Review Sydney defeat Essendon @Etihad. Margin negligible

of course it was a free kick. free kicks are missed all the time but given the context of the game nobody should expect essendon fans to just accept it.

Surely you can miss a bloke being knocked out.. there are five of the maggots out there.. and no one can see it???

Brings me back to the point about why can't the 3rd umpire radio down and say "mate you have missed a clear one there.. Hurley has just had his head taken off.. free kick Bombers on the wing".. not that hard surely..

We aren't talking whether an arm comes across the shoulders or did he drop the knees.. we are talking a hip going into the top of a guys head who is over the ball!!!

Glad Zaka stood up.

Hooker love his defensive efforts but badly need to work on kicking efficiency

J.Merrett needs another stint in twos.

Z.Merrett great run

Belly game although he might not have racked up huge stats it was important ad it released Paddy Ryder up forward

Umpiring was bad tonight. Full stop.

Did Melksham get injured in last qtr?

No weeks as he was bracing for contact rather than bumping but it was a clear as day free kick. Duck McVeigh got the softest free in the first and yet Hurley can get cannoned into without getting penalized.

Just a couple of questions:
Is there a penalty for Malceski running into the umpire? And what happened with Melksham? According to the AFL site he had 59% TOG, less than Daniher.
He could well cop a fine. It'd be a ridiculous decision but I wouldn't put it past MRP.

We won our last two games, and lost this one - and I actually feel better now.

We just need this ASADA debacle to end; its the only thing hampering us now I think.

Hooker gave Tippett an absolute bath. I say that in the interest of posterity; because one day soon some jackass will look up the stats, say Tippett kicked three and think he did anything other than be the beneficiary of terrible umpiring. Absolutely destroyed. Two worthless (and undeserved) free kicks, and a non-decision for the third. Got smashed.

Franklin beat Hurley, but Hurley played ok. Was funny, for the half a quarter or more that Fletcher was on him, Buddy completely vanished. Can't believe people still think Fletcher is incapable of playing on the key forwards.

Hibberd. Geez, you may have got it a bit but not your best game.

Carlisle. Better! More of the same please mate.

Belly, just played into it.

Z. Merrett - love the kid. Love, love love.

We're gonna be alright ladies and gents, we're gonna be alright. :)

Anyway, the atrocious umpiring shouldn't deflect from the fact that the EFC put in another sub par performance tonight. Big questions about this group now.. big.

I don't think I've ever been as angry at a match as I was after that bump. I let out so much emotion after that I felt completely drained. After it I just sat in silence for the rest of the game.

I was just a jibbering mess after that. Basically just swore into my hands for 3 minutes and then just slumped with that 'no longer give a ****' vibe.

tonight's game had me yelling at the tv like i haven't done in ages, call me bias but the umpiring was rubbish, we played rubbish and hooker nearly kept tippet goalless if it hadn't been for those stupid frees, all those tools saying it was Hurley's fault and that he played rubbish go watch the game over, franklin would have had 8-10 if Hurley had played rubbish like you have suggested, the amount of times Hurley spoiled or competed his heart out to win a contest, especially when visibly injured, (to all those flog head geelong mates of mine) i hope we play him on tom Hawkins so he tears him a new one. and when this happens, i expect an apology in full.

We won our last two games, and lost this one - and I actually feel better now.

We just need this ASADA debacle to end; its the only thing hampering us now I think.

Hooker gave Tippett an absolute bath. I say that in the interest of posterity; because one day soon some jackass will look up the stats, say Tippett kicked three and think he did anything other than be the beneficiary of terrible umpiring. Absolutely destroyed. Two worthless (and undeserved) free kicks, and a non-decision for the third. Got smashed.

Franklin beat Hurley, but Hurley played ok. Was funny, for the half a quarter or more that Fletcher was on him, Buddy completely vanished. Can't believe people still think Fletcher is incapable of playing on the key forwards.

Hibberd. Geez, you may have got it a bit but not your best game.

Carlisle. Better! More of the same please mate.

Belly, just played into it.

Z. Merrett - love the kid. Love, love love.

We're gonna be alright ladies and gents, we're gonna be alright. :)
Would love to have some of your enthusiasm.

I agree wholeheartedly with the Hooker comments.. 3 of the softest goals Tippett will ever get.. Hooker dominated that match up..

I think what I find most disappointing is the fact that I don't believe our players think they can win every week. Last year, for the first time in ages, I really think they went onto the field believing they were a realistic chance to win against any team. No we didn't win them all.. but at no point did I feel the players would give up or feel they were the inferior team.

In contrast.. at no point did our players look like they felt they could win. They were defeated before the ball was even bounced. Carlisle as sub kind of summed up the whole thing. Flat, listless and dispassionate group before a shot was fired.

We have stopped believing we are fitter, that we are better, that we are a top 4 side.. I think the team now believes they are crap and has no confidence in themselves, each other or the systems in place.

Whether Jim can turn it around, I really don't know. Whether we need a completely clean slate.. from top to bottom I don't know. One thing is for sure.. this current group right now are miles, MILES, off the pace of top 4 or even finals footy. Miles.

Unless we want to spend another 15 years in the wilderness.. things need to change and fast.

I don't think they care if they win every week... what's the ****ing point of it all?

Surely you can miss a bloke being knocked out.. there are five of the maggots out there.. and no one can see it???

free kicks are missed all the time because of their line of sight has been blocked or they're out of position and so on, and this probably wasn't the most obvious free kick missed tonight, although the incident with the most obvious result

Anyway, the atrocious umpiring shouldn't deflect from the fact that the EFC put in another sub par performance tonight. Big questions about this group now.. big.

Well it does detract from it, because we didn't get the chance to see how we actually stacked up against them. They were better obviously, but we were robbed of the chance to see how much better.

I'm sure glad that as a broke uni student I paid for that.

Hurley was head down paddling the ball, plenty of time for Hannebury to realise that any contact will be head high. This is not a split second Jack Viney incident, Hannebury had time to sum things up, yet chose to go for body contact which resulted in a very serious high contact. He will go for weeks.
he will get off, if he broke Hurleys jaw be would be out for 3-4 and maybe had a free kick pai against him... maybe.

Good
29 hit outs to Belchambers.
Zach looking good.
More from Zaharakis
Hibberd was good.

Bad
Not enough out of Jackson Merrett. Back to the VFL for him.
Its not his fault. He was being played in the forward line in the first half and it hardly went up there. On the wing is his correct position, and its where he brought himself into the game in the second half.

I don't think I've ever been as angry at a match as I was after that bump. I let out so much emotion after that I felt completely drained. After it I just sat in silence for the rest of the game.

Exactly the same for me. I went and took a piss then sat back with my hands on my head and my feet on the seat in front.

Review Sydney defeat Essendon @Etihad. Margin negligible