Sunraysia Football league

Dont you like sonny Spivey, bet you wish you had him at south while you were coaching?
He won us a flag and would be one of the most gifted players I have seen, just a loose cannon off the field.

Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again

Takes more than one player to win a flag, if I was palying reserves at sth I would be looking for a clearance, hiring mercenaries is a bit of de javu. Just a loose cannon off the field, the bloke is an absolute maniac, plenty of ability shame about the roos in the top paddock

Dont you like sonny Spivey, bet you wish you had him at south while you were coaching?
He won us a flag and would be one of the most gifted players I have seen, just a loose cannon off the field.

Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again

I like the footy he plays but no as a person he isn't high on my list.

In fact for you info, the South Footy club wanted Sonny when I was coaching and I told them no. They apparently wanted to change the way the club did thier business off the field and wanted to change the drinking and party culture about the place and took some steps toward that but then they wanted to bring a person like Sonny in to the club. It well known about his antics off the field and I don't think having a person around the club like that promotes a great environment for kids which is what the club was suppose to be about at the time.

I find it quite funny that he gets in the paper and says he tries to be role model for the kids, if that's the role model they want at the club then good luck to them. There is more to having a good club than having a good individual player.

He has played one game at south and already generated some very bad publicity whether what he did was right or not, so I think my decision at the time is vindicated.

Well at 2 and 5 i reckon its gunna be hard but not immpossible for the Dees to make the finals.

Well it looks like R/Vale have firmed at this stage, with in my opinion Imps to finish second. Wentworh 3rd and No comment for 4th at this stage i reckon its just a little to tight to call.

What are your thoughts on the mcleod medal 7 rnds in are the paper votes a good indicator. Currans best on were clear for the swallows and moncur has had a great start to the year. Any other smokeys at this stage.

Top four taking shape after 7 rounds. Was interesting to watch Mildura on the weekend. They seem to be a shade of last years premiership side. Understandable they have a few out but the playing list they put on the field on Saturday I would have expected to perform better. Thier skills under pressure were suspect and without the clean disposal from O'Bree (Didn't Play) and others that did, their forwards really struggled. Oldham did a great job on Matthews with plenty of help from the guys surrounding him and the pressure up the ground.

Robinvale paid the best of tributes to Donny with a great win over Wenty.

South as expected flogged Merbein who can't seem to get this happening at the moment and Imps showed they are going to be right there come september with a strong performance against Irymple.

Perusing the Ladder and the next two weeks draw, it is possible the top 4 will take on a more permanent look.

Red Cliffs are a great chance to go two games clear in the four if they can defeat Merbein and with a bit of luck and some results from other games going their way. EG: If Mildura Hit back with a win over Irymple this weekend and Robinvale defeating South, (Both highly possible) that puts them two clear of the nearest team behind them.

With Imps and Wenty going head to head in what will definately be a big match with second spot up for grabs, Red Cliffs could end up in fourth only on percentage and two games clear. Who would have thought.

My final four as of Round 7

Imperials
Robinvale
Wentworth
Red Cliffs

With Just two wins, Mildura will need to win 85-90 percent of their remaining games to make the four and on current form I can't see them turning it around. Especially playing Imps, Robinvale and Irymple 3 times. They will certainly get up another 6 or 7 but I think 10-11 wins will be needed to make the finals.

Robinvale cruising along nicely under thier coach and Imps, well we always know they are their abouts and they have Maloney and Hards to step back in.

Wenty should make it as long as they aren't hit by injuries. Belly will need to keep his body going as he is thier focal point and they don't have much in the two's to bring in. They play a good brand of footy but they also have the ability to throw matches they are expected to win. If Alves gets on top of that they will finish top 3.

Red Cliffs are the biggest improvers and you may say I am biased but I think most will agree. They have defeated Imps, Mildura, South and Merbein and should have defeated Irymple. They need to get over Robinvale and Wenty to prove they are genuine contenders and seeing they play Robinvale, Imps and Wenty three times they will need defeat each of these once at least to hold on to fourth spot.

South have started to win a couple of games but more will be known about thier real state over the next few weeks. They have Imps, Wenty, Robinvale and Irymple three times which will make near impossible to make finals as I can't see them having another win against any of those four who have more depth.

Irymple could sneak in but are very young and very up and down this year. They got over Red Cliffs and Mildura but have lost to South and all other teams above them. They will improve but I think finals might be just out of reach.

I tend to agree with you ibis, think the final 4 is set. Cant believe Mildura has slipped so far back, what a shame.

Only think 3 sides can win it through. Wenty, robinvale and imps all seem about even at this stage. Wenty cant afford any injury's as they have no reserve players so I guess time will tell.

I believe Moncur would be way ahead in the Mcleod at the moment as he is a stand out in all their games. Dark horses are Clohesy if he continues his great form or Fox if south win enough games

Here is my interleague team so far-

Woolford Rigby Handreck

Oldham Simms Eaton

R Hards Curren Alvey

Clohesy O'Connor Petrie

Fox Bell O'Bree

Moncur
Denaro
B Hards

INTER- Cumming
Anstey
Matthews
Walder

Em- Cook (back)
Atkinson (ruck)
Spenser

What do people think?

I tend to agree with you ibis, think the final 4 is set. Cant believe Mildura has slipped so far back, what a shame.

Only think 3 sides can win it through. Wenty, robinvale and imps all seem about even at this stage. Wenty cant afford any injury's as they have no reserve players so I guess time will tell.

I believe Moncur would be way ahead in the Mcleod at the moment as he is a stand out in all their games. Dark horses are Clohesy if he continues his great form or Fox if south win enough games

Wouldnt have thought so, Moncur and fox would be a fair way in front.

I like the footy he plays but no as a person he isn't high on my list.

In fact for you info, the South Footy club wanted Sonny when I was coaching and I told them no. They apparently wanted to change the way the club did thier business off the field and wanted to change the drinking and party culture about the place and took some steps toward that but then they wanted to bring a person like Sonny in to the club. It well known about his antics off the field and I don't think having a person around the club like that promotes a great environment for kids which is what the club was suppose to be about at the time.

I find it quite funny that he gets in the paper and says he tries to be role model for the kids, if that's the role model they want at the club then good luck to them. There is more to having a good club than having a good individual player.

He has played one game at south and already generated some very bad publicity whether what he did was right or not, so I think my decision at the time is vindicated.

are you jason spivey? i play footy for red cliffs in under 16s and under 18s.. i went through all the pre season with the senior boys and they are great bunch of blokes and have plenty of skill. i think they will make the top 4 if they keep up there form. i thought you were playing for them this year? and was ment to be captain or something like that? matty walder has done a brilliant job so far.

You are correct big fella. I was going to play and do an Ass Coach thing but can't as you know cause of my arm. Matty always does the captaincy so that was never going to happen. He has a good plan for the next couple of years and if the boys can stick to it they will be very good come the next couple of years. No overnight miracles, just hard work and discipline and hopefully the long term plans will come together. Amazing what you can do with the support of the committee and the right people around you. Been good thus far but still a long way to go.:thumbsu:

yeh i thought i heard that! would of been good to have you play, i heard you go in pretty hard and are a good player! yeh red cliffs are a great club and have a good comittee and matty has made that senior side very discplined and fit. Hopefully i get a game up there in a year or two :) arnt you and matty related? nice to meet you mate :thumbsu:

this weeks predictions
IMPS v's wenty-35pts- We won easy last time and with Petrie on fire he should kick a bag. Wenty will struggle with no Ough and forced to move Clay into the ruck away from CHF

RED CLIFFS V's Merbein-85pts-Red cliffs playing good football at the moment and Merbein are worse than what they were last year

ROBINVALE v's South-41pts- Robinvale seem to be the team to beat as they have beaten both us and wenty in first round. South struggle against quality teams

MILDURA v's Irymple-5pts- If Mildura drop this game, their season is over so they have to win but they are slow and unfit so I expect a close game. Irymple's young guns hold the key, if they get on top early Mildura wont catch them.

Whats going on at Merbien? Noticed that there has been 6 players putting in clearances to leave the club in the last 6 days.
One players was or is their ass coach in Mark East who is wanting to go back to Cardross.
Something must be seriously wrong with Merbein if a player wants to go to a team who never kicked a goal on Saturday?

Whats going on at Merbien? Noticed that there has been 6 players putting in clearances to leave the club in the last 6 days.
One players was or is their ass coach in Mark East who is wanting to go back to Cardross.
Something must be seriously wrong with Merbein if a player wants to go to a team who never kicked a goal on Saturday?

A very unhappy camp from all reports, not entirely sure why? At the end of the day lets hope they get it together and become more competitive because the rest of the competition is very even.

Imps v Wenty 12 points. Could go either way will be a very even contest.

Red Cliffs v Merbein 60 points. Merbein are in disarray at present.

Robinvale v South 30 points. South have been up, but Robinvale look to strong all over the ground.

Mildura v Irymple 18 points. Mildura are misfiring at the moment, Irymple to pounce and just about finish their season.

yeh i thought i heard that! would of been good to have you play, i heard you go in pretty hard and are a good player! yeh red cliffs are a great club and have a good comittee and matty has made that senior side very discplined and fit. Hopefully i get a game up there in a year or two :) arnt you and matty related? nice to meet you mate :thumbsu:

Hey Ibis I can't believe that you have got your mum writing stuff:D

Woolford Rigby Handreck

Oldham Simms Eaton

R Hards Curren Alvey

Clohesy O'Connor Petrie

Fox Bell O'Bree

Moncur
Denaro
B Hards

INTER- Cumming
Anstey
Matthews
Walder

Em- Cook (back)
Atkinson (ruck)
Spenser

What do people think?

Good team... what you's think of this team??:

B: D.Thornton C.Keatch R.Handreck
HB: P.Jenkins A.Rigby B.Eaton
C: M.Hahnel S.Curran A.Davis
HF: R.Malic A.Matthews B.O'Connor
F: M.Walder J.McManus D.Fox

R: T.Moncur
RR: B.Hards
Rover: D.Spicer

Int: J.Bell D.Atkinson R.Hards D.Falvo
Em: M.Faulkhead A.McClelland J.Wright B.Oldham S.Mason
Coach: T.Ryan & T.Moncur
trainer: Fred Fields
Runner: D.O'Bree
Waterboy: M.Alvey, R.Tierney & J.Spivey

I reckon there is room in that side for 1 Brad Duscher!!! he is carving up the 2nd's ATM... Go Boy Go:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Where has your weekly tipping post gone?
Will Merbein win a game this year? If so who?
6th and 7th spots on the ladder are abit stronger than years past.

Gee surely you could fit a few more Merbein players in there somewhere!

Woolford Rigby Handreck

Oldham Simms Eaton

R Hards Curren Alvey

Clohesy O'Connor Petrie

Fox Bell O'Bree

Moncur
Denaro
B Hards

INTER- Cumming
Anstey
Matthews
Walder

Em- Cook (back)
Atkinson (ruck)
Spenser

What do people think?

Eaton on the ball I would have thought:D

He has been playing a more defensive role this year and he would be very handy running off the back flank.

Notice on sunraysia web site Sonny has been cleared to South. I expect he would line up against us to replace Haase at full foward