Roast Statement on Umpires

Getting frustrated how they've been letting more go over the past month or so, until it's a Saints game then it feels like they start to nitpick again.

Wouldn't be surprised if the umpires get a reminder before everyone of our games that we don't have a KPD so they are looking extra hard to pay frees for any contact by our defenders.

It's the unfortunate reality of playing ordinary footy.

The umpires suddenly don't see these ones:

1044145_10152043321679128_1969504317_n.jpg

Yet the pay a free to Riewoldt against Dempster for a totally legitimate spoil. Roberton couldn't believe it. The umpire was slightly blindsided and guessed (wrong).

The back page of the Daily Filth screams:

CLOKE HELP
Pies confront umpires

"Collingwood has confronted the AFL to seek an explanation why so many free kicks are paid against star forward Travis Cloke ... Coach Figjam said Cloke's strength was part of the problem ... maybe he wins his contest by too much says Figjam."

Geez, we'd better check the stats :

Average frees conceded:

1 Billy Longer 3.2

2 Justin Koschitzke 2.8

4 Jason Blake 2.3

21 Lenny Hayes 1.6

23 Rhys Stanley 1.6

31 David Armitage 1.5

40 Stephen Milne 1.4

43 Sam Fisher 1.4

45 Beau Maister 1.4

Let's not get too tough on the criteria ... I'll search the top 100 then ...

?

not there either.

Must be something wrong with the database.

The back page of the Daily Filth screams:

CLOKE HELP
Pies confront umpires

"Collingwood has confronted the AFL to seek an explanation why so many free kicks are paid against star forward Travis Cloke ... Coach Figjam said Cloke's strength was part of the problem ... maybe he wins his contest by too much says Figjam."

Geez, we'd better check the stats :

Average frees conceded:

1 Billy Longer 3.2

2 Justin Koschitzke 2.8

4 Jason Blake 2.3

21 Lenny Hayes 1.6

23 Rhys Stanley 1.6

31 David Armitage 1.5

40 Stephen Milne 1.4

43 Sam Fisher 1.4

45 Beau Maister 1.4

Let's not get too tough on the criteria ... I'll search the top 100 then ...

?

not there either.

Must be something wrong with the database.

I can only assume we'll be getting Billing Longer in trade this summer.

The Pies had a sook to the umps during the week regarding Cloke's treatment, it's worked a treat he's got free kick's today no forward has ever gotten..

Yeah, that was the point I was trying to make.

He's conceded bugger all frees all year, has an undisciplined game, but then the filth immediately over-reacts and get rewarded?

Is that the template, or are the Saints expected to keep taking it up the butt?

As an independent, I feel comfortable saying you guys were screwed by the umps in the last quarter. Hickey mark, Pittard 50 meter, Port flog in the back all weren't there...I think those three decisions changed the outcome of the game. Good showing by the Saints though.

It didn't cost a goal, but WTF is a non-controlling umpire doing in over-riding a mark to Riewoldt (that could've been a free anyway)???

How about over-riding some of the shit decisions whilst you're at it.

It didn't cost a goal, but WTF is a non-controlling umpire doing in over-riding a mark to Riewoldt (that could've been a free anyway)???
Well Nick clearly didn't mark the ball, I don't really see the problem with them over ruling if they get the call right.
Also, given the way Nick was kicking, it actually probably gave us a goal since Jack scored from the ball up.

If anyone bothers to watch again, in the build up to the Pittard 50 goal, I'm pretty sure a runner (I think Port not 100% sure) run through play, within a metre or two of the Port player in possession. If that was a Port runner isn't that an infringement?

Well Nick clearly didn't mark the ball, I don't really see the problem with them over ruling if they get the call right.
Also, given the way Nick was kicking, it actually probably gave us a goal since Jack scored from the ball up.

If anyone bothers to watch again, in the build up to the Pittard 50 goal, I'm pretty sure a runner (I think Port not 100% sure) run through play, within a metre or two of the Port player in possession. If that was a Port runner isn't that an infringement?
Noticed that runner too, as did my wife who hates the runners being on the field! Clearly a case of being too close to the play & free kick should have been warranted!

But Carlisle grabbed his arm. Umpire probably thought half a mark, half a free. Not worthy of being over-ruled. Why not over-rule on the Hickey mark then? Because it's a dangerous precedent - and looks inconsistent when you do it only once in a game.

Noticed that runner too, as did my wife who hates the runners being on the field! Clearly a case of being too close to the play & free kick should have been warranted!
I don't mind the idea of them, but in my experience they spend so much of the time on the field coaching rather than passing on messages and then in this case he'd have got a 1%er for the shepherd.

Did seem to lay a screen, yes (was talking to a Port player just beforehand). Not sure what he was doing, as the play was always coming in his direction.

But Carlisle grabbed his arm. Umpire probably thought half a mark, half a free. Not worthy of being over-ruled. Why not over-rule on the Hickey mark then? Because it's a dangerous precedent - and looks inconsistent when you do it only once in a game.
When I saw it live I didn't think mark and then watching the ump run in he had to dodge a few players to get to the mark. It really looked like he guessed, the non controlling umpire obviously had a better view and correctly over ruled.
With the Hickey call, how could an ump 40 metres away be sure whose hands were on it?

When I saw it live I didn't think mark and then watching the ump run in he had to dodge a few players to get to the mark. It really looked like he guessed, the non controlling umpire obviously had a better view and correctly over ruled.
With the Hickey call, how could an ump 40 metres away be sure whose hands were on it?

I thought no mark but it seemed Carlisle took his arm (as they often do to stop Riewoldt marking at full stretch).

The Hickey one was just an example - they don't typically do it, so why pick one when there are so many mistakes made during a game? Pick the throw by Gray. Or Hayes having his arm pulled at full stretch without the ball in the second quarter. Or the push in the back when he had a shot for goal from 50m (significantly greater contact than Stanley's).

I thought no mark but it seemed Carlisle took his arm (as they often do to stop Riewoldt marking at full stretch).

The Hickey one was just an example - they don't typically do it, so why pick one when there are so many mistakes made during a game? Pick the throw by Gray. Or Hayes having his arm pulled at full stretch without the ball in the second quarter. Or the push in the back when he had a shot for goal from 50m (significantly greater contact than Stanley's).
I get what you're saying, yes a free could have been paid, but since he didn't mark it, the umpire needed to pay the free. The other umpire obviously was 100% this was wrong so he stepped in.

On the other ones I don't know? The other umpires aren't always looking at where the ball is being contested for starters. In the end try to explain a lot of the things we saw the umpires do tonight and you'll do your head in. I'm really not sure how they could get so much so wrong and be so inconsistent, it was just bizarre.

The worst thing I personally saw was a port player chasing a saint STRAIGHT behind Macevoy who was about to kick after a mark in the 4th. It was the most blatant "encroaching zone" violation i have ever seen and would have been a 50 metre any day of the week.

Still, we were neither robbed nor had a win stolen. Simply denied one and frankly after that first quarter we lost it ourselves overall.

The worst thing I personally saw was a port player chasing a saint STRAIGHT behind Macevoy who was about to kick after a mark in the 4th. It was the most blatant "encroaching zone" violation i have ever seen and would have been a 50 metre any day of the week.

Still, we were neither robbed nor had a win stolen. Simply denied one and frankly after that first quarter we lost it ourselves overall.

We're the only team that the umpres are allowed to pay those encroachment 50 metres against, didn't you know that? :rolleyes: ;)

Roast Statement on Umpires