Southern Football League 2007

Re: cobras

Yeah I have hear that too, and that Kreskas is taking over as 2's coach
it's a shame they never update their website. we would know whats happening then. surely if its true rossborough is gone, its great for the blokes that found it hard to play with him, but it also poses the problem of not having a 2's coach 5 weeks out from round 1. with all the talk about kreskas and nth ringwood, i find it hard to believe he will coach the cobras seconds. whats the news on tim barr madman? i reckon you would have spoken to the other coaching staff by now. whats happening?

Re: cobras

Yeah I have hear that too, and that Kreskas is taking over as 2's coach
I dont think kreskas would be that stupid,if it was the 1,s maybe i would believe it, not the 2's though that sounds very untrue,my spies tell me 100% his signed sealed delivered at nth ringwood,he should'nt be playing at the cobras anyway his to good a player to waste his ability with them,it seems he got a good deal at nth assistant in a very strong league.

Absolute gold MadMan... I see that LOM is providing you with some rather insightful fodder... Ahhh the memories. You know we where champions that year.

In regards to Axe, very unfortunate indeed. Another great pickup for you guys. Great young bloke, Good clubman, CAN PLAY.

At this rate though, you and your colleagues are going to have a problem this year. It's a nice problem to have, but gee, you match selection meetings will be lengthy I think.

Now the challenge begins... have got the cattle, need the heard moving in the same direction.

TO ALL MEMBERS...

According to the Kingston Council website, there was a ban on pre-season training on club ovals before March 1, Now that we are there:
– Have any clubs been granted permission to use their grounds now?
– Do other councils have the same conditions in place or different?

Your right Cat I have Heard all the stories and the other Ass Coach speaks very Highly of you, I look forward to sharing a Beer or 2 with you this year so we can talk about the stories which incriminate him a little!!

Your 100% correct Axe is a major pick up for us and I tell ya I was over the moon when he signed on the dotted line, looking forward to playing with him again, bring back memories from mordi brae under 12's!!!

Blac04 to finish I believe all the rumours you have heard are true, I was just being a little coy early on!!

Sandown dogs was great tonight, I didnt win, but I didnt lose, so I am happy!!!!

Got this off the SFL website:

SFL addresses start date for season
The SFL still aims to commence the season on April 14th. Clubs have been asked to consider a swap with the team they are drawn against if their ground is considered "poor." Alternatively a club can apply to the League to use some of the grounds it has secured for use in the early rounds of the new season.

This is great news boys, Full steem ahead for the mighty SFL!!!!

The SFL still aims to commence the season on April 14th. Clubs have been asked to consider a swap with the team they are drawn against if their ground is considered "poor." Alternatively a club can apply to the League to use some of the grounds it has secured for use in the early rounds of the new season.

That is sweet sweet news. Cant wait for april 14th. :thumbsu:

Just for Teams who Play Skye this year, if you need to swap your games make sure you contact us, Our ground is looking fantastic, its Lush and green!! Check it out for yourselves if you need too!! Its probaly the best ground in Frankston at the moment!!

This IS great news for the league. However, will teams be prepared to give up a home game and play away if the opposition ground is in better condition? I would think that not many clubs would want to give up a home ground advantage even if their ground is not looking very good.

I have also noticed the southern cobras twos captain training at Canterbury. Is this another player jumping from the leaking ship?

Just for Teams who Play Skye this year, if you need to swap your games make sure you contact us, Our ground is looking fantastic, its Lush and green!! Check it out for yourselves if you need too!! Its probaly the best ground in Frankston at the moment!!
Why is it so green and lush ? Does it smell like POO !! how's the ankle MM

This IS great news for the league. However, will teams be prepared to give up a home game and play away if the opposition ground is in better condition? I would think that not many clubs would want to give up a home ground advantage even if their ground is not looking very good.

I think you'll find it would be a swap of grounds for later in the season, not losing a home game. ie. If Parkmore are scheduled round 1 vs Lyndale at home and Parkmore's ground isn't up to scratch, they simply swap and instead have the game at home in round 10.

Why is it so green and lush ? Does it smell like POO !! how's the ankle MM

To tell you the truth I am not 100% sure?? It must have something to do with the recycled water plant down the road, it would obviously be the case!!

The ankle is really sore at the moment, obviously the drinking session at Sandown dogs last night was not smart!! I should be right to train Monday night hopefully!!

:D Anyone out there got any news on divvy1 clubs,Haven't heard a word out of St.Pauls,Clayton etc.Are they taking the quiet approach to this season or have their recruiting people failed to deliver. Does anyone know whats happening.:)

Thanks for the info guys, what about a guy called Paul Moalona, anynody got any info on him?

I play for a team that didnt make the finals last year but wasnt too far away, i reckon Nyora still team to beat, they were awseome last year, finished with % of about 300 so other teams got some work to do. Then Bunyip, Catani, Cora Lynn and Longwarry will all make the finals. Same top 5 as last year, not sure who will sneak in for 6th this year, maybe Buln Buln, they seem to have recruited a few.

:D Anyone out there got any news on divvy1 clubs,Haven't heard a word out of St.Pauls,Clayton etc.Are they taking the quiet approach to this season or have their recruiting people failed to deliver. Does anyone know whats happening.:)

Nobster, this is purely pub gossip but the mail around the Notting Hill is Clayton are very happy with there list at the minute, they reckon they have covered the loss of Wells and picked up a couple of good ones, I did here that they have lost a player called Robbie (don't know his other name) some say it will be a huge loss.
No news at all from McKinnon Oval.

Nobster, this is purely pub gossip but the mail around the Notting Hill is Clayton are very happy with there list at the minute, they reckon they have covered the loss of Wells and picked up a couple of good ones, I did here that they have lost a player called Robbie (don't know his other name) some say it will be a huge loss.
No news at all from McKinnon Oval.

:thumbsu: Kickrs, thanks for the info mate,seems to be some big recruiting by some sides do we all think that the standard of Divvy 1 will improve this season,would be interested in what others think.:cool:

Just got a phone call from a mate inviting me to Springvale Districts season launch @ Sandown Greyhounds, Sounds like a very cheap and allright sort of night,$55.00 per head food and drink included March 22nd.
Any other clubs having season launches. (might make it to all of them if the pricing is right, sure beats cooking)

dandy would be one of those scratcha. i think it is for the grounds that will be hosting finals in the ddca. a pity we missed out, like you said, power reserve is looking a bit worse for where at the moment. in my opinion, it's by far the best ground in div 3!
Its is a pity with our ground. With the Turf 1 final at Parkmore's ground, I'm sure they will pump a fair bit of water onto it, so Div 2 clubs should not worry too much of the state of that ground. Just have to worry if they will field a team.

Brady's been training with us. Good bloke who swears like a sailor. Our ruckman played with St. Kilda City last year, his name's Jules, don't know surnames. Neer heard of Spotty or Bath, but they may have nicnames, I dunno. The Coach said we'll be aiming for finals, which I guess is obvious, but with the players we have now I think our 1s will be competitive rather than struggling to get a side.
Surely every teams coaches would be aiming for the finals!!!! :D
Where is Sth Yarras home ground this year.

Gday Mate, yeah the Praccy Match went really well, 21 a side and the standard was pretty good on a small ground which was marked out!! Injuries was a frustration, we had a shoulder injury and a couple of hammy's unfotunately, I rolled my ankle but no real problems, Unfortunately for our good freind Lockie, his shoulder is a little worst for wear!!

Numbers were very good, once again there was about 60 people watching, bloody unbelievable, I have no Idea how word gets around when we have an Intraclub, I joked with the Prez the other day we should start charging at the gate and make a fortune!!
How was the state of the ground? Did any of these injuries occure due to ground conditions cos you sound so keen to start on the 14 th of April yet the first praccy match you played, you guys sustained injuries! Or was it just 1 of them nights!

blac04, just visited the website and Mr Salerno has stated a few new names there must be exciting. Have the Eagles located the player that went missing last year !!! ( Hughes ):D
Benny Hughes has been training at either Belgrave or Sth of Belgrave. Think Gary Connelly coaching there. Wonder if things get tough if he will go missing there also. He was assistant coach last year, but failed to turn up to the club ( Training, Game day, and functions ) 3 quarters the way through the year and when his form was bad and we as a club struggled. Not exactly a great clubman. Great footballer in a good team as the year before proved it.

How was the state of the ground? Did any of these injuries occure due to ground conditions cos you sound so keen to start on the 14 th of April yet the first praccy match you played, you guys sustained injuries! Or was it just 1 of them nights!

Id say its one of those nights but your probaly a little correct, the uneven surface wouldnt of helped, but you had a choice if you wanted to play or not, a few didnt play, in hindsight I probaly shouldnt of!!

Thanks for the info guys, what about a guy called Paul Moalona, anynody got any info on him?

I play for a team that didnt make the finals last year but wasnt too far away, i reckon Nyora still team to beat, they were awseome last year, finished with % of about 300 so other teams got some work to do. Then Bunyip, Catani, Cora Lynn and Longwarry will all make the finals. Same top 5 as last year, not sure who will sneak in for 6th this year, maybe Buln Buln, they seem to have recruited a few.

Just had a look at transfers Maolana and Tootoo going to Nyora!

Surely every teams coaches would be aiming for the finals!!!! :D
Where is Sth Yarras home ground this year.
Kevin Bartlett Oval I think, sharing with Richmond Central from the Ammos which apparently they aren't thrilled about. We started training near there at Burnley Oval, but moved early and now train at one of the Yarra Bend ovals, so haven't seen the KB ground yet.

Ben Hughes sounds like a great pick up for Belgrave. If he struggles in a bad side and walks out when it gets tough then Belly should not expect to see him around for too long. Unfortunately the boys look like struggling again even with a drop in division.

wouldn't surprise me if he was pushed out by his old man who thought he should be playing in a better comp. whatever the reason though, it was pretty ordinary to do what he did to davo and his team mates. the fact that he was an assistant and went missing when the going got tough should be a bit of a deterrent for other clubs trying to recruit him.