Phantom Draft Snoop Dog 2014 Phantom Draft

Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
Here is the final draft. The more detailed one sits underneath with more detailed bios if looking for that.

Snoops Final Mock Draft

1 St Kilda – Patrick McCartin
Perfect fit for what Saints nee and thought that all year and whilst think Petracca may be slightly better needs mean you swing to this kid for mine. They have good mids already and can take two more at 21&22.

2 Melbourne – Christian Petracca

3 Melbourne Angus Brayshaw
With jury out on a couple of young mids you would take these two and then go and look for a tall later in the draft to work with Hogan and Dawes.

4 GWS – Jarrod Pickett
He is a lock as wont be there at 6.

5 Collingwood – Jayden Laverde
Very hard for me to split Weller, Ahern, Laverde, Cockatoo and De Goey. I have been solid on Laverde all year so will stick with him but nothing really splits and I just think his touch of x factor pushes him into pole.

6 GWS – Hugh Goddard
Swapped him with Lever simply because of the versatility. He offers something at both ends which has real appeal. Terrific kid and interviews very well.

7 GWS - Paul Ahern
Suspect the night will pivot on this pick but I would go with Ahern simply because he is probably the better HF type which I think they need. De Goey very close and Cockatoo / Langford not far away either for same reason.

8 Gold Coast - Liam Duggan
Best two left are Wright and Lever but they don’t need either of them so choice between Duggan, Weller and De Goey. They have luxury of best and whilst not much splits would defer to Duggan.

9 Collingwood - Darcy Moore (Father / Son Selection)
Increasingly of the view he is top 3 in this draft.

10 Geelong – Jake Lever
Love their leaders down at Cattery and arguably the best in the draft is this kid and he happens to play a role they need some quality kids in.

11 WCE - Lachie Weller
Lots of players could land here depending on what happens with Laverde but I think Weller suits their needs and would hit him but again could be De Goey, Cockatoo, Laverde or Ellis quite easily

12 Richmond – Jordan De Goey
I think they will take Ellis but if Collingwood or someone else has left De Goey in the pool I would probably take him. More HF than the inside mid they crave but is building to that. Got a bit of the Joel Selwoods about him.

13 Fremantle – Sam Durdin
Like Cats would be keen for a quality tall and I am betting he slips to this pick. Terrific player for mine and whilst Marchbank is close this kid has more tools and also a great leader.

14 Adelaide – Peter Wright
Well the get real luck simply because post pick 4 all clubs are preferring mids. If you did a simply ‘best’ list then he would be in the top 5-7. He would be ideal for them.

15 Gold Coast – Corey Ellis
Suspect he will end at Tigers but wont get past 17 would think as just a super player. Hard, highly skilled and a competitor. Could also see Langford and Cockatoo here.

16 North – Nakia Cockatoo
Explosive performer and wouldn’t surprise if heard him called from 5 onwards. Would have to be in the mix all the way through and the closeness of the mid / utility kids is so little to 22 it isn’t funny.

17 Essendon – Jarrod Gartlett
Perfect fit for the Dons but again wouldn’t surprise if any of the above land here or they go for Menadue or Lamb before Carlton do.

18 Swans – Isaac Heeny (Academy Selection)

19 Carlton – Tom Lamb
Long thought Marchbank but Lamb fits what they have been spruiking all year. Been inconsistent but had to listen to maybe 5 coaches all year. He will settle fine. One of the most talented in draft if can get consistent.

20 Essendon – Kyle Langford
I have him at the back end only because the games I have seen I have just worried a bit about his decision making. Everything is a tick and it’s only a slight thing. In the mix from 5 onwards and again he just is a fraction off the rest. Huge upside potential though and reminds me a bit of a slightly smaller Kouta type player.

21 St Kilda – Caleb Marchbank
Just to good to let past here for mine. Not what they have been spruiking as their need but he is a very talented guy who could land anywhere from 7. Just to good to pass up. McCartin front and Marchbank fwd would be outstanding for the years to come.

22 St Kilda - Connor Blakely
Nice fit for the list but loads of good options and probably be more outside type.

23 GWS- Connor Menadue
Sort of player SOS loves. Tall, skinny, can run and has a bit of class about him. Can also be patient with him. Chance to go earlier with his potential. Don’t think would fall past Collingwood.

24 GWS - Jack Steele (Academy Selection)

25 North - Daniel McKenzie
Was sort of thinking tall but a lot of upside to this class HB / Wing type and he is the sort North traditionally like. Thought about a tall but I reckon a few good defenders later on if they want one.
26 West Bulldogs - Oscar McDonald
Would be wanting a key defender probably as much as anyone in this draft and he wont get past North or Swans so if they want him its time to go. Elite athlete.

27 West Bulldogs – Damian Cavka
I reckon the Dogs have a bit of inside grunt and need some outside polish and goal sense in the fwd half. Had an incredible finish to the year and suspect Collingwood would be real keen for him. I reckon he is a chance from circa 20 albeit some mail suggests a lot later. I rate him higher and see how I look in 5 years time.

28 Carlton - Dillon Viojo -Rainbow
Projects as a player with huge upside for mine. Nice height, athletically goes well and suits Carlton want for run, speed and skill. Another who I think will go in the range of 25-35 and you would think everyone be keen on him.

29 Gold Coast - Toby McLean
Just finished off year sensationally. Big riser for mine.

30 Collingwood - Brayden Maynard
Nice fit for the Pies and would give them a bit of grunt to blend with Laverde. Kid is a bull and really good ball user through HF or HB. Very strong player.

31 Hawthorn - Touk Miller
Sort of player they know and like. McKenzie a chance.
32 WCE – Dean Gore
I really rate this kid and one appear to be a bit different. Performed well at every level. Competitor, strong, aggressive good ball use and tested well.

33 Richmond – Dan Howe
Strong performer and offers aggression and versatility. Over age so traditionally back a bit but was very good. Super end to the year and showed can play anywhere.

34 Fremantle – Harrison Wigg
Freo fans tell me they need a classy small defender and he is one of the best kicks going in the draft.

35 Adelaide - Ed Vickers-Willis
Struggled with where to fit him given can play back and middle. If club convinced he could go middle then he would be up around 25 or so.

36 North – Tyler Kietel
Am a Keitel fan and think history will suggest better than where a few good track watchers have him. Good fit for North as can go fwd or back

37 Swans – Keenan Ramsey
Have Abe Davis who a big fan of but another key defender would be in the mix and I like Ramsay albeit needs time. Daniel Neilson would be another to look at.

38 Swans - Jack Hiscox (Academy Selection)

39 West Bulldogs – Jaden McGrath
Real livewire type player who didn’t play much but when he did he turned it on. Reminds me a bit of Lang from last year.

40 Melbourne -Alex Neal-Bullen
He is one others would have a fair bit higher but I just think some others such as Gore are better. I’d probably even have Bampton ahead of him. Has some good traits though and did very well in SANFL.

41 St Kilda – Josh Glenn
For me this is a reason why you go McCartin early. You can still get mids the quality of this kid around 3rd round. Played a lot more mid this year and would probably walk into the side.

42 Melbourne – Billy Stretch (Father / Son Selection)

43 Adelaide - Jackson Nelson
When you are pulling kids of this quality in the 3rd round you can see why the depth is so highly regarded. Terrific player and you needed to see him at Falcons this year to appreciate how good he goes in the middle.

44 Brisbane – Liam Dawson (Academy Selection)

45 West Bulldogs – Jordan Cunico
Another who is really talented and would have to be in the mix from around 30 given the tools he has and the scope to improve. His run and carry would appeal to a lot of clubs.

46 West Bulldogs - Clem Smith
I think the Dogs could really use an aggressive type at HB or HF who is a bit of swingman depending on the situation. Smith is your bloke but have to get him fit first and why I think a chance he might slide.

47 Geelong – William Fordham
Terrific type and one that is in the mould of a few the Cats have taken over past years like Guthrie etc.

48 Collingwood - Blaine Boekhurst
Buckley has a need for speed and skill and if this kid is around I think he will drop here. I watch a lot of Swans and he is good. Bampton one and roughie is kid called Callum Moore.

49 Hawthorn - Reece McKenzie
I think they may be the first to pull the trigger button on Reece. Saints might if they go Petracca.

50 Hawthorn - Marc Pittonet
Need another ruck and would swoop before others like Crows nab him if they haven’t already. Otherwise Kovacevic my next best but not much further behind is Tagliabue or Obrien.

51 WCE – Jack Lonie
Need a small fwd and this kid a walk up start with McLean as the best in the draft. Could go Abbott or McGovern here as well and would think Shane Yarran a massive roughie but someone who could light up Subiaco.

52 Richmond - Peter Bampton
Would walk into the middle of that Tigers side and fix the ball winning issue they want to.

53 Melbourne – Daniel Nielson
Got Frost and McDonald but this kid is to good to be left and he would be a handy development player for them down back. Got a bit of the Lake about him.

54 Fremantle - Mitch McGovern
Just thinking Fremantle might go a touch more aggressive this year in front of sticks and he would be a good choice to work with Walters and Ballantyne.

55 Geelong - Bailey Dale
Nice type for the Cats and is a real bolter given his year. I like him so versatile.

56 Port Adelaide - Daniel Butler
Nice fit for Port and fits mould of Impey type player from last year. Runs, aggressive and can back and fwd.

57 Swans – Daniel Capiron
Really talented HB type who I think is similar to what Swans have looked at over the years. Howe would be another they would like.

58 Adelaide – Ed Langdon
Found it really hard to place him as been talked out of him a little but a couple of people I rate. I’d probably have him closer to 40 and maybe a bit more exposed form would make the difference. Has speed, endurance, bit of class fwd and his ball use I think is good.

59 Geelong - James Rose
Talented HF who could be anything.

60 Carlton – Declan Hamilton
Another example of talented kids who still available late in the draft. Tip is Boekhurst. Ahmaad Saad?

61 Brisbane – Harris Andrews (Academy Selection)

62 West Bulldogs - Zaine Cordy (Father / Son Selection)

63 Carlton - Josh De Luca
Need a small forward and he has shown plenty in WAFL and has ability to walk into side. Saad another option.

64 Gold Coast – Nathan Drummond
Super athlete who is massive chance early and possibly to Tigers or Port

65 Brisbane – Lukas Webb
Has the quality to be a lot higher but consistency an issue. Can rip you up quickly though.

66 WCE – Brendan Abbott
He Lonie or McGovern here for mine.

67 Richmond - Josh McGuiness
Another who could be a bit higher or lower and has a wide range on for mine. His ball winning the issue and worry is he to much like Matt Haynes? Very dominant player at Champs though and so maybe more like KK. Very hard.

68 Fremantle - Tom Wilkinson
Elite runner and would think a few pretty keen on. Anywhere from 40 but should get selected.

69 Port Adelaide – Matthew Panos
For a side pushing for GF next year a bit of depth across the ground I think might be a focus. He can play HF and mid rotation. Collingwood would be looking at him at 75 would think.

70 Swans - Abe Davis (Academy Selection)

71 Carlton – Ryan Lim
Seems to have a few against him but I am a fan. Watched for 2 years and seen enough to suggest he has the tools to play at AFL. Speed, works hard, runs and carries and can work through HB and middle. Has a few knocks on ball use but 75% at Champs. In saying that a few who have seen more than me that I rate and they aren’t big fans of kicking.

72 GWS - Josh Watts
Development tall who I think will surprise a few.
73 Brisbane – Oleg Markov
Has the tools but not enough exposed form to consider higher. Huge range on him and chance he misses all together given injury profile.

74 Gold Coast - Adam Saad
Want senior bodies as they plan to go deep into September.

75 Collingwood - Nic Newman
I was a massive advocate for them getting Hibberd years ago and reckon we missed it. Newman is very similar and along with Langdon and Scharenberg could be the building blocks of our defence for 10 years. Beaut kick. Panos, Boekhurst or any other sliders Hine thinks may not make to him in the rookie would be in the mix. May not even use it.Miller-Lewis and McGrath a couple I think about.

76 WCE - Alec Waterman (Father / Son Selection)

77 Richmond – Aidan Anderson
New Jake King. Some thought wont get drafted as couple issues needs to work through but he has the talent to be a player. Real good tempo.

78 Port Adelaide - Sean McLaren
Need some defensive stocks and I’d take McLaren who is pretty mobile and has played some very good games. Could be a mature player.

79 Swans – Jermaime Miller - Lewis
AIS player who didn’t get a chance to play any Colts or Champs football at all this year due to injury. Seen a bit of him and he is genuinely quick and has a bit of x factor and aggression at the ball. He could surprise come draft night as laced with talent but injuries set him back.

80 GWS - Brett Eddy
He or Mitch Brown might be worthwhile until Patton back and McCarthy etc given more time. Be good help to Cameron as they aim to win a few more games this year. Need a target for the kids.

81 Brisbane – Taylor Grace
They will be looking for someone who has drifted I would think.

82 Carlton - Bradley Walsh
Bit of a fan of this kid. Reminds of Sam Mitchell and tested well. Good fit. Smart although Mick might think he is another midget.

83 Richmond - Taea Miles
Reckon he might tur into excellent run with player.

84 Port Adelaide – Brett Turner
Don’t know a heap about but seems like a selection they may well be into given how late in the draft it is. Home grown kid they are confident on fits bill.

85 GWS – Jeremy Finlayson (Academy Selection)

86 Brisbane - Josh Clayton (Father / Son Selection)

87 Carlton – Jayden Foster
Its not a given Jones and Jaksch become the dominant fwds. This kid was to good not to be selected in my view and good fit for Blues. Hammelmann another.

For the rookie selections head to this;

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/snoop-dog-final-2014-mock-draft-incl-rookie.1082638/

# 1 St Kilda - Christian Petracca
Club: Eastern Ranges
Height: 186cm
Weight:92kg
Position: Midfielder

Got to give it to this bloke. Endurance was a bit of an issue and has gone away and really worked on it to become a very good runner who can spend oodles of time in the middle. Beep is around 14 so ideally that is around 15-16 for a mid but he is on a good trajectory. He is strong through the hips and around the core and holds his position really well. He is as powerful a mid I have seen in a long time and once he has it you are in trouble as he seems to have time and space. An elite kick who puts the ball to advantage. Good in close and out wide and will just get better and better. Did I forget to say can also play as a specialist HF.

Others – I think the three best players in the draft are Petracca, Wright and McCartin but I just have Petracca slightly ahead albeit must be hard to leave out the other two given both likely to be outstanding fwds to build a team around.

# 2 Melbourne - Patrick McCartin
Club: Geelong Falcons
Height: 192cm
Weight:90kg
Position: Key Fwd

Thought to be the standout top pick by many for a long time. Just hasn’t been able to string together enough games because of injury this year and therefore may have slipped a little. Tough uncompromising key forward who just loves the contest and being able to impact a game. Reads the ball really well and is a bit like that Dunstall type where not quite the traditional height but gets separation really well, has terrific hands and very good shot for goal. He can also apply pressure the other way and is a bloke you can build your forward line around. Also wouldn’t be surprised if didn’t take him long to start at senior level.

Others – Thought long and hard about Lever and Wright but went with the best of those three. I do worry McCartin and Hogan are quite similar but they will be very dominant. Lever perfect for the Dees and it would have to appeal having Hogan and Lever up the spine at different end but I sort of feel you can always go and pay up for a key defender moreso than a key fwd.

# 3 Melbourne - Angus Brayshaw
Club: Sandy Dragons
Height: 187cm
Weight:87kg
Position: Mid

He is a bull. Tough in and out midfielder who will be top 3-4 selection for sure. Bit like Ollie Wines insomuch as just has that strong powerful body and a presence in the contest. Like Ollie he could step up to seniors in Rd 1 and have an impact. Not super quick but certainly quick enough to break from the contest pretty easily and get seperation. He does possess elite endurance, excels at clearances and good user of the ball. Plays well in the big and important ones to and will hurt offensively. Only area I think he might want to work on his ball use. It wasn’t at the elite level at Champs but the conditions in some of those games wasn’t ideal for clean ball use.

Others – Would they go Lever and McCartin. I almost did but Roos loves Brayshaw and they need to invest in that midfield some more given issues with Jack and the fact Toumpas hasn’t come on. If Dees had a pick around 10-20 as well I would have hit the two big boys.

# 4 GWS - Jarrod Pickett
Club: South Fremantle
Height: 179cm
Weight: 76kg
Position: Midfielder / HF
Bio: This kid is elite for speed and tests well in a number of other areas. Clubs will want him because he oozes class and x factor and just wants to take the game on and be aggressive with the ball. When you see him cut away from a contest and put the foot down it is breath taking. Has a terrific vertical leap and is capable of doing some great things in the air as well and his ball use is as good as it gets. The only knock on him is he can go missing at times but he’s had a crack at seniors this year and handled it pretty well.

Others – I think the Giants may take him here for fear Collingwood will swoop on him. If they are confident he slides then maybe take Wright but I think he is safe at 6 for them. Roughie….Laverde

# 5 Collingwood - Jayden Laverde
Club: Western Jets
Height: 189cm
Weight:82kg
Position: Utility

Bio: The Patrick Dangerfield of this years draft. He is a match winner this kid and one that have been very bullish on since seeing him as a bottom ager last year. Has everything you would want. Height, speed, agility, good hands, positional scope and plays very good football. Has done some things through the year in different games which would have had recruiters salivating. Needs a bit more consistency though but that will come.

Why / others – I would think the Pies would like the speed of Pickett but I think GWS will already have him. Lots of players make sense here and mail is strong its he or De Goey but I think Ahern (rated v high by Pies), Lamb (arguably one of the 6-7 best in the draft when ‘on’), Weller and Langford are all types I could see Hine taking. Roughie would be Wright or Lever but I think Pies well stocked there.

# 6 GWS - Peter Wright
Club: Calder Cannons
Height: 203cm
Weight:102kg
Position: Ruck / Key Fwd
Bio: Been on the radar for a long time given his performances as a bottom ager. Tall kid with a huge hunger for the game and can play tall forward and Ruck and has had really dominant performances over the last couple of years. Ultimately I think he appeals as a key forward first who can go into the ruck. What I like about Peter is that he doesn’t rely on his height and bulk to take marks in the goal square. He gets on his bike and presents and he can keep presenting because he has a strong endurance base. He is like Kurt Tippett in that regard and his work as a ruckmen will also benefit from it. He has the potential to be a very dominant player in years to come.

Others – Terrific player this kid and a really good replacement for Boyd. How about getting Wright and Griffen for Boyd. I actually rate Wright very highly and have him as potentially the best player 10 years down the track.

# 7 GWS - Jake Lever
Height: 193cm
Weight: 84kg
Position: HBF / Tall defender
Bio: One of the most highly touted coming into the year but struck down with a knee reco. He was so highly thought of he capt metro in a game at last years champs as a bottom ager. Few get that privilege so tells you how highly he is regarded. Key defender who can play CHB, or on medium and small sized players as well. Interesting to note Calder keen to play him as a mid this year and has a handy 3km time to suggest might be a possibility.

Others – I really rate Paul Ahern and they have looked at Cockatoo. De Goey would be a type that would appeal but they need key defenders and if they are leaders all the better. This kid is both.

# 8 Gold Coast - Paul Ahern
Height: 181
Weight:77kg
Position: Mid

Bio: Really classy player who just seems to have more time than the rest. Bit like a cat because he just doesn’t seem to get knocked off his feet when he has it. Is always poised, well balanced and makes really good decisions with ball in hand. He has elite disposal and can really cut you up with a dozen possessions and hence has traits like Fyfe and SJ at same stage. Like them he can also win clearances and excel around the stoppages.

Why / others – I think Ahern’s best is as good as anyone’s in the draft and I think he will become a terrific player. Jarrod Pickett would appeal to them but will be gone and maybe De Goey, Lamb or Nakai as well. Tom Lambs best is as good as anyone’s.

# 9 Collingwood - Darcy Moore (Father / Son)
Club: Oakleigh Chargers
Height: 199cm
Weight: 94kg
Position: FB / CHB / CHF / FF
Bio: An unbridled colt this kid who is every bit the old man. If you want to see what becomes of him seriously just go and have a look at vision of Dad. Athletic, quick, aggressive, penetrating kick. His upside is huge. Athletically he is that good he could play anywhere on the ground. Ultimately I think Collingwood would hope he could play CHF. If he gets separation I cant think of many CHB’s who would close him down. His hands are strong and he is a competitive beast. Kicking is very good for a big fella as well.

# 10 Geelong - Sam Durdin
Club: West Adelaide
Height: 197cm
Weight: 87kg
Position: Tall Defender / Fwd
Bio: Been a bit harshly judged at times this year and largely off the back of Champs form. Truth is he did well to make it given injuries and showed us enough of what we all knew down at the cattery. He is a damn good footballer which he put on show for everyone at the back end of the season. Smart, physical, great hands and has a real presence about him. Can be swung either end or take a stint in the ruck and will impact the game. If drops beyond 8 someone has a bargain with him as I reckon his best is in the top echelon. Could well captain an AFL club one day to boot.

Others – I really rate this kid and think he would be perfect for the Cats in planning for life without Tom albeit they have one just as good at the Falcons so maybe they take the no risk approach and go Goddard. Would be sorely tempted to replace Christensen with a Weller but cant pass on Durdin or Goddard if here.

# 11 WCE - Lachie Weller
Club: Southport
Height: 181cm
Weight: 71kg
Bio: He is an elite talent this kid. His test results from the AIS were outstanding with something like 2.9s over 20m and agility and vertical leap numbers that were up there with the very best. Just finds the ball at will and can play inside or outside the contest. His ball use is elite and he will push both ends of the ground on transition. His decision making and awareness is good and he can put players into position and set up play well in the same way Cotchin does it. Also knows where the goals are and willing to attack and get himself into a position to score.

Others – It’s a crap shoot from here as I could build an argument for nearly the next 20 to go in any order from here to pick 30-32. They would have been hoping for Pickett but he will be gone. I could see De Goey, Ahern and Cockatoo here. They have that explosive element teams want but Weller is a terrific midfielder.

# 12 Richmond - Liam Duggan
Height: 183cm
Weight: 78kg
Position: Midfielder / HB
Bio: Elite footballer who is getting better and better. Part of the AIS squad and the team managers am told were a massive rap for him. Had a terrific TAC year where he was named in the bests 8 out of 11 appearances. Elite runner and has good speed which he uses to launch out of HB or the middle and use his elite decision making and ball use (on both feet) to deliver to advantage further up the ground. Is strong and has improved his contested work through the year which was probably the area of improvement some might have focussed on. Averaged over 15 touches at Champs and went at 77% which was pretty good given was off HB for most of the time.

Why / Others – Openly stated want mids so Lamb, Blakely, Langford, Weller, Duggan, Ellis, Maynard and Cockatoo would all have to be a show. I could see Blakely going here as the inside mid that frees up the Cotchins, Martins etc but went with outside polish as plenty of good inside mids will be around at later picks. Surely would be tempted if Hugh or Sam still here as well.

# 13 Fremantle - Hugh Goddard
Height: 196cm
Weight: 92kg
Position: Key Fwd / Defender
Bio: Hard to know where Hugh will slot in. His best is incredible and when in defence at times can literally be an impenetrable wall. At other times you wonder whether he is even out there and unfortunately that was his champs and has therefore got many thinking exactly where is his right spot. I would take him pretty high and back myself to get the best out of him consistently because his best is just very very good. Plenty of examples of bigger kids being up and down at his age so am not reading to much into it. Very agile and athletic in fact he moves like a big cat out there at times and he can play fwd or back. If he plays forward he will burn a few tall defenders in the latter stages of a game.

Why / Others – Who knows they will be spoilt for choice and like Adelaide might need the 3 mins to choose. Goddard, Durdin might be tall options and guys like Langford, De Goey, Weller etc mids.

# 14 Adelaide - Jordan DeGoey
Weight: 82kg
Position: HF / Midfielder
Bio: He is one of my favourites this year and talked him up early so good to see carried it through. You know every club will be interested in this kid as just has ‘presence’. Tall, strong, aggressive and a real want for 1:1 footy which probably comes from the rugby background. He just has presence and got a bit of the Jordan Lewis in him and at his size clubs will be keen to have him on their list. One of the things I like about him is he doesn’t fumble. When he gets it he is clean on the way out and he is really happy to try and influence a game and take it on. His DE at Champs was 75% so he ticks a lot of boxes and he seems to have huge improvement in him. Had a good TAC GF to which wouldn’t have hurt.

Others – He could go as high as 5 for mine and don’t think much chance is much past here. Ellis, Cockatoo, Maynard, Langford all would be in the mix as would Lamb.

# 15 Gold Coast - Nakai Cockatoo
Club: NT Thunder
Height: 185cm
Weight: 86kg
Position: Midfielder / HF / HB
Bio: Ripping player and may go higher than people think. Been off the radar as been injured but showed his ability in the All Stars game and would be back in the mix to go in first 20. Kid is a great size for a mid, is strong, can win own footy, quick, good leap, has great hands on the deck, great ball user and is willing to mix it up and win his own ball. Can play forward or back as well and is very composed. He will be a bargain basement after pick 20 and is every chance of getting a game quickly in a pocket. Loads of positional scope as well and having been involved in the AIS he has had a bit of time and good coaching put into him. Can see him as a very good player.

Others – Like asking Rupert Murdoch what he wants for Xmas…..they have everything they don’t need any others.

# 16 North Melbourne - Kyle Langford
Club: Northern Knights
Height: 190cm
Weight: 73kg
Position: Tall Utility
Bio: One of those kids had a bit later on originally but as time gets closer you tend to favour those with skill, speed, agility and endurance over others who may be excellent players but lack in one or two areas. He does in all of the divisions he played this year – TAC, Champs and School. He has natural ability and seems to be always involved in the game suggesting he reads the play pretty well. Physically he is a great size for a wing, flanker role and given he has strong hands in the air and on ground there is a lot to work with. His ball use is very good but I think he can sometimes overplay it or choose the wrong option. Remember he is the youngest in the draft year though so would think time and experience can easily fix that. There is a lot of potential and a lot of positional scope as I could see him forward, middle and up back.

Others – So hard to split the selections from 10-30 so it really could be any of the above or maybe Ellis, Lamb, Cavka, Blakely etc.

# 17 Essendon - Corey Ellis
Bio: Another been keen on for a while but wasn’t sure where to place until I saw him at Champs. He did some things during that carnival that may have gone unnoticed to some but to me he just displayed some traits I think people will really go for. Had a great TAC year after a ripping one as a bottom ager last year. Nice size and looks like will fill out into a strong midfielder / hf type. He has elite decision making and his ball use is very good albeit has games where can go be a bit off which he will need to focus on. Can play in and outside the contest but it is his work in close that sets him up and what clubs will focus on. He just very good at getting the ball moving his team’s way with really good efficiency.

Others – I can see lots of players here as its pretty even. They may favour someone like Marchbank if they think Blues will take him but I would suspect they will go best available here and for me its Ellis, Maynard or Lamb. Most likely someone from above drops and it could well be them.

# 18 Swans - Isaac Heeney (Sydney Swans Academy Selection)
Club: NSW
Bio: He is a great midfielder who ticks every box.
Why: Because if he was on the open market he would be gone by pick 3.

# 19 Carlton - Tom Lamb
Club: Dandenong Stingrays
Position: HB / Mid / HF
Bio: The Jack Darling of this years draft. Bit hot and cold and nobody quite not sure where to place him either. Huge talent and has some elite areas but he is very inconsistent at times and clubs will need to figure out how they get the best out of him. For example, he is one of the best kicks I have seen in this year’s pool yet he finishes Champs with a DE of 56%. He played a fair bit off HB so that should have been better for someone of his talent. He shapes as a bit of a Goddard type in that you can throw him all over the ground and know ‘if on’ he will have an impact and be a potential game changer. He is probably at a level where he could play midfield sooner than later given he runs a 15.5 beep so that really appeals with his height and game sense. Having a big tall strong bodied mid like him could be really important for a lot of clubs list build.

Others – I think they would be happy with any of the above mids that fell to here. Langford is a nice fit for their list and can be given some time and also compliments Cripps who they took last year and hence why haven’t dropped Blakely here. Marchbank would be an option but they seem committed to mids.

# 20 Essendon - Caleb Marchbank
Club: Murray Bushrangers
Weight: 85kg
Bio: Very classy tall who whilst been injured in 2nd half the season did enough for everyone to see he is going to be a player. Very versatile and has shown an ability to play all over the ground. He reads the game well and is sensational in the air with his strong hands. When he gets it he rarely fumbles and nearly always takes a good option. His ball use at the Champs was a stand out going at over 80% DE. I think he is probably best suited to a HB type role but really could put him in a whole lot of spots. I think he is most like an Andrew Mackie type.

Others – You’d be stoked if this played out. May well because the teams ahead all seem to have suggested they want mids. McDonald and Keitel were my next two and Ramsay would be the roughie along with McLaren.

# 21 St Kilda - Damien Cavka
Height: 184cm
Weight: 79kg
Position: Wing / HB / HF / Mid
Bio: Fast rising in my list and think he could be one that pushes into the late teens come ‘the day’. He has some real weapons this kid and I think from the Champs on has really figured how to use them and lifted to another gear. He is a momentum changer, he lifts the tempo, endurance (runs a 16.7 beep) and aggression with and without the footy and attacks the goals from the midfield. Has a defensive side to the game as well and had 14 tackles in a game vs NBR. Had an outstanding finals campaign racking up numerous possessions and slotting goals from everywhere. Did I mention he has a 16.7 beep?

Why / Others – The next Montagna. Any of the above mid types or Menadue / Gartlett. Don’t think would be Blakely as well stocked in that area.

# 22 St Kilda - Reece McKenzie
Weight: 100kg
Position: Full Forward
Bio: Big tall strong full forward who will have defenders always wondering where he is because he uses his leap and loves hitting a pack. Got good footy smarts and his speed and leading patterns get him into good positions with separation. Has some kicked some big bags of goals this year for the Knights and Marcellin but there is an issue around his ability to dominate against good opposition. His big hauls this year came against weak opposition and hence will be interesting to see where he lands.

Why / Others – He has some ‘risks’ attached to him and I would probably have the widest draft range on him as any player in the draft. His performances against good sides have not been great and clubs will wonder why given the size of him but there is a lot to work with. Yes they have Membrey and White but this guy compliments them and I can see all of them in the one side. Oscar McDonald would be a chance and I really rate Keitel as well.

# 23 GWS - Tyler Keitel
Club: East Perth
Height: 194cm
Position: Tall Fwd / Defender
Bio: I have been impressed with this kid for a while now and he could be a kid that goes pretty high. Played last years champs as a forward and had a knack of being in the right place when it counted and was reasonably strong in the contest for his frame. Really filled out this year and will continue to do so and it was his work as a key defender which I thought was exceptional. There was a fair bit of ball coming in at times and he was reading it very well and intercepting and working the ball back where his use by foot was very good for a big bloke. He wasn’t beaten often and it’s a string to his bow that will have clubs pretty keen on him. Went back to WA and kicked some bags fwd late in the year.

Why / Others – I just think he is a really good prospect. Think he makes good decisions and reads game well. Thought long and hard about McDonald but this kid gives them more flexibility back and forward I think. Like Suns have everything so would go best available. Would be a chance for Blakely but given have Steele unlikely and at the other end like Gartlett albeit they have a lot of wing / HF types.

# 24 GWS - Jack Steele (Academy Selection)
Bio: I really rate this. 19yo who was injured a lot of last year and is a strong bodied wing / midfielder who loves the contest and is very effective at extracting it and using it to advantage. Tested very well at the combine for vision and makes sense as is a very composed sort of player who makes good decisions and wouldn’t think would have any issues stepping up. Scored a 15+ beep so has the motor to play in midfield.

# 25 North Melbourne - Jarrod Gartlett
Weight: 69kg
Position: Small fwd / wing
Bio: This kid is elite and he has just gotten better and better as the year has rolled on and could push into the teens come draft day. Did well at champs after coming back from injury and then impressive back in WA at seniors and Colts levels. Has clean hands, electric speed, good lateral movement, balanced, good leap, poised and terrific ball user at top speed which is rare. He doesn’t mind the contest and with a bit more size and be able to push more into contested situations but look you don’t want him getting bashed up in there you want him on the outside and taking off with it and breaking lines. He will probably start as a small / high HF and over time I suspect will push to a wing but he needs to build his endurance and his strength before that happens. One of the most exciting in the pool in my book.

Others – I had Gartlett at 21 for a while and Cavka here. Could easily be either or and again maybe Blakely but given how the kid Turner is coming on I think they may go more polish than grunt.

# 26 Western Bulldogs - Oscar McDonald
Club: North Ballarat Rebels
Position: Key Defender
Bio: Brother of Tom and like his brother is athletically gifted. He gets around the park very well and has scope to play at both ends but I think he will get picked as a key defender. Not convinced in limited time I have seen him that he is a natural forward and think he is probably better served to play a shut down role. Been one of NBR’s really consistent performers this year and should get listed at some point.

Others – If Keitel was here then hit him. Was tossing up he and Ramsay but I think when all other things equal go with the home town kid.

# 27 Western Bulldogs - Brayden Maynard
Club: Sandringham Dragons
Weight: 88kg
Position: Midfielder / HB / HF
Bio: Had a terrific year at Sandy and had some really good moments at the Champs as well. Big boy and already pretty well put together so has scope to play next year possibly. He loves the 1:1 side of the game and excels at winning his own ball, applying pressure and then using it with precision. Questions around his endurance but there is a fair bit to work with I really liked some of his decision making in the games I saw. He seemed to be very in control of the tempo of the game when I saw him. Rarely flustered. Like that.

Others – Again would have Blakely as probably next best player but with Wallis, Liberatore they have plenty of young inside mids.

# 28 Carlton - Connor Blakely
Club: Swan Districts
Bio: A bit of a favourite of mine in the draft as seen him a fair bit this year. He is a midfielder who shone for WA at the champs and has just kept improving since. I think his stocks are higher than most think and is a real chance for 8-15 selection if listen to some but I think he is going to be a victim of sides wanting more ‘polish than grunt’. An elite player around the stoppages who can get his hands to it, gets quick separation and then distributes pretty well. He looks like has more time and he just gets things rolling his teams way. I think he might become more the Watson / Kennedy midfielder insomuch as not overly quick but incredibly smart and will make quick and good decisions with ball from inside the contest. Looks to have a body that can really bulk out as well and hence can become a pretty imposing figure at stoppages. Was impressive at Champs in a side which was ordinary averaging 21 touches at 78% DE and then backing it up with 6 tackles a game. He is a player and a fair replacement for Beams.

Others – They got Cripps last year and with Lamb earlier this would be another good pick for them. Cripps and Blakely would do the inside work for 10 years and then they get the polish for the outside (eg Lamb). Maybe they go a Cavka, Menadue etc now. Gore would be another inside mid.

# 29 Gold Coast - Connor Menadue
Height: 188cm
Weight: 69kg
Bio: Has been building all year and his performances at the end of the year were really influential. Has a lot to work with given he is gifted athletically and is starting to read the game really well. He has endurance and pace to break the lines and when he becomes stronger he will be an imposing, powerful player who uses it very well. His ball use is very good. He probably didn’t have the Champs he would have liked but he was played more at HB I think so that will have limited him.

Others – He will take time but a great get here and they can give him time he needs.

# 30 Collingwood - Dillon Viojo-Rainbow
Position: HBF / Wing
Bio: He is one of those kids that did a few things during champs that made you go “wowee”. He is one of the best ball users in the draft and cant imagine him not being taken by a club pretty early. He has that ability to kick low and be quite penetrating which really cuts through the lines. Also had a magnificent year at TAC level where he was one of the dominant players for the Jets finishing in their bests 10 of 12 games. He has good endurance and speed and is probably suited to a HB or wing position.

Why: The knock on him is the defensive side and he never had any more than 3 tackles a game this year which would be at the bottom end so that needs work but you can fix that. Wouldn’t mind Collingwood looking at a tall fwd (McKenzie) or an inside mid (Bampton or Gore).

# 31 Hawthorn - Daniel McKenzie
Weight: 77kg
Position: HBF / Midfield
Bio: Running defender who has had a pretty good year for Chargers. Has terrific speed, vertical leap, endurance and lateral movement that will make him a player high on a few lists. One game at champs where he had 18 touches and went at 88% DE. The knock I think is he probably just needs to impact the game more but he has a lot to work with and he reads the game well so with a bit of size and consistency could have a really handy AFL player here. Had a wonderful TAC GF and showed an ability to play well in an important game and that will have been noticed.

Why: Probably prefer tall fwd / ruck but isn’t much around albeit gave some thought to McLaren. Almost pulled the trigger on Marc Pittonet who I think is the best ruck in the draft and there are a few looking for them.

# 32 WCE - Dean Gore
Club: Sturt
Bio: He is a player this kid and he is getting better all the time. Had a terrific champs and played a lot of senior footy where he had some nice performances. He is an inside mid who excels at stoppages and is strong and rarely gets knocked off his feet. He makes good decisions and I would suggest he is one of the best inside mids in this draft. His issue is probably his size and if 3cm taller would probably be pushing up to 15-20 but he has a good leap and can play a bit taller. Moves well and uses the ball efficiently but you wonder if he could sometimes take more time.

Others – Couldn’t split a bunch of players here but went with Gore who I just think compliments their first selection. Would think if Blakely was here they would really assess him.

# 33 Richmond - Alex Neal-Bullen
Club: Glenelg
Bio: Smart footballer who you cant help but be impressed by and is best suited inside the contest. He excels at the stoppages and regularly gets his hands to the ball and feeds it out by hand to advantage. Been exposed to senior footy this year with Glenelg and he has shown he can handle that and put in some good performances. He does possess a couple of good first steps and he is willing to run and carry but is an inside midfielder for mine. Has good endurance and runs a close 15 which will only get better.

Why: Tigers keen to build their midfield group and I think they could get it done in one draft. I think the draft may play out as the speedy polished mids go first and then the A grade insiders come into the draft around here. If it works that way then the Tigers get 2 very good mids who compliment each other nicely.

# 34 Fremantle - Jackson Nelson
Weight: 81kg
Position: HB / Wing or Midfield
Bio: AIS member and he is pretty hot property I would have expected but is one of the least talked about on BF. Don’t think we saw his best at champs and I reckon it was bc he was played out of position a bit. Take him on Falcons form which has been outstanding. Terrific awareness and reads game well and I think he will build into a powerful midfielder. He has a real go and can win his own footy but he may be more an outside type longer term. Has real speed and good lateral movement so works through traffic well. I have him in a range of 15-40.

Why: I think he is a bit under rated and is probably the best player left in the pool. Langdon would be close and class of Capiron a good balance.

# 35 Adelaide - Keenan Ramsay
Club: Port Adelaide
Position: key Defender
Bio: Super impressive at the Combine and really dominated as a key back. He rarely if ever got beaten and seems to have a terrific leap and good shut down speed as rarely was there a great deal of separation on him. Strong pair of hands on him and can take a mark. He uses it very well (I think he was perfect at the kick test). Can also play forward. This kid only has eye sight in one eye but reckons its made him more spacially aware….incredible and you would love to see him drafted. Love his story.

Why: I think they will want a tall defender here if they didn’t get Durdin or Goddard. Ramsay, McLaren and McDonald the best of them.

# 36 North Melbourne - Daniel Capiron
Weight: 80kg
Position: HB / Mid / HF
Bio: Clubs will be pretty keen on this kid as is pretty polished player who is the type of player clubs are always keen on. Had a sensational champs where he averaged 16 touches and went at 80%+ DE which is elite. Stands at almost 190cm but can play fwd, back or in the middle. Was a part of the AIS and performed very well for them. Reads game well, is willing to impose himself and is an elite user of the pill. I have been keen on him all year. Just looks the part and reads the game so well. Probably needs to work on the tackling side a bit more.

Why: Best available and probably still taking mids but would think maybe a tall back in the mix

# 37 Swans - Sean McLaren
Weight: 92cm
Bio: I was a bit surprised he only got a state screening and hence I think I am probably in the minority who think he could potentially go a lot higher. First noticed last year when he played key back and he just seemed to read the game really well and be in the right spots clunking marks all the time or getting across to impact. Equally thought his decision making and execution was fine. Hasn’t been exposed to a lot of TAC footy but when he has played he has been influential.

Why: I think they could probably do with a tall who is more back but could play a few roles around the ground.

# 38 Swans - Jacob Hisckox (Swans Academy Selection)

# 39 Western Bulldogs - Toby McLean
Weight: 74kg
Position: Small forward / Mid
Bio: He is a ripper this kid and has been building his performances all year to a point where he was elevated up to the National Draft Combine. Has huge x factor and can influence a game within moments. A player who I think will be one of the first smalls chosen because he just has great game sense, a wonderful leap, speed, clean hands and is always involved. His tempo is fantastic and when he is stronger he will be player. Has scope to go into the middle and has had some good hauls but I think he will start as a fwd.

Why / Others – Loads of upside in this kid and gives them a bit of magic under the feet of Tom.

# 40 Melbourne - Ed Langdon
Height: 182cm
Position: Midfielder / Fwd
Bio: Didn’t get to see much of him this year due to school footy and injury but played a game at the champs which have seen and will have had a few excited I would have thought. He has elite speed and tests at circa 2.9 for 20m and has a beep in excess of 16. He projects as a player who could play midfield at AFL level and be one that can transition run, break lines and bust open a game. He is smart around goals and has clean hands as well so you would think someone is going to be keen to get him and whilst hasn’t played much would think he is in the mix for a late senior spot.

Why / Others: One that could go a lot higher given he ticks lots of boxes. He has some tricks. Touk Miller quality player around here as is Dan Capiron.

# 41 St Kilda – Harrison Wigg
Club: North Adelaide
Position: HBF
Bio: Am a big fan. Some will say he is a bit of an outside type but you don’t want a kid like this getting bashed up in the stoppages. You want him sitting off as a receiver and slipping it out to him. When he gets it he is off. Reasonably quick, likes attacking the lines and a left foot that was a gift from whichever god you believe in. His ball use is tremendous and arguably the equal of anyone in the draft. That’s not to say he cant win his own ball. He can and he demonstrated that on a number of occasions through the year. You’d love him to be a touch taller and that may hurt him a bit but he is very good. Think of Suckling. He is your kick in man for sure.

Why: Am a big fan of this kid. Think he reads the game as well as anyone in the draft.

# 42 Melbourne - Billy Stretch (Father / Son Selection)
Height: 180cm
Weight: 70kg
Position: Wing
Bio: Young Billy is a kid who I think I rate a lot higher than most others. He is an elite runner and whilst only small has a want for the contest and has a go irrespective of who has the ball. Got a great couple of first steps, good pace and is a long and penetrating kick. Like his old man he reads the game very well, can run all day and he is a good fit for that list.

Why: Lucky buggers……I would have had him going in the 20’s easily.

# 43 Adelaide - Touk Miller
Height: 177cm
Bio: Captained Metro at the Champs and was very good averaging 17 touches and going at circa 75% DE. He is elite around the stoppages and probably does his best work in close. He is clean and rarely fumbles and often will use his lateral movement and pace to weave through traffic. He has great endurance so all the tools to be a very good inside mid type player at AFL level. Could push fwd and play HF as well.

Why / Others: Just a natural footballer for mine who has a couple of limitations that I think keep him out of top 30 ‘talk’. Dan Capiron would be someone in the mix here.

# 44 Brisbane - Liam Dawson (Academy Selection)
Club: QLD
Bio: Terrific size about him and one of the few that stood out for QLD vs the TAC sides. Is tied to the Lions obviously and will certainly be selected by them. Polished sort of player but probably needs o be more aggressive at it on what I have seen. Good user of the ball and has a fair bit of positional scope but ultimately would think he is a midfielder. It’s a bit new to him and he will take time but has speed and clean hands.

# 45 Western Bulldogs - Ed Vickers-Willis
Bio: Bit unsure where he gets placed in the draft because he has scope to play a few different roles. Some see as a defender, others a midfielder. I think most likely will settle as a 3rd defender where he reads the play, intercepts and can be trusted on the way out. Had a really good year at TAC level and a good champs. He had some moments where he got found out 1:1 but for the most part was very solid. He reads the game well and he can collect touches outside of the contest. Strong bodied type and may end up a bit like Mundy who was thought of as a more a flanker but moved into the middle later on. He has the want for the contest in him and hence has that scope and if someone sees him in the vein he could rocket up to close 15-25.

Why / Others: No reason……just to good to be left any longer and shows how good this draft is. I think he might turn into a very imposing mid like JK and in fact I worry he is the one I probably have a bit to far back. Jaden McGrath is one I really rate who would have to go around here.

# 46 Western Bulldogs - Marc Pittonet
Height: 201cm
Weight: 101kg
Position: Ruck
Bio: Got a basketball background which is always handy. Many would rate him the 2nd best ruck in the TAC and given that’s behind Wright that’s my view to. I like him because he is a knees up and get into them type of ruck who loves to be aggressive. He gets around the ground well, and is clean with the ball and his team mates trust him through the corridor which is a huge vote of confidence. Marc had a good year at TAC level and some good moments in the Champs and the TAC GF.

Why: I reckon he will in the mix for a few including Hawks at 31.

# 47 Geelong - Jaden McGrath
Club: Bendigo Pioneers
Bio: Didn’t play a whole lot this year with injury but was part of the AIS squad and was very impressive in the game vs the Pies they had earlier in the year. Seen vision of that game and he was electric. He has genuine speed and has tested very well for 3km time trial so has endurance as well. Is only light and probably would like him a few cm taller but he gets in and has a real crack at it. Decision making good and ball use is good as well and would think he will get called earlier than people think.

Others – Could go as early as circa 25-30. Took speed for them and it sort of thins out post this kid for quality speed. He isn’t talked about as didn’t play much but he is v v v good. Could see Langdon there as well and Rose could get up to this point.

# 48 Collingwood - Peter Bampton
Club: Norwood
Weight: 83kg
Bio: Was touted as a top 10 pick this time (incl me) last year which was probably a bit fanciful as he really didn’t have the scope of some of the others coming through. Been playing SANFL seniors since he was 16 and been having a great impact. Big strong kid who runs all day and plays inside midfielder. His speed and agility are good and he creates space out of stoppage pretty well and navigates nicely through congestion. The knock is his kicking is a bit wayward at times and that hurts in the modern game. Will go higher than many think as you just know what you are getting with him. He will be a terrific inside footballer and the benefit he gets is that he is very good with hands and he just might become a guy that handballs a bit more. Unfortunately we didn’t see him due to ankle injury at champs but if you watch SANFL you will have seen him many times.

Why / Others: Got a bit of the Levi Greenwoods at same age. Bailey Dale is a kid who might get this high and have heard a few clubs are keen on him.

# 49 Hawthorn - Matthew Hammelman
Club: QLD
Position: Tall Fwd
Bio: Big tall fwd who I thought was very good this year and showed some real forward nous. He has good leading patterns, terrific running vertical leap and a good set of hands on him. He kicks well and he is another great prospect for the Lions. If you don’t get in front …put down the glasses. Bit of work to do to fill out but he is a ‘Hawkins’ like prospect.

Why: They would like a tall fwd and he is a really good FF this kid. Needs size but that will come and just has some lovely traits. Payne might be another. Could also go ruck in which case Pittonet or Kovacevic would be around. They didn’t leave themselves a lot of picks and you get the sense they don’t rate the draft like others.

# 50 Hawthorn – Dallas Willsmore (Rookie Upgrade)

# 51 WCE - Jack Lonie
Height: 175cm
Weight: 68kg
Position: Small forward
Bio: Very clever small forward who has had a couple of really good years for the Rays and presents as one of the better small forwards for drafting. Had some great performances at TAC and Champs which showcased his pace (albeit didn’t test as well as thought he would), cleverness and ball use. He knows how to kick goals and he keeps his tempo up even when he doesn’t have the ball and will tackle and chase and apply pressure. Think Luke Dalhaus.

Why: Keen for a small fwd and he is high quality for mine. Others like Yarran or most likely Deluca would not surprise. Would they let Clem Smith past?

# 52 Richmond - Clem Smith
Club: Perth
Position: Small utility
Bio: Was named in the AA team after last years champs. Elite junior but one that has probably drifted through the year and could well be a bit of bargain. Strong bodied player who loves a contest and is almost reckless at times in his attack and want to make a contest. He reminds a bit of Byron Pickett who at the same age was a similar player. Can play at either end and wouldn’t mind betting he starts as a small fwd until he builds out. His defensive pressure is great and he has good hands and competes well 1:1. His ball use is good and the only knock on him is he probably isn’t as consistent as you would like him to be. Another has who played senior footy this year and hasn’t looked out of place. Needs to be fitter I would think given his results at DC.

Why: I think his fitness is under par and hence he drops. Could even be lower than this but heaps to work with and nice fit for Tigers. Cunico is a player I really like and the WA kid Boekhurst would walk in.

# 53 Melbourne – Neville Jetta (Rookie Upgrade)

# 54 Fremantle - Jordan Cunico
Club: Gippsland Power
Weight: 72kg
Bio: One of our local kids and a smart footballer who just needs to build the bulk up to make it at AFL level. Kid has all the tricks clubs would want. Is aggressive at the ball forward and back, has terrific speed (circa 2.9s for 20m) and uses to bust open the lines and quickly transition the ball, is an elite user by hand and foot and could play a lot of different roles. Has a touch of x factor and when his bulk and core power improve and he can have more impact in winning his own ball he will be a formidable player. He will take time and I wonder what that does to his draft position but easily one of the more talented skills wise in the pool.

Why / Others: I have seen a bit of him and I like him and he could be 30-40. Lots to work with and he is a really nice size. I think he will take a few years to be physically ready but he is that type who might build out and really come on. Bailey Dale is one am sure will be around here somewhere.

# 55 Geelong – Bailey Dale
Position: Half Fwd / Wing
Bio: Lightly framed kid who has just been getting better all year and has been a really good player for Dandenong. Was originally invited to State ended up heading to the National Draft Combine so the interest is coming for him. Had a couple of really good games where he has heavily influenced the result and the game vs the Falcons was very good (21 of his 25 touches were effective). Can play a few roles but the times I have seen him I have been most impressed with the stoppage work where he seems to read the game well, uses his clean hands in close and be able to get onto a tap or a handball and then aggressively look to run offensively and use his speed. Likes a shot on goal and his ball use is good. Goes the other way to.

Why: Just has plenty of upside for mine. James Rose another.

# 56 North Melbourne – Kayne Turner (Rookie Upgrade)

# 57 Port Adelaide - Josh Glenn
Club: Central Districts
Position: HBF / Mid
Bio: 21yo HB type who has been playing more in the middle this year from SA who has put a couple of really strong years together post coming through the Amo’s in SA. Finally made the decision to nominate after knocking it back last year. He will go pretty quickly and there is a bit of Tom Langdon about him insomuch as you know his performances at senior level will transition. He needs to bulk up a bit but he is good 1:1 and he is very poised with his decision making. His speed and want to attack and set up play are good so he ticks a lot of boxes for someone needing a bloke to walk into the 22 and play a defensive role immediately.

Why: Best available and will probably go higher. Some would want Daniel but surely he is a rookie most likely. Kids like Wilkinson and Drummond will appeal.

# 58 Swans - Declan Hamilton
Bio: I was very impressed with this kid at the Champs (ave 16 touches at 76% DE) and I think he has a lot of improvement left in him as his development this year and has been good. Wasn’t a real highlight reel player but just did everything asked of him at champs and a bit more. Can play fwd or back but will ultimately look to the midfield. I thought he was terrific around stoppages and was poised which suggested he felt comfortable taking time to make good decisions and then he executed his ball use well. (went at 76% DE at champs).

Why / Others: Quality player and thought about Nielson as well but I think Davis might be the key back they want to groom and think might have sight on someone else in the rookie.

# 59 - Adelaide - Mark Kovacevic
Height: 204cm
Weight: 111kg
Bio: Big old traditional ruck kid who imposes himself on the contest pretty well. Likes to get up and make a contest at the ruck and then backs it up pretty well around the ground albeit you’d all like them to be like Dean Cox and grab 25 touches and kick a couple of goals.

Why: They want a ruck and reckon he or one other on their list.

# 60 Geelong - James Rose
Club: Sturt
Position: HF
Bio: Really impressed me at times during the champs. He is a very smooth, classy type who has clean hands and he just reads the game so well. Reminds me a bit of Ben Lennon from last year. I think he could probably improve some of his endurance running but if he can then you get a natural forward who reads the ball coming in before others and possesses a great leap and strong hands so he is hard to beat. He is a ripping kick and whilst he might take some time I think he may well be a bargain at the back end if he puts the work in.

Why: Oozes class this kid. Could be a terrific player in time. You can just see him playing for the Cats.

# 61 Carlton - Tom Wilkinson
Weight:78kg
Position: Wing
Bio: He has good speed, has recorded a 16+ beep and likes to take the game on. Has had a super season with Dragons and he has played well in the finals which is important. He accumulates a lot of ball and whilst only seen a couple of times he will straighten up through the middle and try and open up space for his forwards. He works both ways and very happy to do the harder stuff and apply defensive pressure with his relentless tackling. I think a club could look at him for a number of roles as I think he offers a bit as a high HF as well or a running HB.

Why / Others: Drummond was in this spot for a while.

# 62 Essendon – Patrick Ambrose (Rookie Upgrade)

# 63 Brisbane – Harrison Andrews (Academy Selection)
Club: Aspley
Height: 198cm
Weight: 91kg
Position: Key Position Player
Bio: Tall kid who could be anything. Has been played fwd and back and done equally well at both. Terrific set of hands and reads it very well in the air. He is good by foot as well and be staggered if not taken by Lions. Good endurance and speed for a tall fella.

# 64 Western Bulldogs - Zaine Cordy (Western Bulldogs Father / Son Selection)
Bio: I have been a bit confused about him all year because I had the sense he was going to get through to a 3rd round or even 4th round at one stage. Thankfully appears everyone else is seeing this kid for what he is. Elite tall defender who just shuts down players. Had a ripper on Moore earlier in the year at Champs and has a number of other good scalps albeit I think he does at times get lost in the contest but maybe he wasn’t getting as protected as he should and was to easily blocked. Another Mick Turner rates and has said one of the best defenders through the Falcons.
Why:

# 65 Carlton - Nathan Drummond
Position: Wingr / HB / HF
Bio: Had a sensational year after being overlooked last year and you would think he is a certainty to be picked this year given he was in the bests at Bushies 8 out of his 12 games. Has some really good attributes that AFL clubs will like. Big and tall for a guy who can play through the back, middle and up front, he has electric speed, good leap and his ball use is very good when he is ‘on’. That being said his DE at the champs and at TAC level was actually pretty poor in that he went at a tick above 50% in both comps but he was very influential in TAC games and in champs vs Metro and SA so that is as good as it gets in terms of big games and influencing them.

Others: Dan Howe be a nice fit.

# 66 Gold Coast - PASS

# 67 Brisbane - Dan Howe
Height: 191cm
Position: Tall Utility / Defender
Bio: 19yo who has had an outstanding year at all levels. In 11 appearances for the Bushies he was in the bests on 9 occasions. Is your 3rd tall defender type who is naturally aggressive and really keen to apply defensive pressure on his opponents. He is good in the air and has clean hands and is a terrific ball user. Athletically gifted and can get separation on his opponent and play on talls and smalls.

Others: He could go a lot higher than this. Dan Howe is a similar player to Crisp actually so would be one to look at but a replacement for Patfull might be the go as well and so Neilson as a younger type but even a Hartley as a mature age player to walk into the back half maybe.

# 68 Hawthorn – Zac Webster (Rookie Upgrade)

# 69 WCE – Brendan Abbott
Club: Claremont
Weight: 90kg
Position: HF / Mid / HB
Bio: Must have been on the cusp last year and would think a pretty decent chance this year given his performances for Claremont at senior level. Kid has some presence about him and likes to get involved in physical side of it. Reads the game pretty well and was played forward and back in the games I saw this year and I thought was handy at all of them. Athletically good but its his foot skills that you want. He really is a good user and if he keeps the physical stuff and continues to work on his fitness he will be a good get for someone. Clubs just need to be convinced he can cope with stepping up.

Why / Others: They may have to take Abbott here if they want him.

# 70 Richmond – Josh Deluca
Club: Subiaco
Position: Small midfielder
Bio: Missed champs through injury but been playing seniors in the WAFL most of the year and been a solid performer. Tough aggressive player who works well when ball is anywhere near him. Very good 1:1 and he can take contested mark as well. Average a goal a game in the seniors.

Why: I think a quality small fwd would be handy down at Tigerland. Josh Hone is a kid I rate and Shane Yarran would excite the fans. If they went another mid there are 2 SA kids in Markov and Bower who might be around but a real left fielder would be Jake Maher. Had an average year but is a player.

# 71 Essendon – PASS

# 72 Essendon - PASS

# 73 Geelong - PASS

# 74 North Melbourne – Joel Tippett (Rookie Upgrade)

# 75 Port Adelaide - Daniel Nielsen
Weight: 90kg
Bio: No frills key defender who rarely gets beaten and is very good 1:1. Good height and has terrific speed to keep with opponents and close space down. Strong and body will fill out. Never seems to be flustered and hence makes good decisions when I have seen him and think that will appeal.

Why / Others: There a number of pretty good key backs that could go around here. Josh Watts might be a left fielder

# 76 Swans - Abe Davis (Sydney Swans Academy Selection)
Position: Tall Fwd / Defender
Bio: Rapt for this kid. Seen a fair bit of him and think the Swans have a really good kid here who will offer them an option in defence. He has played a bit more forward this year but he played as a bottom ager last year at CHB and he was a natural. Reads the game, intercepts and makes good decisions sending it back. He is pretty poised and I think he will go well.
Why:

# 77 Hawthorn – PASS

# 78 St Kilda – Darren Minchington (Rookie Upgrade)

# 79 Carlton - PASS

# 80 GWS - Jeremy Finlayson (GWS Academy Selection)
Height: 195cm
Position: Key Forward
Bio: Just think Ben Reid. Hasn’t been a super dominant player at any level this year but has shown a lot of glimpses and a lot of potential. Could be played at either end but I think he will end up as a key forward or even as a 3rd tall fwd as he has terrific mobility and agility. His kick is as good as you will get in the draft and have seen him at GWS and Champs use it really well to advantage. Become more and more impressed with this kid more have seen him. I think a club will bid a 1st rounder for him.

# 81 Brisbane - Daniel Butler
Position: Small forward / defender
Bio: Think Harbrow / Sinclair. Can play a variety of different roles and will be interesting to see where he lands in the draft but he has some tricks. Has terrific pace and will run aggressively with ball in hand from a contest and look to attack the game. His line running is very good and he can transition as quick as any player in this draft can. His tackle pressure is good and he can find the goals but he probably just needs to do it all a bit more often. You really notice him when he does get it though. He could be played forward or back and I wouldn’t mind betting he lands as a back.

Others – Oleg Markov is probably one who should be higher than here and would be a nice fit you just worry about his collarbones. Butler is a ripper though just cracks in every time.

# 82 Western Bulldogs – Jack Redpath (Rookie Upgrade)

# 83 Melbourne – PASS

# 84 Gold Coast - PASS

# 85 Collingwood – Jack Frost (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 86 Adelaide – Charlie Cameron (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 87 WCE - Alec Waterman (WCE Father Son Selection)
Bio: Inside midfielder who has also dropped down the rankings a bit this year. He is an elite inside midfielder and finds the ball at will around the stoppages but he hasn’t been as prolific on the spread or out wide. His pace isn’t great and he relies heavily on his decision making and ball use from a contest. History suggests these players drop away a bit.

# 88 Richmond – James Cripps
Club: East Fremantle
Position: Key Forward
Bio: Tall forward who made us notice him during the champs with some really good forward play. Nice size, strong hands, aggressive at the marking contest and a good mover around the ground but more importantly just seems to know where to lead. He is a beautiful kick and wont require to many chances. The knock is that he just never really puts it together for sustained periods and whilst he impressed at Champs (at times) his Colts form hasn’t been that consistent either. Reminds me a bit of Ben Griffiths at same age.

Why: With Arnott off not sure if this is live now or Miles upgrade but lets just take another kid. Been mostly mids and maybe tall fwd they could develop around here.

#89 Essendon – PASS

# 90 Fremantle – PASS

# 91 Geelong – Mark Blicavs (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 92 North Melbourne – PASS

# 93 Port Adelaide - Aiden Anderson
Position: HF / midfielder
Bio: Impressive youngster who seems to give everything he has in a game. Aggressive at the ball and leads up well for a medium to small fwd. He has strong, clean hands and plays above his height. Has speed and can get separation on his opponent and is pretty accurate in front of goals. Equally as good on the ground and understands defensive pressure which he makes a real focus. Saw him in a few senior WAFL games and he lifted the tempo of the team with his defensive acts.

Why: Best player left and arguably could go a lot higher. Has some presence about him.

# 94 Swans – Lukas Webb
Position: Half Forward / Midfielder
Bio: Seen a bit of him with GP and I am a fan because he has so many things to work with. With ball in hand he is a very good decision maker and works through traffic really well. Not sure if ready for the midfield but rather a classy HF type who has great decision making, special awareness, elite user and a bit of x factor. Doesn’t mind mixing it up and will run defensively so he ticks a lot of boxes. His best is v v good.

Why: Could be a lot higher but his consistency is an issue.

# 95 Hawthorn – PASS

# 96 St Kilda – Cameron Shenton (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 97 Melbourne – PASS

# 98 GWS - Christian Bukx-Smith
Weight:82kg
Bio: After a super year as a bottom age player he hasn’t played a great deal this year given stress fractures in feet which was thought to maybe have curtailed his chances but rapt to see him invited to Combine. Kid is a wonderful athlete and will test well in a range of areas. Suspect will be back end but whoever gets him get an Alex Rance type key defender. Like Rance he is tall, powerful, ultra competitive and quick and key forwards will struggle to get separation on him. Focussed kid and sticks to task and haven’t seen him beaten. Has played forward but I think he is a defender.

Why / Others – Not likely to take this selection but have them going to their full list. Good young back to develop

# 99 Brisbane - Ryan Lim
Position: Half Back / Midfielder
Bio: Been a prolific ball winner for 2 years now at Colts and Champs level and I think one of the standouts in this draft for run and carry off the HB line. He is a great size and has terrific speed and endurance. He will just run all day and make his opponent work over time to negate him. Loves getting on the end of a handball and aiming up to take the ball back through and out of traffic. He gets a few knocks for ball use but he went at over 75% at the champs and having watched him closely in a number of games I don’t think its an issue. This bloke is elite at taking the game on and carrying it off. He can change the momentum.

Why / Others: Will admit I have had him higher all year as I just don’t believe his kicking is as bad as some people make out. In the final cut I do I might have him higher as think he will embarrass a few in 3-4 years time.

# 100 Western Bulldogs – Lin Jong (FATHER / SON)

# 101 Carlton – PASS

# 102 Gold Coast – Josh Hall (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 103 Collingwood – PASS

# 104 Adelaide – PASS

# 105 WCE – Callum Sinclair (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 106 Richmond – Anthony Miles (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 107 Essendon – PASS

# 108 Fremantle – PASS

# 109 Geelong – PASS

# 110 North Melbourne – PASS

# 111 Port Adelaide – Oleg Markov
Club: North Adelaide
Position: Midfielder / HF
Bio: Light bodied midfielder who will be high on the lists this year despite being injured for most of it. Highly talented mid / HF type with a bit of flair who has pace (runs sub 3s for 20m) and endurance (15+ beep), skill along with being a terrific size for a midfielder at that 186cm. Would want to fill out and if can do that could be a powerful midfielder / HF type. Didn’t see at Champs but had a ripping trial game which had a lot of people pretty excited. In that sense a bit like Cockatoo. Had injuries and exposed form isn’t huge but the little they did was elite.

Others: Mac Bower or Jake Maher would be handy types who are still around.

# 112 Swans – Xavier Richards (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 113 Hawthorn – PASS

# 114 St Kilda – Maverick Weller (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 115 Melbourne – PASS

# 116 GWS – Mitch Brown (Geelong)

Ex Cat who is very handy. Stick him at FF for a year while Patton is out and the other boys are developing. Brett Eddy another one.

# 117 Brisbane – Josh Clayton (FATHER / SON)
Bio: Father son selection for Lions, but if they pass and take Academy selections will Dad step up at the Lions and take him? Tall midfielder who runs a bit hot and cold but he has a lot going for him and his best is worthy. He is perfect height and a competitive kid who does all things pretty well but never really dominates or influences a game as much as he could if he played to his upper end. Good in the air and seems to cover the ground. Speed is good at circa 3s for 20m but not elite. His ball use is good without being elite and he seems to make good decisions when I have seen him.
Why:

# 118 Western Bulldogs – PASS

# 119 Carlton – PASS

# 120 Gold Coast – Andrew Boston (Rookie Upgrade)

# 121 Collingwood – PASS

# 122 Adelaide – PASS

# 123 WCE - PASS

# 124 Richmond – PASS

# 125 Essendon – PASS

# 126 Fremantle – PASS

# 127 Geelong – PASS

# 128 North Melbourne – PASS

# 129 Port Adelaide – Kane Mitchell (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 130 Swans – Daniel Robinson (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

# 131 Hawthorn – PASS

# 132 St Kilda – Eli Templeton (Rookie Upgrade)

# 133 Swans - Jake Lloyd (ROOKIE UPGRADE)

ROOKIE DRAFT

# 1 St Kilda - Reilly Obrien
Height: 201cm
Weight: 98kg
Position: Key Defender / Fwd
Bio: I think he’d be one that gets looked at. Over age and had a decent year but looks like someone who could develop into a Rory Thompson type role. Very athletic and like Keefe and Thompson moves really well. Will take time but with good development coaching I think you could turn him into a good defender. His ball use is good and he works the ball out well but it’s his close speed and reach that will impress and allow him to really compete vs the best fwds.

# 2 Melbourne - Brenton Payne
Bio: Gangly type who reminds me of Earl Spalding from Melbourne. Just rangy and think he will get broken in half but has a great knack for knowing where the goals are and where to be. Was very good for the Jets and had a couple of terrific moments at the Championships vs WA from memory. Few were getting more focus but he was getting the results. He is just so clean for big kid and he uses it well. Maybe a Gunston type but not quite as mobile.

# 3 GWS – Dougal Howard
Club: Murray Bushrangers / NSW
Bio: Bit surprised he wasn’t an Academy selection but suspect wanted to keep ‘powder dry’. He is the type you take as a rookie as he has a fair bit to work with. Terrific athlete for his size who has tested well and has all the ingredients but is still learning the game. Probably more a fwd but has the scope to play a few different roles and could be a real player with time. Clean hands, can take a grab, is quick and gets separation and is good with his finishing. Suspect will be in the NEAFL for a while but another 20-40 games and be interesting to see him

# 4 Brisbane - Josh McGuinness
Club: Lauderdale (Tas)
Bio: Tall utility type probably best suited to a HBF or wing. Has terrific height, speed and is a very good user of the ball (84% DE at Champs). He sits off play a bit and reads it really well and intercepts at the right time. Also seems to have good endurance as runs well and gets on the end of a handball and then uses a burst of speed to set play up. Is reasonably aggressive as he attacks which is something I think recruiters will like but they will probably want him to focus on his 1:1’s a bit more as seen him beaten a few times there.

Why: He would be a strong chance to go earlier.

# 5 West Bulldogs - Jayden Foster
Bio: 19yo who was the leading goal kicker at TAC level this year after missing out on a Father Son selection last year with the Bulldogs which I was surprised about as I thought they could swung the bat and got him late. Has shown them he should probably have been taken and they may end having to spend more this year. Big strong powerful forward with great agility, terrific hands and an ability to slot goals from all over the place. He is on to watch but have to remember being a 19yo he may drop a bit.

# 6 Carlton – Blaine Boekhurst
Height: 186
Bio: He is a player this 20yo. I see a bit of Swan Districts and he has talent to burn. 20yo and he has been in and out for a bit in previous years but has really caught the eye this year and has the tempo of the WAFL seniors level. Quick and loves to run and carry and generally uses it pretty well. Seen him do some really courageous things and if he could put some more weight on would be a real find and would not be surprised to see him circa 50. Collingwood would love his type.

# 7 Gold Coast - Adam Saad
Club: Coburg Tigers
Height: 178cm
Position: Small defender
Bio: Ex Calder Cannon who has probably been on the radar of a few clubs for a while and has had a really good season as a mature small defender who has real flair and the ability to run and carry. Quick and elite ball user and would probably get a walk up start in a couple of teams who are looking for his type. Can play forward as well but been remodelled as a defender where he was named in the VFL team of the year.

# 8 Collingwood - Shane Yarran
Club: Subiaco
Bio: Well last year was Rory Lobb who I called out early on who bolted up and this year I am calling to call out Shane Yarran. I am incredibly impressed with this kid. Up from the bush for his first year I think and has taken the WAFL by storm. Kicked a few big bags but oddly its not that so much that am taken with. Its his pure game sense. He just knows where to go, he has time and space because of his agility and is just incredibly adept on his feet. He finishes with class every time and given his development profile he could step up and you'd certainly spend a 3rd rounder on him. Think a taller Steve Motlop.

# 9 Adelaide - Sam Bevan
Position: Key Forward / Defender
Bio: One of the players who has slid down the list a bit for me as the year has gone on. At start of year I thought he was one of the more promising in the league but I think he has drifted a bit due to his inconsistency. At his best a lovely lead and nice hands who seems to get reasonable separation with pace and clever leading patterns on his opponents. He probably needs to hold his marks a little better and if he can improve here I think he becomes a really good prospect as his ball use is good in front of goal. Seem a couple of times in defence and he can do that as well so there is scope there. His best is very good though and a few times for Claremont at Colts level he has dominated.

# 10 WCE – Jermaine Miller-Lewis
Position: Half fwd
Bio: AIS player who didn’t get a chance to play any Colts or Champs football at all this year due to injury. Seen a bit of him and he is genuinely quick and has a bit of x factor and aggression at the ball. He could surprise come draft night as laced with talent but injuries set him back.

11 Richmond - Bradley Walsh
Club: Peel Thunder
Bio: Sam Mitchell clone…..Prolific ball winner who excels around the contest and makes very good decisions and can also direct play from HB. Sounds like Sam? The major issue will be his pace and ability to get on the spread. I like him though seems a natural footballer who is going to have no trouble elevating his game to another level.

# 12 Essendon - Shannon Taylor
Club: Frankston Dolphins
Position: Midfielder / Forward
Bio: Was a big fan of this kid as a junior and was laced with talent and speed. Had some issues though and moved across to play VFL with the Dolphins. Has made a real go of it and got a call up and reportedly a lot of clubs keen including North. He has pace and flair and knows how to get separation and space. He will attack the game and could be a genuine AFL player but he probably needs to work on the defensive side a bit more from the games I have seen.

# 13 Fremantle - Michael Manteit
Position: HBF / Wing
Bio: Had a blinding start to the season but has tapered a bit as the year has gone on and hence has flown under the radar of a lot of folk this year but I expect he will be one that is called up at some stage before the 2 drafts are out. Is a terrific height and has speed to burn. If he gets the ball on the defensive side of HB he will cut teams up on transition. He is an elite user of the ball and he would much rather take the game on and kick. Could be up in the 3rd round.

# 14 Geelong - Hugh Beasley
Position: FB / CHB
Bio: Tall defender who came back as a 19yo after being overlooked last year which I was a bit surprised about. Took it well apparently and has been really strong this year as the FB / CHB for the Chargers. Had some big games and took some big scalps including McCartin and Foster in the finals. Issue will be is he tall enough for key defender and mobile enough for a 3rd tall type role.

# 15 North – Nick Jackson
Position: FB / CHB
Bio: Tall defender who was part of the Lions Academy. Had some injury issues but a big strong CHB type player who is very aggressive and has terrific skills. Would think is well worth a rookie spot but there a few u18 defenders this year so would be on the cusp.

# 16 Port Adelaide – Sam Baulderstone
Height: 200cm
Weight: 110kg
Bio: Mature age ruck from Norwood who has been terrific for a few years now and would be a more than handy mature age back up to have around a club. Good attitude, goes well around the ground and skills for a bloke his size very good. Watched a bit of him and getting better. Think Ben Hudson type.

# 17 Swans - Michael Hartley
Club: Coburg Tigers
Height: 198cm
Bio: Key defender for Coburg Tigers who was previously one of Collingwoods NSW scholarship kids. Was a bit surprised they cut him as he had started to build that year into some good form. Anyway has carried it on with Coburg and was probably the best VFL defender this year I thought. Not overly attacking but is a very good shut down player and if there is a side looking for some depth there he is probably the one.

# 18 Hawthorn - Mitch McGovern
Bio: Had a pretty good year as a 20yo at WAFL seniors level and his stand out attribute is his leap and clean hands as noted by his marking average of nearly 5 a game. Only 191cm but that leaps buys him 1-2cm at least. Also works defensively and neat in front of goal.

# 19 St Kilda – Shaun McKernan
Why: He is every chance to be a Stefan Martin type. It may have finally clicked for him.

# 20 Melbourne - Nic Newman
Club: Frankston
Bio: 21 yo Dolphin who has had a good year. Very smooth sort of player who seems read the game well and to have a lot of time when in possession. Good overhead, wins his own footy (ave 20possessions) and is a terrific finisher with it so he appeals greatly. Might need to get a bit better 1:1 but his development has been very good and it should continue. Made state team as a HBF’er. Got some of the Hibberd’s about him.

# 21 GWS - Greg Broughton (Gold Coast Suns)
Why: Don’t blink GWS get him and have him do your kicks and release Shaw. Handy player for back half if need depth.

# 22 Brisbane - Kade Answerth
Weight: 75kg
Bio: Been on my radar ever since some eye catching moments in last year’s and this year’s TAC finals. He is a smooth mid who just racks up touches all day and before you know it has landed 30 of them. Started the year really well but has tapered off a bit before really standing out in September. Can play in and outside and generally uses it pretty well. Has spacial awareness, time, is calm, makes good decisions and just a safe pair of hands. Think someone like Sam Gibson.

# 23 West Bulldogs - Billy Evans
Position: Inside midfielder / fwd
Bio: A real standout for the Pioneers this year and was probably their best player I would think and most likely to be drafted. Strong bodied, hard inside midfielder who accumulates a lot of the ball and is pretty effective with it. He has good pace and excels around the clearances with his tackle pressure and his ability to win the ball and set play up. He is also useful in front of goals and would think he has a bit to offer. He is a real chance to play at a very high level.

# 24 Carlton - Ahmad Saad
Ex Saint forward who is likely to be redrafted post his ban and would walk into a fwd pocket for them. Might end up at Collingwood? GWS would be another spot for him.

# 25 Gold Coast – Matthew Panos
Bio: Was an outstanding junior forward and I was real fan of his but he probably just wasn’t quite tall or enough or filled out enough to be a key forward liked I thought he might. Has gone back to SA and rebuilt himself as a midfielder in the David Mundy / John Kennedy mould. At 192cm he is a terrific height, he can also lay claim to being a really good ball user who attacks the goals and a terrific mark. His GF was fantastic and he was BOG for them in a really dominant display. Also named in the best in more than half his H&A games. He could potentially walk into a midfield rotation now depending on how his testing goes but he knows what’s required which is a huge advantage. Certainly a super size for a midfielder and would appeal as that Mundy type.

# 26 Collingwood - Callum Moore
Position: Utility
Bio: Terrific size kid who has only played a handful of games for Calder but made a pretty strong impression and possesses a bit of x factor.. Has pace and agility and could potentially play a few different roles. Be one you would stick into the development group for a year and see what happened. Has his fans at Calder and appeals as one Hine would be into.

# 27 Adelaide - Haiden Schloithe
Position: Half forward / Mid
Bio: Aggressive player who was listed with Fremantle but cut. I really like they way he competes and he is a little like Dahlhaus in that regard. He just loves the physical stuff and will run where others may not. The umps like him and he averages near on 4 frees a game whilst giving only 1. Quick and has averaged over 20 touches at league level this year along with a goal and 3-4 tackles a game. He is worth a shot and can go in the midfield now so brings another element for his 2nd go.

# 28 WCE - Rowan Marshall
Bio: 19yo who has been developing rapidly at NBR all year to the point he and McDonald have probably been their two best. Also played well in their finals to so was showing real consistency. Has a great leap on him, taps to advantage and can get around the ground well given his height and can even push forward.

# 29 Richmond - Nick Mellington
Bio: had a terrific yea as captain of the Bushrangers and was probably their best all year. Was called up to the VFL for Richmond and handled himself well. He is a powerful mid who is a great size and loves to mix it up and win the footy and then switch onto that left foot and push it forward. One thing I like about mids is when they get it and then rather than dish off look to separate from the contest, create space and then go forward. He does that.

# 30 Essendon - Matt Goodyear
Position: Wing / Mid
Bio: I am finding it a bit hard to peg where he goes. There is no question he has talent and given he is still pretty light there is a lot of upside. He is quick and runs hard to create opportunities and close space and couples that with real intent at the footy. He has been a regular in the bests for Calder this season with some terrific performances in big games but just sometimes I think he overplays his ball use and his DE can be a bit off. Champs were a bit of a reflection of that where he averaged 13 touches which I thought was ok given game time but he went at 55% ‘ish which wasn’t great. He is certainly very good by hand but for a player like him he needs to be better by foot I would think.

# 31 Fremantle - Josh Watts
Club: Glenorchy
Position: Tall utility
Bio: Havent seen a lot of him but has a fair bit of upside and has been looked at. He played as a tall fwd and defender and he has performed really well and got some clubs a little interested. He has some filling out to do and reminds a bit of Craig Starcevich for those that remember him. Tall, light but a really good mover and a bit of speed. He is a project but worth a crack. More likely a key back than fwd.

# 32 Geelong – Taea Miles
Weight: 68kg
Position: Midfielder / HB
Bio: No frill inside midfielder or small defender who tested well but just lacks a standout feature that separates him from others. Is good at the stoppages and is probably his great strength. Uses his endurance to gather a truck load of possession and his ball use as shown at champs is pretty good to albeit he tends to use it short more than long as he doesn’t possess a really powerful kick. Suspect more a rookie but a natural ball winner and can run all day. Can see him as a tagger / stopper to.

# 33 North - Caleb Daniel
Club: South Adelaide
Height: 168cm
Weight: 67kg
Position: Small fwd / midfielder
Bio: I think everyone just wants to ‘will’ this guy into a spot on a senior list this year, and in fact most of us would settle for a rookie list. An outstanding championship where he dominated most of the games (ave 20 touches at 90%+ DE) he was in and influenced the result with really important plays and moments in the game. Hard nut with a terrific game sense and knows where to position himself to be in receipt of it. His pace is very good and endurance (almost a 16 beep) allows him to transition run but you have to wonder is he that much better than Ben Cavarra? He couldn’t crack a list yet dominated every game he was involved in during his draft year and since but can’t get a go.

# 34 Port Adelaide – Jason Castagna
Position: Wing / HBF
Bio: His testing for speed is elite and you don’t have to watch him many times to see that. He is super quick and incredibly good at cutting through traffic with his lateral movement. He really sees it open up before him and he will take the game on. Can make some odd decisions at times and overplay it but generally very good user as well. He is another who could go really high and when I do my second one might just sneak a fair bit higher. Just has elite speed.

# 35 Swans – Garrett McDonough
Bio: Aggressive HB type who loves the contest and wins plenty of 1:1 footy. Has speed and is able to put separation on his opponent in transition or close down space quickly. He likes to take the game on by foot and will use it as good as the very best in this draft. His left leg is elite and he has a good endurance as well.

# 36 Hawthorn - Corey Gregson
Weight: 72kg
Position: Inside midfielder
Bio: I was pretty impressed with this kid at the Champs. He was terrific around the stoppages and whilst a bit unassuming by the end of the game had you thinking he was pretty dominant. Not overly flashy but very effective at the contest, wins a lot of the ball and sends it to advantage pretty effectively. He has reasonable pace and will certainly get closely looked at but the size thing will hold him back a bit. Can also play small fwd and suspect he will start there at AFL level albeit didnt slot one at champs in his 5 games. Averaged 14 touches at nearly 70% DE at champs. Had senior experience and handled self well from I saw.

# 37 St Kilda – Tim Jones
Club: Western Storm
Bio: Think Luke Ball and would be pretty sure someone will grab him. He is one of the best inside ball winners and possession accumulators in the draft. The knock on him is his kicking isn’t as good as those above him and its not that penetrating. In saying that he is exceptional with his hands in close and he will kick over short distances and lower his eyes whenever he can. He clearly has endurance as he runs all day and his speed looked good around the stoppages. But look this kid is an elite inside mid and he absolutely dominated the champs.

# 38 Melbourne - Dylan Winton
Club: Peel Thunder
Position: Tall Defender
Bio: Wont play as a key defender and is more your lock down no frills HBF or back pocket type. He is a bit Heath Grundy like for mine. I rate him and whilst he has dropped down the list a fair way I wont be surprised to see him have a pretty good career. The fear I have is he might go the pathway of Jack Johnstone who he is comparable to at the same age. Had a pretty good Colts year, was solid at the Champs without being super impressive but its been his form in the seniors late in the year that I have really liked. He has just slotted into the tempo of it.

# 39 GWS – Nicholas Coughlan
Club: Murray Busharangers
Bio: If GWS could take a selection am sure it would be one of the Academy boys and this kid would be well worth it. Has had a terrible run the poor kid and it’s a shame because there is real talent in him. Very agile and has good speed and endurance for his size. He leads well at the ball, takes it high and has good hands. He is a lovely kick to top it off but like some kids before him he just hasn’t had the time to consistently put it together. The upside should see him taken along with the fact that he did well with Bushies, his best is good enough, athletically ticks all the boxes and he went well at the Combine.

# 40 Brisbane - Jake Owen
Club: Williamstown
Position: Medium Fwd / Midfielder
Bio: Ex Calder Cannon who has had a great year for Williamstown and been really good for them in some important games. Has struggled for game time in middle given the talent they have but has forged a role as 3rd tall fwd who reads the game exceptionally well and is very strong in the air. Has great hands and is a lovely kick and would offer a lot to a club as can play as an inside mid as well so he is pretty handy. He tapered a bit at the end of the year and I think it was injuries a bit but gee he was up for a fair chunk of the year and playing at a very high standard.

# 41 West Bulldogs – Billy Gowers
Position: Medium Defender
Bio: Medium defender with Oakleigh who had a pretty good year but has been passed on by the Hawks. Old man was a ripper and he presents the same way. His old man was a very balanced player who had a strong core and kid is the same. He gets around the ground pretty well and reminds me a bit of Nick Maxwell actually. Havent seen a heap of him but looks like has clean hands and uses it to AFL standard.

# 42 Carlton - Sam Tagliaube
Club: Essendon
Height: 206cm
Weight: 101kg
Bio: 23yo who has come down from NSW and performed really well at state level. Is a big boy, aggressive and has exceptional speed for a tall bloke and that itself might be the trait that gets him on a senior list. Has some work to do on his ball work but his skills are pretty clean and seems to read the game well and gets to good spots. Loads of upside and the couple games I saw him I was impressed.

# 43 Gold Coast - Mac Bower
Position: Midfielder / HF/ HB
Bio: AIS graduate who was one to get excited about coming into the year after some terrific performances as a bottom ager at U18 and Reserve level. I saw a bit of him last year and was impressed but seems to have stagnated a bit this year and others have probably gone past him. In fairness he has been playing Reserves all year so it is a higher level. I still think he will go higher than people think as he is a really nice height for a midfielder who can also play back and forward. He moves through traffic well with his speed and agility and is a good accumulator of the footy and distributes it nicely. Pretty calm with ball in hand and makes good decisions. HB might be best for him but he was more a fwd last year.

# 44 Collingwood - Jesse Watchman
Club: West Adelaide
Position: Tall Forward
Bio: Tall KPF who put together some really strong bottom age performances and had me really interested in him for this year. Unfortunately he just didn’t have a great year albeit it was laced with some very strong performances and he was pushed up to League footy as well. Only had the one game at Champs and was well held so he didn’t attain the results he / us wanted him to. Set that aside and you see player who when ‘on’ is a very imposing FF who has a bit of swagger, understands leading patterns and where to run to (don’t assume all KPF at TAC level for example do), can get separation on his opponent and has terrific hands and a good right foot on him which is probably above average for his size. He can also give you something at ground level which is a ‘must have’ with recruiters these days. He is competitive, loves a contest and he is courageous and I think he could put it all together at some stage. I’d have him as a rookie in a heart beat. I just like the way he plays when he is at his best. If a club cant get him to that consistency then watch out.

# 45 Adelaide - Tom O’Sullivan
Club: Port Melbourne
Bio: Ex Dragons player who has had a really good year for Port. Has really excelled as the year has gone on and been very influential through the finals racking up large possessions. Game vs Sandy was excellent and really showcased his ball use and speed. He had 30 plus touches and just dominated. Also suggests he has the fitness base to have a crack. Smooth sort of player who can play inside and out and is strong on his feet at stoppages. Made state team as well so had a good year. Very good player and would think he can step it up. Ayres is a massive wrap for him.

# 46 WCE – PASS

# 47 Richmond - Ricky Cary
Bio: Think Jack Gunston. Tall, skinny, doesn’t look like he could stand up in a contest but so often does. Been a real highlight this year for Swans and kicked some big bags. Plays a tall 3rd fwd type role and just reads the game well and gets to good spots. He is quick and will get separation and is stronger than you think. Has a sense of where the goals are and doesn’t need many touches to hurt.

# 48 Essendon – Jake Long (FATHER / SON)

# 49 Fremantle - PASS

# 50 Geelong - PASS

# 51 North - William Fordham
Bio: Will get a look simply because he is a terrific height for a mid / wing and he is quick. When I have seen him I have been impressed with his really clean hands and work around the stoppages to get the ball and move it forward effectively be it by getting rid of it quickly or using his run and carry. His beaut kick and puts them to the right side of the body which as an ex fwd I can tell you is something I use to rate in players.

# 52 Port Adelaide - PASS

# 53 Swans - Francis Watson
Position: Tall Defender
Bio: 19yo and think Michael Johnson from Freo. Will take time but he is gifted athletically and has a great leap and reach on him. Best probably off HB and is keen to take game on when ball is in hand and attack from defence. There is a bit to work with but he will take time as seen him beaten a bit easily 1:1 at times. The fact he is a year older and hasn’t really stood out could hold him back.

# 54 Hawthorn - Harry Dear
Weight: 98kg
Position: Tall Defender / Fwd
Bio: I was really impressed with this kid. I only saw a little of him admittedly but has the potential to influence a game. He really likes to get amongst and mix it up and reminds of his old man Paul in that regard. He is well built and you can see will be happy to use his weight to crash packs and influence the contest. Has strong hands, pretty agile and can go forward or back and to be honest not sure which is more likely with him.

# 55 St Kilda – Daniel Couglan
Club: Essendon VFL
Bio: Really neat HB flanker who is a terrific size and moves really well. Lovely kick on his and always seems poised and balanced. I would think he would be one of the first VFL guys to get picked and for a side either needing depth or some senior bodies around the back. Didn’t need to watch him for long to see he can play. Lot of his type around though but his form in the VFL would have gotten him a game in a lot of sides and he is better than a lot of HB flankers on lists now.

# 56 Melbourne – PASS

# 57 GWS – Jack Sinclair
Height:
Weight:
Position: Midfielder / forward
Clever player who possesses a pretty good tank and covers the ground well. Gets in amongst it and will win own ball or spread and be involved. He has speed to get separation and attack the goals which he has done pretty regularly this year. He is a nice player, solid, safe and could easily slot into a midfield group. Fact he can go fwd helps.

# 58 Brisbane - Brett Eddy
Club: South Adelaide
Bio: 24yo who kicked 62 goals for the year for the Panthers after recovering from knee injuries and forcing way back in the through SANFL reserves. Kid can play. Been on the Collingwood VFL list (kicked 21 goals in 8 games) before his knee injury. For those of us that saw him we were pretty excited about his prospects and keen for the Pies to list him. Unfortunately we didn’t even look to rookie him and may have missed a chance. He is a big powerful forward who is great on the lead and has good hands. He is a great kick to and has loads of power in it……aaarggghhhh. Could walk into FF and help some of those kids if required. I could see a number of clubs keen on him. Be good insurance for a lot of clubs. His best at Collingwood and South Adelaide would get him a game at AFL level in a lot of sides.

# 59 West Bulldogs - Adam Marcon
Bio: 22yo mid who has had a great season and should be on the cusp of getting listed. Very composed mid who plays well in big games and just oozes smoothness. Good hands and rarely fumbles and can push fwd and hurt offensively as well. Racks up huge possessions and happy to work when the ball is in dispute. Another who would have easily gotten a game if he was on any one of say 10 lists this year.

# 60 Carlton - PASS

# 61 Gold Coast- Matthew Ah Sui
Position: Wing / HF
Position: Was touted as a top prospect at the start of the year after a ripping year in Colts as a bottom age player but hasn’t done a great deal to justify that in his performances to date this year albeit his Colts performances of late have been strong. Still, he is a very gifted athlete and one that if for that reason alone would be looked at. Tall, skinny and quick with an appetite for a goal he can play a range of positions and potentially cause havoc. He needs to get stronger, compete more 1:1 and be more involved. He has all the other tools to play but I suspect at best he will be rookied.

# 62 Collingwood - PASS

# 63 Adelaide - PASS

# 64 WCE - PASS

# 65 Richmond - Taylor Grace
Club: Sandringham Dragon
Position: Midfielder / HBF
Bio: 19yo who won the B&F last year but failed to get drafted which was somewhat surprising. Bit one paced which would be the only area of concern for him but is becoming a real play maker for the Dragons and is a huge accumulator of the ball with one of the most impressive set of averages in the TAC this year. His ball use by hand or foot is very good.

# 66 Essendon – PASS

# 67 Fremantle- PASS

# 68 Geelong- PASS

# 69 North - Caleb Hislop
Club: Burnie
Bio: I have struggled with where to slot Caleb. He is one of the better inside mids in the draft but his ball use at Champs was pretty average. He collected a lot of the ball but often it just didn’t go to advantage. That being said he is elite around stoppages. He reads the game well, finds good position and has real hurt factor whether in possession or not. I know some people rate him so he could earlier than this but based on what I saw I’d have to say he will go later and potentially not at all.

# 70 Port Adelaide - PASS

# 71 Swans - Jack Hayes
Club: Woodville West-Torrens
Position: Tall Utiility
Bio: So many players like Hayes and in years gone it doesn’t necessarily pan out that many are taken because they are just a bit in between. Wouldn’t call Jack a supreme athlete but he is a natural footballer who reads the game really well. Tended to play more fwd at home and then back at the Champs. He has performed well at both and he deserves a chance albeit his testing may have him spending a year in the SANFL. I think he might end up more as a back. I have seen a couple of his games in that position and was impressed. He did well on Goddard I think it was in one of the games and he showed an ability to leave his man and go third and nearly everytime he killed the contest. He has strong hands and can take a mark, he is a nice kick and he has scope. His issue will be his testing.

# 72 Hawthorn - Rory Sheridan-Ferrie
Bio: Started the year with a bang but really tapered off. Has all the athletic tools and clearly clubs interested as going to state screening. In saying that he has a heap to work. Has height, speed and I think a reasonable engine. He takes a good mark in the air but he just needs consistency. There is a lot to work with though because his ball use is also good. Worried a bit like Matt haynes though and because he is a bit more outside might just get passed on.

# 73 St Kilda- PASS

# 74 Melbourne - PASS

# 75 GWS - Errin Wasley-Black
Club: NT Thunder
Position: HB / Midfield
Bio: Is an overage player who has come back for another go this year via the NT Thunder. Been a really dominant player in the NEAFL as a hard inside midfielder type. Played a similar role at champs but probably didn’t do as much as you’d like to see but he is a talent and gotten himself fitter and focussed would be surprised if he missed out. Has a beautiful penetrating kick and could play HB or inside mid type role. Doesn’t have electric pace but he is that Travis Tuck type player.

# 76 Brisbane - Alex Urban
Bio: Been a strong performer all year in the TAC and was given a game at champs where he did pretty well. Was a strong bottom age player and continued on this year. Racks up plenty of touches and was a leader in stats like Cont Poss and clearances. He is also blessed with good endurance and reads the game well. His speed is ok and he can work in and out of the stoppages. He could be a surprise as he is classy and has a bit of x factor about him.

# 77 West Bulldogs - PASS

# 78 Carlton – PASS

# 79 Gold Coast – Jack Johnstone
Weight: 85kg
Bio: Powerful utility type that was an outstanding junior at GP and surprisingly overlooked in all drafts for a couple of years. Has improved his pace and can break the lines now which is a real weapon for him given he can burst off a wing and through a pack to kick a goal. He seems to see the traffic pretty well and stay poised. Lost none of his aggression and want for the contest either and hit a few blokes this year pretty hard. Been a terrific player at Willy over a couple of years and showed a few tricks through the year which would have had people stand up. Can play HB, Wing or HF and has been given tagging jobs as well so projects as a versatile type. Should test pretty well and would think he will get listed at some stage. He is a walk up start in quite a few AFL sides.

# 80 Collingwood - PASS

# 81 Adelaide - PASS

# 82 WCE – PASS

# 83 Richmond - Jake Johansen
Height: 171cm
Weight: 63kg
Position: Small midfielder / fwd
Bio: Terrific player for SA at champs and was a bit over shadowed by Daniel. Like Daniel is small but very effective and is an elite runner who will get on transition pretty easily. I think he will end up as a small forward and having seen him play there as well he has huge potential. He has a lot of x factor, reads the game well, knows where to be at spillages and gets goal side regularly. If he can bulk up and get stronger you are looking at a Brent Harvey sort of player.

# 84 Essendon - PASS

# 85 Fremantle - PASS

# 86 Geelong - PASS

# 87 North - PASS

# 88 Port Adelaide – PASS

# 89 Swans - Jake Maher
Position: Wing / Mid
Bio: Midfielder who is probably a bit more outside than inside. Capt the Pioneers this year after a sizzling year as a bottom age player. Whether the capt played on his mind or not he didn’t reproduce what was expected this year and he has slid down the rankings. He has really good height for a midfielder and he moves very well and has the speed clubs would want and certainly has the finishing skills. He will run and provide the link up option but he just hasn’t won as much of it as he did last year and you wonder whether that will count against him as it has guys like Matt Haynes in previous years who blitzed it as a bottom age player but just didn’t turn it on in the draft year.

# 90 Hawthorn - PASS

really appreciate all your efforts. Great read. Also from a Freo point of view I would be very happy walking away with Goddard, Nelson and Cunico. All Vic country boys as well. The picks fill a need for us as Goddard would be a good replacement for Mcpharlin, Nelson would add to our midfield depth and Cunico looks like he could become a good rebounding defender or even wingman.

Couple of questions for you, I hadn't watched Cunico's highlights until I read this and he seems very impressive, where do you thin his best position at AFL level would be? And also do you think that Nelson could be groomed in to becoming a negating midfieler/tagger in the Crowley mould?

weller and gore would definitely help out our midfield.I am really hoping we get abbott too.rookie ruckman too
good work snoop!

Shane Yarran was recruited to subiaco after being released from jail in perth.

Was sentenced to 6 years jail at 18.

Got out played a season in the amateurs, then played for subi this year.

So he's not from the bush.

P.s. great work a lot of time as gone into this

First of all, awesome effort! This is probably the most thought that has been put into a phantom ND and RD I've seen. Whilst I'd be stoked with Marchback, I feel like we need a pure outside type that can kick goals more than Ellis. If we got Corey I wouldn't be complaining, but a Menadue/McLean/Garlett/Cavka would be more suited. In the RD I can't see us passing on Baulderstone, given he barracks for Essendon and our lack of ruck supplies. With our next pick I'd be bitterly disappointed if we passed on the best little blokes in the draft, Caleb Daniel and Jake Johansen.

Great job as always Snoop, I love reading your phantom draft each year. Would be happy with that as a Pies fan. Just one quick one. You have us promoting Frost with pick 85, but I didn't think we nominated him for upgrade this year. Can you confirm we are upgrading him?

Phantom Draft Snoop Dog 2014 Phantom Draft