Speculatory Top 10

Sep 11, 2005
Well this is pure opinion based on what i've seen and read on here on BigFooty (which is probably what most opinions are based on). Note, i've never watched any of these kids play (bar from the odd few games from the Under 18 carnival on FoxFooty), so if you disagree then thats fine.

Based on the Ladder as it stands currently,

1. Essendon - Scott Gumbleton - Lloyd and Hird, the two Essendon champions are entering the twilight of their careers. Essendon have recruited their fair share of talls over the past few years, but none (so far) have really been able to step up into a KPP role. I see possible Gumbleton in a CHF role, with Lucas playing up at FF when Lloyd retires. Yes I know it'll be hard to overlook Gibbs, but to be honest, if I was to have a full-strength Jonathan Brown or a full-strength Chris Judd, i'd go with Brown.

2. Carlton - Bryce Gibbs - Carlton's supposedly strong links with Glenelg could counteract the possibility of Gibbs going back to SA more then any other club. I personally reckon Gibbs and Murphy in the Carlton midfield could be the best in the competition in around 5 years. Add to that Walker and a couple of other youngsters and you've got a quality midfield artillery there. I wanted to pick Hansen here, but I don't see Carlton picking up Hansen unless Gibbs is picked by Essendon at 1. The way I see it, Carlton rate the Top 3 as Gibbs, Hansen and Gumbleton in that order. They've got alot of quality upcoming KPP like Kennedy, Waite, Fisher and SultanaBran (;)) so I think Gibbs would fit in perfectly into Carltons list.

3. Hawthorn - Lachlan Hansen - Hansen seems to be the most versatile KOO in this draft. Unlike Gumbleton (from what I saw at the championship), what he lacked in 'aggression' in the forward line, he made up for down back with some strong marks and the ability to read the play beautifully. With him at Full-Back and Croad at CHB, I reckon this could become a very lethal combo for Hawthorn in the years to come ... ;)

4. Kangaroos - Joel Selwood - This one's a smokey to be honest. I reckon the Kangaroos will go for a midfielder this draft to take off some of the stress on Wells. I'd have liked to pick Jetta here, but I just feel that he's too similar to Wells and the Kangaroos would love a inside midfielder like Selwood (from what i've heard?) who could also contribute towards the development of a very potent Kangaroos midfield along with Wells and perhaps Swallow in the years to come ...

5. Port Adelaide - James Sellar - Pretty much a no brainer I believe. Again it came down to Jetta vs Sellar for mine, but Port also have some quality, young, pacy midfielders like Pearce without needing to recruit Jetta. Sellar being an Adelaide boy just adds to it all. Could become a good replacement to Lade or even Tredrea (depending how much he grows by over the next few years!). Could turn out to be the bargain of the draft.

6. Brisbane - Leroy Jetta - At last! :p He seems a perfect solution to Aker leaving the club this year. A quality midfielder with pace to burn who has the ability to crumb at the same time and kick some freakish goals (again based on the little I saw at the carnival). Brisbanes midfield is admittedly ageing, but recruiting Jetta could potentially add a little towards solving this problem!

7. Geelong - Mitchell Thorp - Again, this is another smokey. This kid supposedly has the potential to go at 1. I reckon that if Hansen/Gumbleton are gone by Hawthorns pick, we'll pick him up as we have a tendency to recruit quality young Tassie players. Geelong (those lucky bastards :p), will be able to commit absolute murder this draft in picking up both Hawkins and Thorp. CHF and CHB potentially for the Cats for the next 10 years ...

8. Richmond - Matthew Leunberger - Hardest one to pick to be honest. They've recruited some quality mids and some quality KPPs over the last few years so its pretty hard to determine a pattern. In that case I thought, why don't they go for a ruckman? Simmonds looks to be in career best form and recruiting the best ruckman in this draft for the likes of Deledio, Tambling, Polo etc over the next 10 years could turn out to be a great move.

9. Fremantle - Clayton Collard - Really didn't have a clue to be honest. From what I saw, players like Collard and Hislop were pretty evenly matched so i'd say that Fremantle just might go for the "home grown" factor.

10. Sydney - Clinton Benjamin - Tall utility type who the Swans have a good record of recruiting! Reminded me starkingly of Goodes when I watched the WA vs Vic Country game. Supposedly has pace to burn and his agility wasn't too shabby either! Don't know what his marking ability is like, but perhaps Roos could develop him into a quality KPP to make up for O'Loughlin ageing? Another player I believe has huge odds of coming here is Leunberger, but unfortunately I don't see him slipping to the Swans.

Phil, you really need to lay off the early speculations :S you practically live on this board. Anyhow, Richmond do not need another for the 1000th time! We've already got Simmonds, Knobel, Pattison and Stafford. Stafford might go at years end, but 3 is enough. We've also got Angus Graham on the rookie list.

If Selwood is in fact inside (dont know havent seen him) we dont need him. Harris and swallow are more than apt.
Don't know what that leaves us.

tomthetiger said:
Phil, you really need to lay off the early speculations :S you practically live on this board. Anyhow, Richmond do not need another for the 1000th time! We've already got Simmonds, Knobel, Pattison and Stafford. Stafford might go at years end, but 3 is enough. We've also got Angus Graham on the rookie list.

Isn't this my first speculation draft?

Now tell me again, how many quality young ruckmen do you have coming through. :eek:

tomthetiger said:
Richmond desperately need another young ruckman. All they've got is Simmonds, Knobel, Pattison and Stafford.

Stafford will be delisted (or retire) and Knobel is a major hack who will lucky to still be on the list in 2 years. That leaves Simmonds and Pattison. One injury and they would be in trouble.

philhawk said:
8. Richmond - Matthew Leunberger - Hardest one to pick to be honest. They've recruited some quality mids and some quality KPPs over the last few years so its pretty hard to determine a pattern. In that case I thought, why don't they go for a ruckman? Simmonds looks to be in career best form and recruiting the best ruckman in this draft for the likes of Deledio, Tambling, Polo etc over the next 10 years could turn out to be a great move

'Tis hard, isn't it? : http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=254386

Leunberger sounds a good prospect but I'm not sure if he is the type that's wanted by the club. Atall tap ruckman dosn't suit the quick side Wallace is building.

At this stage Richmond could finsh anywhere from highish in the 8 to scrapping the bottom 4.

Hard to make a call this early.

scooter600x said:
Richmond desperately need another young ruckman. All they've got is Simmonds, Knobel, Pattison and Stafford.

Stafford will be delisted (or retire) and Knobel is a major hack who will lucky to still be on the list in 2 years. That leaves Simmonds and Pattison. One injury and they would be in trouble.

Not really.

Simmonds is a good ruckman, no doubt. Then it gets intersting. Knobel is very decent back up ruckman, Graham on the rookie list is showing abit, Stafford might go again and Hall is more than capable of pinch hitting if need be. The big of course is Pattison who is rated within the club and being groomed a future ruck/CHF in the Lade/Darcy type molde.

Knobel is no worse than a Peter Street.

philhawk said:
Isn't this my first speculation draft?

Now tell me again, how many quality young ruckmen do you have coming through. :eek:

Adam Pattison, so that's one.

Good post Phil, I like the fact it wasn't a hard core player profile but theory based on what you think the club will look for.
Just to add to the debate.

1.Essendon/Gumbleton= Spot on, a future Premiership player and Captain.
2.Carlton/Gibbs= Spot on, Carton need a guy like this.
3.Hawthorn/Hansen= Spot on, versitile KPP.
4.Kangaroos/Thorp= Play with the VFL affiliate and is the most versitile player in the draft. This guy could still go No1 and any other year would.
5.Brisbane/Sellar= They have plenty of rucks, but guys that can play ruck and forward are very rare. I'm tipping he will grow and be about 198-200cm come draft camp, his selection will allow Bradshaw to move back to replace Micheal, and Brown to play FF to fight off long term injury. Brown, M Clark, Sellar. Thats a forward line.
6.Port/Selwood= quality player in the Luke Ball mould, Choco loves these types of guys.
7.Richmond/Leunberger= Spot on, quality ruckmen don't come along often. Will add depth to ruck devision and will advance quickly overtaking Knobel and Co. Ruck selections must be looked at 3-5 years in advance.
8.Geelong/Hislop=Tough player in the Mark Riccuito mould, perfect fit for Geelong.
9.Freo/Jetta= Fast prolific mid and local, perfect selection.
10.Sydney/Collard= Just a guess, will go with best player availible.

Re: Speculatory Top 12

1.Geelong/Dan Anthony=brillant tall backman, stops goals, good tager

2.Essedon/Phil Zarra= great ball skills, fast, excellent kick, future leader

3.Essendon/Gumbleton= Spot on, a future Premiership player and Captain.

4.Carlton/Gibbs= Spot on, Carton need a guy like this.

5.Hawthorn/Hansen= Spot on, versitile KPP.

6.Kangaroos/Thorp= Play with the VFL affiliate and is the most versitile player in the draft. This guy could still go No1 and any other year would.

7.Brisbane/Sellar= They have plenty of rucks, but guys that can play ruck and forward are very rare. I'm tipping he will grow and be about 198-200cm come draft camp, his selection will allow Bradshaw to move back to replace Micheal, and Brown to play FF to fight off long term injury. Brown, M Clark, Sellar. Thats a forward line.

8.Port/Selwood= quality player in the Luke Ball mould, Choco loves these types of guys.

9.Richmond/Leunberger= Spot on, quality ruckmen don't come along often. Will add depth to ruck devision and will advance quickly overtaking Knobel and Co. Ruck selections must be looked at 3-5 years in advance.

1O.Geelong/Hislop=Tough player in the Mark Riccuito mould, perfect fit for Geelong.

11.Freo/Jetta= Fast prolific mid and local, perfect selection.

12.Sydney/Collard= Just a guess, will go with best player availible.

Two young developing ruckman you need.

Hale and Hamish
Ryder and Laycock
Sandilands and Warnock
etc

scooter600x said:
How is Peter Street relevant to Richmond's ruck situation?

Knobel and Street are of similar abilty.

Of Street can play 12 of 15 games for the Doggies this year and do well Knobel is more than worthy than being a deapth player on our list.

FWIW Knoble > Street pre 2006 (a bit like saying Sanchez-Vicario is prettier than Muresmo)
Street >>> Knobel this year

And the Dogs need to draft a young ruckman this year as well.

Knobel has had a bad year with injury.

F/D said:
Two young developing ruckman you need.

Hale and Hamish
Ryder and Laycock
Sandilands and Warnock
etc

'Cause North, Essendon & Freo are the ones who write the rules.. :rolleyes:

Plenty of good rucks in the last 1/2 dozen years have come from late & rookie picks. Another young ruckman would be nice but don't hold your breath on Richmond using their first pick in a strong draft of a ruckman.

Angus Graham is very raw but has been getting BOG's for the Coburg 2's.

Bentleigh said:
As for the first post, Mitchell Thorp lasting 'till 7?

I know, that was the peculiar one. Like I said, he could possibly go 1 and I feel that if Hansen is gone by Hawthorns pick, we'll snap him up to play as a runnind Full-Back. Brisbane and Port just don't need more KPP's I reckon, with Port most likely to pick the local boy in Sellar if it comes down to that.

philhawk said:
Port just don't need more KPP's I reckon
Are you kidding? Have you seen our forward line this year?

It seems Riewaldt has fallen out of favour. before the carnival he was rated a top 10 but now his not even thought of. What are peopels thoughts on where he will go?

Cats....unlike some posters on here, there is no way at this stage you can say X will definitely take Y, or A will definitely go at B, they are absolute rubbish posts IMO. With Riewoldt now, it will probably depend on his form for the Tassie VFL side (if he gets a game there) and his draft camp results. i can see him still being very attractive for clubs looking for KPP in the first round, but who may not get a crack at the top 4 KPP. Despite the carnival he has a lot of potential and has the tools to make it at AFL level, on talent alone and some of the form he showed in the VFL earlier this year after cooming back from injury, i can still see him going anywhere from 8 - 9 to 14 -15. Just my opinion at this stage, i am far from mojo or weaver type knowledge though.

I should have added, some clubs i can see at least short-listing him with their first pick might be, Richmond, Melbourne, St. Kilda, Geelong (even though they will get Hawkins too), Bulldogs.

Gilly1972 said:
I should have added, some clubs i can see at least short-listing him with their first pick might be, Richmond, Melbourne, St. Kilda, Geelong (even though they will get Hawkins too), Bulldogs.

Thanks. yeah i wouldnt mind us picking him up with our pick. Because i highly doubt we will get one of the other KPP. and then getting a mid-fielder with our second.

No worries, sorry it wasn't overly insightful, but you can always read mojo's proile of him too.

I reckon you guys are in a great position just to take best available with your first pick, maybe play around a bit, see who slips through with your second, then take the best player in the draft with your third round pick.....b@st@rds!!

I can see a forward line including Riewoldt, Hawkins, ablett and Chapman being nigh on impossible to stop....Riewoldt might even have the motor to play a mobile tall, Jarrad Waite type HFF role.

i think i recall him having had some stints down there for Tassie but i might be wrong....i don't think he has spent any significant time down there....i think OzBomb (or mojo) might be the one to ask about this.

I will get back to you if nobody else does.

Speculatory Top 10