Certified Legendary Thread Sympathy for *essendon - congratulations on '16 Wooden Spoon (RIP The Scales)

Grant Baker has another article on the drugs side of the investigation in today's Herald-Sun. It begins: "Essendon players now look increasingly certain to escape doping charges.''

The gist of his article is that shoddy records will save them from infraction notices. Baker cites the charging of NRL player Sandor Earl as an example of how quickly ASADA acts when it's got a good case.

Unbelievable, if true. Me smell a rat.

That AFL serial hater Roy Masters had written today:

ASADA is yet to say if players at either Essendon or Cronulla will get infraction notices for taking performance-enhancing drugs.
The Bombers have been co-operative from the start of the joint AFL-ASADA investigation and may qualify for a six-month suspension. The Sharks were initially rebellious but ASADA was happy with the level of co-operation when interviews were completed this month.
While Sharks players might have had five injections each, the possibility exists that some continued to use creams and lozenges after Dank had been asked to leave, or met him away from the club. The AFL's charge sheet states 38 Essendon players got weekly AOD-9604 injections.
Inadequate record keeping at both clubs makes it difficult for ASADA to determine which players were administered with what drugs. If players are suspended, they may take legal action against their clubs for not ensuring a safe workplace.
But any soft sanctions will be appealed by the World Anti-Doping Agency, which will insist Australia - a world leader in the fight against drugs in sport - honour its obligations.

Read more: http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/the-dank-force-the-different-impacts-it-has-had-on-two-clubs-and-two-codes-20130830-2sw95.html#ixzz2dVeWhKGW

Still interesting times ahead.

That AFL serial hater Roy Masters had written today:

ASADA is yet to say if players at either Essendon or Cronulla will get infraction notices for taking performance-enhancing drugs.
The Bombers have been co-operative from the start of the joint AFL-ASADA investigation and may qualify for a six-month suspension. The Sharks were initially rebellious but ASADA was happy with the level of co-operation when interviews were completed this month.
While Sharks players might have had five injections each, the possibility exists that some continued to use creams and lozenges after Dank had been asked to leave, or met him away from the club. The AFL's charge sheet states 38 Essendon players got weekly AOD-9604 injections.
Inadequate record keeping at both clubs makes it difficult for ASADA to determine which players were administered with what drugs. If players are suspended, they may take legal action against their clubs for not ensuring a safe workplace.
But any soft sanctions will be appealed by the World Anti-Doping Agency, which will insist Australia - a world leader in the fight against drugs in sport - honour its obligations.

Read more: http://www.watoday.com.au/sport/the-dank-force-the-different-impacts-it-has-had-on-two-clubs-and-two-codes-20130830-2sw95.html#ixzz2dVeWhKGW

Still interesting times ahead.

I hope you're right. But I smell a rat (a big, fat one) negotiating with (stooging) an inexperienced ASADA(#) into not issuing infraction notices on the known evidence against the *essenden drug cheats in exchange for a beefed up drug code.

Everyone's a winner - except the football public and the truth.

Just how the AFL likes to operate. We lose, the truth is bent.

Someone could ask honest Andy to confirm or deny but unless you got the question word perfect you could never rely on the answer.

There might be a story in it, if only there was a real journalist out there and not a bunch of lazy slobs living off leaks.

Time will tell.

# ASADA have been pushing around various sporting bodies and sportspeople but would have never come across as ''sophisticated'' an organisation as the AFL. Lambs to the slaughter.

how do we feel about Essendon finishing in front of North, despite everything?

We still have our clubs honour and dignity intact, that can't be taken away from us. I'll take a season full of choke losses rather than be labelled 'drug cheats'.,
Your club on other hand is the embarrassment of Australian sport and society.

It's a new thing for me to be quoting Kochie, but...

The Age said:
The [Port] president said he asked the Power's highly regarded sports-science chief Darren Burgess, who joined them from English Premier League giant Liverpool, whether he had encountered a comparable supplements regime anywhere in the world as was told "not even close".

"This gives us all a bad name. It affects our brand. That's why the commission . . . had to deal with it quite harshly," he said. "There are things bigger than footy. It is not a case of win at all costs . . . I don't think that's what the culture of a footy club should be. There are boundaries, and you've got to set a standard."

Speaking of governance, do we really believe no records were kept (if not, why not! :cool: ) and if so, what happened to them? Is there a reason why Ziggy didn't notice this...

Business-Records-Keeping-6-279x300.jpg

It probably won't happen but I'd love it if ASADA said, "We have enough evidence to believe that some of your players took banned substances. Unfortunately due to your lax record keeping we cannot ascertain which ones. Since this is not a criminal matter with a burden of proof to be beyond all reasonable doubt, we're putting it on you to provide us with evidence to show conclusively which players did not receive banned substances and everyone else will get infractions."

how do we feel about Essendon finishing in front of North, despite everything?

Unsympathetic.

You've obviously been closely studying the ladder Lance, did you notice the little asterix? It wasn't next to the 9 and it wasn't next to the 56, it was next to Essendon* and it will be there forever, how do we feel about that?

Perhaps the best writing on the *sheep and the *hird thus far:

http://m.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/superb-player-an-ugly-truth-20130831-2sxp1.html

Naturally the Red Gash brigade are nonplussed.
Good article. He even answered a question I asked in another thread:
I've been wondering about this. Well, not so much the "Is Tania Hird a beautiful, musically gifted, genius who is ultra-defensive of her family?" question. But the "Is Hird a moron?" question.

I mean I know that you don't need to be a genius to get an engineering degree or to make a bit of money stockbroking. Especially if you are a high profile ex-AFL footballer. But surely you require a modicum of intelligence? You can't be a complete ******* halfwit can you? Without naming names, a certain West Australian centre-half back famed for his duels with the King probably couldn't do it (not that he'd want to), could he?

Yet *jimmah seems to have been sucked in by the most appalling pseudo-science mumbo jumbo snake oil salesman dealt load of hogwash imaginable. To the point where people said to him, "You know this is all pseudo-science mumbo jumbo hogwash being delivered by a snake oil salesman don't you? It's at best borderline illegal and could well do more harm than good." And *jimmah stuck his fingers in his ears and said "La la la la, I'm the messiah. Danny, Steve tell me what I want to hear."

I just don't get how he could have been so dumb for so long.

One answer:
Anyone who will take a needle to become less pallid and flabby is not only dangerously attuned to the siren of his own self-image, he has a base belief in potions, lotions, jabs and dabs that might be exploited by a reasonably persuasive medicine man. Stephen Dank is that, and must have scented Hird's gullibility like a shark scents a gaffed snapper. And like any good salesman with a wagonload of snake oil to move he told his mark his enemies were not only on it, it was the root cause of their bulging biceps, rosy cheeks and recent premierships.
He played Hird like a fish. "Hawthorn enhanced? Oh, Jimbob. Let's not be naive. The entire list is spiked fortnightly with the DNA of Lethal Leigh. Imagine facing 18 Lethals. The horror. Your boys gonna have to shoot up like Lou Reed to catch up."
While many of us have spent all year agog at Hird's inability to get a whiff of his own failings, Tim Watson, Wayne Carey and sundry talkback Bombers have all expressed admiration for Hird's grit and self-belief. For the fact he hasn't crumbled. But I think The Duck got it right when he said if you truly believe you're right it's not hard to stand up to the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune. Hird believes he is right and the world is wrong. The question most people are shaking their heads at is … How?
They shouldn't be. This sort of self-delusion is common as muck. Wander into the law courts and you'll see defendants wearing gaudy outrage, convinced, despite CCTV footage and DNA evidence, that the whole thing is a miscarriage of justice, someone else's fault.
It's not a con. It's a coping mechanism, a way of living with yourself. It's a type of psychological carapace readily available to the egotistically overcharged. And it's common enough that if we were all presiding magistrate at our own trials the prisons would be as small as porta-loos. And it is, incidentally, why we need umpires. People like Scott McLaren.

More tears from the *essendon flogs after the 40 man AA squad was released. Most sooking about no Hibberd - he was good in the 1st half terrible in the 2nd half and dumb footballers should be no where near the AA squad.

Dumb footballers are dumb. But if you ever here this Frankston bogan speak you will quickly pick up that he is not the brightest bulb in the tanning bed. Actually he should no longer be part of society and be living in a prison.

funny how wayne carey is now one of *essendons favourite media commentators, since his comment about them being 99.9% clear of infractions, wouldnt be trolling them would you duck

With the greatest respect to the Duck one pathological narcissist will always go into bat for another!

"Anyone who will take a needle to become less pallid and flabby is not only dangerously attuned to the siren of his own self-image, he has a base belief in potions, lotions, jabs and dabs that might be exploited by a reasonably persuasive medicine man."

Sig worthy

Don't even mind being knocked out of your sig by a quote as good as that. Especially when, today at least, the AA selectors look pretty good.