Cars & Transportation Speeding

carltonblue

Oct 3, 2007
NSW
No doubt this topic has come up before but the mods are the guys on the big bucks to search for said thread and join them up; not I.

Today, a thing that shits me, a lady pulled in front of me in the right lane and proceeded to use her brake as the accelerator. My stomach and mouth grumbled in unison, I had to beat the rush to Subway for a footlong Meatball. So I go to the vacant left lane and give it some, reaching 75 on my odomoter when I seen the boy in blue calling me in. This guy was very adept at playing hide and seek as I later found out when his car wasnt just parked in an adjacent street but about 500m away 2 streets away! However after a quick thought of turning and legging it I made my way to the kerb, much to the pleasure of said lady who thinks the brake is her accelerator.

"Hi Sir do you know the speed limit along here?"

"50 sir"

"Then why were you going 67?"

(Instant relief it was 67 as opposed to 75) "Stupidity, Sir."

"Are you going to work?"

"No Sir, off to get lunch. I only work Mon-Thurs."

"Where do you work?"

" (Insert name here) Accountants"

Then blabbers on asks for my licence, have I been drinking, is it my car I'm driving then goes to right the ticket.

He comes back and says he wrote the ticket as if I was on full licence (I am P plater and should have been instant loss) and as if I was only 10km/h over the limit. $90 fine instead of $211.

So apart from offering oral sex to this mid 40s fat balding hideous man it got me wondering.......had I been a dole bludger or a checkout operator would he have given me the loss of licence plus the full fine? But because of where I work where it infers I am of higher prestige and more responsible than the average speeding P plater did I get off lighter?

Post Script.
My uncles friend (so the type of person you rarely see just at milestone birthdays, weddings etc) is a cop here in my town. He always recognises me but I am prone to forgetting who he is. He also fits the description of the cop. While writing this post it got me thinking it may have been this bloke who pulled me over. I am mind freaking and scared to drive right now. I will turn into one of those drivers I hate but I now I know. A lesson learnt the easy way though.

I always find that cops are pretty lenient. Got caught going 18 over the limit on a public holiday (stupid yes, i know) and the guy just let me off with a "don't do it again". Pretty lucky as a p plater, would have lost my licence and got a massive fine otherwise... :eek:

Got let off going to work (harvest time), had picked harvester part that we needed quickly to get going again, got caught 121 rather than 110. Was no further than 200m from the gravel turnoff I was heading to, so that was unlucky. But then as I got pulled over, got my license out, realised I didn't have my P-plates up, they were in my bag... but it was a work ute (not mine) went something like this:

Cop: So, you are still on your P's
Me: Yeah.... (unzipping my bag) probably should put these up hey
Cop: Yep that would be good mate, this a work ute?
Me: Yeah not mine
Cop: No worries mate, just slow down alright

Later heard that they weren't local cops and they had fined a few people on their way through. Not me :thumbsu:

I always find that cops are pretty lenient. Got caught going 18 over the limit on a public holiday (stupid yes, i know) and the guy just let me off with a "don't do it again". Pretty lucky as a p plater, would have lost my licence and got a massive fine otherwise... :eek:

I wonder what parts of that story have been censored...

The last fine I got the cop was my age(ish) and the bastard still give me a fine. Flashed him and everything!!!

Flashed him and everything!!!

Probably why he fined you. You should have told him you were a nurse. You would have been able to fine him then.

anyway. OP.

Going by your transcript, i think the fact you were honest, probably did it for you.
Admitedly ive been driving nearly six years and i have yet to be pulled over. 2 speeding fines and only had a breatho 2wice.
But have always said, if i get pulled up randomly, or for knowingly speeding, im aint going to beat around the bush. Ill just be honest, and yeah, im pinning my hopes that it lessers he charge or what not should that be the case

I've always wondered what a police person would say if I was running late for work and they pulled me over for speeding and I told them what I did...

No doubt this topic has come up before but the mods are the guys on the big bucks to search for said thread and join them up; not I.

So prestigious and responsible you are unable to operate the search function.....

One of the best opening sentences to an OP I've ever seen.

Also, I don't think working at an accounting firm (we don't even know if you're an accountant) would've had much influence unless the cop was a generally bitter-minded person. I think cops want to find out that sort of information to get a better idea of the motive behind the speeding. /ben

Having said that, everyone knows the risks with speeding. We're adults here. The woman who overtook you was probably doing the speed limit /assumption

One of the best opening sentences to an OP I've ever seen.

Also, I don't think working at an accounting firm (we don't even know if you're an accountant) would've had much influence unless the cop was a generally bitter-minded person. I think cops want to find out that sort of information to get a better idea of the motive behind the speeding. /ben

Having said that, everyone knows the risks with speeding. We're adults here. The woman who overtook you was probably doing the speed limit /assumption

Nah she wasnt...it was one of those roundabouts on a T intersection. So I had no-one to give-way to and could see that from miles away so I went through at 40 (50km limit), she then turns left right in front of me and I have to brake, then change lanes. About 200m up the road it changes from 2 lanes to 1 lane. We were in the left lane and the right lane gets right of way when merging. Didnt tell the cop that was the reason though!

So many mates are filthy at me for getting off! Not displaying P plates got a bigger fine. Feelsgoodman :D

hey fellas,

had a crazy speeding incident the other day. was doing doughies down at me uncles farm in manjimup when the coppers rolled up and were none too impressed. me uncle trav came out with his grey nicholls and it was close to kicking off. was intense ayy. cheers

I've always wondered what a police person would say if I was running late for work and they pulled me over for speeding and I told them what I did...

Ive been pulled over in my uniform. The guy pretty much just asked rhetorical questions including; "what happens to people when they speed and crash?" then let me off with a warning about how i should know better, spinal injuries etc.

Cars & Transportation Speeding