Tasmanian Football Thread

haremza resigned at the end of last season.

I heard a former star Lindisfarne junior footballer who played under Ross Brown has been sort out down at Uni. Its not you is it Barge?

If the Bargenator has stuck with the 'Mont through the last 10 years, he sure as hell wouldn't be getting off now. I would have them as favourites for the 08 flag... Plenty of success to come at Tony Abbott Park. At least I would hope so, with the amount of coin that must be getting thrown around...

Nah, would have thought the words star and footballer would have cleared me!

Jason Hack would make a good coach down there, would know alot of the lawyer types down there wouldn't he, it's not him is it?

Can someone fill me in about the devils prospects for 2008 and will there be any improvement from 2007??? Will the coach last the year if they happen to lose the first few games of the year???

You must be a jet then hardnut. I'm from up along the NSW/VIC border and I remember that bloke going very well in the 2006 season. The Hume league is probably the 3rd tier competition in this area behind the Ovens & Murray (#1) and Murray (#2) leagues. Local clubs from both leagues (Yarrawonga and Mulwala) were all over him to sign with them after that season. I've had a look at your competition and it is very good - but I'd rate it a bit below the Ovens & Murray. An average player in your comp will be a handy colt in the Hume League. Like Doobie Renshaw I'm intersted to see what sort of coach he might be, and I'm sure Rennie are interested if anyone knows what sort of players he might be bringing up with him.

I will go one step further an actually say he is a bum. I have seen him play in the local comp and he was putrid, long way off it. Good luck to him though, must be a weak league.

her is one for ya barge. robinson was in ailry beach on his footy trip this year and started mouthing a devonport player. the player asked him outside and he shat himself! 10 minutes later he went and got fifteen blokes and all of a sudden seemed a little bit stronger. anyway ke kid hit one of the players and broke his jaw. his time will come. im sure budgy would have towelled him up

Spot on hardnut, he did sh*t himself, it was 25 players not 15, he come from the blind side of the guy and king hit him breaking his jaw. Little Brad Macdonald and Clint Brown from the devils went after him and he back peddled quicker than someone from running with the bulls in spain. I hope his day comes soon and i'm there to see it.

I would ask Barge and Bomber Gus what there poison is. If they do do it, they are only hurting themselves and no one else. Robinson broke someones jaw and could have potentially killed him with his actions. This is VFL not AFL and Brett Geapen is a fine leader on the field and led from the front in his first season as captain. I hope for the devils sake Cresswell keeps him on with Gilmour his Vice.

Ease up there Son!

There's a few guys on here who will tell you I'm silly enough without that kind of stuff inside my magnificent body!

Drink does me just fine.

Whilst I don't condone king-hitting I do like this Robinson for the fact that he wasn't prepared to put up with Budgie's sh*t and more so because he whacked a Clarence boy!

Don't worry, I know plenty about what Bomber Gus 6 is "alleging". However, as much as I love to stir up things on here, I'm keeping mum on the topic!

Ease up there Son!

There's a few guys on here who will tell you I'm silly enough without that kind of stuff inside my magnificent body!

Drink does me just fine.

Whilst I don't condone king-hitting I do like this Robinson for the fact that he wasn't prepared to put up with Budgie's sh*t and more so because he whacked a Clarence boy!

Don't worry, I know plenty about what Bomber Gus 6 is "alleging". However, as much as I love to stir up things on here, I'm keeping mum on the topic!

you may be speaking out of school there barge , budgie sh*t will actually help robbo become a man , he is a boy still , he can play , but he is as dumb as llyod christmas.
robbo has a problem in that he talks back to his peers, he has done nothing in football or in life for that matter that no one else has done.
brett is the captain of the state and he ( robbo ) had been told numerous times to do something @ training and he continually made excuses and cut corners , when confronted he answered back, in my eyes if someone like a brett geappen talks , says something to you , you take it on board because he is the leader and demands respect, you dont answer back like a spoilt brat thinking your better than you are.
its time robbo grew up and concentrated on his football more because as i said he can play. time will tell!

you may be speaking out of school there barge , budgie sh*t will actually help robbo become a man , he is a boy still , he can play , but he is as dumb as llyod christmas.
robbo has a problem in that he talks back to his peers, he has done nothing in football or in life for that matter that no one else has done.
brett is the captain of the state and he ( robbo ) had been told numerous times to do something @ training and he continually made excuses and cut corners , when confronted he answered back, in my eyes if someone like a brett geappen talks , says something to you , you take it on board because he is the leader and demands respect, you dont answer back like a spoilt brat thinking your better than you are.
its time robbo grew up and concentrated on his football more because as i said he can play. time will tell!

The two stories seem to speak inconsistently of Robinson's character. One portrays him as a coward, the other has him taking on Budgie 1 on 1. I don't know who the Devenport bloke was, but Budgie isn't the weekest going around. There must be something missing in one of these stories.

Given as I have already said I wouldn't know Robinson if he knocked on my front door, from what you are saying he is a very talented young man who sadly doesn't realise how good he could be if he worked as hard as, dare I say it, a Budgie Geappen for example.

One can only go on what one is told!

My mail was Budgie had reacted angrily to something as small as a rough tackle, something which as "Captain of the State" as you put it you would think he would be man enough to take!

I'm not sure what robbo's caper is either.... didn't even front up to the last training run for the SFL rep team last year, and as a consequence, didn't make the team. I think the bloke is wired differently.

Given as I have already said I wouldn't know Robinson if he knocked on my front door, from what you are saying he is a very talented young man who sadly doesn't realise how good he could be if he worked as hard as, dare I say it, a Budgie Geappen for example.

My mail was Budgie had reacted angrily to something as small as a rough tackle, something which as "Captain of the State" as you put it you would think he would be man enough to take!

your mail is incorrect.

Where have they all gone?
Devine apprently got offered big money from clarnece but not sure if he took the deal!
what about the other blokes like the vritch boys, cox, curtin gone?

devine curtain younger veitch all been at training. cox and the older vietch have retired so most of those comments were wrong!

I will go one step further an actually say he is a bum. I have seen him play in the local comp and he was putrid, long way off it. Good luck to him though, must be a weak league.

That's a fair sledge ball and chain! On his form up here a few years ago he would have handled Ovens and Murray footy no worries ..... and that's a better standard of footy than down your way. Either we're talking about a different bloke (this one is aparently c/c of the Smithton Cricket Club at the moment as well), you're taking the p!ss, or he had a shite year last season. On his 2006 form I'd say Rennie are happy to get him anyway. And it was acknowledged that the Hume League is the 3rd tier competition in the area so nobody is spruiking that it is a top class comp!

He coaches the forrest-stanley cricket club. No world beater. Has got some ability though. He might scrape in to Smithton's top 10 players.

Ha, Robbie Devine to Clarence! If that ever happened I'd pay money to see him play against the Demons! Would be worth the money alone to hear all the old supporters tear strips off him!

As for Robinson, my source was the Brother of a Lauderdale player so possibly not the most reliable source I must confess.

I was casting an eye over the Premier League Rep side from 2007 on the weekend and actually wondered why Mitch wasn't in it. That explains it.

Barge,

Talking to a relative of a New Norfolk player today who has been approached by Claremont, seems Bucket is chucking the coin around a fair bit out there!

Also heard the Claremont president has told Bucket that all the money he is offfering isn't available - any truth to this?

Barge,

Talking to a relative of a New Norfolk player today who has been approached by Claremont, seems Bucket is chucking the coin around a fair bit out there!

Also heard the Claremont president has told Bucket that all the money he is offfering isn't available - any truth to this?

I hope they are going beef up security at the Mont clubrooms, there'll be fights galore! :)

NSW (Black Diamond AFL) Footy

COME TO KILLARNEY VALE!! - POSITIONS VACANT
Senior players wanted for Killarney Vale Bombers Australian Football Club for season 2008.

The Killarney Vale Australian Rules Football Club is located on the Central Coast of NSW and offers a tremendous lifestyle with adjacent beaches and ample work available in a growing area.

The facilities at the club are second to none with a great clubroom, bar, gym etc.

Work and accommodation opportunities available.

Payments negotiable.

For more details about the club see www.kvbomers.com

Just send me a private message with your contact details

The Captain of the State should be a leader on and off the ground. Yes Budgie is is a good player and leads from the front on the ground, he is fit and hard at the ball. But he is not a leader on and off the ground. Is he a role model young 15 - 20 year olds ? On field yes, off field no.

Ovens and Murray a better comp? I know they pay big bucks for players and a few from along the coast have been offered huge amounts of cash to move to play in the O&M.

anyone else hear that Gary Poultney has resignd his position as Field Umpires coach for 2008? has a whole lot to do with two men I've mentioned more than once on this forum...