• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Southern Football League 2007

Blac04, I pretty much agree with what you've said.

I reckon there's quite a few from the bombers camp that go to bed each night with 'half a chubber' of what may be in 2007.

But fair's fair.

It must be said that not once has MadMan ever pumped up Skye's chance's for 2007, nor do I recall him ever identifying or announcing any recruits.

More to the point, he's probably been trying to keep blokes like myself quiet.. but that's football.

Can't wait for Round 2 (Skye v Blackrock).

Where'd you hear this from? How close to the horses mouth is it? Would be a great pickup if true, by me thinks rather unlikely at this stage.

And what is the other 5%?

Jesus you enjoy stirring the pot dont you Cat!! Thanks for the support though, 100% agree with everything you said!!

Blac04, I pretty much agree with what you've said.

I reckon there's quite a few from the bombers camp that go to bed each night with 'half a chubber' of what may be in 2007.

But fair's fair.

It must be said that not once has MadMan ever pumped up Skye's chance's for 2007, nor do I recall him ever identifying or announcing any recruits.

More to the point, he's probably been trying to keep blokes like myself quiet.. but that's football.

Can't wait for Round 2 (Skye v Blackrock).

Where'd you hear this from? How close to the horses mouth is it? Would be a great pickup if true, by me thinks rather unlikely at this stage.

In reply to this I have to say I was too tired after training last night to go to bed with a Chubber...
However I will be right for tonight.

And what is the other 5%?[/quote]

straight from it mate! i find it hard to believe that madman, being an assistant coach with skye, didn't know barr was 95%. be honest with us madman! i've seen the preferred line up for the skye senior side and barr was in it!

there is a few div 3 blokes on here. like to know thoughts on the top couple of players to stop at each club. obviously not your own club, unless you want to, but who do the coaches set out to stop?

blac04, just visited the website and Mr Salerno has stated a few new names there must be exciting. Have the Eagles located the player that went missing last year !!! ( Hughes ):D

Madman, what a great initiative for your club to get involved in and give something back to the community. How do it go ?:) :) :)

To all Skye players & suppporters, it is the hope of the club management and Senior Football Group that as many players as possible attend the "Walk For Dylan" fundraiser this Sunday 25/02/07.

In no particular order these are the players that get a little attention in our coaches address. Apologies for not knowing names:

Blackrock :

Tall Blonde Guy (No: 5 i think) plays forward and in the middle - Nick Owen?
Ando

Dandy:

Macwell

Cobras:

Kreskas
Young asian lad who played forward

Both are gone now by all reports

There were others from other teams but i cant remember names or descriptions maybe others will jog my memory.

Madman, what a great initiative for your club to get involved in and give something back to the community. How do it go ?:) :) :)

To all Skye players & suppporters, it is the hope of the club management and Senior Football Group that as many players as possible attend the "Walk For Dylan" fundraiser this Sunday 25/02/07.

From all reports it went really well, unfortunately I hurt my ankle a little on friday night so I couldnt attend but I heard back there was between 25-30 people there at least associated from Skye FC!!

But really its not about skye fc, lets just hope that enough money was raised for the young fella to get the op that is needed!!

My best wishes to him and his family!!

straight from it mate! i find it hard to believe that madman, being an assistant coach with skye, didn't know barr was 95%. be honest with us madman! i've seen the preferred line up for the skye senior side and barr was in it![/quote]

i know nothing......... i am just there for my stunning good looks....

out of interest Blac04, where did this lineup have me playing?? you might of seen the side before I have ;)

In no particular order these are the players that get a little attention in our coaches address. Apologies for not knowing names:

Blackrock :

Tall Blonde Guy (No: 5 i think) plays forward and in the middle - Nick Owen?
Ando

Dandy:

Macwell

Cobras:

Kreskas
Young asian lad who played forward

Both are gone now by all reports

There were others from other teams but i cant remember names or descriptions maybe others will jog my memory.

Totally agree with those for doveton wrighty,cerberus Darvill, mount wilkins on what you said about the cobras the asian bloke is playing club 18 football somewhere and kreskas is assistant coach of a second division e.f.l club i think its nth ringwood

Forum anyone out there with any news on Division 2 clubs?
Hows everyone's pre-season coming along?

:confused: Totally agree! Asked a question a week ago re 2nd division and seems only 3rd div like to talk on this forum. Followed MKFC for many years but have heard mass changes down there. Can anyone fill me in?

Just heard on good authority from an AFL Operations guy in the know (Peter McDougall) and backed up by Michael Sholly (I think he is with the VAFA) that as far as insurance and indemnity being a major issue with grounds and us footy clubs being able to use them, it is not a major factor. Insurance companies are happy to go ahead as long as clubs, coaches and players deem grounds 'playable'. Unfortunately the Councils are trying to dictate terms and they have been given a talking to from the AFL and I quote "stop scaring clubs off from using their grounds"...

Basically it is up to the councils to back off and if they do then the season (both SFL and VAFA) will kick off as per scheduled April 14. We as clubs have to keep abiding by the councils in regards to current restrictions but we may just get to start on time.... Fingers crossed.

Forum anyone out there with any news on Division 2 clubs?
Hows everyone's pre-season coming along?

I think the drought has played a major part in most clubs struggling more so than normal with training numbers. I hear that this is the case in Division 2. We have consistently being getting 20 players a night (down from 23-25 same time last year) but constant training venue changes have made it easy for excuses as to why players can't make training.

We have lost a few players as previously stated but also picked up a few and are hopeful of a finals finish. I would have to agree with the 2 "pre-season favourites" in Oakleigh and Springvale Districts but there is a lot of football to be played yet. Rumours may be just rumours but word has it that Murrumbeena, Parkmore, Lyndale and Moorabin are struggling for numbers and/or quality additions... time will tell but I wouldn't write anyone off just yet. A rental house of 3-4 Uni students locally looking to play at the same club could just make a massive difference to any club in any competition...

i think that with so much uncertainty as to when we will start will make for some ugly first few round matches! Get the jump and you may scrape together 2 or 3 unexpected wins which as we all know, success breeds success... Who knows???

Just heard on good authority from an AFL Operations guy in the know (Peter McDougall) and backed up by Michael Sholly (I think he is with the VAFA) that as far as insurance and indemnity being a major issue with grounds and us footy clubs being able to use them, it is not a major factor. Insurance companies are happy to go ahead as long as clubs, coaches and players deem grounds 'playable'. Unfortunately the Councils are trying to dictate terms and they have been given a talking to from the AFL and I quote "stop scaring clubs off from using their grounds"...

Basically it is up to the councils to back off and if they do then the season (both SFL and VAFA) will kick off as per scheduled April 14. We as clubs have to keep abiding by the councils in regards to current restrictions but we may just get to start on time.... Fingers crossed.

Let's hope the council's back off a bit. We got a little bit of rain last night, keep it coming!

Also getting back to the Moorabbin Kangas fan, you guys have lost some quality players, Tootoo, Tinesily and a few others. Have you recruited well?

I think the drought has played a major part in most clubs struggling more so than normal with training numbers. I hear that this is the case in Division 2. We have consistently being getting 20 players a night (down from 23-25 same time last year) but constant training venue changes have made it easy for excuses as to why players can't make training.

We have lost a few players as previously stated but also picked up a few and are hopeful of a finals finish. I would have to agree with the 2 "pre-season favourites" in Oakleigh and Springvale Districts but there is a lot of football to be played yet. Rumours may be just rumours but word has it that Murrumbeena, Parkmore, Lyndale and Moorabin are struggling for numbers and/or quality additions... time will tell but I wouldn't write anyone off just yet. A rental house of 3-4 Uni students locally looking to play at the same club could just make a massive difference to any club in any competition...

i think that with so much uncertainty as to when we will start will make for some ugly first few round matches! Get the jump and you may scrape together 2 or 3 unexpected wins which as we all know, success breeds success... Who knows???

Fair point, the different training venues are a pain in the arse but the clubs try and make it as easy as possible so the players should just support their clubs and coaches also team mates.

We have had fair numbers not great, but as you said with the uncertainty it's hard to get right into it. But you have to train as though round 1 will be April 14 in both Districts cases April 13! Just so your as fine tuned as possible.

Let's hope the council's back off a bit. We got a little bit of rain last night, keep it coming!

Also getting back to the Moorabbin Kangas fan, you guys have lost some quality players, Tootoo, Tinesily and a few others. Have you recruited well?

As I said, I am a supporter not a player. Awesome player Tootoo, one of the reasons I followed Kangas, wonder who is left, but maybe good recruiting to replace those who have gone.
Will try to get to training and have a look.

Supposebly the new Moorrabbin coach is a Gun ex player, dont know if he plays now though, surely he would bring some recruits with him like all coaches do??

That is great news about the AFL putting pressure on the councils, keep it up!!

I would like to know, would anyone say no to playing football on the grounds in the state they are in now?? I know I wouldnt, I'd play on Sand if I had to!!!

Can tell you now that Lyndale is not struggling for numbers as we are getting around the same as hampton. It does make it hard to get blokes to train if they know its a road run or in our case Lysterfield lake. Pumas have picked up 3 or 4 quality players as well as keeping some of those who were thinking of jumping ship. Things are looking bright, apart from the lack of rain.
Can confirm that Parkmore are struggling. Neil Collett has been saying he is getting 20-25 a night but a few of our blokes have driven past and seen just over a handful on the track.

Supposebly the new Moorrabbin coach is a Gun ex player, dont know if he plays now though, surely he would bring some recruits with him like all coaches do??

That is great news about the AFL putting pressure on the councils, keep it up!!

I would like to know, would anyone say no to playing football on the grounds in the state they are in now?? I know I wouldnt, I'd play on Sand if I had to!!!

Moorabin new coach is Aaron Bailey from Knox in the Eastern FL. He applied for our assistant coach position last year and missed it to Chris Barr. He has a mixed bag of senior and reserve footy as his background. I believe he will be a playing coach this season....
Good to seee you back on Hammer.

Can you give me the latest news on Matt Barr... I've heard that he is now not going to be playing at Hampon this year.

It's a shame if that's true? because he was a very handy pickup.

Good to seee you back on Hammer.

Can you give me the latest news on Matt Barr... I've heard that he is now not going to be playing at Hampon this year.

It's a shame if that's true? because he was a very handy pickup.

It appears as though a new job may not permit him playing of a Saturday afternoon so we will have to wait and see but looking doubtful...

I hear Tim is missing spending quality time with Chris and is keen to rekindle their sibling rivalry down at Petersen St Reserve.... :)

It appears as though a new job may not permit him playing of a Saturday afternoon so we will have to wait and see but looking doubtful...

I hear Tim is missing spending quality time with Chris and is keen to rekindle their sibling rivalry down at Petersen St Reserve.... :)
See there you go Blac04, that must be the other 5% that Mr Ed was talking about.

But, unless the OTHER Asst Coach at Skye can shed any info, I've heard that he will be lining-up alongside Matt at Parkdale again this year.

Have heard rumors all over the place in regards to division two.
1) Parkmore wont field two sides
2) Springvale Districts have two gun recuits that will not play untill at least mid way through the year (1 ex Vampire 1x ex bull )
3) In house trouble at Oakliegh Districts (cash flow problem)
4) Ashwood is in REAL trouble with numbers.

Can anyone confirm or deny such rumors???????????????

See there you go Blac04, that must be the other 5% that Mr Ed was talking about.

But, unless the OTHER Asst Coach at Skye can shed any info, I've heard that he will be lining-up alongside Matt at Parkdale again this year.

I'm not sure what you mean when you say the other Ass Coach?? Are you talking about corey?? I'll ask Corey to sign up on this website and see if he can shed some light??

If you are referring to me, once again I know nothing.........