Stand up OBree

Sep 25, 2005
Gippy Power
I hate bagging players but I just cannot cop the effort of OBree lately and the protection he seems to get. Happily accept that I dont know the role he is being asked to play but he has been a player at CFC for nearly 10 yrs and I think its a blight on him that he is not considered a leader. We have v few leaders and a mid thats been thru two GF's should be considered one. To me it says something about his footy.

I hear this crap about his clearances etc but none of those stats take into account his game time and the fact he is one of the few that only play on the ball for the majority of the game whereas the other blokes rotate thru their and in the fwds etc.

He was woeful on Fri night, he was in the press on Fri banging on about how fired he and the club was to do well. Ultimately to have a 19yo first year player pants him in Rd 22 was just a joke. Palmer should have been stuffed yet he led our blokes a merry dance. He wouldnt put his head over the ball and sh&t himself every time he got near it. Certainly his delivery was appalling. MM talked about the kids being tired but there was a few senior blokes like he and Lockyer that were pretty poor (lockyer improved late)

So there it is - prove me wrong and show me you are a fair dinkum senior player who can lead. I would love to see him do well but I cannot help but think that more was required from you on Fri night.

he along with 20 others (davis played well) had a shocker on friday night.

But there is no doubt he is considered a leader, he was the player that taught swan where to go in clearences he and burnsy are always spending time with Thomas and Pendles teaching them where to go at stoppages.

Just because he doesnt have a title doesnt make him any less a leader, all i wish is he could play games liek he did a fortnight ago against sydney more often

I think he has been very poor in the vast majority of games in the second half of the year.

I admit that he reads the play well and knows where to go to get it, especially from clearance situations BUT he continually butchers the ball, both by hand and foot. We all know he kicks poorly but it is often overlooked how bad he can be by hand.

Whilst I wouldn't call him soft (although he sometimes shirks it) he is certainly not hard. Also, he just doesn't cover the ground anymore and his direct opponent often runs riot.

I would like the Pies to persevere with Stanners in his role (even though he got bugger all time in the middle last week) as he will greatly improve with more games.

mate I agree with you 100% and have been banging on about cutting this bum for years to blokes I go to the footy with, but be ready for all his supporters on here to tell you that your on drugs, etc and O' Bree is fantastic, blah, blah.
Its time for O'Bree to get the arse. We wont win a flag with him in our team, simple as that.

Some Good Points - Friday Night was a Massive Game for the Club and Senior Players need to Step Up and He Did not.

Plus

OBree = The Human Turnover Machine by Foot

I hear this crap about his clearances etc but none of those stats take into account his game time and the fact he is one of the few that only play on the ball for the majority of the game whereas the other blokes rotate thru their and in the fwds etc.

Quoted For Truth.

O'Bree is an above average clearance player, but he's far from great at it. And considering that's his one and only skill, it's simply not good enough. Especially considering how many of his clearances are simply hacks forward by foot.

Just look at his kick-to-handball ratio. He chooses to utilise his most effective skill to maximise his output. Been a bloody good player in the centre this year and has layed the most tackles at the club by far.

But obviously, by opinions on this board, I am watching a totally different game to everyone else.

Just look at his kick-to-handball ratio. He chooses to utilise his most effective skill to maximise his output. Been a bloody good player in the centre this year and has layed the most tackles at the club by far.

If by this you mean his handball, it might be his most effective skill, but it's not all that effective c.f. other players, especially clearance specialists. Look at Cross' ratio for example, and consider the quality of those handballs.

As for the second bit, there's tackles, and then there's tackles. O'Bree spends most of his time in the very centre, it's inevitable that he racks up tackles. Very few are of any consequence, other than maybe leading to a ball-up.

Agree here with all on here. O'Bree is probably one of the smarter players. He reads the stoppages extremely well, doesn't have the ability or willingness to do it tough when needed and if he did his clearance ability may save him.

Fact is he surivives on his clearance work but many of them are ineffective and even as a clearance player I'd say his good without being elite. I see what opti is saying with the coaching side of things but there is a difference between sharing knowledge and being respected and then leading O'Bree is the former.

I think his days are numbered. His skills by hand and foot are and always have been terrible as Kirb said he doesn't cover the ground well at all, is as accountable as Egan and is starting to get very costly. Futhermore his role is one in which we haven't given many of the younger brigade exposure. Stanley and J-Mac are the two pigion holed for it and both have spent most of their time at AFL level on the flanks.

We have been smashed in the clearances in important games - O'Bree is sh*t.

We clearly watch difference games because those that think O'Bree has had a good year are kidding themselves.

the problem with o'bree is we dont have any better options.... realistically, if we had a suitable replacement o'bree wouldnt get a game.... having said that im expecting o'bree to have a ripper on saturday - maybe its wishful thinking - but, again, we dont have any other options....

I'd argue that the reason we don't have any better options is because no other option has been given a chance to play the role at AFL level. I am a Stanley advocate and agree he was poor on the weekend but I still think he was better then O'Bree. He has consistantly dominated the stoppages and clearances at VFL level and been ignored or brought in and played on a flank. The arguement for ignoring him would be that we can't afford to carry O'Bree, Burns, Pendles and Didak in the same midfield as it is too one paced but I think we have not even looked for a replacement for O'Bree who has had a fairly average year and is clearly terribly flawed and getting long in the tooth.

I don't know if Stanley will be an improvement on O'Bree but I'd sure as hell rather see a guy rewarded for good VFL form who is a better kick and covers the ground better, rather then see the same old less then inspiring stuff from O'Bree.

I'd argue that the reason we don't have any better options is because no other option has been given a chance to play the role at AFL level. I am a Stanley advocate and agree he was poor on the weekend but I still think he was better then O'Bree. He has consistantly dominated the stoppages and clearances at VFL level and been ignored or brought in and played on a flank. The arguement for ignoring him would be that we can't afford to carry O'Bree, Burns, Pendles and Didak in the same midfield as it is too one paced but I think we have not even looked for a replacement for O'Bree who has had a fairly average year and is clearly terribly flawed and getting long in the tooth.

I don't know if Stanley will be an improvement on O'Bree but I'd sure as hell rather see a guy rewarded for good VFL form who is a better kick and covers the ground better, rather then see the same old less then inspiring stuff from O'Bree.

i agree.. but this hardly the time of year to replace o'bree with stanners.. o'bree has alot of experience- stanners has none because the committee didnt deem him good enuf to play earlier on in the year- and this must be considered when trying to win finals... however, as of next year id like to o'brees requirement as a starting 22 player revoked.. like u said stanners/players to be rewarded for great form in the twos...

Can i just say bloody brilliant to read a thread where its constructive comment.

Take on board the points about his work at the clearances. I do think he is v poor at being defensive when the ball is in the opp fwd line. When I watch games on reply i often reply the stoppage and its obvious that he and Didak are v offensive even when the balls in the opps fwd area. Maybe he's coached that way.

Re his tackling - name me the last time he laid a tackle where he chased down a bloke or stopped him in his tracks. Lockyer for instance is terrific at times at this. When Lockyer is tackling you know he is on.

OB skills I think are for the most part ok when he aint under pressure - when he is they are really poor.

Stand up OBree