• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

Said more on this in other threads, but the Devils have shot themselves in the foot by playing all the games at Bellerive. The 3 in the North this year don't count, seeing as 2 can only be attended by sigining up with the Hawks, and the other was by the goodness of Coburg's hearts. Northerners see it as the Hobart Devils - enough said. Me, I'm isolated from all that by being a 12 year Qld resident - Devils, you little beauty...

You blokes need to get over yourselves -

it is the same story as the afl not supporting Tas you need to be proactive instead of whinging all the time!!!!!!!!!!!!!

wake up - you need to start somewhere - I have always said if the Devils go well Tas football will go well - sure you will agree

If the people in Launy attended more games sure there would be more games there!! This North / South argument is petty and crap - people from the south do not continually whinge about going up to watch Hawthorn - just ask for one game in Hobart - equity goes both ways - they represent Tas and have to be centralised to play as a team

Everyone has their little argument that they hold to - mine is Tas being mis represented

I have been a supported the year after they joined - which to me includes the locals - I was listening to the coverage today heard mention of Long, Cassidy, , Cassidy, Bieslke (escuse the spelling) Burgess, Cornelius, along with the recruits, these blokes have the opportunity to play at the top level against blokes like Thorp (fella who was drafted to Hawthorn along Birchall and Taylor - where did they come from TASSIE), Williams etc

I am not one to jump on a band wagon but I am a damn passionate Tasmanian

You blokes need to direct some of your passion to a broader audience, the team they beat today was full of AFL players -

GIVE them some credit

As I said if the Devils go well so will local footy - even Claremont!!! Do something positive instead of whinging all the time

Carn Tassie Carn the DEVILS

What is this lately - a sudden influx of AFL Tas staff?

wake up - you need to start somewhere - I have always said if the Devils go well Tas football will go well - sure you will agree
You could quantify this statement - how exactly will the Devils going well improve football in the state. I would think it would be the other way around - stronger local comps more players for the Devils to choose from, maybe wouldn't need to recruit mainlanders so much.
If the people in Launy attended more games sure there would be more games there!! This North / South argument is petty and crap - people from the south do not continually whinge about going up to watch Hawthorn - just ask for one game in Hobart - equity goes both ways - they represent Tas and have to be centralised to play as a team
Just check the Mercury feedback forum any time this is raised and you will notice plenty of southern people whinging. Swap you one AFL game for one cricket international(you don't here Northerners whinging about travelling down to them)

You blokes need to direct some of your passion to a broader audience, the team they beat today was full of AFL players -
Um it's basically an AFL reserves comp ergo AFL players - didn't seem to help the Devils last year when the Kangaroo players became the scapegoat

BTW on a lighter note today was the Devils first win since round 14 2007, also against Box Hill and 3 of their last 4 wins have been against Box Hill.

If the people in Launy attended more games sure there would be more games there!!

As I said if the Devils go well so will local footy - even Claremont!!!

Just out of interest, what were the outstanding attendance figures in Hobart last year?

And please enlighten me how any Devils success will benefit Claremont, Brighton, Scottsdale, OHA, Bridgenorth, Cuprona and whoever else?

In any way will do?

FROM THE VFL SITE:

12.13-85 Box Hill Hawks
def. by
13.10-88 Tasmania

Goal Kickers: A. Gilmour 5, P. Koulouriotis 2, T. Langford 2, S. Plummer 2, L. George, A. Cornelius

Best Players: L. George, B. Savage, N. Street, S. Plummer, A. Gilmour, B. Geappen

Thank Christ they decided to spend all that money on interstate recruits instead of putting it into grass roots football other wise the TASMANIAN Devils would have only kicked six goals and been flogged!

I have been a supported the year after they joined - which to me includes the locals - I was listening to the coverage today heard mention of Long, Cassidy, , Cassidy, Bieslke (escuse the spelling) Burgess, Cornelius, along with the recruits, these blokes have the opportunity to play at the top level against blokes like Thorp (fella who was drafted to Hawthorn along Birchall and Taylor - where did they come from TASSIE), Williams etc
Yes they came from Tassie (maybe with the exception of Taylor and Williams) but they didn't magically appear in Devils jumpers ready to play. These guys started off in the Auskick program(run by local clubs and volunteers), progressed to Juniors(run by local clubs and volunteers), played for their schools and eventually ended up at club level footy(run by clubs and volunteers) until noticed by mariners or devils and eventually AFL. They were eventually drafted and the draft fee appropriated by AFL Tas instead of the clubs that developed their talent(..for the good of football) Yes this is another area us serial whingers are crapped off at - and with good reason. AFL Tas is the only state body which doesn't hand on the monetary draft benefits to the club of origin.

Devils won today

come on you blokes

support them

Gilmour kicked a heap

Geappen played like a leader

TASMANIANS

support them!!!!!!!

Can never support a team that has a scum c__t like that bloke.

If Tassie ever has an AFL side, I might reconsider, especially due to the fact Geappen would not get a gig at that level.

Wow - you blokes really are bitter!! - bit like the old bloke down the street who gets cranky at the kids walking on his footpath

Simon Taylor is playing well for the Hawks

Bottom line - if people go to the Devils they get back to footy -simple - is there not a player running around with them who played old scholars last year. I to would love a return to the days of the 79 Clarence v Glenorchy final one of my favourite childhood memories

Come on stop whinging - Burgess had 21 touches in his first game - you may say it is only a reserve comp but it is a damn good standard

Doubt you blokes would support an AFL team - would find a reason not to

Hope you enjoy your day

Can never support a team that has a scum c__t like that bloke.

If Tassie ever has an AFL side, I might reconsider, especially due to the fact Geappen would not get a gig at that level.

you pelican, what a comment!
would get a gig at that level?
not many( if any ) players playing for tassie at the moment would in there current state. comments like that show lack of football knowledge, lack of courage buy posting it on here , and a hint boredem as you have nothing better to do, i hope your not one of those blokes that coulda , woulda and shoulda - pleb.

Just out of interest, what were the outstanding attendance figures in Hobart last year?

And please enlighten me how any Devils success will benefit Claremont, Brighton, Scottsdale, OHA, Bridgenorth, Cuprona and whoever else?

In any way will do?

OK Barge, i'll give you one example. Thomas Salter who played a practice match for the Devils this year is from Scottsdale. He is a product of the development system and at 17 may end up being drafted. There are a lot of boys in the 13, 14 and 15 year age group who watch Thomas with great anticipation of him playing for the Devils and hope he will be drafted. Its someting they can touch, and reach out for themselves. Jesse Crichton and Joey Robinson from Derby and Bridport respectively are two in that category who are hopefully heading along that path.

What does it do for small towns, it gets people excited about footy. It gets young kids saying if i put in the hard work i too can make it. It gets parents involved in clubs, and people passionate about their footy, talking about the next good young kid coming through. And furthermore, Anthony Taylor who played for the Devils is now back at Scottsdale with the Joey Robinson's of this world showing him what it takes and educating him about the system.

And for those who scoff at recruiting Mainland players, this has been the core of our success as a football state, going back to the likes of Bob Chitty who went to Scottsdale back in the dark ages. Many of our young blokes who are drafted are playing against the Devils so why not offer the opportunity for young players from the mainland to have a go down here and have a shot t being drfted or build a new life in the greatest place on earth. I for one believe our salary cap should be lifted so as we can entice former star AFL players to Tassie and the ex Tassie players back as well. This is how we could excite and lift the competiitons image and standard. Think of the publicity that a Mathew Richardson would generate as the playing coach of Devonport. Back in the "glory" days of Tassie footy, we got plenty of players coming here to play from the mainland as well as ex Tassie players back. This is one way to lift the standard. Even back in the 90's I remember playing for Scottsdale against Burnie when Jim Jess and Mark Lee played for them. For my Richmond supporting mate his proudest football memory is being whacked behind play by the General.

Anyway, here are my thoughts on how a vibrant and successful Devils and pathways system could help footy in this state.

not many( if any ) players playing for tassie at the moment would in there current state. comments like that show lack of football knowledge, lack of courage buy posting it on here , and a hint boredem as you have nothing better to do, i hope your not one of those blokes that coulda , woulda and shoulda - pleb.

Lack of football knowledge? The guys a spud, and as for courage, have told him that on numerous occasions.

And just because its a internet forum I can't say what I think?

Grow some balls you putz.

Lack of football knowledge? The guys a spud, and as for courage, have told him that on numerous occasions.

And just because its a internet forum I can't say what I think.

well at the end of the day this guy geappen you call a spud can look back and say.. i captained the state and played for the state. not a bad effort in my book!
PS Calling someone a spud, please explain what this means, im a little intriged?

well at the end of the day this guy geappen you call a spud can look back and say.. i captained the state and played for the state. not a bad effort in my book!
PS Calling someone a spud, please explain what this means, im a little intriged?

Don't deny its a fair effort, and something to be proud of.

Spud...well he sprouts off and has a huge chip on his shoulder.

I'm with you dolamiteblue, i think there is a hint of jealously from some comments i read on this topic. It's always whats in it for us, they get this, they get that, they need to just to be competitive. But as you guys want, lets pump money into local clubs for guys that train once a week and eat furniture for breakfast and wear skins when they play for the sole purpose of preventing chafe!

Tasmanian Soccer Show on Foxtell

http://www.youtube.com/tasfootball

Soccer in Tasmania now has national exposure via Foxtell.

As for THE MAP I have some key meetings this week and hopefully will have some positives to report back.

I will also post some footage of weekend games when I get a chance.

Hey is this the first time Clarence has ever been on the bottom of the ladder?

Duff.

[/FONT]

I'm with you dolamiteblue, i think there is a hint of jealously from some comments i read on this topic. It's always whats in it for us, they get this, they get that, they need to just to be competitive. But as you guys want, lets pump money into local clubs for guys that train once a week and eat furniture for breakfast and wear skins when they play for the sole purpose of preventing chafe!
So what has happened to change your tune from previous comments Ball N Chain?
It will be a ten team comp. Travelling costs will be paid by AFL tasmania. ITs time for them to stop putting so much money into two teams and start devleopment other compeitions in the state. QLD have been doing it for years and they aren't an AFL state. They got 17 kids drafted last year to our two or three. Does that tell you something.

I couldn't agree more, i think when the devils list is unveiled this year you will see up to ten new players from interstate. Its a shame so much money is wasted on players who will be gone in a year possibly two. This money could be pumped into setting up the academy's properly throughout the state so the kids are of a high standard to filter into these higher programs

Spot on Hardnut, would love to see the media get a hold of it. The fact they were on the devils list brings the transfer fee up. However its the clubs that have looked after both these kids for years, AFL Tas have contributed nothing. Was the same when Justin Plapp got drafted. He got drafted from Burnie, all the money went to AFL tasmania. Grant Birchall got drafted playing for Devonport, all the money went to AFL tas. Its a disgrace.

And just because its a internet forum I can't say what I think?

hahahahaha , i find that hard it to believe that you have told him this.
maybe from over the fence whilst eating pies and having paid your admission fee to see such a player, whilst sampling the local drop on the hill, to brew up the courage to speak.
you can say what you think!! go right ahead, although the keyboards voice isnt really as loud as you think.
i like watching people make fools of them selves...........oxygen theif

hahahahaha , i find that hard it to believe that you have told him this.
maybe from over the fence whilst eating pies and having paid your admission fee to see such a player, whilst sampling the local drop on the hill, to brew up the courage to speak.
you can say what you think!! go right ahead, although the keyboards voice isnt really as loud as you think.
i like watching people make fools of them selves...........oxygen theif

Wow, I find it hard to believe that you think you need courage to tell Brett 'Don't you know who I am, check the paper' Geappen he is a f**kwit! Obviously you grew up in an area where fighting was a big thing?

Haha, pay admission to see such a player. You must know him in some form and are one of his arse kissers. Mate, there are better players running around in the lower levels. Christ, Burgess played in the Old Scholars last year and, whilst he is no doubt a very good player, was not the best in the comp at all. Some very talanted players just can't give a stuff playing VFL. Who can blame them.

And Budgie is not the thrashing machine you think is, have seen him bested on more than a few occassions.

Ever heard of the term sycaphant??? I suspect not given your naivety.

Please stop the personal abuse of individuals.

It's just not worth brewing this stuff.

We all have personal views and as this site is so positive and good for the spirit of our game is it worth bring up this stuff right or wrong?

Please stop the personal abuse of individuals.

It's just not worth brewing this stuff.

We all have personal views and as this site is so positive and good for the spirit of our game is it worth bring up this stuff right or wrong?

Touche' - Been down this road before, never ends.

No more negatives.

~New Norfolk Eagles Premiers 2008~

Ever heard of the term sycaphant??? I suspect not given your naivety.

Macquarie, I don't reckon it's anything to do with naivety - I'd say it's because there's no such word....the one you were looking for was sycophant.:eek:

Besides the slightly amusing 'own-goal', I tend to agree with Duff on this one, a lot of us will tune out if we have to read all that rubbish.

Macquarie, I don't reckon it's anything to do with naivety - I'd say it's because there's no such word....the one you were looking for was sycophant.:eek:

Besides the slightly amusing 'own-goal', I tend to agree with Duff on this one, a lot of us will tune out if we have to read all that rubbish.

Now come on newbie, if there is anything more tiresome than reading trash talk, its blokes who come on here and correct spelling mistakes.

And you will spend most of your life on here if you hope to correct every offender on Big Footy. Every second post contains one.

Now come on newbie, if there is anything more tiresome than reading trash talk, its blokes who come on here and correct spelling mistakes.

Oh, I don't know about that Macq... firstly I'm sure a few might get a bit of a chuckle out of your misspelled attack on dolamiteblue's grasp of the English language. Secondly- was it just a simple 'spelling' mistake or something more...?

A little research, and hey presto!

Sycaphants lose respect...

What about Binxy?

The prosecution rests....:D

Oh, I don't know about that Macq... firstly I'm sure a few might get a bit of a chuckle out of your misspelled attack on dolamiteblue's grasp of the English language. Secondly- was it just a simple 'spelling' mistake or something more...?

A little research, and hey presto!

The prosecution rests....:D

I told you to stop stalking me!

But yeah, guilty as charged. Was picked up on it before and didn't learn... Won't happen a third time.

Now stop stalking or an AVO will be sent your way. :)