Tallangatta League

Not sure knackers, as they say, there's no prizes for second. Robbie played 8 home & away games in 2007 and all 3 finals. I recall he had some injury trouble mid-season, but not sure what it was exactly.

younger, quicker blokes got in the side first i think AP. then when a bit of experience was needed come finals, Barbs was the man.

dunno the name of the Oval at Tangam?, but they could name it after Robbie and call it "Jurassic Park" (just a thought)
what a servant to the TDFL! he should be the first in if they ever get around to a TDFL Hall Of Fame!
one of those blokes that would crack you one on the field, then buy ya a beer straight after the game.

Julian wanted to play somwhere succesful as well, Kiewa for sure to in finals next year. Not all bout the money.

Rumour has it Mitta looking to get back Dave Paton, Ace Lowcock & 1 other. Look out 5 in a row!!!

What you're kidding! Why did we recruit that chump? Yack as most would agree were very disappointing last year. I still see them as a threat to every club on their day (and maybe with their new recruits will rise up the ladder again). It's not about success for this guy it's about the money! You do realise this will be his 3rd TDFL club. Obviously doesn't play for the jumper, town or his mates. Why do we need him anyway- we have got speed and some great youngsters. Where will we fit him? Does he have exceptional speed? Is he a big, strong, marking player? From what I saw of him this year all he did was attract short passes. Hardly a guy that's gong to win us matches. Shame, shame, shame Kiewa. We need to recruit some of those guys that want to win, will do anything to win or maybe played for Mitta in 04, 05, 06 or 07.

Yours truly and keep it real,

Go hawkers

What you're kidding! Why did we recruit that chump? Yack as most would agree were very disappointing last year. I still see them as a threat to every club on their day (and maybe with their new recruits will rise up the ladder again). It's not about success for this guy it's about the money! You do realise this will be his 3rd TDFL club. Obviously doesn't play for the jumper, town or his mates. Why do we need him anyway- we have got speed and some great youngsters. Where will we fit him? Does he have exceptional speed? Is he a big, strong, marking player? From what I saw of him this year all he did was attract short passes. Hardly a guy that's gong to win us matches. Shame, shame, shame Kiewa. We need to recruit some of those guys that want to win, will do anything to win or maybe played for Mitta in 04, 05, 06 or 07.

Go hawkers
In fairness to Julian Nirvana I can tell you its not about the money for him. He has taken a substantial pay cut to go to Kiewa. In saying that, I would have my doubts recruiting a bloke who has been to 3 Tallangatta Leugue blubs and two Ovens & Murray clubs in his 24 years. There certainly does not seem to be much loyalty there.

Heard on the grape vine that Mitta have signed a couple of Wodonga guys possibly including Slater? What happened to Tallangatta?

And If Day has signed with Kiewa what position will he play, the team is packed with fast young guys, why do they need him?

Kiewa and Mitta agian hey! Its hard to see any teams get close to these two. If Julian Day has agreed to play with the Hawks that will be huge for them as I have not head of any departures. I have also heard that Quinten Qooke has agreed to play there in 2008.
Mitta is a great club but can they win 5 in a row? That would be massive.
Here is a few names leaving Barny.
Hallandale
Semmler
Hooper
Hargreaves
Fairall
Rogers
Laracey Bros
Leahy

It may be tough times ahead next season for the Tigers.

leahy staying, shane and simon laracy staying, rogers had a knee reco and what i here they dont realy care about half those guys leaving they were not much chop any way thats what i herd:)

Hopefully Burgess can build on Hollard's work taking Tiges from 8th to a Prelim last year. Potentially have side to be competitive again if kids McNeil, Shane Laracy and Matt McNamara can come along on top of Withers, Leahy, Laracy and the Roche boys. Pretty big holes to fill though losing Semmler, Hargreaves and Rogers, as most would agree three of the better midfielders in the comp last year. I think they also may have lost Brown and Moore as well. Is Bradshaw staying, heard he may head back up to Dederang with them possibly getting back some ex-players (Price, Elliott)? Good luck though to the Tiges in 08.

Thurgoona FC has are on the verge of appointing Ian Maiden from Lavington as assistant coach next season. Not completely sure how this will go, seen him play a few times and can go ok but can also drift out of the game easily. How much senoir O&M footy has he played in the last couple of years ? Happy to hear others thoughts....

Might be a case of the Thurgoona FC looking at more than on-field performance in their recruiting. Looking at the new culture they are trying to establish at the club retaining ex-juniors (Murray boys, Moscher now Maiden) and locals seems a priority, and are starting to have success. It also seems they have targeted quality people who have had on-field success (Gunn, Wightman) as leaders, something that has probably lacked with them in the past. With so many current quality footballers living in Thurgoona both in district leagues and OM I'd imagine Tony Way and Wightman would be well served to target locals using the appeal of less travel rather than recruiting blokes who have to travel. No doubt with ground renovations, good sponsorship and potentially a good pool of players to draw talent from Thurgoona may be an attractive club to play for in the future.

younger, quicker blokes got in the side first i think AP. then when a bit of experience was needed come finals, Barbs was the man.

dunno the name of the Oval at Tangam?, but they could name it after Robbie and call it "Jurassic Park" (just a thought)
what a servant to the TDFL! he should be the first in if they ever get around to a TDFL Hall Of Fame!
one of those blokes that would crack you one on the field, then buy ya a beer straight after the game.

The whole area is Coulston park but the could name the oval after him, i'd say easily Kiewa's best ever player since the merge.
He actually coached the under 17's to a priemership in 97 that I played in before going to wodonga, only coached one year but he knew his stuff.

Has the sharpest elbows in the whole league too, dirty as they come but yeah your best mate afterwards.

Very strong rumours that Slater & Ainsworth have comitted to Mitta. If so, Mitta and Kiewa are gauranteed to meet again in that great day in september. When was the last time two teams played each other conssecutivly in grand finals in the TDFL?

Go hawkers

Bit harsh on Julian...KIEWA would of used their usually recruiting methods...piss in his pocket then chuck heaps of money at him.

In saying that though i do believe that they may be a strong side once again. I do wonder where they get all their money from though??? maybe they use Yacks method of the ol' chook raffle.

Good going though Nirvana, slag ur own club for recruiting a player..must b a good culture down there.

Very strong rumours that Slater & Ainsworth have comitted to Mitta. If so, Mitta and Kiewa are gauranteed to meet again in that great day in september. When was the last time two teams played each other conssecutivly in grand finals in the TDFL?
Mitta and Tallangatta played off three times in the 90's. 93,96 and 97.

Might be a case of the Thurgoona FC looking at more than on-field performance in their recruiting. Looking at the new culture they are trying to establish at the club retaining ex-juniors (Murray boys, Moscher now Maiden) and locals seems a priority, and are starting to have success. It also seems they have targeted quality people who have had on-field success (Gunn, Wightman) as leaders, something that has probably lacked with them in the past. With so many current quality footballers living in Thurgoona both in district leagues and OM I'd imagine Tony Way and Wightman would be well served to target locals using the appeal of less travel rather than recruiting blokes who have to travel. No doubt with ground renovations, good sponsorship and potentially a good pool of players to draw talent from Thurgoona may be an attractive club to play for in the future.
have you signed up yet Big Al and if not not where r u playing next year. has twoey really retired ?

Not with Doggies, just commenting on what I have heard about the Dogs from people involved. As far as I know Two Bob has hung up the boots, great bloke who was still playing great footy too as runner up in Barton Medal would suggest.

How Old is Keith Aisnworth now??? Surely he must be slowing down soon, good player though.

Julian will fit in well with the Hawks especially with all their young runners, from what I remember he only ever short passed the ball because of his 'questionable skills' so he could be a really good link man in the middle, Hawks should win it in the coming season.

Not with Doggies, just commenting on what I have heard about the Dogs from people involved. As far as I know Two Bob has hung up the boots, great bloke who was still playing great footy too as runner up in Barton Medal would suggest.

You've only half answered the question Big Al. What lies ahead for you buddy?

Try help home club knock Culcairn off. Any other Chiltern players following Trebley and Spike the Lions? They must have struck oil in the town of 1000 the way they have been recruiting. You couldn't have a word to Two Bob and see if he can't ge one more year out of those old legs could you chicken, hate to see the little man blow out again as in the past :D Sorry Danny:D:D

Hopefully Burgess can build on Hollard's work taking Tiges from 8th to a Prelim last year. Potentially have side to be competitive again if kids McNeil, Shane Laracy and Matt McNamara can come along on top of Withers, Leahy, Laracy and the Roche boys. Pretty big holes to fill though losing Semmler, Hargreaves and Rogers, as most would agree three of the better midfielders in the comp last year. I think they also may have lost Brown and Moore as well. Is Bradshaw staying, heard he may head back up to Dederang with them possibly getting back some ex-players (Price, Elliott)? Good luck though to the Tiges in 08.

That time of the year again, the rumour mill has fired up-
Apparently signed a couple of former Tiger (kids) who will return after 3 or 4 seasons at the Wodonga Raiders. Not sure who they are though. Bradshaw committing to Tigers again.
Nicholls return to the fold at Yack is a great thing for the Roos. Has experience and respect, and he's a top bloke to boot!
Mitta & Kiewa may be the ones to beat again, but don't count out any other club just yet. You'd expect a few sides will also add to thier lists, and anything could happen!

Let's fire the old 'Rumour Mill' up lads, who's going where?

Try help home club knock Culcairn off. Any other Chiltern players following Trebley and Spike the Lions? They must have struck oil in the town of 1000 the way they have been recruiting. You couldn't have a word to Two Bob and see if he can't ge one more year out of those old legs could you chicken, hate to see the little man blow out again as in the past :D Sorry Danny:D:D

Good luck Al. :thumbsu:

Big Al you might be surprised to know alot of the guys playing / heading to Cul aren't on big $$$. Maybe the prospect of playing finals / success is worth more than the money. Wouldn't surprise me if your home town club spent more than Cul did last year:cool::cool:

Probably right, never said they were on big $$, but surely you'd admit that with a high volume of recruits does cost a bit. I know a lot of your locals play for next to nix and have been there through tougher trots, but it doesn't change my point as Cul has been able to attract a lot of quality players for what ever reason and would be shelling out a bit of coin. Maybe better keep these comments to Hume league thread though.

would love to get bob to play again as we have been trying in BERRIGAN ever since he left us, any way good luckbig al back at home might have to follow the hume league thread now:thumbsu:

Great choice. I believe the huge dollars that mitta were offering were just to much to refuse:rolleyes: Nick Conway staying on as A/C also. Another good move also, the club couldnt be happier.

Can we get this thread going for Christs Sake. Havent heard from the Thurgoona boys in a while. A scoop on club stallwart Quinny or Watto getting drafted would be great. :D

Get the Culphmister and Franzy back. This thread is lucky to get two postings a day. What about rumours? People going everywhere at this time of year. Post it! Toe Cutter your in the know.
Luke Daly is going from Walbundrie back to Wodonga saints
Spear is retiring. Whitey is staying on as runner, assistant coach, strapper, club president and canteen assistant. :D

I wonder if Daly will be on the same money he was on at saints last time.Obviously Rand/Walbundrie had had enough of paying the big bucks for a guy with osteitis no pumper(no ticker).The blopke spent half last year suspended and the other half sooking.I believe he was given an open clearance.

Apparently Al, I've heard there are another 1 or 2 who will follow those guys from Chiltern to Culcairn. But from what I've heard they are meant to be fringe senior players - havent heard any names tho:cool:, will post if I hear