Sporting 'Curses'- Real or No?

Collywobbles isn't real. Its just that Collingwood played a tonne of grand finals, eventually they were going to lose a lot of them. No surprise they lost heaps to the MFC, as Melbourne were just a better team than anyone else throughout that period. Like the 01-03 Lions, except lasting for ten years.

Then the Dees sacked the greatest coach of all time, lost the winningest bloke in the histroy of footy within a year (Barassi) and never looked like winning shit since then.
There were two that we definitely should have won: 1970 and 1977. We had big leads in both games and we were definitely the best side in both those years.

In 1960, Melbourne were still in their famous run. They smashed us, they were much better.

In 1964 Melbourne thrashed us by about 90 points in the semi final, we just played really well in the GF and only lost narrowly. Melbourne were better that year.

In 1966 Collingwood and St Kilda were toe-to-toe, not much could separate us. We narrowly won the semi and they narrowly won the GF. Not really a choke.

In 1979 we played well in the GF, but finished 3rd I think. Carlton were better that year.

In 1980 Richmond were undoubtedly the better side, we made the GF from 5th.

In 1981 Carlton were the better side, we had a big lead in the GF though. This one was sort of a choke, not as bad as the others.

So looking back on it, there were probably three that we should have won, but eight that we could have won.

There were two that we definitely should have won: 1970 and 1977. We had big leads in both games and we were definitely the best side in both those years.

In 1960, Melbourne were still in their famous run. They smashed us, they were much better.

In 1964 Melbourne thrashed us by about 90 points in the semi final, we just played really well in the GF and only lost narrowly. Melbourne were better that year.

In 1966 Collingwood and St Kilda were toe-to-toe, not much could separate us. We narrowly won the semi and they narrowly won the GF. Not really a choke.

In 1979 we played well in the GF, but finished 3rd I think. Carlton were better that year.

In 1980 Richmond were undoubtedly the better side, we made the GF from 5th.

In 1981 Carlton were the better side, we had a big lead in the GF though. This one was sort of a choke, not as bad as the others.

So looking back on it, there were probably three that we should have won, but eight that we could have won.

Yeah, its like Collingwood were penalised for being second best a lot.

It isnt a curse. A curse is when you are perpetually shit with the odd decent performance, like Melbourne post-Smith.

I think in late 80s or early 90s an aboriginal elder put a curse on collingwood " pointing the bone" as I recall. Collingwood lost I think 4 in a row until collingwood apologised to the elder who lifted the curse.

Collingwood's famous Colliwobbles losing 10(?) grand finals in a row? .

It's quite funny, even their two recent Premierships in 1990 and 2010 were won in October following drawn finals, still no "September" glory for the Pies since 1958.

There's also another baseball curse in America, something to do with a black cat running out onto the field. There is another one as well about a man who wasn't allowed into the stadium with his dog putting a curse on a team (back in the 50's I think). I saw both of these on the ESPN 30 for 30 doco, Catching Hell.

Someone please refresh me about the curse of the Australian National Football Team about that witch in Africa or whatever it was.
Yeah, me too. I remember reading about it once, but that was waaaaaay back in......

....page 1 of this thread.

Yeah, me too. I remember reading about it once, but that was waaaaaay back in......

....page 1 of this thread.
It's a good story! Wanted to hear it again :)

It's quite funny, even their two recent Premierships in 1990 and 2010 were won in October following drawn finals, still no "September" glory for the Pies since 1958.

There's also another baseball curse in America, something to do with a black cat running out onto the field. There is another one as well about a man who wasn't allowed into the stadium with his dog putting a curse on a team (back in the 50's I think). I saw both of these on the ESPN 30 for 30 doco, Catching Hell.

Hehe, actually both of those I mentioned were curses on the Chicago Cubs, I guess when you haven't won for so long you find reasons all over the place. I knew there was a goat involved somewhere I just couldn't remember how!

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Curse_of_the_Billy_Goat

Curse of the Billy Goat

The Curse of the Billy Goat was supposedly placed on the Chicago Cubs in 1945 when Billy Goat Tavern owner Billy Sianis was asked to leave a World Series game against the Detroit Tigers at the Cubs' home ground of Wrigley Field because his pet goat's odor was bothering other fans.[1] He was outraged and declared, "Them Cubs, they ain't gonna win no more," which has been interpreted to mean that there would never be another World Series game won at Wrigley Field. The Cubs have not won a National League pennant since this incident and as of 2013 have not won a World Series in 105 years.

http://www.cubbiesbaseball.com/chicago-cubs-curses

The Collapse of 1969

The 1969 Cubs was a team consisting of Cubs legends like Ernie Banks, Ron Santo, Fergie Jenkins, and Billy Williams. It was considered to be the greatest Cubs team ever assembled.

With a late season lead of 9 1/2 game lead over the Mets, nothing looked like it could stop the Cubs from returning to the World Series.

The curse is said to have reared its ugly head again on September 9th, 1969 when a black cat ran onto the field as the Cubs played a crucial series against the Mets at Shea Stadium. After running circles around Ron Santo in the on-deck circle, the black cat quickly disappeared underneath the stands.

I believe in the Madden curse.
Madden curse could be over now with Megatron breaking Rice's record. Although the Lions turned to shit again...

Might ha
I officially place a curse on the Geelong Cats.

Geelong will fail to beat Hawthorn in a Home and Away match for the next 10 times they meet.

Geelong will fail to win a Grand Final for the next 50 years.

Call it, The Cake Curse.

Test me.

Might have to have a word with old Jeff mate, his words seem to resonate like no other.

The quirk of this particular curse is that a few Cats fans I know don't want an unbroken run heading into a cut-throat final or even a Grand Final.

What do Cats and Hawks fans think about it all? As there is a pretty good chance they'll square off in the big dance.

Yeah, its like Collingwood were penalised for being second best a lot.

It isnt a curse. A curse is when you are perpetually shit with the odd decent performance, like Melbourne post-Smith.
Agree, a number of the Collingwood losses were similar to what happened with Geelong in the period 1989-95. 1989 was the only one they were in, the others it was purely a case of rolling up to see who would lose to West Coast (92 & 94) & Carlton (95) in the other years.

Sporting 'Curses'- Real or No?