HB- Brandon White CHB- Hugh Goddard HB- Nicholas Heyne

W- Nathan Freeman C- Adrian Fletcher W- Sam Dunell

HF- Jim Krakouer CHF- Fergus Watts HF- Alex Jesaulenko

FP- Charlie Gardiner FF- Simon O'Donnell FP- Eli Templeton

R- Damian Monkhorst RR- Koby Stevens R Shane Birss

Bench- Adam Patterson, Trent Dennis-Lane, Khan Haretuku, Daniel Markworth
Forgot Andrew F Lovett.
Grrrr.....

Sorry but Jackson Ferguson - lovely guy, I have his Sandringham guernsey from when I visited the Zebras as a coaching observer - he got absolutely destroyed in his single AFL game. Think Aaron Black took 8 marks and kicked 4 on him in the first quarter alone, 6 by HT and the Roos were up by more than 60, then he was subbed off (back when there was an actual sub). Poor fella had only played 3 VFL games and was coming off a bye, but we had nobody over 190cm fit.

He doesn't belong on a 'best' list though unless we're being ironic.

You missed the captain and vice captain-
Tom lynch
Jamie Cripps

I was suprised to see Luke Penny got to 40+ games.

Could play!

Also I recall Jarryd Allen having decent sized wraps on him during his horrid injury?

Also- Aaron Hamill probably played less than 22 games fully fit.

I'm disappointed michael rix missed qualifying by 7 incredible games.

Team needs more Michael Frost

You missed the captain and vice captain-
Tom lynch
Jamie Cripps

I was suprised to see Luke Penny got to 40+ games.

Could play!

Also I recall Jarryd Allen having decent sized wraps on him during his horrid injury?

Also- Aaron Hamill probably played less than 22 games fully fit.

I'm disappointed michael rix missed qualifying by 7 incredible games.
Im disappointed Jamie Lamb missed it by 8 games only because his sister is stunning ;)

Adrian Fletcher was probably the best 22 game player we had almost. He was a gun but was a bit invisible in Vic playing for some ordinary interstate sides.
Sean Charles looked like he could have been anything too.

Khan Haretuku doesnt make the team ...
Ryan Gamble 11 games .. 11 goals would get a look in
Alan Murray gets a go in my eyes
Will Johnson
Luke Miles
Tom Ledger
Mark Hutchings

Jesaulenko played 23.

Adrian Fletcher, Brodie Murdoch, Dale Kickett, Dean Polo (was alright for Richmond), Beau Maister (same for WCE), Shane Birss, Tony Francis, Koby Stevens, Jamie Cripps, Tom Lynch, Alan Murray, Eli Templeton, Jimmy Krakouer, Mark McGough, Damian Monkhorst, Rene Kink, Sam Rowe...

Some honourable mentions...

Bob Flegg (47 goals in 18 games before being sent to WW2 (died during the war). Was the next big thing in terms of goal kicking forward.
John Bingley...last game was the '66 flag, was inducted into the Tasmanian football Hall of Fame in 2005.

What about the following.
Bill Barrot ex Richmond 2 games
Ian Aiken ex Carlton (could play) ,5
Glen Middlemis Geel 16 games
Brian Wilson Melb 7 games
Grant Lawrie Fitz 17 games
Dean Chiron went to Melb 19 games
Mark Jackson 'Jacko' 10 games
Geoff Fehring 10 games

Adds a bit to the Goal to Goal line.
Many other Antrobus Clark Marcou Packham and a heap of other small forwards...would all get in the team suggested.
Played less than 20 AFL games who played at StKilda for all or some of it would be more in line.

Gees I am bored to want to look this stuff up..

Bring back the footy soon

Honorable mention
John McIntosh 53 games probably best player to play 50 odd games for the club.

Wow we could do a much better team with players at less than 40. Would take in the likes of Guerra and Black.

I'd have Beau Maister in ahead of Fergus Watts or Jackson Fergason for that matter.
That guy from 2009 should probably be in there too.

Mark McGough qualifies but.......

Surely Shane Birss ahead of Charlie Gardiner.
Jamie Cripps ahead of Eli or Dunnel.

Excluding current players and players I was too young to see:

Can add Luke Miles to the list of players 'Ross never even looked at because they were young', along with Tom Lynch (who he tried to turn into a HBF before trading for a pick in the late 30s) and Jackson Furguson (who was a tall running / rebounding defender who was played as a KPD in his one and only game). Luke could seriously play.

The White boys (Brandon and Spencer) both had the raw talent to be anything. Wonder if Brandon has considered going the Aaryn Sipposs route?

Jarryd Allen to the 'if only I didn't get injured' list with Freeman and Fergus Watts. Allen was pencilled in as our FF for the next decade before a hip injury ruined him. I know Jesse Smith was on our list too, but not sure he ever played. Hugh Goddard may belong there too.

Matthew Clarke, Tony Francis & Damien Monkhurst all had decent careers elsewhere and finished with us. Dale Kickett and Adrian Fletcher also stopped by briefly.

Jamie Cripps wins the biggest sook with the briefest visit award. Sean Charles also beats Lovett (on a technicality) for the 'WTF were we thinking' award.

Personal opinion: but if Ben Cousins was on this list then we would be 2 or even 3 times premiers. FFS we even presented him a jumper. I understand why we didn't go there, but ...

Was on a plane to Perth. Seats in front were GTrain and Ross the Boss. They talked football the when way over and I let them to it but asked a couple of questions as we landed.
Cousins at that moment was not even a rumour ..few weeks later well that's another story...that can be told by others.

Reckon if we had of taken him we would have won at least one GF.

Who would you rather Robert Eddy or Cousins....no offence to Robert.

Nicky Dal was all for it as it would have released him from a tag.

Nettlefold was the prime mover against Cousins....for culture sake...did he ever look in the mirror. Or did he just want to have the best tan at the club and didn't want Cousins for competition.

Anyways it's added to StKilda foke law now. Like Gehrigs 100 goal celebration torpedoing our chance against Port....who the hell is Shane Ellen, Bob Keddie never kicked 5 goals in a half again and the Fitzroy GF challenge in I912 wasn't it?

An Australian poet wrote 'We all be doomed said Hanrahan before the season/year is out' he was channeling the Saint Boys who were established 10 or so years later in 1873.

Excluding current players and players I was too young to see:

Can add Luke Miles to the list of players 'Ross never even looked at because they were young', along with Tom Lynch (who he tried to turn into a HBF before trading for a pick in the late 30s) and Jackson Furguson (who was a tall running / rebounding defender who was played as a KPD in his one and only game). Luke could seriously play.

The White boys (Brandon and Spencer) both had the raw talent to be anything. Wonder if Brandon has considered going the Aaryn Sipposs route?

Jarryd Allen to the 'if only I didn't get injured' list with Freeman and Fergus Watts. Allen was pencilled in as our FF for the next decade before a hip injury ruined him. I know Jesse Smith was on our list too, but not sure he ever played. Hugh Goddard may belong there too.

Matthew Clarke, Tony Francis & Damien Monkhurst all had decent careers elsewhere and finished with us. Dale Kickett and Adrian Fletcher also stopped by briefly.

Jamie Cripps wins the biggest sook with the briefest visit award. Sean Charles also beats Lovett (on a technicality) for the 'WTF were we thinking' award.

Personal opinion: but if Ben Cousins was on this list then we would be 2 or even 3 times premiers. FFS we even presented him a jumper. I understand why we didn't go there, but ...

Luke Miles was pretty good, i was surprised when he got de-listed. But he was a mature rookie, and nearly 24 when he played his only games. He was very fast but i think he had injury concerns we didn't really know about on here.
The year after he was de -listed i think he managed only 2 WAFL games. Then missed a year, then had a decent final year ( 8 games ) in 2013.

Ferguson was a NSW rookie, my memory is that he really wasn't that good, but yeah, definitely not a key defender.

Brandon White had plenty of opportunity , better than McKenzie, not as good as Wilkie, so i don't miss him.

Spencer a big disappointment, but there were always some doubts about him.

Allen had plenty of games in the forward line for the Scorpions, but he didn't really click as a forward. He played ok in the backline , but was no Josh Battle.

Jesse Smith had been all but done and dusted with North, and it was probably arrogant of StKilda to try, less chance than Freeman.

Another player was Alistair Smith a fast midfielder who could rack up huge numbers in the VFL, but made Clinton Jones look like Garry Ablett Jr in comparison. His claim to fame was getting the tagging job on Ackermanis when he was dropped to VFL and pretty much stopping him from getting it. Prompting Acker to single him out as a "Dribbler" in a press release.
With that sort of tagging potential its surprising he didn't become a team regular.

Discussion St Kilda's Best 22 who played 22 or less games for the club