Roast Something is about to drop...

Players are allowed to bet, there is no ban on it
The ban relates to betting on their own sport.

If players want to bet, go for it
That is correct.

Separately I’ve never seen the attraction of betting on football. But can’t deny football betting has escalated to big business.

Realistically why the hell did he self report via advise from Geoff Walsh.

Honestly it was a mates account they had zero chance of linking to Jayden unless his mate and himself had a falling out. Even then he could deny and never be proven.

Walsh should have said stop doing it and say nothing.

Isn’t that pretty much what Gubby Allen did in the Whitfield affair when he was at GWS? Got busted sweeping stuff under the carpet and got ejected from the game for his troubles (after he came to Collingwood of course - there’s no way we avoid these scandals at Collingwood, even if we’re not involved)

It’s hard to shake off the thought of Stevo playing three compromised games. Mind boggling that his betting may have influenced some of his onfield play, and maybe the outcome of games, even if only slightly or unconsciously. I know the AFL found otherwise.

+ whilst many folks are scoffing that it was ‘only’ $36 worth of bets...

... this behavior could potentially make him vulnerable to be compromised and exploited in the way we have seen in the cricket betting scandals. It can be a very slippery slope. One day a player wakes up and realizes that they’ve just passed info onto a bookmaker and wondered HTF did it escalate to that??

Dunno about anyone else but all of this talk is making me want to put a $12 same-game multi on for Sunday.

Yeah, it’d be interesting to get a betting marketeer’s perspective about whether this Stevo incident has been good for business or bad for business.

I never once said that the AFL's gambling ad's had anything to do with what Stevo did. He was an idiot, no doubt about that. What I am unhappy with is the AFL's lack of integrity in the whole gambling scenario. To me, it stinks.

Supporting gambling doesn't bring into question their integrity. It's a legal activity. We don't have to like it or engage in it.

Setting clear rules for players doesn't bring into question the AFL's integrity. Imposing sanctions for those who break those rules doesn't undermine the AFL's integrity.

Despite all this, we still have Stevo the player, and can look forward to his return. Suppose it will add some spice to September (but spice we didnt need).

It was a really stupid thing that he did, and it’s all a bit raw ...

... but I reckon behind the requisite cynical media training was a decent kid.

He made the kind of bad decision that kids make when they’re learning about the world. And kids who don’t make stuff-ups like that are often too timid to lead or change the world or take risks.

Jaidyn Stephenson, he’ll be a lock-in for the future leadership group, maybe even be captain one day. Fast forward a few years and his bad tats will be a far greater impediment than this betting episode will ever be.

Dunno about anyone else but all of this talk is making me want to put a $12 same-game multi on for Sunday.
Unless you’re on our list, go for it.

Flemington is also available for your leisure dollar.

Remember gamble responsibly;)

What a ridiculous article. Stephenson and Maynard regularly practice torps during the pregame warmup, so he more than capable and it wasn’t as risky or silly as claimed below.

Stephenson was widely lauded for his audacious 65m torpedo punt during the dying stages of his side’s Round 9 win over the Saints. With the Magpies up by a comfortable 40 points with less than three minutes left in the game, the Rising Star winner launched a ridiculous set-shot attempt from inside the centre square

+ whilst many folks are scoffing that it was ‘only’ $36 worth of bets...

... this behavior could potentially make him vulnerable to be compromised and exploited in the way we have seen in the cricket betting scandals. It can be a very slippery slope. One day a player wakes up and realizes that they’ve just passed info onto a bookmaker and wondered HTF did it escalate to that??
That’s true.

It’s what could escalate and opening to other influences.

That said it’s still (with great respect) three small toy bets. It is still the same issue but tiny bets are different to big bets. What becomes a big bet is whole different discussion.

What a ridiculous article. Stephenson and Maynard regularly practice torps during the pregame warmup, so he more than capable and it wasn’t as risky or silly as claimed below.

news.com.au is very tabloid and low market news.

Rarely has much of depth it’s more your down market news shelf

I thought the penalty was harsh. It seems you're better off breaking someones jaw and commiting grievous bodily harm. You only get 6 weeks for that. I doubt anyone will bother self reporting next time.

Realistically why the hell did he self report via advise from Geoff Walsh.

Honestly it was a mates account they had zero chance of linking to Jayden unless his mate and himself had a falling out. Even then he could deny and never be proven.

Walsh should have said stop doing it and say nothing.
Realistically? Jaidyn is too stupid to keep his mouth shut. Not everyone has that ability.

If BetEasy are the AFL’s partner, or whatever the hell their relationship is with the league, they should have functionality within their app where you can self-exclude from betting on markets within a particular sport. It surely wouldn’t be that difficult. Then BetEasy could market themselves as the responsible choice/preferred bookmaker for AFL players.

He made the kind of bad decision that kids make when they’re learning about the world. And kids who don’t make stuff-ups like that are often too timid to lead or change the world or take risks.

Jaidyn Stephenson, he’ll be a lock-in for the future leadership group, maybe even be captain one day. Fast forward a few years and his bad tats will be a far greater impediment than this betting episode will ever be.

Well said 76. While very angry now, I’ve loved this kid since he walked thru the door of the Holden Centre. Some of his football has just been exquisite.

This is a significant setback but not the end. Take it on the chin, learn from it, and be ready to take off in September.

"He is sitting on a couch in front of the TV with a mate when he decides to have a harmless little flutter on the footy.

This is not an ad. This is Collingwood youngster Jaidyn Stephenson in real life, as he described it on Wednesday, and we know what happens next.

But it is an ad. He is the caricature in nine of out of 10 gambling ads. It’s always a he. Since objectifying young women became a no-no, advertising’s next-best trick is to dumb down young men. The women’s role now is to patronise them, but affectionately.

He’s with a mate or mates, bored, easily distracted, impulsive. And he’s oblivious to a lame sight gag playing out in the background: the house burning down, maybe. The gag is a disclaimer, saying that you don’t want to take this sort of stuff too seriously, after all. It’s just one little bet."

I found this a very good article by Greg Baum and brings the whole hypocrisy into focus very sharply.

So AFL wanted to ban Jayiden for Life

That's not what the article says or at least what Eddie meant.

Eddie said that the punishment would be life if he bet against Collingwood and that is the worst punishment and therefore every punishment then works back from there. He's not suggesting the AFL sought a life ban.

That's not what the article says or at least what Eddie meant.

Eddie said that the punishment would be life if he bet against Collingwood and that is the worst punishment and therefore every punishment then works back from there. He's not suggesting the AFL sought a life ban.

It’s scaremongering too for any player stupid enough to punt on footy. The AFL is powerful, but there’s no way the AFLPA would allow that type of sanction without incontrovertible proof of attempted or legitimate match fixing.

Am I the only one who suspects that the guilt over his bets is what led Jaidyn to blurt out about his multi bet to Howe? He knew it was against the rules to bet on AFL yet still blurted this out. I reckon it was something of a cry for help or guidance (albeit likely subconsciously done).

Howe is the same bloke who told JDG to tell the truth to the club.

Co-incidence?

Am I the only one who suspects that the guilt over his bets is what led Jaidyn to blurt out about his multi bet to Howe? He knew it was against the rules to bet on AFL yet still blurted this out. I reckon it was something of a cry for help or guidance (albeit likely subconsciously done).

Howe is the same bloke who told JDG to tell the truth to the club.

Co-incidence?

Not me. I think he just stuffed up by gobbing off in front of Howe. I did find it ironic that Howe has now told two teammates to fess up given his broken finger incident!

Roast Something is about to drop...