Autopsy So so so close (Please read OP)

Is it time to move on and lock the thread?

• Yes

Votes: 14 82.4%
  • No

Votes: 3 17.6%

Shattered absolutely shattered. And it’s that type of pain that won’t go away. So proud of the club and Bucks and the boys though, they’ve taken us on a hell of a ride this year.
It is only a game and there are terrible things happening to people in the world but the pain is very real today.

I reckon we erred by leaving Fasolo in the VFL similar to Medhurst back in 2010 but didn’t get away with it time.

Would have allowed De Goey to spend more time in the midfield which would have been really handy since Pendlebury and Sidebottom didn’t show up and Treloar abd Grundy well below their standards.
Fasolo was getting around in a moon boot. Not sure how long he’s had that.
The drugs wore off on Howe’s ankle in the last and he couldn’t kick it properly. Amazing effort nonetheless!
Hard to tell how injuries affected both teams but I’m sure those stories will come out this week. Either way, can’t change a thing for this time, only the next one when we get up again

Players rankings and broken down quarter by quarter.

Pendlebury
Stephenson
Aish
Sier
Thomas
Phillip's
Greenwood
Maynard

All had terrible last quarters.
7640fb0c02703f5ba539990cfd528dad.jpg

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk

Ruck taps as a number means little unless they result in clearances.

I think everyone was hoping Grundy would dominate, not enough respect for Lycett. Grundy was ok, perhaps broke even, but not having his link play definately made our midfield less dominate, thought he was harshly dealt with by umps in ruck contests on more than a few occasions.
Didn’t help him that umps decided the GF was the day they were going to treat Grundy differently to the other ruckmen.

The Howe kick out from back pocket was shocking, his foot skills aren’t great either but I’d rather it be a long mistake than a short mistake even though the result was the same (goal against us)

I could see during the year that the players who kept on making the same errors week to week would be the ones who would do it on the big stage too. It cost us the game

Only player who disproved me was Mayne, was actually surprised he played so well.

Dunn would have been huge simply for his kick ins yesterday. We always transition better when he starts it off.

It had to be a goal from the boundary line inside the last two minutes to sink us after we lead for 99% of the day. Plus a potential free kick to Maynard not being paid. That’s what hurts.

Almost feels like a Wayne Harms repeat.

Super proud of our effort today and across the season. Several times throughout the day I thought we just needed one more. Disappointed, but not disheartened. Bring on 2019!
You should be so proud of your team, they were bloody immense no one took a backward step, it was a ripping grand final, Buckley is all class, all your supporters are all class. With your list profile no doubt you will be up there again in 2019

49 hit outs...fair effort for a Ruck isn't it?
He was well beaten around the ground and in some important contests in WC's forward line. He seemed to have lead in his feet at crucial moments when he allowed his opponent to take an easy mark. Considering he and Sidebottom were favourites for the Norm Smith medal, I thought his performance strangely meek. If he got 49 hit outs we certainly didn't take any advantage of his ruck dominance, because we were well beaten at clearances. I thought he would be the difference between the 2 sides but he wasn't. It's a credit to players like Langdon, Mayne, Adams and in the second half Cox that we only lost by 5 points

Love our boys but I gotta say seemed Grundy got stage fright yesterday

I thought he was pretty awful and close to our worst, aside from sidey who did have the heavy tag
I agree, commenting purely on yesterday by the way for all the sensitive souls.
Grundy would be embarrassed by his game, Vardy out bodied him at the marking contest while Lycett probably broke even.
Brodie looked like he had concrete in his boots, for the first time this year he appeared slow and cumbersome.
I one thing I hate about Finals is those in depth write ups on players like they are gods. Gawn and Grundy had more articles written about them and exposure than anyone else and both were beaten completely by the unheralded WC pair.
It was obviously a very bad day for Grundy and next season hed be really looking to atone in finals again given another chance.

Morning everyone, and I hope you forgive the intrusion. I'm sure many of you, like me, have a sore head this morning.

I just wanted to say condolences for the loss. You had our measure for much of the game and you can be thrilled about how your boys carried it. I was saying to some of Pies mates during the week that if we had to lose it, I was glad to lose it to you. You guys have carried yourself so bloody well this year - I think you can be incredibly proud of your team despite the result. You'll be back very soon.

Morning everyone, and I hope you forgive the intrusion. I'm sure many of you, like me, have a sore head this morning.

I just wanted to say condolences for the loss. You had our measure for much of the game and you can be thrilled about how your boys carried it. I was saying to some of Pies mates during the week that if we had to lose it, I was glad to lose it to you. You guys have carried yourself so bloody well this year - I think you can be incredibly proud of your team despite the result. You'll be back very soon.

Thanks mate.

Credit to the eagles fans for being gracious in victory

Right so painfully just re watched.

• Umpiring was rubbish all game both sides.
  • We played prettty good , proud.
  • Eagles should have won it from there shots
  • HOWEVER that Shepard on Maynard was so obvious. And them letting shuey ‘go for goal’ and milk 30 seconds at the end of a granny is embarrassing.
  • Umpires gave Grundy nothing. Some of the kicks against him were a joke and led to two eagle goals.
  • Onto next year. Two KPP into our team and anything can happen. One goal away from the premiership. Sliding doors are a bitch.

Love our boys but I gotta say seemed Grundy got stage fright yesterday

I thought he was pretty awful and close to our worst, aside from sidey who did have the heavy tag

I thought while watching the game that Grundy looked injured to me. He wasn't covering the ground well at all. Very static. Could have been stage fright. Could have been a knock. Who knows. He did well in the hitouts but didn't win his usual amount of footy.

Thanks to the visiting gracious Eagles fans. BF at its best.

The opposite of what we oldies had to endure in our ancient GF losses to, for example, Carlton. Obviously a long time before social media, but those ****** used to rub our noses in it, and the Eagles have done anything but.

Anyway, a very good and well balanced team won the flag this year, and congrats to them.

I thought while watching the game that Grundy looked injured to me. He wasn't covering the ground well at all. Very static. Could have been stage fright. Could have been a knock. Who knows. He did well in the hitouts but didn't win his usual amount of footy.

Probably nothing to do with it but he looked pretty tense at the parade, compared to most of the others who were soaking it up he seemed like he was deep in thought.

Just thinking about that last quarter hurts. We kicked the first 2 then we had a chance to get the center clearance but kept fumbling the ball. Went down their end and they kicked a goal. Taylor Adams would be feeling terrible atm too. He had a snap at goal which went out on the full. Kicks that we win.

The state of play in the midfield in the first quarter suggested that the game was going to go the Eagles way at some stage. They were winning it but we managed to get goals on the rebound.

When I got up to get a drink, Mrs Beddoe looked at me and said "You're not excited, you're not feeling it are you?" I shook my head and said "At some stage the game is going to become a grind and their guns will take over inside. We also ain't scoring on the rebound as easily for the next 3 quarters."

I don't believe in GF demons that possess any club. This GF loss with the exception of 2011 is similar to many other losses. We just didn't have enough guns to compensate for those who were even slightly down on the day.

Our first 5 goals gave us a good start but that's about it. No hand on the cup in the first quarter. No hand on the cup being 12 points up early in the last.

We need KP bookends. A five point loss in a GF cannot paper over that crack. Although not exactly the same, the club is at it Malthouse's ruckman moment.

I noticed that early too. Looked really heavy in his legs.

Just thinking about that last quarter hurts. We kicked the first 2 then we had a chance to get the center clearance but kept fumbling the ball. Went down their end and they kicked a goal. Taylor Adams would be feeling terrible atm too. He had a snap at goal which went out on the full. Kicks that we win.
We kicked the first two then they got a ruck a free and got a goal from it

Probably nothing to do with it but he looked pretty tense at the parade, compared to most of the others who were soaking it up he seemed like he was deep in thought.

I thought he looked relaxed pre game. Phillips and Sier looked like they were shitting themselves.