Southern FL - 2011/12

Ha ha, wouldn't take much notice of the stuff I have written on here SK. I'm taking the piss half the time and I've made a lot of shit predictions as well. Agree on Dodges. Their backline is very good backline with Little, Lampkin and D.Cusick being the picks of the bunch. I reckon Lampkin plays his best footy up forward though. You will be lucky to make it through the warm up without breaking an ankle in one of the pot holes:D Having a kick at Central again next year?

Anyone have predictions for the league B&F? Reckon Allison from Lindisfarne will poll well

Ha ha, wouldn't take much notice of the stuff I have written on here SK. I'm taking the piss half the time and I've made a lot of shit predictions as well. Agree on Dodges. Their backline is very good backline with Little, Lampkin and D.Cusick being the picks of the bunch. I reckon Lampkin plays his best footy up forward though. You will be lucky to make it through the warm up without breaking an ankle in one of the pot holes:D Having a kick at Central again next year?

Anyone have predictions for the league B&F? Reckon Allison from Lindisfarne will poll well

Toddy and i both signed for two years to try and turn the club around. We lost 10-15 players from last years senior side to the ODFA or just aren't playing. This after they had all committed which really did not help our cause. In saying that we have played 6-8 kids this year between the ages 16-19. Some of them have come on well but they just need bigger bodies to help them week in week out. Some great people at the club and they work their butts off to make it work and they will be trying to attract some players early on. The drive to Kempton twice a week is a little off putting to most! Club needs depth to put pressure on senior players who are on the cushion of comfort. meaning they know there isn't anything to come in so it doesn't matter how they play or train, their spot 95% safe.

Medal, can't go past Thommo from New Norfolk. I also think someone from Claremont will poll well but not sure who as they don't really have many flashy players, just goers. Allison is that type of player though and will attract votes.

So the finals are finally here!! Who ya got? Im tipping Kingborough to totally dismantle Brighton while the Dodges v Claremont game could go either way, should be a good game depending on the ground..Have heard it was a shambles earlier in the week..Anyone know how its looking? And will it be worthy of a senior final by the time the Colts and Reserves have chopped it up.... Thommo to win the B&F with M.Swan(Lind) T.Peterson(King) 2nd & 3rd..Roughy to be D.Fewkes from Claremont

any truth that Michael Thompson got red carded on the weekend??
Kingborough v New Norfolk at KGV this week, hope the riot squad will be attending after last year!!

Any shenanigans at KGV today after Norfik came from a fair way back to win?

I went to the game. It was a great day. Nice & sunny, good crowd. Just on 5,000. I enjoyed the footy. Infact all 3 games were played in great spirit. All were good contests.
I thought we might get some biffo, but it was just good hard footy all day. In the seniors Lindisfarne seemed to just run out of petrol on the big ground after a great start. New Norfolk were just unrelenting in their efforts.
Felt a bit sorry for Lindisfarne but New Norfolk just kept at it. I thought New Norfolk might lose focus & go silly but they didnt.
I wonder how a New Norfolk v Wynyard game would go? A bit like the 1967 state final perhaps:p

Pretty quiet on here nowadays compared to a few years back.

Who's got some goss? Somebody must!

I've heard Danny Ling and Scott Allen's names mentioned as possible Brighton coach for 2013.

Any word on who will coach New Norfolk with Smith stepping down?

I've heard Danny Ling and Scott Allen's names mentioned as possible Brighton coach for 2013.

Haven't got a great deal but have heard a few things. C.Blight and N.Paine are shopping themselves around. Interested in coaching Dodges as a package deal apparently. They'd probably be wanting more $ than Dodges can afford to fork up. Barwin & B.Curran also keen to coach the Sharks.
Heard Allen reapplied for the job at Sorell but it's likely David "Moose" Lewis will be their coach next year. Jon Murray is coaching Norfolk.

its jamie ling name floating bout as brighton coach was asked to apply .... scott allen must have aplied at every club ;)

brighton have lost half there team as what ive herd salter to claremont with a few others wall to glenorchy just to name a few tough times for the robins

its jamie ling name floating bout as brighton coach was asked to apply .... scott allen must have aplied at every club ;)

brighton have lost half there team as what ive herd salter to claremont with a few others wall to glenorchy just to name a few tough times for the robins

Scott Allen appointed coach of Richmond in Old Scholars.

Well that would be a better job than coaching Sorell you'd think. Sorell did improve a little bit in the second half of the season though. Their colts won the flag too so they must have some good kids coming through. How come Cato isn't coaching Richmond?
Heard Moose Lewis will be chasing a few Dodges players he has connections with if he gets the Sorell job. Also a young North Hobart ruckman.

Sorell appointed the bloke who was playing coach of their twos this year. Surprising.

JS Your thoughts on Jake Gillie to Claremont? The pies are recruiting well and adding him and Salter to the forward line certainly straightens them up going forward.

That's a massive pick up for them. Been Dodges best forward by a long way in the last two years. If Curtain is playing at the mont again next year then those 3 will be very hard to match up on. Claremont were only a few really good players away from being a quality side last season. Looks like they might be next year.

Believe I was wrong before about Blight & China wanting to coach the sharks. Heard yesterday Dodges offered them 50k between them and they said no. That's a ridiculous amount of money to spend on two blokes. May need butcherboy or someone else to confirm that

That's a massive pick up for them. Been Dodges best forward by a long way in the last two years. If Curtain is playing at the mont again next year then those 3 will be very hard to match up on. Claremont were only a few really good players away from being a quality side last season. Looks like they might be next year.

Believe I was wrong before about Blight & China wanting to coach the sharks. Heard yesterday Dodges offered them 50k between them and they said no. That's a ridiculous amount of money to spend on two blokes. May need butcherboy or someone else to confirm that

That is top dollars for tassie footy, there wouldn't be many outside of that getting paid more in any league in this state. Very surprised they would have said no. I heard China has signed on as Assistant coach at Clarence though. Maybe that money was also to be distrubuted for recruits like a package type deal?

Maybe that money was also to be distrubuted for recruits like a package type deal?

You would hope so. Nathan Mills was mentioned as well. like I said, probably need someone to confirm that as I could be wrong. Dodges should save their money (if it's too true they are throwing that much money at blokes) and appoint Heath Barwin. Quality coach and player who will give the kids a go.

That is top dollars for tassie footy, there wouldn't be many outside of that getting paid more in any league in this state. Very surprised they would have said no. I heard China has signed on as Assistant coach at Clarence though. Maybe that money was also to be distrubuted for recruits like a package type deal?

Paine has signed at Clarence as assistant coach, doing all the video stuff. Have to laugh at any club willing to cough up $50k, a nice way to ruin your club i would have thought. Blight lives in Kingston i think, so would be a long way to travel to training 3 nights a week plus games.

Have to take back one of my other posts. Apparently a wealthy local (has chucked a bit of money into the club before) said to Dodges he would pay for their coach as long as he got to pick who it was (he was interested in a big name). the club weren't interested.

SK, you guys got any new blokes signed up yet?

Depends on where he would be travelling from after work etc i guess. Still have to get home. And as far as games go, you literally have to travel every weekend unless you are playing Lindisfarne or Claremeont. Most teams are a bit out of town, nothing crazy though. But 50k for two players is excessive at this level. If you are going to invest big money like that, you really would have to make a wise choice.

That's a massive pick up for them. If Curtain is playing at the mont again next year then those 3 will be very hard to match up on. Claremont were only a few really good players away from being a quality side last season. Looks like they might be next year.

Curtain will never play for Claremont again and is no longer welcome at the club, after refusing to start on the bench in the Elminiation Final against Dodges Ferry and duly walking out on the side before the start of the game. Piss poor form from a supposed experienced player in a leadership position.

That is utterly disgraceful...

Southern FL - 2011/12