Delahunty. It just occurred to me, we have seen John crack Wimmera League but can you and Chris actually play? Hope the Kookoos are not talking the big game over a couple of dudds.

I'm finding it hard to believe that this forum has reduced itself to the depths of bad mouthing one of the best club presidents this league has seen, and the ongoing banter about these unknown and therefore unproven delahunty boys.

This murtoa recruiting bonanza is yet to land any real punches, 2 dela's that have never been heard of or seen before, waldron who can't kick over a jam tin, and the word at the dooen hotel is walsh, who can't even stop big johnsy and smith who is barely a footballer are also going to sign.

Demons 6 in a row

Please

There are certainly a lot of people who have an issue with the Evil Empire and the way it has been run. I guess most people talk behind closed doors because when a club has been so dominant they look like sore losers when they raise concerns. Many people think the way Horsham have conducted themselves with junior players is an absolute disgrace. Many would say that actively recruiting juniors and paying junior aged players is what is ruining country footy. Most clubs would say they have seen a rise in young blokes asking for money but I guess it doesn’t really concern the Demons because they are able to outspend every other club in the two comps by that much it doesn’t matter. As Johns’y has said on public record, all clubs should be chasing juniors but what this has led to is a really bad culture amongst young people re money to play. If this is the legacy that the Demons leave footy then it will be pretty sad.
The other thing people draw attention to is the complete lack of support the club has. When they win grand finals it feels like someone has just died. The first couple they won nobody ran onto the ground, no kids, nothing. Horsham are such a bad add for the League in this regard. It’s embarrassing to have a club win that many flags who nobody follows.
Another thing is the way the senior players behave off the field. I don’t want to name names but obviously with the media attention they have been given for pub brawls etc it has just been a disaster for the club. The club chose to appoint the worst offenders to prominent positions which has obviously caused a stir both within the club and out of it.
The club is way oversensitive. If issues are ever raised they deny, character attack and personalise everything. Constructive criticism is never allowed.

Yes, Horsham will win the flag in 09, there is no doubt about that. But weather it will be good for footy is up for debate.

I think nobody wants to follow the club because there so succesfull. Would you be still cheering your heart out if your club won the grandfinal that many times in a row it would end up feeling like another game won by horsham.

And horsham will get up and win a flag again in 09 but only if they really want it the hunger will have to be there.

There are certainly a lot of people who have an issue with the Evil Empire and the way it has been run. I guess most people talk behind closed doors because when a club has been so dominant they look like sore losers when they raise concerns. Many people think the way Horsham have conducted themselves with junior players is an absolute disgrace. Many would say that actively recruiting juniors and paying junior aged players is what is ruining country footy. Most clubs would say they have seen a rise in young blokes asking for money but I guess it doesn’t really concern the Demons because they are able to outspend every other club in the two comps by that much it doesn’t matter. As Johns’y has said on public record, all clubs should be chasing juniors but what this has led to is a really bad culture amongst young people re money to play. If this is the legacy that the Demons leave footy then it will be pretty sad.
The other thing people draw attention to is the complete lack of support the club has. When they win grand finals it feels like someone has just died. The first couple they won nobody ran onto the ground, no kids, nothing. Horsham are such a bad add for the League in this regard. It’s embarrassing to have a club win that many flags who nobody follows.
Another thing is the way the senior players behave off the field. I don’t want to name names but obviously with the media attention they have been given for pub brawls etc it has just been a disaster for the club. The club chose to appoint the worst offenders to prominent positions which has obviously caused a stir both within the club and out of it.
The club is way oversensitive. If issues are ever raised they deny, character attack and personalise everything. Constructive criticism is never allowed.

Yes, Horsham will win the flag in 09, there is no doubt about that. But weather it will be good for footy is up for debate.

Fancy Pants

Where do you get your so called facts from?

Do you know for a fact Horsham pay junior players? If so who and how much?

In the terms of no following or support, would you like to put or have a guess at a membership number of the club?

Your post does sound like sour grapes and probably contradicts what I do know about Horsham and also what I think to be correct.

Really? You know off the top of your head how many members the Evil Empire has!!!! No wonder you are always talking up Horsham and putting the boots into all the other clubs!! You must be very, very close to the club. Puts it all into perspective.

What amazes or bemuses me is your comments as I would reckon you have absolutely no idea on the subject matter you are discussing. It is more a show of the weakness of your character to attempt weaken the strong by spreading innuendo and scurrilous lies.

I have the greatest respect for Bruce Hartigan and he unequivocally denies having ever paid a junior player or any junior player at Horsham being paid for being there.

I would therefore make the assessment of your character based on your preparedness to state comments knowing them to be baseless and without foundation. I would be confident in assuming you have never experienced success and the hard work that comes prior to such success. I would guess you are very insecure in your self and in guard of your own insecurity prefer to criticise others as a way of deflecting others analysis of yourself!

From my vocational back ground I would also advice you to be very careful of putting such comments in print knowing them to be false. You may regret one day making such comments.

As to your comments about putting the boots into every other club, I have stated some negativity comments towards the administration of one club from the 1990's. Again you seem to generalise and show a delusional hypothesis for your own self satisfaction, but i would guess you do a lot of that. Self satisfaction that is.

Loving your banter gentlemen. I dislike Horsham as much as the next bloke, but to say they are outspending any club within the two leagues Fancy is a bit far fetched. Alot of their players have be knocking back bigger money elsewhere to stay and play in the flags. The money some district league clubs are throwing around is astronomical, even lowly clubs such as Taylors Lake offering big $$$$. 25-30K been put on the table in one recruiting move.

Yeah, fair enough. The main reason Horsham has done so well is they have a core group of guys who are loyal to the club and some the sons of old players are the best in the League. I really do think Carr is the best player in the comp and I think Dylan Parish is a star. In fact I'm prepared to say he has a better chance of any other current Wimmera League player of playing AFL.
I guess we are all a bit jealous of what they have been able to achieve. Makes it more fun stirring them up though!

yer they have great players dylan parish is a freak along with the two chrissys rebels have just strated training

Heard Jamie Solymon is returning to the Red Legs. Any truth in that?
Have heard that from some boys over ST. Arnaud way. Can't say I have anything to do with Stawell, as I play at Ararat (little different) but it seems to be a return for no cash. Maybe Stawell haven't got any more after Cassidy & Tuckey collect their paychecks

I’m afraid it is true but I think the proposed draw has about 5 Sunday games each per club. Obviously the clubs have time for discussion and feedback so you would imagine they would all put a stop to it pretty quick smart. It seems to be a strange proposal given that clubs have struggled so much to get reserve numbers. You can imagine how difficult it would be to get fringe players to front up to the game at Ararat on a Sunday in July.
I’m with you Scotty D, Sunday is hangover day.
Yeah, I missed our second game against Stawell coz it was a sundy. Woke up in the back of the ute at Longy after the ball-looked around and thought **** footy. Helped that I couldnt get out of the car park and was still far too rotten to drive back to Ararat.

great to see walsh back in the league probably the best defender in the comp prob equal with big shrek. The burras recruiting has been sensational prob the best since dim got mcfarlne everitt ingle and lohde.

Horsh guys still very touchy bout critisism and the comments on the burras dads army, would have thought the juniors they were developing at that stage reads very well carter, tucker, midgely , kosch fisher, lanyon, prob shame for them some went onto higher comps

would be good if someone could post a list off all arrivals and departues in the league. Alot of talk from the diggers but all quiet with mibo leaving would think theyd really struggle know.

Fiction. Also we have signed Dan Smith from Kalkee and rumour has it Josh Mibus to Kalkee

Dan Smith?? who is that??? is he really worth a mention on this site?? i heard this guy was the biggest hack in the district league in 08!! shouldnt have even got a game in the grand final, brendan hobbs is close behind!