Tallangatta League

Well done to all the winners last night.
Does anyone have a full run down on the votes club by club?

it probably wouldn't be right anyway gents. last night was a disgrace. either the umpires REALLY stuffed up, or whoever did the counting/slide show cocked up in a big way. i counted 6 games, yes 6. where the 3 vote and 1 vote were mixed up. 1st example, Yack Vs Barny rnd 16. Barny won by 53 pts, Two-Bob got 35-40 posessions BOG by far, and got the 1 vote. Steve Pulla got the 3, two-bob's opponent on the day, with about 20 posessions. example 2- Rutherglen Vs Chiltern, score was something like 22.16 to Cats 5.6. Davis got the 3 and another Cats player the 2. Ladgrove 1 vote.
3rd example- Yack Vs DMB Yack won by 4 goals i think. Mounsey 3, Purcell 1.
i will go out on a limb here and say that if the voting was in fact incorrect as i have suggested, Danny Hargreaves has been robbed. no offence to Nelly, a great player, but there could have been two Barton medallists last night. looking forward to seeing Semmler or Hargreaves Vs Rhodes this week.
aaaaaahhhhhhhh, you can smell the finals now, or is that just the cow shit we all have to dance around at Sandy Creek?????

]I completely agree… the votes just didn’t seem right. Not taking anything away from the winners, all very deserving, and without a doubt Chris Nelson is a great footballer. However it seems a little strange that at the second half of the year a lot of losing teams got the 3 votes. Like the DMB Vs KSC, when Kiewa won by 10 goals and Rhodes by far best on- got the 1 vote and the loosing side got the 3. Maybe were looking to much into things but I was sitting next to the league table last night and even the reps from the Albury umpires league looked a little stunned at the results, after discussing it with them they did admit that the league changed the vote cards around half way through the season from 1, 2 & 3 votes to 1st best 2nd best 3rd best. As I said taking nothing away from the winners, just thought I was a little strange. What are all your thoughts.??.

For those out there who are interested (mainly BigFooty punters) ....Rutherglen had their B & F Count on sunday with the following results:

1. Ben Davis
2 Scott Thompson
3. Julian Day
4. Gavin Tafft.

No surprises in that one

Well done to Chris Nelson on the TDFL League B & F last night (as per Big Footy).

does anybody know who won in all grades?

Both finals games this weekend should be very evenly contested.

IMO, both Barny and Kiewa can challenge Mitta and the winner of that one will take some confidence into the 2nd semi.

2 to 3 weeks ago I would have said that the dogs would win comfortably over Chiltern. However, Chiltern seem to be finding some form. Saw them on the weekend and they did look more dangerous than I had previously given them credit for - especially with Andrews and Landgrove still to return. From the outside, it appears that the Dogs are losing some momentum at an unfortunate time for them. Still, it should be a close entertaining battle to avoid sudden death.

My Tips
KSC by 21
Thurgoona by 13

Reserves- Winner: Calum McBain (Mitta) 16 votes
R/U: Stephen Anderson (Chiltern) 11 votes

Thirds- Winner: Kayde Surrey (Beech) 20 votes
R/U: Dylan Pritchard (Beech) 18 votes

Fourths- Winner: Jye Shields (KSC) 34 votes
R/U: ? (Rutherglen)

Interesting also to note that Chris Nelson did not get mentioned in the 'team of the year'

Just interested to know - why do some clubs not include finals game in their B&F vote counting? Surely the season ends when the team has played its last game, not at the end of the home & away rounds. What do people think about the vagaries of including finals vs not including finals.

I know some clubs have a new count RS and therefor award a "best in finals".Also how was the speech of Anderson from Chiltern in the two's-very modest one so to say the least.

Great to see Nelly winning the league medal last night. Must of got a few best ons because he didnt play many games. I suppose it helps when you stick out like a terrorist. Must be those starring football roles in Neighbours paying off. Good on ya Nelly (Iron Gloves).

6 - 1, half a dozen the other RS. Probably just happens that way because of the systematic structure in all leagues regarding vote counting by umps up until the final round, and traditionally clubs have followed suit.

Very interesting couple of games this weekend. Can Barny produce the goods two weeks in a row. i don't think there midfield will be allowed to dominate i think Kiewa will shut them down. Is the midfield Kiewa'a weakness there backline seems strong and settled they have a multiple of option up forward but is there engine room up with Barny and Mitta's. Sundays game you could roll the dice, flip a coin and still not have an answer to who will win. Chiltern in good form kicking a lot of goals with the human bulldozer (Andrews) back this week could kick a big score. The doggies are a little out of touch but have played at a high sustained level all year will be desperate to make sure that the 13 wins they achieved this year will not be all in vain But i think the big talking point will be who will be first to be bitten by a red back, rained on in the urinal, pissed on in the shower or to fall in a cow pat out at the thriving metropilis of Sandy Creek. Bugger bringing the big games in town after all it is a country league play it out with the red necks and the sheep rooters. Met me missus out that way i'll tell you what though, i get sick of shearing her every 6 months although she does produce a great jumper to get me through the winter. Anyway Big Footyarians lets go to Sandy Creek and have some fun. P.s What do people think of the TDFL Team of the year minus the Barton Medallist obviously the coaches didn't think that highly of him.

Who is coaching Tallangatta next year? Are they keeping Mathey?

Best of luck to the TFC two's in the finals. Butts and Hez in the goals last week. What a blast from the past. hahaha. :thumbsu:

I used to love playing finals at Sandy Creek. Just had that finals atmosphere about it. It should never move.

Who is coaching Tallangatta next year? Are they keeping Mathey?

Best of luck to the TFC two's in the finals. Butts and Hez in the goals last week. What a blast from the past. hahaha. :thumbsu:

I used to love playing finals at Sandy Creek. Just had that finals atmosphere about it. It should never move.

Yeah, there's nothing like the smell of cow sh_t in the morning, and losing a small child in one of the potholes on the ground during the Fourths game.

I agree RS, i see no reason why clubs shouldn't cound finals in their B & F if they qualifiy.

Obviously the league cant do so, as it would be unfair to players in teams who didnt qualify for Finals.

But from a club Point of View it would make sense to include all games for that club. Clubs could still present a "Best in Finals" as a seperate award if they wanted to.

Looking forward to this weekends finals. Good luck to all teams (especially Rutherglen's A and B grade netballers)

Great to see Nelly winning the league medal last night. Must of got a few best ons because he didnt play many games. I suppose it helps when you stick out like a terrorist. Must be those starring football roles in Neighbours paying off. Good on ya Nelly (Iron Gloves).

Nelly played all but two games Ive been told, it was his brother Jason who missed a fair bit of the year. Wouldn't imagine he will be doing any modelling in the near future thats for sure. If you can get a kick for the Erinsborough dingos you can get a kick anywhere. I think his wicket keeping gloves have holes in them. :D

I thought Justin was his brother?

sorry I've been missing for a while and I am just catching up on the news

Almost Done, your comments are a little harsh, I actually beleive that the club umpire in question is one of the better club umpires in the TDFL.

Remember that all club umpires are volunteers and are only there to ensure that there is a game each week.

I know that if the umpire in question was made aware of your comments he would be very upset.

Almost Done and all other TDFL supporters out there remember that umpires in the seconds are volunteering the same as the people on the gate, in the canteen, running the raffles, being the Trainer, the time keeper or the runner they are only there to make your club and your league a better place 2 b

Almost Done before you use this thread to make more stupid comments like that one maybe you should have a go a one of these jobs, I bet you are the type of person at your club who sits back and watches everyone else do the work. And lets face it your club and all other clubs need all the help it can get.

Meanwhile just like to wish all clubs all the best in the finals. Go Cats in the 4ths and A Grade Netball

My Prediction
Mitta 4 in a row

Sorry I've taken so long to reply Top Cat but I couldn't quite figure out whether you were being fair dinkum or not. Your comments above are nothing short of laughable. If you honestly consider him to be one of the better umpires in the league then you need to pull your head out of your own a$$ and stay away from those wineries out there. That cheating red headed DOG should give it away!!!! I appreciate the fact he's a volunteer but surely your club could surround itself with better people than this maggot! I in fact I do hope he reads this post, gets very upset and never comes back quite frankly! :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
Perhaps you can explain to me how a side that has been pumped by 100+ points still have a member of their team score 3 votes in the league medal on more than one occasion? :thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:
As for the type of person I am, well you need not concern yourself with the "type" of person I am. I reckon I would have done more for my club in the short period of time I've been there than you and your blood nut friend will ever do for your club.

]I completely agree… the votes just didn’t seem right. Not taking anything away from the winners, all very deserving, and without a doubt Chris Nelson is a great footballer. However it seems a little strange that at the second half of the year a lot of losing teams got the 3 votes. Like the DMB Vs KSC, when Kiewa won by 10 goals and Rhodes by far best on- got the 1 vote and the loosing side got the 3. Maybe were looking to much into things but I was sitting next to the league table last night and even the reps from the Albury umpires league looked a little stunned at the results, after discussing it with them they did admit that the league changed the vote cards around half way through the season from 1, 2 & 3 votes to 1st best 2nd best 3rd best. As I said taking nothing away from the winners, just thought I was a little strange. What are all your thoughts.??.

This happens every year, people make up conspiracy theories about the barton medal... it's pathetic...but this year its true, the big red nut himself (me) only polled 7 league votes.

I was the dominating force in the TDFL, i have been robbed of my dignity AND my barton medal.......bloody umpires:mad:

This happens every year, people make up conspiracy theories about the barton medal... it's pathetic...but this year its true, the big red nut himself (me) only polled 7 league votes.

I was the dominating force in the TDFL, i have been robbed of my dignity AND my barton medal.......bloody umpires:mad:

I agree. Greg Williams was thinking about legal action, perhaps thats something worth thinking about Shane...... Robbed. Good luck 2morrow, should be a good game. Just remember, if you start going up the gap you have gone to far, need to turn right a bit before the big hill, he he:eek:

The qualifying final between KSC and Barny was a terrific contest and a great start to the 2007 finals.

The hawks proving thier class to run away winners after an even first 3 quarters.

Also, the dogs put on a very soilid display to beat Chiltern comfortably. It was a very impressive way to respond to some late season stutters leading into sunday's elimination final.

Also, the drunken Rugby Lads attempt to evade police on sunday gave onlookers something else to cheer. Good old-fashioned half time entertainment was back.

My Tips for this weekends semis:
Kiewa - 8 points
Barnawartha - 16 points

Doh!, I told the cheese and kisses not to pick me up til a bit after 11.
Now I'm gonna have to find something else to do for the half hour that Mr Maddock usually entertains us in. it wont be the same tonight, might re-think about going now!?
AP, do you think Knighty would be so silly as to bring Dale Andrews back in this week against the Dogs?? I see you have picked them and i agree with you, but i think they could only win if they don't pick Andrews. Spike Brand and co have been kicking big bags between them while Dale has been out, so why risk it? if he does play, he might kick a few and be good, but if he rolls a cankle early (lets be honest, there's a fair chance he will get injured if he plays) then it's game/year over for the Swans and they have wasted an opportunity to get to play in September, where it all happens!

Spot on MTAG, that's exactly as it panned out. The big boy started the game, but was gone by half time. Hope they're not paying him big bucks, as he's OK when he plays, but turning up for a season of footy in that sort of condition is a recipe for injury & disappointment. Well done to the Dogs, they obviously did their homework as some of their coaching moves worked a treat. Helped by both Ladgroves out & Andrews injured. First time I've really watched the Dogs this year, they don't mind the hard stuff, even knocked one of their own blokes out. How did Kiewa v Barny game go. Judging by the paper the Tiges had no answer for Sutherland moving up forward. Who played on him ?

Can i just say congrats to thurgoona seconds for having another good year and stuffing it up when it comes to finals. last year finishing third with only three losses and going out in straight sets and this year finishing fourth with four losses and going down again . what is going on there?

Pretty simple Nice 1, if you finish 4th and lose the Elimination Final, you're out. That's footy. Playing a side whose senior isn't in the finals didn't help, as they usually get a few senior guys back who are qualified to play 2's.

How did Shane Borella go, dominated last year, did he dominate again, heard he slayed em. :eek::eek::eek:

Spot on MTAG, that's exactly as it panned out. The big boy started the game, but was gone by half time. Hope they're not paying him big bucks, as he's OK when he plays, but turning up for a season of footy in that sort of condition is a recipe for injury & disappointment. Well done to the Dogs, they obviously did their homework as some of their coaching moves worked a treat. Helped by both Ladgroves out & Andrews injured. First time I've really watched the Dogs this year, they don't mind the hard stuff, even knocked one of their own blokes out. How did Kiewa v Barny game go. Judging by the paper the Tiges had no answer for Sutherland moving up forward. Who played on him ?

Yeah they don't mind the hard stuff Thurgoona. Cetainly renowned in country footy for being as tuff as they come. Ask anyone. You said you haven't really watched a game this year. Have you or haven't you? No love lost with the Goons. Congrats on the win lads. Handy for the club thats for sure:thumbsu: