Autopsy So so so close (Please read OP)

Is it time to move on and lock the thread?

• Yes

Votes: 14 82.4%
  • No

Votes: 3 17.6%

We kicked the first two then they got a ruck a free and got a goal from it

It’s a haze for me. I do remember one play were we just weren’t clean in the center and they got a goal. Also that ruck infringement was bullshit. Brodie seems to get a game every now and again where the umps pin him for everything whilst he gets man handled and gets nothing. He got pushed in the middle of the back from Vardy and the ump was looking right at it.

He was well beaten around the ground and in some important contests in WC's forward line. He seemed to have lead in his feet at crucial moments when he allowed his opponent to take an easy mark. Considering he and Sidebottom were favourites for the Norm Smith medal, I thought his performance strangely meek. If he got 49 hit outs we certainly didn't take any advantage of his ruck dominance, because we were well beaten at clearances. I thought he would be the difference between the 2 sides but he wasn't. It's a credit to players like Langdon, Mayne, Adams and in the second half Cox that we only lost by 5 points

Grundy played 110mins of 122mins, Cox 113mins.

Vardy and Lycette both played only played 75mins.

Grundy didn’t have the same dominant impact as last week but I can’t bag a ruckman who plays all but 12mins on the field.

We needed Cox up forward as a target with our lack of talls so Cox and Grundy couldn’t rest nearly as much as the Eagles rucks. Both were our only marking option out of defence in the last qtr and they must have been spent.

Was it the 3rd quarter (I'm not watching the replay) when Sier took a ball above his head and in one motion handballed to a running player? Would love to see a GIF of that. It was outside the 50 in our attacking half.

Grundy got pumped stop making excuses for him.
He sat alone during the WC presentation.

This one will sting for a while.

Grundy played 110mins of 122mins, Cox 113mins.

Vardy and Lycette both played only played 75mins.

Grundy didn’t have the same dominant impact as last week but I can’t bag a ruckman who plays all but 12mins on the field.

We needed Cox up forward as a target with our lack of talls so Cox and Grundy couldn’t rest nearly as much as the Eagles rucks. Both were our only marking option out of defence in the last qtr and they must have been spent.
Grundy seemed out of sorts from early in the game, not just the last quarter when he had played 112 mins. As for WC's ruckman's TOG, we made a choice at selection not to play another tall, and that in turn limited our ability to rest Grundy and Cox. It's also not a matter of 'bagging' anyone but rather analysing what went wrong, what worked, and why.

Was it the 3rd quarter (I'm not watching the replay) when Sier took a ball above his head and in one motion handballed to a running player? Would love to see a GIF of that. It was outside the 50 in our attacking half.
That was a great handball from Sier.

Really wanted to see this group get over the line yesterday. Never know when the next time we will be in the GF given how quick the competition changes year by year.

Makes you put Brisbane and Hawthorn winning their 3-peats into perspective (its bloody hard and you need a bit of luck going your way).. That being said the footy gods are normally against us anyway.

The state of play in the midfield in the first quarter suggested that the game was going to go the Eagles way at some stage. They were winning it but we managed to get goals on the rebound.

When I got up to get a drink, Mrs Beddoe looked at me and said "You're not excited, you're not feeling it are you?" I shook my head and said "At some stage the game is going to become a grind and their guns will take over inside. We also ain't scoring on the rebound as easily for the next 3 quarters."

I don't believe in GF demons that possess any club. This GF loss with the exception of 2011 is similar to many other losses. We just didn't have enough guns to compensate for those who were even slightly down on the day.

Our first 5 goals gave us a good start but that's about it. No hand on the cup in the first quarter. No hand on the cup being 12 points up early in the last.

We need KP bookends. A five point loss in a GF cannot paper over that crack. Although not exactly the same, the club is at it Malthouse's ruckman moment.

I felt this at the ground. At no time did I think ‘we have this’, even after those 5 goals. Another poster referred to feeling a ‘weight’ about the game. Like the end was almost inevitable. Fatalistic I know, but there was none of the exuberance on display as in the Richmond win. Even though we were in front for most of the game.

Sorry boys. I actually am so flat for you guys. Just cruel the game is sometimes. Obviously there is so much more to life than footy but **** that sucks. Just isn't right hey.

I'd love to see you guys up there again next year and you've definitely got the coaches and group to give it a crack but unfortunately so much of footy comes down to luck, which we saw yesterday.

You've got to admire Sheed's cold blood to kick that snag on that angle. But jeez I wish he missed it.

Adams dominated, he was my BOG. It was clear Sidey would get tagged out of it but he still did everything he had to and Treloar and Tay did a great job of carrying the load.

The party I was at loved to give Cox shit but he was great, did his job and Bucks would've been pleased with his performance.

Sorry again guys, I know how much it sucks. But it's been such a great year for you guys and there will be more finals in the future.

We should be locked into top 4 for next few years now. Even allowing for the tougher draw we will get next year. Finish top 4 consistently and have some luck and we will win one, or more! - Disappointed but very very proud.
Can’t see where any new challengers are coming, other than Melbourne maybe. Eagles will stay there with that home ground advantage and sadly, Richmond are still going to be a pain in the a*** for a few more years with their list. But that’s about it. They all fear us again and respect us now.

I am slowly coming back to life and reflecting on the game. In the first quarter we played our brand and we gained the advantage. From then on we looked more like we were hanging onto to the lead. As Bucks said we lost our dash and dare. Slowing down and kicking high down the line to a contest out of defence was playing to West Coast’s strengths and brought them back into the game. With Steele and Grundy impacted and Pendles not at his best, we seemed to lose our poise and play with heart but decision making was an issue. Maynard being hurt had an impact as well.
Having said that the boys had the resilience to bounce back in the last quarter and nearly hang on.

As heartbreaking as this was to experience as the cup was within an inch of us grasping it, I am more sad for the playing group who were so devastated after the game.
It was such an unexpected season of success and they overcame adversity to be there on the last day. West coast have been thereabouts in recent years, and Richmond and the Doggies were in finals before winning. I also think it is ridiculous to start using language like Colliewobbles when we overachieved in this year to get through to the last day. My definition of success for the year was to make the finals and win one for experience. West coast have been in the finals for several years with 12 players atoning for 2015. We had 17 players who had never played in a final and who now have experienced 4 including a losing GF. It is more usual to make it and go out in straight sets for such a young team. They did really well to beat GWS and Richmond who have more finals experience.

We need to target a KPD other than Will Kelly who will take time to develop. It would also be good to find a KPF as Cox is improving but is not enough and Jordy is needed as a gun in the midfield as our skipper is slowing down. We are on our way but just a few additions to the list and the next few years look much brighter than I thought they would after round 2.

We were beaten by a side with a much more balanced list than ours. We need the recruiters to get to work and improve the list again. I am moving into the offseason trading and list management mindset now to avoid wallowing.

2018 has been an amazing ride.

It could be worse . Melbourne were thrashed by WCE in the West and Carlton were wooden spooners. Imagine following Gold Coast or St Kilda?
We had an awesome year. We are coming.
Go pies!

Thanks mate ~ I swear at times I feel this club is cursed..

Sorry boys. I actually am so flat for you guys. Just cruel the game is sometimes. Obviously there is so much more to life than footy but **** that sucks. Just isn't right hey.

I'd love to see you guys up there again next year and you've definitely got the coaches and group to give it a crack but unfortunately so much of footy comes down to luck, which we saw yesterday.

You've got to admire Sheed's cold blood to kick that snag on that angle. But jeez I wish he missed it.

Adams dominated, he was my BOG. It was clear Sidey would get tagged out of it but he still did everything he had to and Treloar and Tay did a great job of carrying the load.

The party I was at loved to give Cox shit but he was great, did his job and Bucks would've been pleased with his performance.

Sorry again guys, I know how much it sucks. But it's been such a great year for you guys and there will be more finals in the future.

We fought all year with injury and went in to a Grand final against a team with a impressive and Big forward line The defence was manful but just overwhelmed
Its time to stop stocking up on Midfielders/forwards and bolster that backline I mean how much better would that 6 looked with lynden Dunn on Kennedy?

And next year we may not have runners out there Another bonus (Poor guy must be shattered)

Yep - woke up this am and that block off the ball was the first thing that entered my mind.
My three-year-old has been up vomiting every half hour throughout the night. So I had aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllll night to think about it.

FML.

I will always hate Ryan (25), he has never given us a 50/50 that he pays to the opposition. But you are right not why we lost.

We were just one tall player short (if that makes sense) either to go third man up or mark, like a fit Moore or Reid and some players played under expectation.

Reckon we will Over Pay to make Sure we get Steven May

It didn't even impact on it. Stephenson was never going to get there he just pointed due to frustration...

Yep Adams pinned pointed to the Oppostion was a Shocking Kick that Adams can do

Well the sun came up. Still heartbroken but that's Collingwood. It really was a cracker of a game. I dont think think I'll ever watch it again though. Watching a gf loss at the g stings way more than at home Infront of the tv. I waded through a sea of crying children leaving the ground.

I felt this at the ground. At no time did I think ‘we have this’, even after those 5 goals. Another poster referred to feeling a ‘weight’ about the game. Like the end was almost inevitable. Fatalistic I know, but there was none of the exuberance on display in the Richmond win. Even though we were in front for most of the game.
The funny thing is, it wasn't history that was responsible for my thoughts. I've watched a bit of WCE this year and structurally they are the most flexible team I've seen for a while. Of course it depends on the availability of their best KPP's. I remember thinking that they'd change it up somehow and stem the bleeding and get the game on their terms.
Unfortunately, our flexibility is limited.

I’m almost in tears I’m so upset it’s the result, congrats eagles too good on the day although by the slimmest of margains, go pies next year for the ultimate prize

IF They Kicked Straighter in last Qtr we could of lost by 2-4 Goals.

They Outplayed us last 3 Qtrs we did good job to be so close at the End

Fwiw, early in the game I said to my dad there was a lot of blocking at marking contests by Eagles players not being penalised, didn’t know how crucial that would end up being

But when we did it was Called.

They had 2 Different Rules for 2 Different Teams yesterday JOKE