Sydney Stack Discussion

So Stack & CCJ are paying the 75k and that goes back into our soft cap right?

Nope.

It means the club is not out of pocket as the players are covering the fine.

It will still mean that Richmond can only spend 6.1 million in their footy department before going over the cap and attracting a tax on any spend above that amount.

Incentive to be the best they can and earn big contracts

More like incentive to sign the 300-400k offer that the club in your home state offers you alongside 22 guaranteed games rather than accepting 150-200k and maybe getting a game. I don't think making young players pay the fine is the way to go about it, yes punish them but make them have to clean the gym after training for the entirety of next season or something along those lines. The club can afford to pay the fines and whilst the players ideally would pay it for ****ing up I would rather the club pay it for them and the players give back in other ways and reward us with loyalty long term than look to pay it off and flee for the best offer so it doesn't sting their back pocket.

It's a real stupid move by these two absolutely but the self righteous media flogs, the woke crowd and the rest of the judgemental turds who seemingly all lived very boring 21 year old lives should have a look at themselves.

Anyone on these forums at 21 didn't do anything stupid? Fair dinkum I hate what social media has turned the world into. I will be real disappointed if the club hung them out to dry.

More like incentive to sign the 300-400k offer that the club in your home state offers you alongside 22 guaranteed games rather than accepting 150-200k and maybe getting a game. I don't think making young players pay the fine is the way to go about it, yes punish them but make them have to clean the gym after training for the entirety of next season or something along those lines. The club can afford to pay the fines and whilst the players ideally would pay it for ******* up I would rather the club pay it for them and the players give back in other ways and reward us with loyalty long term than look to pay it off and flee for the best offer so it doesn't sting their back pocket.
I reckon the club'll pay it. Had to be seen as the responsible parent.

This is a massive punishment though and does not fit the crime. At the very least they will miss 4 games next season and at most will miss 6. Lachie Hunter didn't receive any punishment from the AFL for crashing his car whilst drunk and fleeing the scene (committing a crime), he was suspended by the bulldogs but the AFL didn't punish him any way.

I understand the context of the season but I have a seriously hard time accepting the double standards that are applied when it comes to AFL players abiding by AFL protocols versus State protocols. What Stack and CCJ did was wrong and they deserve to miss the rest of the season out of stupidity but to also miss next season when they've already missed so much of this season (less AFL games, no proper reserves competition) is punishment that far exceeds the crime. Why did Elijah Taylor be given a lesser sentence despite also breaking state protocols.
Mate, multiple covid breaches in one, they knew they were breaking the rules and the optics of the night are absolutely horrible for the AFL who are kissing the asses of the state governments to have a season running. They got what they deserved.

With regards to Lachie Hunter, the AFL didn’t need to sanction him as I don’t believe he breached the covid protocols.

Any way you look at it, that’s a huge sanction. 10 games each and they have to pay $75k out of their own pockets.

Brought it on themselves. you’d have thought everyone on the list was crystal clear about the rules after the Cotchin fine.

Pretty sheet effort by the lads, even after seeing the footage (they were clearly the victims).
But the club and players especially should surely be aware how much focus is on our club atm?
Maybe being away from Melb hides that fact a bit, but the media and oppo supporters are baying for blood.
The only bonus we could get from this is Dimma will go supernova on the team this week and will hopefully drive a big performance against geewrong

Nope.

It means the club is not out of pocket as the players are covering the fine.

It will still mean that Richmond can only spend 6.1 million in their footy department before going over the cap and attracting a tax on any spend above that amount.

Doubt we will be to concerned with the tax for next year