Tallangatta League

with this weekend supposed to be interleague weekend thought for a bit of fun i'd pick what i think could have been the interleague side. feel free to have a go

b/ Cohen (mitta) Dicketts (DMB) Everon (Chiltern)
hb/ Wightman (Thurgoona) Purcell (Yack) Sutherland (KSC)
c/ Rogers (Barny) Hargreaves (Barny) Rhodes (KSC)
hf/ Hillary(Yack) Cameron (KSC) Beggs(Mitta)
f/ Murray(Thurgoona) Andrews (Chiltern) Packer (Mitta)
foll/ Petrovic ( KSC) Semmler (Barny) Davis (Rutherglen)
int/ Bradshaw (Barny) Butters (Saints) Randell (DMB) D Ladgrove (Chiltern) Tanner (Thurgoona) Surrey (Beechworth)

Just my thoughts be a good side but

pretty good side.maybe put in troy withers from barny instead of cameron from kiewa. Maybe hollard from barny aswell.you should have dickins from chilten. i did notice no tallangatta players!!!!!!! oh that's right they would have to play in the upper murray interleague if there was one!!!!!!

Yes good side and would go well, maybe they should play the upper murray like they used to reggie and the ONE Tallangatta player who has come from there and never played anywhere else like the O & M or Tallangatta league could make himself available - get facts right reggie as lots of other teams have had players come from other places!!!

with this weekend supposed to be interleague weekend thought for a bit of fun i'd pick what i think could have been the interleague side. feel free to have a go

int/ Bradshaw (Barny) Butters (Saints) Randell (DMB) D Ladgrove (Chiltern) Tanner (Thurgoona) Surrey (Beechworth)

i agree a good side, but a few players out of their positions RHG.
Dicketts[FB] has played mainly forward and hardly been in their best, Purcell is not a CHB, (would have Dickens, Fraser or Withers there)
Andrews has kicked goals, but would you play him in such a high speed game as interleague.?
isn't it terrible we are not at the LPO under lights tonight. watching the best of the league strut their stuff. a balmy night, the ground is in top shape and it would have been great to see the side Mr Copley would have picked! would it have been as good as last years? we will never know!

not a bad side rhg but is it based on form or just big names?

What is going on with this site. Thurgoona get smashed one week and the site crashes. We need to get on with it. Franzey, lift the spirits of the lads, come on, show some of that red nut spirit. Get the boys motivated to start typing again. Calling all FOT's, get the TDFL Website up and going again.

I wish to apologise for my long absence, been busy courting a young lass from Mount Benambra, top sort I must say, a bit hairy yes, but natural, I like that:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Does this make Kiewa the side to beat?

Great to see Thurgoona not winning after all the spruiking that was going on from a club that has always been a cellar dweller and should stay there.

It always happens when a team that has rarely ever won games that they start winning one season and they talk premierships!!!

Kiewa and Mitta will play in the big game in September.

Great to see Thurgoona not winning after all the spruiking that was going on from a club that has always been a cellar dweller and should stay there.

It always happens when a team that has rarely ever won games that they start winning one season and they talk premierships!!!

Cheap shot "ducky", since your a newbie. How bout reading the forum since the start and see if you can spot any talk of premierships.:cool:

It always happens when a team that has rarely ever won games that they start winning one season and they talk premierships!!! :thumbsdown:

thurgoona will bounce back!! wherever they finish this year (top 4) they will only build on it in future years with thurgoona (the place) only getting bigger and the whole local CSU campus relocating from albury to thurgoona in the next couple of years!
however, this year you may be right kiewa a very good side and mitta always good. thurgoona playing group know that these two are the sides to beat (along with barny) and looking forward to the challenge of competing at the top of the ladder with them.
why is it though, when sides that have strggled in the past actually are goin okay then suffer a set back everyone jumps down their throats and writes them off completely????? no one at thurgoona has ever talked premierships!! i rekon its good to see sides that didnt feature in finals last year (kiewa, dogs, barny and even saints of late) putting some wins together this year...only can help the competition! :thumbsu:

Well boys, after a very quiet week due to the bye, it's time to crank this thread up again. A few important games this week, Dederang v Saints will be an interesting one, if they both want to keep their faint finals hopes alive it's a must win game. Chiltern go to Tallangatta for what I reckon might be a real danger game, the Hoppers will knock someone off by year's end, Swans will be hoping it won't be them. Barny will beat Beechworth easily, just a training run for the flag favourites, The Dogs go to Rutherglen to try & get back on the winner's list, will they get up or as many of you experts predict, will their slide down the ladder continue. Yack will be trying hard to knock off Kiewa to keep their disappointing season on track, be good to win that one as they have a difficult draw.

i agree a good side, but a few players out of their positions RHG.
Dicketts[FB] has played mainly forward and hardly been in their best, Purcell is not a CHB, (would have Dickens, Fraser or Withers there)
Andrews has kicked goals, but would you play him in such a high speed game as interleague.?
isn't it terrible we are not at the LPO under lights tonight. watching the best of the league strut their stuff. a balmy night, the ground is in top shape and it would have been great to see the side Mr Copley would have picked! would it have been as good as last years? we will never know!

So stop whingeing about RHG's side and put your own in !!

no whingeing RS, if you are that dumb and cant read my post properly, then **** off! see my first 5 words! (I agree, a good side!) why is it that when anyone makes a comment on this site that the serious pricks want take the individual to court and testify where the info came from or back up everything with proof?
Albert Park, you have a lot of knowledge on the TDFL mate, and i like your unbiased opinion. But where does your heart lay in terms of a team? just curious?

MTAG, just a qick note to say that Flyingducks does all his posts in the Lodden Valley League, so if he makes sweeping statements like the one he made here(the only one he's ever made) that means he is a newbie to this post at the TDFL. P.S no effence taken from you.

So lets get back to some fair dinkum banter!!!

check the words under most of our login names DD (we are all Newbies!) most anyway! does any one know how you get to Member status?

Umm even I don't know how that happens for sure ... I've been here 6 or 7 years so that might have helped my cause ... probably just when you get to a high enough level of posts. Also there is the subscription option.

Round 9
You'd think Dederang at home should be too strong for the improving Saints outfit -DEDERANG by 34pts
Tallangatta are every chance of recording win number 1 when Chiltern travel away. I'll tip the Swans however in a close one -CHILTERN by 6pts
Barnawartha will start favourites at home, but they wouldn't want to under estimate Beechworth -BARNY by 28pts
Rutherglen face Thurgoona on the rebound after the dogs recieved a heavy defeat at the hands of Kiewa last round -THURGOONA by 50pts
Yackandandah and Kiewa clash in a match that could make or break the Roos IMO. Yack need to find good form against quality sides to ensure they gain a finals spot and although this game should be a hard fought contest I think Kiewa should take home the points -KIEWA by 24pts

I wouldn't be surprised if I got any of the above wrong, just my opinion. Any thoughts?

Noticed on the OM thread no Culphy on HII Top 100, surely you would of got in there mate. Curious what you think of your omission.

Any news on player movement as the clearance deadline closes, seems a bit quieter this year than in the past. Comments.

As we are close to the halfway point anyone want to have a crack at tipping the premiers, league b&f and league goal kicker... I'll go Mitta over Kiewa in a thriller, Jack Rhodes for the b&f by 11 votes and Derek Murray on 72 goals

Premiership could go to any of 3 or 4 clubs depends who gets it right at the right time. Rhodes will definately be a red hot fav. Benny Davis could go close if rutherglen win a few more games. I think maybe Andrews or Murray for the GK

Heard Tuesday night the Barny coach had his boys running 10 x 400"s. Any truth to this story Big Al / Switch the play? If so Barny will either be the fittest club in the Tallangatta league EVER or they're going to burn out come business end of the season. ;)

i couldnt see danny hargreaves running them to fast, i guess marty slemmler would be the fittest at the club quality player

Noticed on the OM thread no Culphy on HII Top 100, surely you would of got in there mate. Curious what you think of your omission.

Any news on player movement as the clearance deadline closes, seems a bit quieter this year than in the past. Comments.

I see that 2 players allegedly asked to leave Murray Magpies have applied for clearances to Beechworth, along with Tiarnan Halliday, who can play. Dederang have a clearance in for a bloke from Rushworth, Shaun Thompson, and a couple have left Barny for Wodonga Saints, what's the go there Al ? Yack have a bloke from WA Amateurs, Ben Sheridan. Anyone know anything about these guys ?

Two fellas from the 2's who weren't getting a run due to numbers at Barny and wanted to have a kick at Saints. Good luck to them though :thumbsu:.