Switch Super Mario Odyssey

Just hit 561 moons. Can't put it down!
I have found the perfect cure for Mario-itis.

It's called an acute case of Zelda-itis. Having only just got my Switch and not played Zelda now that I've started that I can see my future, and it's Hyland.

Out of interest, when you said you only had 80 to go, did you mean to 500? Because there's at least 800 out there, and I thought you were 80 away from that

It's called an acute case of Zelda-itis. Having only just got my Switch and not played Zelda now that I've started that I can see my future, and it's Hyland.

Out of interest, when you said you only had 80 to go, did you mean to 500? Because there's at least 800 out there, and I thought you were 80 away from that

Yeah that's correct. I put Zelda in and played about 5 mins. I just keep going back for the moons.

700 something moons so far. less than one hundred to go. There are already a few moons I know I probably wont be able to get. Scoring 100 in volleyball is simple if you have a sibling who can be player two and control cappy. The 100 score in skipping is near on impossible for me though. The Bowser amiibo is a life saver hunting down the stage coins. Highly recommend if going for 100%.

G'day Lance Uppercut!

Hope you're going good mate.

Will be pretty keen to hear what you reckon is the better game - or even if you can pick between them!

i'm leading towards Mario, but that's probably due to it coming out so recently. I'm not even a huge platformer bloke, but it's just ****ing perfect!

Then again, Zelda just rewrote the rules on what a Zelda game's supposed to be! And made it better than anything execpt for, maybe, GTAV!

Good on bloody Nintendo! And good on Lance Uppercut! The man himself!

There are definitely more than 800 moons in this game. I have 770 right now and I haven't touched Mushroom Kingdom or the Moon's Dark Side yet... maybe moons collected is infinite? Like you might be able to buy as many moons as you want end game.
You can get up to 999 according to The Completionist on Youtube.

This game is great and all but it’s not in Zelda territory
Very different games. Zelda was fairly over-hyped and ended up being a bit of a let down for me. I went into this a bit wary and have been really enjoying it. It doesn't try to be anything particularly amazing, it's just a good fun game. Though, going in with different expectations and being completely different types of game, it's hard to say which one is better.

The issue with Zelda the changes like non traditional dungeons and weapon breaking so quickly. I think we have seen through other games like Zero Dawn or Witcher what a game of it's type can do in open world.

Mario merely adds a feature on top of everything. We barely get platforming in 3D to begin with these days let alone an open world. It may feel more fresh as a result while getting what you would want or expect.

Finished the story mode yesterday. I won’t be trying to get all 999 moons just not worth it for you get.
I will eventually, once I find all the moons in each level. There are around 800 to find all up and the rest are bought from the shops.

Finished the story mode yesterday. I won’t be trying to get all 999 moons just not worth it for you get.
I wish they had achievements/trophies like they do on Xbox and PlayStation would make me much more lok lucky to try got all the moons.

Or even a new game plus mode where you get to use other characters with enmies and bosses being harder.

Just on the achievements/trophies I'm surprised Nintendo haven't done this yet they can call it 'Nintendo Badges' or 'Star Badges'

Yeah because some meaningless achievement worth X useless points would make it all the more satisfying. Getting all 120 stars in Mario 64 isn't any less gratifying because you don't get some trophy, don't see why this is any different.

Switch Super Mario Odyssey