Tadhg is back, alright!

Re: Kennelly open to a return

I've only been critical of the indecision he has had since he won the cup in Ireland. Our squad needs to be finalised sooner rather then later (nevermind how far away any deadline may be) so that the club can start training as a complete group.

It doesn't really. If he doesn't return to the club, his spot will be taken by someone who can't be drafted until late November or early December.

I understand your point Liz but in Kennelly's case, he was always our designated kicker when a behind was scored by the opposition. This was a feature we missed badly in 2009 with Malceski being in poor form.

Tadgh's accuracy & skill level was sublime in this situation. If he is to be part of our team, then the kick in drills will rely on him being there. Unfortunately, other then an in form Malceski, we are limited to who we can confidently use & the kicking in was one of our big weaknesses in 2009.
The player that gets drafted in his place won't give us what Kennelly can offer.
Instant experience & gameplan knowlegde!

Perhaps we're talking about slightly different things. I was talking about any fallout he's going to get here over his actions in the GF in Ireland, whereas you seem to be talking more in terms of a hypothetical situation should he say something after a GF here.

Thanks for keeping us posted as to impressions over there though. Any more news would be appreciated:thumbsu:

no, not really. I dont have much of a problem of what he did in the final. it happens in every game in every sport, the first ball to a player and he wants to set the tone, give a hit to the player, go in hard, whatever. it happens from the lowest level of football to the highest. the ref, should have booked him, but didnt. so be it.

my issue, is him coming out after and saying it was pre meditated and he intended on doing it. whther he did or he didnt, it was foolish in the extreme to come out and publish a book saying 'cop that' and he struck him square in the jaw. he had got away with it in the final, and should have let it be. it was clear as day when it happened he was going in hard to set a marker. it didnt need to be glorified in a book to make him out to be bragging about how he intentionally hit someone illegally.

I'm assuming he is in Sydney now so I'd say we could hear more about any confirmation by the end of the week. the view here is he is long gone anyway.

*and no worries! :thumbsu:

no, not really. I dont have much of a problem of what he did in the final. it happens in every game in every sport, the first ball to a player and he wants to set the tone, give a hit to the player, go in hard, whatever. it happens from the lowest level of football to the highest. the ref, should have booked him, but didnt. so be it.

my issue, is him coming out after and saying it was pre meditated and he intended on doing it. whther he did or he didnt, it was foolish in the extreme to come out and publish a book saying 'cop that' and he struck him square in the jaw. he had got away with it in the final, and should have let it be. it was clear as day when it happened he was going in hard to set a marker. it didnt need to be glorified in a book to make him out to be bragging about how he intentionally hit someone illegally.

I'm assuming he is in Sydney now so I'd say we could hear more about any confirmation by the end of the week. the view here is he is long gone anyway.

*and no worries! :thumbsu:

Ah well, the more "bad" wraps he gets over there only makes it more likely he'll come back here, which as you can understand from a Swans point of view, is GREAT:), and he won't cop any flak from us, I can assure you...

Hi all I found an omen the other night that tells me Tadhg will come to Sydney

I was sitting at the lights on the way to burnside and on my left was an irish pub - as I was waiting for the lights to go green, the song 'Holy Grail' broke out on the radio

:D

Hi all I found an omen the other night that tells me Tadhg will come to Sydney

I was sitting at the lights on the way to burnside and on my left was an irish pub - as I was waiting for the lights to go green, the song 'Holy Grail' broke out on the radio

Question, were you sober at the time?

Ah well, the more "bad" wraps he gets over there only makes it more likely he'll come back here, which as you can understand from a Swans point of view, is GREAT:), and he won't cop any flak from us, I can assure you...

He may not receive such a warm welcome from the fans. As much as I would love to have him back I hated him for leaving. I know a few loyal swans who would never look at him the same way again.

I can understand that some people hated him for leaving, but I wasn't one of them. He didn't leave to make millions of bucks somewhere else, but for other (well publicised) reasons. For me there's footy (which I love) and there's life, the bigger picture. He was looking at the bigger picture.

I am with you on that. It seems to be that if you are a relatively minor "celebrity" who decides to write a book about your life (particularly when you're barely a third of the way into your life), you need to disclose some things in a sensationalist fashion.

Methinks it would generally be better just to not write the book.

I can understand that some people hated him for leaving, but I wasn't one of them. He didn't leave to make millions of bucks somewhere else, but for other (well publicised) reasons. For me there's footy (which I love) and there's life, the bigger picture. He was looking at the bigger picture.

It wasnt that he left it was when he left that made me angry the same as Fossie. It was just poor timing. I will still love him if he comes back but I can see some not so happy campers.

The longer it drags on, the more annoying it becomes.

In fairness to Tadhg, it's all largely media-driven. He can be forgiven for taking his time making a life-changing decision. The fact that journos can't help themselves asking about his future when they're meant to be asking about his book isn't his fault.

Thought ye'd want to know..It's all over, all the waiting and wondering..the lad has made up his mind and thankfully he's heading back to Australia..

Kennelly heading back to Oz

Friday, 6 November 2009 21:08

Tadhg Kennelly has informed the Kerry Co Board of his decision to return to the professional ranks of Aussie Rules.

As of now it is unclear to which club he will play for, but it is almost certain that he will resume his role as player and coach with the Sydney Swans, though St Kilda's also are believed to have made him a sizeable offer.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2009/1106/kennellyt.html

Looks like he's made up his mind.
Pity I was hoping to see him play Cork again so we could get our own back. He would have gotten one hell of a hostile meeting.
If I hear one more bloody statement from him or about him whining about his book I'll scream.
The medias golden boy..my God did he get on a lot of people's nerves. I've rarely seen someone go from being the GAA's golden "All Ireland dream cost me €300,000" boy, from being so liked to so hated in such a short space of time.

Interesting. Tadhg is listed as "retired" on the AFL first list lodgement. I wonder if this means that he is no longer on our list? It would seem senseless to me that we would effectively delist him a week before he announces that he's coming back to Australia.

Might be worth firing off an email to the club to find out what the situation is. Whilst I wasn't really fussed whether Tadhg stayed in Ireland or came back, the thought of seeing him in an opposition jumper is more than I can stomach - especially since I have to come to terms with Hall and Jolly already!

Interesting. Tadhg is listed as "retired" on the AFL first list lodgement. I wonder if this means that he is no longer on our list? It would seem senseless to me that we would effectively delist him a week before he announces that he's coming back to Australia.

Might be worth firing off an email to the club to find out what the situation is. Whilst I wasn't really fussed whether Tadhg stayed in Ireland or came back, the thought of seeing him in an opposition jumper is more than I can stomach - especially since I have to come to terms with Hall and Jolly already!

Had the pleasure of hearing Roos speak on leadership at our conference yesterday.

When it got to questions, Kennelly came up and he confirmed he won't be de-listed until the last list lodgement is completed and talks were continuing on a new deal and that it was now in Kennelly's court as to whether he will come back and play.

Reckon we will hear something this week and I am tipping he will be coming back.

DST

Had the pleasure of hearing Roos speak on leadership at our conference yesterday.

When it got to questions, Kennelly came up and he confirmed he won't be de-listed until the last list lodgement is completed and talks were continuing on a new deal and that it was now in Kennelly's court as to whether he will come back and play.

Reckon we will hear something this week and I am tipping he will be coming back.

DST

Try going back a page. He's going back to Australia.

Tadhg is back, alright!