• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

If it's alright with Barge, roorat and Kingpin I might sneak in a quick post about that great game we all love called Football.

I also ventured into North Hobart today and to be honest the Devils were very lucky to keep the winning margin to under 100pts. Collingwood made them look second rate from the get-go with their slick hands and hard running.

Collingwood's listed players highlighted the discrepancy between the AFL and the VFL. Burns, Rusling, Holland, and Cox and Toovey at times, did as they pleased. They also got good performances from alot of other youngsters who I assume were non-listed VFL side only players.

The Devils skill level was poor and they were disfunctional up forward. The only bonus for the Devils was the performance of a couple of their recruits in Vearing, Plummer and Hardy who tried hard and looked like they will be good contributors.

I think the Devils are in for another very long year.

Hey Barge, did you bring Goose down to size? He would surely get closer to his opponents on the cricket field than he does at football. I reckon he wouldn't remember a single bloke he was meant to man up on!

Collingwood 17.10 (112) d Devils 9.9 (63) at North Hobart today.
Edit: Crowd was actually 2051 according to the Sunday Tasmanian!
I was talking to a bloke along the road here who went along for a look, reckoned they were lucky not to get a bigger reaming than 49.

PS: Flood - go for it skip, the forum's here for everyone :thumbsu:
PPS: Barge - yep, not much left of me these days, down to 68 now :cool:

By the way too, someone was telling me about the Hobart v DOSA game at Rosetta last week, apparently young Azzopardi for Hobart busted his leg in two places and the side were supposedly pretty smashed about with injuries.
Apparently it took an hour and a half for the ambulance to arrive to cart Azzopardi off to the hossie. Not good.

Poor old Wade, having to sit and watch that and not even having the option of having a vested interest in the Pura Cup Final.
Sorry Flood, you could always add us to your ignore list;
Ignore lists are used for those people whose messages you wish not to read. By adding someone to your ignore list, those messages posted by these individuals will be hidden when you read a thread.

Kingpin, which Azzopardi? Not Brennon?
Dunno mate not sure, could be the one though.
I'd be hard-pressed to name more than three players on their list these days and wouldn't have met 95% of them, not much interest nowdays.
I was sort of listening to the person who was telling us and watching the telly at the same time but yeah, she reckoned they copped a shitload of injuries out of the game.

PS: Who won out of North Hobart and South Launceston today?

List of phone numbers of AFL Tas employees for anyone who is interested......in the AFL Tas website under "About us", then click on Staff directory.

Just click on the download button to recieve a complete list of mobile and land phone numbers!

I can see someone a little pissed at 3am in the morning ringing a select few of these numbers up and yelling a few choice words at them:thumbsu::D

Maybe ask them nicely to fix up the SFL website back to when it was a fantastic website.

And Kingpin - welcome back, its been quiet without you lately. Not sure if The Flood will agree though.

List of phone numbers of AFL Tas employees for anyone who is interested......in the AFL Tas website under "About us", then click on Staff directory.

Just click on the download button to recieve a complete list of mobile and land phone numbers!

I can see someone a little pissed at 3am in the morning ringing a select few of these numbers up and yelling a few choice words at them:thumbsu::D
Or harassing them in a Special Ed off Crank Yankers type voice :thumbsu:
"Hellooo ScoWade do yoo luk Chocolate Puddiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing?"
"Yaaaay! Yaaaay! Yaaaaay! Yaaaaay! Yaaaaay! Yaaaaaay! I Loike chocolate puddiiiiiiiiiiiing Yaaaaaaay! Yaaaaaay!.... Yaaaay! Yaaaaaaay!"
Trust me, that one really works well with Indian telemarketers too!

PS: Thanks Cadoras, I've been reading but not posting much of late, just relaxing here.
I trust you're going well and things are all fine down your way.

Or harassing them in a Special Ed off Crank Yankers type voice :thumbsu:
"Hellooo ScoWade do yoo luk Chocolate Puddiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiing?"
"Yaaaay! Yaaaay! Yaaaaay! Yaaaaay! Yaaaaay! Yaaaaaay! I Loike chocolate puddiiiiiiiiiiiing Yaaaaaaay! Yaaaaaay!.... Yaaaay! Yaaaaaaay!"

:D LOL. that will make a good U Tube segment wouldn it.

LOL it would indeed. You know what?
I just bet, after reading this, that someone gets on the juice and rings Wadey or one of them at 3am doing a Special Ed voice and I'll get the arrow-of-guilt pointed right squarely in my direction :eek::cool:

LOL it would indeed. You know what?
I just bet, after reading this, that someone gets on the juice and rings Wadey or one of them at 3am doing a Special Ed voice and I'll get the arrow-of-guilt pointed right squarely in my direction :eek::cool:

Ha ha......Now you have said it, it most likely will happen:eek:.. what are the chances that the fat cats at ALF..sorry AFL Tas will jump up and down and have the listing taken off their website now its been made a little bit more knowledgeable to the rest of us?:D

Dunno mate not sure, could be the one though.
I'd be hard-pressed to name more than three players on their list these days and wouldn't have met 95% of them, not much interest nowdays.
I was sort of listening to the person who was telling us and watching the telly at the same time but yeah, she reckoned they copped a shitload of injuries out of the game.

PS: Who won out of North Hobart and South Launceston today?
It was Liam Azzopardi and yes it did take about an hour and a half for the ambo to arrive. I wasn't aware Hobart got any other injuries though.

:eek:Sorry to report that our Beloved Devils suffered a 56 point loss in their practice game against Collingwood. Wilbur may be able to fill in the details such as best players, goals, what he ate and who he sat with etc. etc.

Straight out of the Barge Diet, beer and a pie with sauce.

Margin could have been far greater and is going to be another long year for the Devils.

Cassidy was impressive in the second half for the Devils and looked at ease at that level.

Rusling kicked 6 and will prob get a guernsey come round 1.

Where you there by chance Roorat?

Hey Barge, did you bring Goose down to size? He would surely get closer to his opponents on the cricket field than he does at football. I reckon he wouldn't remember a single bloke he was meant to man up on!

Broke my heart they didn't win.

Goose will never be mistaken for Michael Gayfer that's for sure!

This is exactly what Flood was pertaining to...Idle Chitchat...shame on you!!!:rolleyes:

Yes, sorry Roorat, Had a couple too many Captain Morgans with coke, and it was a slow night after all.....;)

Heading down to watch the practice game this morning, It looks like it will be a scorcher of a day today, glad I'm not running around these days.

Huonville beat Dosa by about 45 pts. Not a bad game. They played 6 20 min 6ths. Both sides had players out. Dosa started well kicking 8 to 2 then 4 to 2 in the second. No injuries of note and both sides felt the heat.

Any other games????

Did the Devils have any decent players against Collingwood?

Devils looked quite good! Rhys Long played very well and his skill level was certainly comparable to his opponents. Cassidy second half was good, and as he gets fitter he should be a handy forward for them, but can also play down back.

Veering off a half back flank will be a handy player for them, he kicks the ball a long way and is an attcking defender.

Harding the big backman is a "top" recruit...he also went forward and kicked a goal.

Bielske impressed, very quick and has a go.

Savage is close to his best and did ok.

The young fullforward Botchelli was impressive, accurate kick for goal and knows where to run and lead for the ball.

Mitch Robinson showed flashes of the talent he is.

Cressa would have been pleased with their ability to run and muscle the game for four quarters, something they couldn't do last year! All in all impressive performance by the Devils!!

Huonville beat Dosa by about 45 pts. Not a bad game. They played 6 20 min 6ths. Both sides had players out. Dosa started well kicking 8 to 2 then 4 to 2 in the second. No injuries of note and both sides felt the heat.

Any other games????
To be honest, when both sides had their senior sides on the park DOSA looked better. In the fifth and sixth periods Huonville ran all over DOSA and were probably slightly fitter in the end to win by 39 points.

Note after 4 quarters though DOSA won by 15 points