Silly Season.... Recruiting and other nonsense

The Burra boys have picked up a young on baller by the name of Lachlan Trethowan. He played junior footy with Albury and it looks like he may have made a NSW under 18 side a couple of years ago. I could'nt find the league but was going to put up a post asking if he was any good. Does anybody know what League that would be?
Looks like the Kookoos are on their merry way.

Oh fancy,

you are starting to slow up at the crunch mate, he was signed two weeks ago.... Young lachie is a hard at it onballer, if you look at his last years b & f trophy, the league says ovens & murray, and yes is a state player.

All of a sudden a nice midfield evolves.

Have you heard of any more signings miss fancy???

Can anyone give me any news on the rats and if they have actually picked up anyone. I know for sure that one of the searle boys is still not sure due to work and such. No word on here that they have picked up any big names. I dont need to know why they havnt as im well aware of their methods just want to know who they may of recruited

Just wondering if someone could give a bit of a list of the ins and outs to the WFL next year at this stage? Hard work filtering through all these pages!

Fancy pants im kinda lookin to you for this one....you seem to be in the know

heres one to add for the stawell list...i think.....Delahunty from stawell will be out of the WFL this year. going to geelong or something so i hear

Sorry for the late reply about the Tigers training camp lads my internet has been down.

Hargreaves and C.Ladhams both attended the tigers training camp 2 weeks ago. Andrew Ladhams did not attend due to an operation which wont deter him from playing round 1. From all reports both boys mixed really well and were chomping at the bit to get amongst it all and pull on the guernsy. Both Aaron Beer and Jarryd Graham were flown down from AFLNT duties to attend.

There is a big buzz around this tiny town at the moment, with everyone talking about the 'adelaide boys' however i think the key is the Tigers youth with some great cubs coming up this year to complement the early 20's players.

The ground is looking a Million Bucks, hopefully it can be looked after and nurtured right.

By reading other forums you need the club name and password to access this info for an unknown reason which is crap we should all be able see the transfer lists not just a select few.

If this is true, then it's pathetic.

Haven't been able to even access the WFL site the last couple of days.

Surely in 2009 they can do better.

Just wondering if someone could give a bit of a list of the ins and outs to the WFL next year at this stage? Hard work filtering through all these pages!

Fancy pants im kinda lookin to you for this one....you seem to be in the know

heres one to add for the stawell list...i think.....Delahunty from stawell will be out of the WFL this year. going to geelong or something so i hear
Was on the back of the local paper yesterday he was heading to the Hampden footy league playing with Warnabool. Also on the back of the paper was Stawell running defender Tom Newton is also leaving going to Navaree

I'm usually the last to know! Have been talking to the Nhill guys lately and can confirm they are frothing at the mouth waiting for the season to start. I can't give in's and out's from clubs as appears nobody can gain access to the formal clearance process. Would be good to have them all published in the mail times at once but I would'nt hold your breath there.
About time Steve McQueen got some credit though. We all stuck the boots in after last season while all clubs struggled. Maybe he should get some credit now that things are looking up?

Nhill Ins and outs

IN: jarrod lee(QLD) , hargreaves (SANFL), 2 ladhams (SANFL), brearley(past nhill B&F), Dustin williamson (Past Nhill B&F), brett white(sanfl) .

OUTS: Price (pimp) Leyonhjelm (learmonth) are two key dismissals

In all seriousness, is it fair to say that this year as recruiting drives go, that we have had the best in the wimmera league in decades?

Flashy White Boots
BigFooty Newbie

GC17

Re: Ovens and Murray Part 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyon
hey guys a club down our way has signed a kid lachlan trethowan from albury. Just after some info on him size, position etc thanks

Lachlan Is A Good Young Kid 17-18 Y/o.
Played In The Midfield In The 3rds. Has A Crack Just Like The Old Country Boys, Skills Arnt Great But Gives 100 % , Not A Standout Just A Good Footballer. He's Probly A Bit Taller Than The Average Height. Where Is He Playin??
user_offline.gif

This from the Ovens and murray forum.
State player eh. Would that be the state of intoxication he played for?

I'm sorry Fancy,

You got me, with a very reliable source.... I guess flashy white boots just knows more than everyone else that has seen him in action.

On a more serious note your whitty antidote is just terrible, please don't attempt humour because you barely get a pass grade.

Tigers looking good, but most should worry about the eagles fancy,
but of course you already knew that.....

Sweet, sweet Brimackabeal. Difficult to Judge I think Dazza. I don’t know much about their new recruits. Being a small town girl I’m always looking to see the communities do well.

Have you seen young Lachie play?

Tigers to be on top after round three I’m thinking.

Fancy, what small town would you be from, sounds like you know a bit about the kookoos, murtoa girl are we?

I think everyone is over looking possibly the biggest recruit in the wfl, shane hutchison at warrak. 40 odd games at senior vfl level and was runner up in the bfl league medal when he played just 9 games the other year. but would want to go well have to be on 1k a game one would think

I guess I do have a bit of info on the Burras. That's where a lot of the action has been so I guess that's what people are talking about.

Tige, $1000 a game is a lot of money, are you sure about your numbers?

I've heard he wont play for under $800 in Ballarat, so 3 and a half hours each way i'd say 1k or maybe a tad more is pretty close. Hutchy has gone way under the radar this year. He won a rebels B&F trained with carlton for a pre season played close to 50 senior game with the Roosters, almost won the BFL league medal last yr off 9 games.

A couple of recruits for the Saints i hear. A handy tall, Andy Bansmer younger brother to ruckmen Richie. A bit more mongrel in him than his brother. They've also picked up a couple of experienced flanker types from outside the area. Apparently showing a bit on the track. Numbers still excellent, with their first practice match last weekend againist Port Fairy.

There was a Bansmer who won the junior league BnF in my last yr of U17's i think he did boarding school in Ballarat? If its the same one he's quite a handy footballer he was a good junior and is a pretty good size, havent seen him for 3 or 4 years though but he had alot of natural ability.

Yeah, thats him. Played a bit of footy with Border Districts, now living in Melb. Didn't play last year, had a year overseas. He's what the saints have been lacking. I reckon they're still a tall or two short. They have a competive onballer brigade with Pump, Clough, Hoe, Butsch, Heath Kelm, etc

I agree, great midfield but lacking a key back and key forward but theres alot of clubs out there in the same boat key position players don't grow on trees. A good coach will overcome that challenge, i've seen it done how a coach has had a gun small to mid size forward and would set his forward gameplay around him by isolating him for the other opposition backmen and it doesnt always have to be done in the forward square either.

That’s good news for the Saints. I might have to re-evaluate my predictions for season 09. The Saints have some great runners, Paddy Knott very underrated I think. How would you rate Saints coach PP?

Yeah, talking to a few of the saints blokes, they reckon Brendan Broadbent has been excellent, giving a few of the kids leadership roles, putting a fair bit back onto them. A lot has been said about the "north bound train" of last year, but it did get the best out of his chargers, giving them a taste of finals footy. It will be interesting to see their progress this year. Richie Bansmer had his best year last year after being given a leading role, taking his footy seriously for once. Having his brother at the club this year will have a great effect on him too i think.

I think everyone is over looking possibly the biggest recruit in the wfl, shane hutchison at warrak. 40 odd games at senior vfl level and was runner up in the bfl league medal when he played just 9 games the other year. but would want to go well have to be on 1k a game one would think

will be great for brimsouth, on just over 1k per game, but they will get all back through hutchys pie eating ability.:D

I think your right there tige he should dominate the league if he stays fit. $1000 a game is a lot of money but you have to pay it to get the best footballers to your club these days. What about you guys at nhill Tige rumored to be paying $60,000 for hargraves and the 2 ladhams boys. Big money. You guys should be the big improver though with all the recruits. Where is all the money coming from??

Also heard that Harrow, Balmoral, Douglas, Miga Lake, East Talangatuk may have a couple leaving to the Saints for 09.
Look out for 'The Big Baker' and 'Billy Idol' to increase the Big Men stocks.
Both seen training in last weeks, thats full forward and back up ruckman pencilled in............weather details next!!!