Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.

it was my mate's story lol, not j's.... yeah when i lived in parra we had to drive thru canterbury on the way to a swans game cause my dad needed to pick up work stuff and no joke, we had the swans scarf out the window and we had cans thrown at our car.... i never believed the rumours until i saw them in the flesh lol....

they probably thought you were dragons' fan.. seeing our scarves are identical to the dragons but of course the words on it are different. But thats probably why, the Bulldogs fans can't read. LOL jokes.

I live near Canterbury (more closer to Telstra Stadium) but Bulldogs supporters at my school hate me because I support the Roosters.

The names Sophie...everyone calls me Cross or Crossie
been following the swans since my mum took me to a game when i was 10 (Im now 19 almost 20) I was there when Plugger got his 1300th goal! Been to every home game this year! Was proud 2 be at Magics big game! I still get masive goosebumps watching the replay of Nick Davis goal agaisnt the cats in 2005 and Schneiders 3 massive goals against St Kilda! The 2005 grandfinal had me running around days after singing the swannies cheer! Most of my family lives in Melbourne/Geelong my dad supports St Kilda, My Grandma supports Melbourne, My Cousins go for Geelong and my best friend Emma supports Collingwood (who i must say gets my support aswell) So im proud to be a big swannies fan...all my friends around here support NRL so each week i have been taking my friends with me 2 some of the home games and im getting my friends on the Swans side! I believe the Swans still have a go in em for 2007 and even if we dont it wont be 2 much longer until we hold that cup high again!

My fave players...Adam Schneider enough said...Lukey Ablett, Amon Buchanan, Paul Bevan and Nick Davis!

I do love Heath Shaw from Collingwood!

CARN THE BLOODS!

Ok even though I am a cats supporter I do have a lil soft spot for the sydney swans(my whole life has been about footy and I have been to lots of Swans games,i prob should be a blood but i only started going for the cats cos when i was younger my fave animal was a cat lol) I have met many of them Craig O'Brain,Andrew Dunkley,Tadhg Kennelly,Jude Bolton, John Stevens,Heath James,Micky O,Troy Luff,Dale Lewis,Bob Skilton,Jared Crouch,Brad Seymour,Rowan Warfe(one good looking man that one)mmmmmm.....can't think of any more atm. My mother and brother support the swans and mum has been following them since she came from Nth Ireland a long time ago.Also i have to confess that I think I love Ted Richards LOL.
Hope that the swannies make it to the finals and Amon doesn't get to harsh a punishment.From a cats supporter who has a swan in her sights LMAO.:thumbsu::D:p

Hi there I'm a newbie and my name is Colin. Born in Perth, spent most of my life in Sydney and am now living in Orlando in the US. Missing the Swans and AFL alot since I've been here, but at least we get to see 3-4 games each week on cable-tv here - and the Swans game is one of those virtually every week! So that's some luck. What games I miss out on I catch up on the web. Good to be here.

Hi. My name's Glenn. I'm from Canberra and been a supporter since '92 when my family bought us a country membership for the year. Was a Collingwood supporter before then (was born into it).

Favourite game attended was in 1987 when I was with my footy team in Sydney and we saw the swans spank the bombers 236 to 73. Other faves atended would be seeing Plugger kick the ton against Richmond in '96 and the semi final win against Geelong in '05. Favourite players would have to be currently Kirky, Goodesy and Hally. Old faves would have to be Kelly, Schwass, Plugger, Greg Williams and Gerald Healy.

Dunno what it is about swans fans....a very arrogant, almost aloof manner in most of them....we saw them lining up for tix in outside the SCG 05 when they made the GF, after our semi win.,.....none would look us in the eye...like they felt they were impostors, they know whats what in Sydney!!

Top line league action!

Dunno what it is about swans fans....a very arrogant, almost aloof manner in most of them....we saw them lining up for tix in outside the SCG 05 when they made the GF, after our semi win.,.....none would look us in the eye...like they felt they were impostors, they know whats what in Sydney!!

Top line league action!

Fans acting cocky before playing in a grand final and downcast after a finals loss? Get...OUT!:eek:

On another note: North Ryde: LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Dunno what it is about swans fans....a very arrogant, almost aloof manner in most of them....we saw them lining up for tix in outside the SCG 05 when they made the GF, after our semi win.,.....none would look us in the eye...like they felt they were impostors, they know whats what in Sydney!! [/URL]

I can see what you are saying. Swans fans in Sydney are generally pretty middle-upper class in background. That means a lot of people from the pretencious eastern suburbs and lower north shore. And the old money types from places like Turramurra Pennant Hills St Ives & Frenchs Forest. A lot of these people are very much individuals who are insistant on keeping to themselves and doing what THEY want to do first and foremost. You rarely feel a collective sense of "club" at Swans games in Sydney, especially with the amount of casuals blow-ins event watchers and other non-alligned types you get at our big Homebush games. Everyone has their own set of friends, people have their own pre-match rituals.

I fel that there is a massive difference between the Swans fans I see from Sydney & those I mingle with down here. Here the old South supporter base is largey still working class. It is more male than female, a start contrast to things in Sydney where you see heaps & heaps of white-collar executive type women. I find the South fans really earthy. They are just like a supporter base of any other Melbourne club; you see a Bloods fan & give them a G'day a smile or a whink. In Sydney if you do that to a Swans fan you may gt a rather baffled reaction from the whinkee; they may think you are trying to crack onto them, encroach on their personal space, force yourself into their private sphere. When al you are doing is saying that you wear my colours & are a kindred spirit of sorts.

Still the way we ALL felt at the end of 2005 was pretty much the same. OUR club had made it. Fans of our club have suffered like no other other (besides Fitzroy & Brisbane Bears/Lions fans)

JF

Top line league action!

First things first, you line up for a Prelim after a Semi final win. Get it right.

Secondly, that line about being imposters makes no sense - but Grammar and comprehension skills from a lot of trolls from your club have been pretty confusing. :rolleyes:

I can see what you are saying. Swans fans in Sydney are generally pretty middle-upper class in background. That means a lot of people from the pretencious eastern suburbs and lower north shore. And the old money types from places like Turramurra Pennant Hills St Ives & Frenchs Forest. A lot of these people are very much individuals who are insistant on keeping to themselves and doing what THEY want to do first and foremost. You rarely feel a collective sense of "club" at Swans games in Sydney, especially with the amount of casuals blow-ins event watchers and other non-alligned types you get at our big Homebush games. Everyone has their own set of friends, people have their own pre-match rituals.

I fel that there is a massive difference between the Swans fans I see from Sydney & those I mingle with down here. Here the old South supporter base is largey still working class. It is more male than female, a start contrast to things in Sydney where you see heaps & heaps of white-collar executive type women. I find the South fans really earthy. They are just like a supporter base of any other Melbourne club; you see a Bloods fan & give them a G'day a smile or a whink. In Sydney if you do that to a Swans fan you may gt a rather baffled reaction from the whinkee; they may think you are trying to crack onto them, encroach on their personal space, force yourself into their private sphere. When al you are doing is saying that you wear my colours & are a kindred spirit of sorts.

Still the way we ALL felt at the end of 2005 was pretty much the same. OUR club had made it. Fans of our club have suffered like no other other (besides Fitzroy & Brisbane Bears/Lions fans)

JF

And thirdly, seriously? You can see what he's saying? Sorry to come down on you for this post, but the way you generalised about the Sydney fanbase by then end I was surprised you didn't call us all Bandwagoners, Chardonnay drinkers (oh, sorry, in fact you kinda did), and crap on about how we cheer behinds and know nothing about footy. :confused:

??

And thirdly, seriously? You can see what he's saying? Sorry to come down on you for this post, but the way you generalised about the Sydney fanbase by then end I was surprised you didn't call us all Bandwagoners, Chardonnay drinkers (oh, sorry, in fact you kinda did), and crap on about how we cheer behinds and know nothing about footy. :confused:

??

Thanks Tuco, couldn't have said it better myself!

Not sure if people are still doing introductions here or whether it has become but an argument, but hey, I'm Cait, I'm 18 years old and live in Melbourne. AFL is my passion and I was at both the 2005 and 2006 Grand Finals and have been to several games up in Sydney. The last Saturday in September of 2005 remains the best day of my life, and I don't expect anything could ever take its title.

I can't stand the "Victorian Teams are best" mentality. Just appreciate the game for what it is and what it means to our COUNTRY. Sadly, I don't know many real Swans fans in Melbourne.

Like Cait not sure whether introductions are still the norm but here goes....I'm Nick, 20 years old and live in the beautiful harbour city, don't know what else there is to say...I have a myspace and facebook I spose.

Haha seeing as you're as unsure as myself, Welcome! It's nice to see somepeople have the same uncertainties as me!

Not sure if people are still doing introductions here or whether it has become but an argument, but hey, I'm Cait, I'm 18 years old and live in Melbourne. AFL is my passion and I was at both the 2005 and 2006 Grand Finals and have been to several games up in Sydney. The last Saturday in September of 2005 remains the best day of my life, and I don't expect anything could ever take its title.

I can't stand the "Victorian Teams are best" mentality. Just appreciate the game for what it is and what it means to our COUNTRY. Sadly, I don't know many real Swans fans in Melbourne.
there are pleny of swans fans in melbourne
a few here would say im a bandwagoner, but my mates know me best when i watch footy, and know how worked up i tend to get.
whenever sydney is playing everything stops until the game is over. love to watch them play!
nearly destroyed my tv when they lost to wet toast in 05 final, but was almost doing cartwheels up and downstairs when they won the gf :)
finally able to afford my first membership and gurnsey this year, pretty filthy about their performances throughout, thought the guys certainly should have tried harder, and was very pissed off at the two melb collingwood games i went to, very disgraceful performances both were.

i like the swans supporters in melbourne because they are generally very open and fun people, easy to talk to and get along with. on top of that, its more of a family environment, opposed to the likes of essendon, collingwood and carlton.

sydney & melb fan bases are quite different, sydney fan base mostly generalised as the chardonnay drinkers (corporate type who make it a social event) and the melb fan base who is more down to earth, know what its about, love the club and cheer anything it does.

besides that i reckon we get quite a few cuties and good lookin girls in the crowds wearing red & white :p

where bouts in melbourne do you live??
i live western area and there are heaps of swans supporters here, jump on the train into the city and its usually almost packed on game day

there are pleny of swans fans in melbourne
where bouts in melbourne do you live??

I live in the inner-ish south-east. I know few Swans fans around my age. Plenty of elderly old south barrackers...coming from a long line of them meself. Also young families. I like seeing little Swans fans running around though.

I think the football is very different in both Melbourne and Sydney. I like both atmospheres, though. There's a much more raw appreciation for the game here, though. I don't think I'd ever go to another Collingwood game, though. Not after the Elimination final this year. Eugh. Nothing but a bunch of poor sports, intent on ruining the game (win or lose) for those around them, on the whole.

Haha my jumper was a dress on me in '94...now it's a little tight. I won't part with it though. I just won't!

Who cares if people call you a bandwagoner? Half of my friends didn't know where I went on Fridays and Saturdays until after the '05 Grand Final and then it clicked...I must be a bandwagoner!

Do you go to games much?

I'm from Melbourne.

\sydney & melb fan bases are quite different

same as western sydney (where i am) and the inner 'burbs
i dont really know anyone who supports the swans like i do in the western regions
almost get looked at like a collingwood supporter for wearing my guernsey here, everyone's so hyped up about nrl and the eels :rolleyes:
im nearly 16, and from what ive seen so far the youngest person posting?
its a little awkward, lol, but i couldnt stand no footy for months

ive just started going to games as mum thinks im 'old enough' now, and im becoming a member in 08!
& i'd love to do the adopt-a-swan thing too :D

same as western sydney (where i am) and the inner 'burbs
i dont really know anyone who supports the swans like i do in the western regions
almost get looked at like a collingwood supporter for wearing my guernsey here, everyone's so hyped up about nrl and the eels :rolleyes:
im nearly 16, and from what ive seen so far the youngest person posting?
its a little awkward, lol, but i couldnt stand no footy for months

ive just started going to games as mum thinks im 'old enough' now, and im becoming a member in 08!
& i'd love to do the adopt-a-swan thing too :D

We Swannies fans in the west of Sydney are growing in number all the time. Wear your guernsey with pride, you'd be surprised how many of us there are.

oh my god, im not alone!
i entered this competition in the parramatta advertiser a couple of months ago and first prize was why do you want to win it
i wrote to be part of the minority of swans supporters in the west

i won it :D
but they were tickets to the collingwood game so i guess it evens out, lol

Swans fans - tell us about yourselves.