Sunraysia Football league

i think you'll find that sonny didnt do anything wrong and will play this week against merbein...the youngster wass milking every bump for the whole game if hes not up to the hard bump he shouldnt be there...lindsay has done nothing accept play well...the bulldogs look to be a force if can win a few more games id say

I didnt see the incident so I wont comment but to say that about the kid is absolute rubbish. It was a really good debut and he didnt milk anything. Showed some great signs and is a great kid.

Poor act by the Sunny Daily.No need for a front page like that, we are playing country footy not AFL. I'm not a fan of Sonny but he and local footy itself didn't deserve that. I can't remember any other reports in the SFL being made front page news like that and neither should they be. Must have been a slow news day. If its on video and worthy of suspension then it will all even out and he'll cop whatever he deserves in the end.
All that aside the season is turning out to be pretty exciting with plenty of surprises. Will be interesting to see how the tribunal pans out for Mildura and South tonight.

i think you'll find that sonny didnt do anything wrong and will play this week against merbein...the youngster wass milking every bump for the whole game if hes not up to the hard bump he shouldnt be there...lindsay has done nothing accept play well...the bulldogs look to be a force if can win a few more games id say

Yeah your right Chris, if the kid can't take a good thumping he should be on the outer!!

Get real mate. Your living in the past. It was an ordinary, unnecessary and unprovoked attack on the kid. Would not have matter if it happened to him or to any other player, the fact is it shouldn't have happened. The sooner the league take action on these incidents the better....

Sonny cleared to play this week.

The Sunraysia Daily must have egg on their face after this, hope Sonny takes this further as he would have a great defamation case in the courts.

Deckett also got off so maybe it a case of bigger bodies colliding with smaller bodies which makes the impact look worse than it would be with men.

Give the Sunraysia Daily a break. They are there to report the news as they see it. Have a look what the AFL did with the Hall Staker incident. If we saw that incident once we saw it a million times. They didn't say Lindsay hit him illegally, they stated that contact was made and that he was reported. Understand that the kid was 14 playing senior football and was only the second player in 40 years to do so in this league. Colin Sylvia was the last player at that age and look where he is now.

Of course it was going to make front, back and middle page news especially being his first ever senior game.

Papers run stories to make money and I am sure they would have had great sales yesterday. Not much chance of a defamation suit 3inarow, they have to defame him and I don't see anywhere in the article that has happened.

News from Ouyen is, Lindsay apparently owns them a substantial amount of money and seeing south have already spent alot of cash preseason on Lindsay it will be interesting to see if they are prepared to pay Ouyen out. My sources tell me Ouyen will not clear him and that it may be he was going to play 6 games for Ouyen (Equal to the amount he owes them apparently) before they will sign a transfer.

As for milking free kicks from bumps all day............ If you were 14 playing against men, if you got bumped you would probably bounce around a bit too. Give the kid a break, to play seniors at 14 years is an exceptional effort and something that very few people have done. He won the U14 and U16 B&F last year whilst U14's so this kid can play and could be the next best thing out of this town. The biggest credit to him is the fact that he has said he wants to continue to play senior footy even after the big knock he took. If only there were more men out there with a heart as big as his. I have always said that if you are playing senior footy no matter how old you are, you have to expect to get hit hard and this kid has shown he can take the hits and get back up for more. Well done I say.

It will be interesting to see how the transfer goes. On another note Kurt McGlynn was also 14 when he made his debut for Wentworth in 2001 and may have even still been 14 when he played in the senior flag that year. Cousin Ben was just 15 when he played earlier that year as well before injury forced him out for the year. Daniel Elstone was also 15 when he first played so a few have debuted early here.

Give the Sunraysia Daily a break. They are there to report the news as they see it. Have a look what the AFL did with the Hall Staker incident. If we saw that incident once we saw it a million times. They didn't say Lindsay hit him illegally, they stated that contact was made and that he was reported. Understand that the kid was 14 playing senior football and was only the second player in 40 years to do so in this league. Colin Sylvia was the last player at that age and look where he is now.

Of course it was going to make front, back and middle page news especially being his first ever senior game.

Papers run stories to make money and I am sure they would have had great sales yesterday. Not much chance of a defamation suit 3inarow, they have to defame him and I don't see anywhere in the article that has happened.

News from Ouyen is, Lindsay apparently owns them a substantial amount of money and seeing south have already spent alot of cash preseason on Lindsay it will be interesting to see if they are prepared to pay Ouyen out. My sources tell me Ouyen will not clear him and that it may be he was going to play 6 games for Ouyen (Equal to the amount he owes them apparently) before they will sign a transfer.

As for milking free kicks from bumps all day............ If you were 14 playing against men, if you got bumped you would probably bounce around a bit too. Give the kid a break, to play seniors at 14 years is an exceptional effort and something that very few people have done. He won the U14 and U16 B&F last year whilst U14's so this kid can play and could be the next best thing out of this town. The biggest credit to him is the fact that he has said he wants to continue to play senior footy even after the big knock he took. If only there were more men out there with a heart as big as his. I have always said that if you are playing senior footy no matter how old you are, you have to expect to get hit hard and this kid has shown he can take the hits and get back up for more. Well done I say.

I am more concerned about the after effects of every parent seeing these images on the front page when if it had of been any other team apart from Mildura there wouldn't of been a story on it.
You watch how many kids under 16 play senior football in the future.
Congo should be pissed as well as the damage it has done to footy up here.

I am more concerned about the after effects of every parent seeing these images on the front page when if it had of been any other team apart from Mildura there wouldn't of been a story on it.

Build a bridge and get over it mate, probably the independent tribunal has done more damage, letting lyndsay get away with it. Parents may see this as kids not getting looked after, 3 weeks with three suspended for abusing an umpire nothing for striking, go figure, regardless of age

Does anyone have a copy of the article that they can paste on? Had a quick look on the Sunraysia Daily web site, only a breif description and a pretty telling photo of the incident. Thanks

Thats a load of crap. If you recall the incident with Alves last year the daily gave that a big run and that was against Mildura. And anyone talking about defamation has no clue whatsoever. In my opinion the league admin is battling at the minute.

Sonny cleared to play this week.

The Sunraysia Daily must have egg on their face after this, hope Sonny takes this further as he would have a great defamation case in the courts.

Deckett also got off so maybe it a case of bigger bodies colliding with smaller bodies which makes the impact look worse than it would be with men.

As far as saying sunraysia daily must have egg on their face, as far as I am concerned they reported the incident as it was seen, and biigger bodies against smaller bodies, as far as I am concerned as soon as you step over the line you should be treated as a man and not given preferential treatment. But in saying that, you should not get whacked either

Does anyone have a copy of the article that they can paste on? Had a quick look on the Sunraysia Daily web site, only a breif description and a pretty telling photo of the incident. Thanks
picture on the daily web site shows deckett attacking some one from behind. just another cowardly act to add to his book:p:D

ahh well sonny got off as he should of...he should be right to play this week if ouyen give him the clearence! find something else to sook about

picture on the daily web site shows deckett attacking some one from behind. just another cowardly act to add to his book:p:D

Are you a workmate of his. Good effort decks, but it should have shown the bloke he was holding on the ground next to the kid form Mildura. that would have been a better picture.

Id like to be there to see you say it to his face. (and try to spell his name right will ya)
CAUGHT ONE...... just threw that comment on to see the reaction, take note of the :p:D at the end, obviously just joking. Never seen the bloke do that on the footy field but hear all the time how strong he is and that all are afraid to confront him, so thought would see if can get a bite.. thankyou nowfatty.:thumbsu:

Are you a workmate of his. Good effort decks, but it should have shown the bloke he was holding on the ground next to the kid form Mildura. that would have been a better picture.

would have been better seeing him lying alongside, the way the tribunal is he probably would have got off

Dont you like sonny Spivey, bet you wish you had him at south while you were coaching?
He won us a flag and would be one of the most gifted players I have seen, just a loose cannon off the field.

Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again

Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again[/quote]

Wenty look the goods but depth could be the stumbling block. If they can keep the current side intact they do look a good chance. Belly has to hold together.
Second?? At the moment could be anyone. Each of the contenders at full strength are a chance.

Dont you like sonny Spivey, bet you wish you had him at south while you were coaching?
He won us a flag and would be one of the most gifted players I have seen, just a loose cannon off the field.

Next subject, who at this stage is premiership favourites? My tip is wenty with our boys runners up again

Isn't that a bit like saying you would have won the final without the rest of the side taking the field?

You probably think that in a game where 5 points decide the winner from the loser that the person who kicked the last goal is the match winner....what about the goals kicked by other players? Surely they are just as important.

Isn't that a bit like saying you would have won the final without the rest of the side taking the field?

You probably think that in a game where 5 points decide the winner from the loser that the person who kicked the last goal is the match winner....what about the goals kicked by other players? Surely they are just as important.
robinvale are the smokeys with monkey doing a great job so far,demons need no more injuries and they will be a force,wenty and imps are the the teams to beat.how many wins would you need 2 make finals?