steele sidebottom

Did any of you catch the commentry stuff up on the weekend???
Cant remember who it was, but he referred to Steele Sidebottom as :

"Side Steelbottom"

It was mildly amusing.....

Not half as amusing as when Huddo said "Big Coc...er...Dean Cox"

I know Rex says it all the time but with Huddo it was a genuine slip of the tongue

Sidebottom and Beams are two good solid players, but the key word is solid. I don't think either of them will ever be superstars, but that seems to be the way we draft. Very much taking the 'sure thing' player whom is more likely to be a good AFL player, but with less upside. But both should be 10 year players, and good mids for us over that time.

:rolleyes:

How does this make Yarran any different from Thomas? ;) :p

Collingwood's defenders must be poor if Yarran kicked a goal, missed another and set up Stevens' goal after roving Kreuzer's tap...

Two or three goals is a poor day's work for just 50% TOG...

Mate, we're woeful at the moment. Anybody could kick a goal against us... even Leigh Brown.

Thomas gets a lot of contested ball and wins a lot of hard balls. Looking at statistics prove this, as does watching the game without being a ****ing blind piece of shit... but I'd think only the former would fit you abilities.

Sidebottom and Beams are two good solid players, but the key word is solid. I don't think either of them will ever be superstars, but that seems to be the way we draft. Very much taking the 'sure thing' player whom is more likely to be a good AFL player, but with less upside. But both should be 10 year players, and good mids for us over that time.

Yeah. Based on their first 3-4 games? Cool man.

Sidebottoms disposal by foot gives him a huge chance of being an elite midfielder.

Steele loves to get his hands dirty. He is like a hoover when the ball is on the deck. Love his confidence to use both feet - dont think he pales in comparison with Ziebell whatsoever in this area

My only concern about Steele is that he is incredibly slow.

Possibly slower than Licca.

Having said that his foot/hand skills are top notch. He does not waste many.

He needs to become a high posession getter around the middle of the ground. One good thing about both he and Beams is that they are penetrating kicks and they have very very good awareness.

If they start getting a lot of the ball they could start hurting teams badly.

His only chance at being 'elite' is if he becomes a clearance specialist.

Might not have pace, but he certainly isn't lacking in composure when he has the footy. Only ealry days, but he seems to be able to think his way through a situation quickly and finds a good option most of the time - as mentioned earlier his foot skills are nooiicce. Plenty to like about the lad, particularly the way he was tearing into "Good old Collingwood Forever" after the game:thumbsu:

what foot is steels main kicking foot?

The one that is the correct choice in any situation. Seriously, I dont think he has a preferred kicking foot, I think he is so rare that he can kick on both feet without any problems at all.

Is it just me, or did some of the things he did tonight remind you of a young Alan Didak. I know Dids is a little quicker off the mark, but just Rusty's use of the ball of the side of his boot, and his awareness reminded me of a young Dids.

Either way, I'll stick to my comment after this first game;

Steele Sidebottom will be a 10 year, 200 game league footballer.:p

He needs to become a high posession getter around the middle of the ground. One good thing about both he and Beams is that they are penetrating kicks and they have very very good awareness.

Understand that but so is Bartel and Simon Black.

As these guys have shown, if you get the footy and use it well it doesn't matter how quick your foot speed is, it's decision making speed that really counts.

Rumour has it that Matthew Knights wanted him at pick 5 instead of Hurley. Knights said he has Jimmy Bartel written all over him.

Seems to be the way we draft, are you serious? If we went the safe options all the time then we would have taken ellise and perhaps a hurn over thomas and pendles. Would be have drafted dawes? We would have taken armitage over reid or brown. We needed inside mids with good skills badly and thats what we drafted. Based on what I have seen and what was left when we had our picks I reckon we have got 2 of the better inside mids in the draft. To be suggesting this early on that they will not be anymore than good afl players is as silly as suggesting they will be superstars. Its simply to early to tell.

I don't think he is incredibly slow. Has he been run down yet?

The kid has played 3 games.
He will only get better. His10 goals in the TAC Grand Final last year was no fluke. He played well in all the finals.
I would rather have a footballer that an athlete.
This kid is a footballer and I think he is one of the better picks we have had in the last 10 years. He knows how to play the game, get disposals and uses them effectively. He hits targets.
He has a huge engine. It is rare that a first year player wins a time trial.:rolleyes:
I wish we had 5 more Sidebottoms in the side.
I would rather have him get 20 possessions than some of the other turn over experts to get 40.
This kid will be one of the better players in the competition after he gets more beef and experience behind him.

Where does this idea that he is slow come from?

Sure he's no Lovitt but he is just as quick as Kelly, Murphy, Black and Cotchin
He ran about a 3.21 20m at draft camp, so it's not an "idea" that he's slow, he's just slow. He's slower off the mark than Toby Thoolen, who put up a 3.14 20m the year before.

Luckily, he's an elite endurance runner and broke Marty Clarke's 2km club record time in his first pre-season. It all tends to balance out after a quarter or so. :p

He ran about a 3.21 20m at draft camp, so it's not an "idea" that he's slow, he's just slow. He's slower off the mark than Toby Thoolen, who put up a 3.14 20m the year before.

Luckily, he's an elite endurance runner and broke Marty Clarke's 2km club record time in his first pre-season. It all tends to balance out after a quarter or so. :p

See that doesn't tell me Rusty is slow, it tells me Thoolan is quicker than him.

[My glass is always half full]

steele sidebottom