• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Southern Football League 2007

Thanks for the feedback Pining, You should take some of your own advice.

On the MPNFL forum your bagging everyone, try not to be to righteous. :cool:
I don't bag everyone on Argy, I only bag the stupid ones............okay, fair point!
It's hard not to be self righteous, when one is always right!

madman, i hear that tim barr is 95% over the line to play with skye this season! another good pick up for you blokes. had a conversation with one of your club members today who said nothing less than a top 2-3 finish will be acceptable.your thoughts? what can you tell me about a Danny O from moorabin?

Firstly, No Idea what your talking about there??

Secondly, Danny O is a great Bloke who has sublime skills and is an extremely smart footballer!! I seen him play some qaulity football of a Half forward flank and he has the knack to kick a bag of goals which I have also seen him do quite often. He has, well Had strong desore to coach when I played with him and he is a very nice bloke!! Qaulity pick up for any team!!

Blac04 do you mind me asking why you enquired?? He wouldnt be putting on a doveton jumper this year would he?? great pick up if he was!!

Lastly when you say Nothing less that a top 2-3 finish is exceptable I dont know where that would of come from, as a senior assistant you would assume that all these types of conversations I would know about, maybe you are just talking to someone who is pulling your leg?? I know of alot of people from the club who are talking silly talk just to see how quickly it gets on this website!! Trust me I have had people come up to me and say watch how quickly this "insert Comment" gets on the big footy website!! You gotts remember people use this website for all different reasons!!

But in saying that I will agree that if we didnt make the finals this year, I would be extremely dissapointed!! But please name 1 coach who wouldnt be saying that about there team right now??? The only aim Skye FC has this year is to make the Finals, if that is achieved, we will re-evaluate from there!!

After Watching the first round of the Nab Cup, and being a regular listener to SEN lately I would like to ask you boys the question of will this new Push in the Back rule be applied to SFL this year??

If it does, I would think that this assist the Forwards massively?? If I was a defender I would be praying to the heavens right now that this rule is not added, Front position now is so important, and if you are a tall key forward who can jump (Like Brad ottens) I think we might see alot more goals kicked this year than any other year!!

I agree the rule is a bit of a joke, but if its in its in, theres nothing we can do about it, so whats your thoughts, are tall ruckmen forwards invaluable now, or will this have no impact due to either the league not excepting the new rule or the SFL umpires not being strict on it like the AFL umpires??

After Watching the first round of the Nab Cup, and being a regular listener to SEN lately I would like to ask you boys the question of will this new Push in the Back rule be applied to SFL this year??

If it does, I would think that this assist the Forwards massively?? If I was a defender I would be praying to the heavens right now that this rule is not added, Front position now is so important, and if you are a tall key forward who can jump (Like Brad ottens) I think we might see alot more goals kicked this year than any other year!!

I agree the rule is a bit of a joke, but if its in its in, theres nothing we can do about it, so whats your thoughts, are tall ruckmen forwards invaluable now, or will this have no impact due to either the league not excepting the new rule or the SFL umpires not being strict on it like the AFL umpires??

As far as I was told it's not a new rule for us, but as everyone knows the umpires look up to there AFL mates and try and do the same thing.

I'm a forward and I don't like the rule, it's soft! Only thing I will say is I have seen a lot of forwards pulled up over the years for nudging backmen in the back and taking a mark so it sort of even's it up. But as I said I don't really like the rule.

That new rule is a disgrace. But one positive is that Lloyd will now kick 180 instead of 80 for the season.:thumbsu:
In terms of the SFL i dont think it will have a big impact because i suspect the umpires wont be that strict on it. However if you get an umpire who loves to blow his whistle and be noticed then deffenders could be in for a very frustrating time.
2007 = The year of the diving forward

I play in the ellinbank league and i see a few from moorabin going to catani, Tootoo, Teniselli and youle. How good are these guys as players? I hear Tootoo is a huge man.

They all must be pretty good I know of 3 division 1 clubs that were very keen to sign them! Tootoo is a big man as well!

I played Footy with all 3 of these players (maybe 4?)

Paul Youle is a extremely Talented ruckmen who can dominate around the ground. Was a major recruit and one of the reasons Moorrabbin were so dominate.

Chris tenniselli is an electrifying midfeilder half back type who is as tough as nails!! To put him in perspective he played Div 2 southern Last year and was the only player selected from Moorrabbin to play in the SFL V's VAFA game!!!

Anthony Tootoo is a Tough hard at Half Back player who puts fear into oppositions!! He will eat you up and spit you out and he is Built and is as quick as anyone I have seen!!

Fia Tootoo is a Beast!! Probaly one of the most talented sportsmen I have seen or played footy with, I have seen him break peoples collarbones with a side bump fair and legal, the guy is a giant and is probaly quicker than anyone I know!! Plays rugby for Samoa when not Dominating in International rules AFL for Samoa (which he was captain of). Can pretty much play anywhere on the ground including ruck!!

Good luck playing against them LOL!!

That new rule is a disgrace. But one positive is that Lloyd will now kick 180 instead of 80 for the season.:thumbsu:
In terms of the SFL i dont think it will have a big impact because i suspect the umpires wont be that strict on it. However if you get an umpire who loves to blow his whistle and be noticed then deffenders could be in for a very frustrating time.

I will agree with you there, even if the rule isnt in the league officialy surely it will be like second nature if the umpires watch footy as much as the rest of us!! I agree though it could hurt forwards just as much as backmen, Front Position is more important than ever before!!

They'll go ok - at the top, the standard is pretty much on par with each other. Who do you play for & who's your tip this season?

The new 'push in the back' rule is crap and everyone knows it. Why the AFL continue to trial the kicking backwards rule instead of implementing it is ridiculous too.

But in saying that I will agree that if we didnt make the finals this year, I would be extremely dissapointed!! But please name 1 coach who wouldnt be saying that about there team right now??? The only aim Skye FC has this year is to make the Finals, if that is achieved, we will re-evaluate from there!![/quote]

c'mon madman, with the blokes you have picked up and the numbers you have had train from the start of pre-season, you would have at some stage laid in bed at night and thought, "gee, if this bloke can hold down that spot and whiskas and muzz can control the forward line, we are bloody fit, still young and keen to play for each other, i reckon we should win it this year! surely no-one will get close to us!" i reckon you would have big fella!

Soft forwards always get all the breaks, why dont charity cases like yourself get up the ground and earn a few kicks instead of bleeding off the poor backmen

I'm a forward and I don't like the rule, it's soft! Only thing I will say is I have seen a lot of forwards pulled up over the years for nudging backmen in the back and taking a mark so it sort of even's it up. But as I said I don't really like the rule.[/quote]

Soft forwards always get all the breaks, why dont charity cases like yourself get up the ground and earn a few kicks instead of bleeding off the poor backmen

I'm a forward and I don't like the rule, it's soft! Only thing I will say is I have seen a lot of forwards pulled up over the years for nudging backmen in the back and taking a mark so it sort of even's it up. But as I said I don't really like the rule.
[/quote]

Another sook that's all this forum needs.
I said it's a soft rule GOOSE! Don't you know how to read.

Scratcha, there's a few players wearing old South Yarra training gear, but I'm new so can't say if it's the ruckman and onballer you're talking about. Know any names? Lot of new guys there though. Firsts look good, but as I've said, haven't seen the standard of any other sides. The Coach is confident.

If you're apparently allowed to use forearms, then players will eventually learn to do that, which will in the end have the same pushing effect anyway. What's the difference between getting pushed by a forearm and a hand? We won't see many good hangers paid this year. Silly rule.

I dont think the rule will effect players taking hangers (not you anyway). It will only come into effect when a forward is one out against his oppenent.

But in saying that I will agree that if we didnt make the finals this year, I would be extremely dissapointed!! But please name 1 coach who wouldnt be saying that about there team right now??? The only aim Skye FC has this year is to make the Finals, if that is achieved, we will re-evaluate from there!!

c'mon madman, with the blokes you have picked up and the numbers you have had train from the start of pre-season, you would have at some stage laid in bed at night and thought, "gee, if this bloke can hold down that spot and whiskas and muzz can control the forward line, we are bloody fit, still young and keen to play for each other, i reckon we should win it this year! surely no-one will get close to us!" i reckon you would have big fella![/quote]

See when you say "the Blokes you have picked up and the numbers you have had at training" its the same thing everyone thionks at this time of year??

Everyones recruits looks good in Feb??

All I am saying is despite what most of you blokes think, in No way do Skye FC think we are favourites for the flag, thats just ridiculous talk!! We finished 7th last year!! For us a Top 4 spot will be a successfull fantastic season, after that who knows, but in no means are we cocky!! We realize that Sides like Mt Waverly, Black Rock Cerberus and Dandy who all finished above us last year, and Doveton and Sandown who will no doubt improve from last year will all take 22 committed players to beat them!!

Is it too early for me to say that the Div 3 level of footy will improve massively this year???

c'mon madman, with the blokes you have picked up and the numbers you have had train from the start of pre-season, you would have at some stage laid in bed at night and thought, "gee, if this bloke can hold down that spot and whiskas and muzz can control the forward line, we are bloody fit, still young and keen to play for each other, i reckon we should win it this year! surely no-one will get close to us!" i reckon you would have big fella!

See when you say "the Blokes you have picked up and the numbers you have had at training" its the same thing everyone thionks at this time of year??

Everyones recruits looks good in Feb??

All I am saying is despite what most of you blokes think, in No way do Skye FC think we are favourites for the flag, thats just ridiculous talk!! We finished 7th last year!! For us a Top 4 spot will be a successfull fantastic season, after that who knows, but in no means are we cocky!! We realize that Sides like Mt Waverly, Black Rock Cerberus and Dandy who all finished above us last year, and Doveton and Sandown who will no doubt improve from last year will all take 22 committed players to beat them!!

Is it too early for me to say that the Div 3 level of footy will improve massively this year???[/quote]

Hey MadMan did Gareth Jones train last night?

Blac04, I pretty much agree with what you've said.

I reckon there's quite a few from the bombers camp that go to bed each night with 'half a chubber' of what may be in 2007.

But fair's fair.

It must be said that not once has MadMan ever pumped up Skye's chance's for 2007, nor do I recall him ever identifying or announcing any recruits.

More to the point, he's probably been trying to keep blokes like myself quiet.. but that's football.

Can't wait for Round 2 (Skye v Blackrock).

madman, i hear that tim barr is 95% over the line to play with skye this season!

Where'd you hear this from? How close to the horses mouth is it? Would be a great pickup if true, by me thinks rather unlikely at this stage.

And what is the other 5%?