Play Nice Society, Religion & Politics Thread

Probably thought they would lose on their pokies
I'm sure they would've considered all of the risks involved with taking their "principled" stance. They probably even considered the negative response they'd be met with from some factions of society. That just makes the fact that they caved to that negative response almost immediately even more pathetic.

It would be hilarious if it wasn't such a grim victory for a whole bunch of bigoted racists out there who got their way and essentially bullied a company into submission.

KAPOWWWW.... Dutto is so impressive when he puts his thinking cap on.

"Mr Dutton claimed the vote put Prime Minister Anthony Albanese "out of step with his contemporaries in like-minded countries, not just the United States."

The UN resolution was opposed by the US, Israel, Argentina, Hungary, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau and Papua New Guinea."

I shake my head in disbelief that we are going to end up with the racist, divisive and dishonest campaigner of human Dutton as our next PM the way things are going.

This piece of shit spent his time and effort claiming a voice to parliament for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander was divisive and has now announced the removal of the flags that represent these people from press conferences if he is elected. Yet in the same breath, has demanded an act still under investigation is declared terrorism and promised Jewish people in Australia are afforded greater protection than any other citizen in Australia.

**** you Dutton. We don't want or need your deliberate attempts to turn our country into an us vs them shithole like the US.

I shake my head in disbelief that we are going to end up with the racist, divisive and dishonest campaigner of human Dutton as our next PM the way things are going.

This piece of shit spent his time and effort claiming a voice to parliament for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander was divisive and has now announced the removal of the flags that represent these people from press conferences if he is elected. Yet in the same breath, has demanded an act still under investigation is declared terrorism and promised Jewish people in Australia are afforded greater protection than any other citizen in Australia.

**** you Dutton. We don't want or need your deliberate attempts to turn our country into an us vs them shithole like the US.
Arson attack on an Islamic school bus in Adelaide. Nothing to see here. If it was a bus belonging to a Jewish school, all hell would break loose in the media. Just like in Gaza and elsewhere, our MSM rates an Israeli/Jewish life many times more valuable than an Arab/Muslim one. Blatantly racist.

Well, first the Australian Venues Co and now Melbourne Storm, major companies and organisations caving to right-wing bullying as to their values. This will only be the beginning now that the precedent has been set.

A reminder that right-wingers long for an Australia that wasn't offended by things, the "no worries mate" era of yesteryear. Yet their entire existence is defined by being offended by things and worrying about things that, ultimately, make no difference to them.

I can't stand them and anyone who identifies as such. Miserable, hateful dumbasses.

But the most egregious part of the Storm's statement about the Welcome to Country ceremonies was this: "We’re really keen to let our actions (rather than words) reflect what we stand for as a club in the community”.

What a spectacular admission of ignorance. That they see the Welcome to Country not as an action that is about inclusion and that First Nations people take extremely seriously, but as simply words, yidda yadda that's as relevant to them as background noise over the loud speaker.

**** the lot of them.

Well, first the Australian Venues Co and now Melbourne Storm, major companies and organisations caving to right-wing bullying as to their values. This will only be the beginning now that the precedent has been set.

A reminder that right-wingers long for an Australia that wasn't offended by things, the "no worries mate" era of yesteryear. Yet their entire existence is defined by being offended by things and worrying about things that, ultimately, make no difference to them.

I can't stand them and anyone who identifies as such. Miserable, hateful dumbasses.

But the most egregious part of the Storm's statement about the Welcome to Country ceremonies was this: "We’re really keen to let our actions (rather than words) reflect what we stand for as a club in the community”.

What a spectacular admission of ignorance. That they see the Welcome to Country not as an action that is about inclusion and that First Nations people take extremely seriously, but as simply words, yidda yadda that's as relevant to them as background noise over the loud speaker.

**** the lot of them.
Why does Welcome to the country need to be done every time , Uncle Colin was getting 10K a gig.
I am no waty right wing , i hate the rats , but this has been over done

Why does Welcome to the country need to be done every time , Uncle Colin was getting 10K a gig.
I am no waty right wing , i hate the rats , but this has been over done
Because it is a gesture of acknowledgment, welcoming and peace from First Nations people whose land we are on.

Since, you know, there is no other real way to acknowledge that fact. Right-wingers don't like it being taught in the history curriculum in schools, or being discussed through government bodies in parliament, or being brought up by athletes or musicians.

It is as I have said since the whole Adam Goodes saga. White Australians claim to accept Aboriginals until they embrace their culture or history in any way, shape or form, and then it is shut up and get back in your box.

Because it is a gesture of acknowledgment, welcoming and peace from First Nations people whose land we are on.

Since, you know, there is no other real way to acknowledge that fact. Right-wingers don't like it being taught in the history curriculum in schools, or being discussed through government bodies in parliament, or being brought up by athletes or musicians.

It is as I have said since the whole Adam Goodes saga. White Australians claim to accept Aboriginals until they embrace their culture or history in any way, shape or form, and then it is shut up and get back in your box.
I just find it over the top at times and can give the right wing a chance to have a go

When you consider the history of murderous dispossession, degradation and discrimination the indigenous population have suffered since 1788, for them to turn around and say “welcome to our country” is about the most magnanimous, warm-hearted gesture imaginable. Quite an astonishingly beautiful act, which gives me renewed faith in the human race.

That people can turn around and say “yeah, **** that” tells you all you need to know about what sort of people they are.

When you consider the history of murderous dispossession, degradation and discrimination the indigenous population have suffered since 1788, for them to turn around and say “welcome to our country” is about the most magnanimous, warm-hearted gesture imaginable. Quite an astonishingly beautiful act, which gives me renewed faith in the human race.

That people can turn around and say “yeah, **** that” tells you all you need to know about what sort of people they are.
This.

It's incredibly telling that a concept with the word "welcome" in it has somehow been spun into something "divisive."

But I suppose people need their two minutes before games start to be in peace and quiet so they can concentrate on putting sauce on their sausage rolls or whatever else they deem more important than showing the teeniest bit of respect to a particular community that ask the bare minimum of them.

Just another day in Zionist land...

The killing in Gaza goes on. Doctors, humanitarian aides, journalists, surgeons and nurses. Death toll now at 44,000 with over 17,000 children dying. Not a peep out of the mainstream media, Peter Dutton or the Israeli lobby. Netanyahu has a warrant out for him for war crimes but silence is golden in case you're accused of anti semitism.

Syria has been destroyed after US, Israel, Turkey and others colluded with Al Queda successors to overthrow the government. Leader of the people now in charge has a 10 million price on his head issued by the US state department. Apparently, he is now reformed despite being involved in hundreds of summary, brutal executions.

And we are in lockstep with US foreign policy, including its complicity with the Israeli genocide and its desire to needlessly dominate Russia and China.

Embarrassing and sickening.

The killing in Gaza goes on. Doctors, humanitarian aides, journalists, surgeons and nurses. Death toll now at 44,000 with over 17,000 children dying. Not a peep out of the mainstream media, Peter Dutton or the Israeli lobby. Netanyahu has a warrant out for him for war crimes but silence is golden in case you're accused of anti semitism.

Syria has been destroyed after US, Israel, Turkey and others colluded with Al Queda successors to overthrow the government. Leader of the people now in charge has a 10 million price on his head issued by the US state department. Apparently, he is now reformed despite being involved in hundreds of summary, brutal executions.

And we are in lockstep with US foreign policy, including its complicity with the Israeli genocide and its desire to needlessly dominate Russia and China.

Embarrassing and sickening.
I wonder where you'll be when China attack !

I think it goes beyond vetting. If you are going to have adult men in positions of power over boys you also need mechanisms in place to (a) ensure bad man have very limited opportunity to perpetrate offences and (b) ensure the boys have safe opportunities to raise concerns.

There will always be bad eggs, you need a system that catches them and forces them out.

Assuming the alleged concerns are true, I’m not convinced the swans had their system set up right, and therefore would have failed their duty of care.

Would this make the Swans or swans leadership bad? Probably not. My guess is that all the leaders were good people who thought they were doing their best for the boys. However, they would still be responsible / liable for what happened and would need to lift their standards in future.
I went to a catholic high school in Newcastle called St pius X. It was situated in Adamstown. Sorta.
The principal of the school was a brother. By Brother I mean clergy. There were about 5 brothers at the school.
The principal was the head of a pedophile ring that stretched from northern NSW to Sydney.
My brother was abused by one of the Brothers. My brother and another 36 guys went to trial and there was a payout to 38 guys of 10 Million Dollars. The highest payout in history. But it was only about 150,000 per person. Nothing against what had destroyed their lives.
I was taught by 5 pedophiles in my 6 years at the school.
Some are dead. Some are still in jail.
I know of at least 9 guys who have committed suicide.
My Mums best friend had a son commit suicide at 35 years, He had two daughters under the age of ten.
One of my brothers was sexually abused. He caused a lot of problems in our family. It was only years later we found out why.
The Royal commission into institutional sexual abuse against minors reported to my Mums best friend. They were in close contact. It was my Mums best friend 's son's suicide that precipitated the Royal Commission. My Dad told me stuff before it was released to the media.

I ****ing hate religion.

I went to a catholic high school in Newcastle called St pius X. It was situated in Adamstown. Sorta.
The principal of the school was a brother. By Brother I mean clergy. There were about 5 brothers at the school.
The principal was the head of a pedophile ring that stretched from northern NSW to Sydney.
My brother was abused by one of the Brothers. My brother and another 36 guys went to trial and there was a payout to 38 guys of 10 Million Dollars. The highest payout in history. But it was only about 150,000 per person. Nothing against what had destroyed their lives.
My Mums best friend had a son commit suicide at 35 years, He had two daughters under the age of ten.
One of my brothers was sexually abused. He caused a lot of problems in our family. It was only years later we found out why.
The Royal commission into institutional sexual abuse against minors reported to my Mums best friend. They were in close contact. It was my Mums best friend 's son's suicide that precipitated the Royal Commission. My Dad told me stuff before it was released to the media.

I ****ing hate religion.
You can read about my school. There is a book written by a student 3 years older than me who wrote it and suffered abuse.

It is called The Priests

I caught the same bus to school as him.

I ****ing hate religion.
I have seen you post about this before Rusty, but each time it is harrowing. I’m sorry this happened to you, your brother and your classmates.

It is people’s natural inclination to defend institutions that they admire which can lead to these things happening.

It is why I think we should be opened eyed about potential failings at the swans. The only way to stop this stuff happening in future is to learn from and take responsibility for the past.

I agree with others that we shouldn’t pre-judge in any direction, but we should be taking it seriously.

I ****ing hate religion.
With ya Rusty. I was abused by the next door neighbour at age 10 and 11 and by another guy I was placed with by Legacy for 6 weeks at age 10. No religion involved. Both preyed on vulnerable kids lacking affection. My father was dead and mother mentally ill.
None of it came out at all until I told my wife when I was in my thirties. Just dealt with it but not everyone can.
It's horribly widespread.
Move the thread by all means.

With ya Rusty. I was abused by the next door neighbour at age 10 and 11 and by another guy I was placed with by Legacy for 6 weeks at age 10. No religion involved. Both preyed on vulnerable kids lacking affection. My father was dead and mother mentally ill.
None of it came out at all until I told my wife when I was in my thirties. Just dealt with it but not everyone can.
It's horribly widespread.
Move the thread by all means.
I feel for you. I could report more stuff too but I won't.
What I will say is it destroys peoples lives.
It takes remarkable people to continue on in their lives and make something of themselves despite the trauma.
I know.
I know plenty of others too.

Play Nice Society, Religion & Politics Thread