• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

Wow, I find it hard to believe that you think you need courage to tell Brett 'Don't you know who I am, check the paper' Geappen he is a f**kwit! Obviously you grew up in an area where fighting was a big thing?

Haha, pay admission to see such a player. You must know him in some form and are one of his arse kissers. Mate, there are better players running around in the lower levels. Christ, Burgess played in the Old Scholars last year and, whilst he is no doubt a very good player, was not the best in the comp at all. Some very talanted players just can't give a stuff playing VFL. Who can blame them.

And Budgie is not the thrashing machine you think is, have seen him bested on more than a few occassions.

Ever heard of the term sycaphant??? I suspect not given your naivety.

never said he was a thrashing machine. never said he could fight.

and as for kissing his ass, have you seen it, it has its own post code- the deepest cheeks on the eastern shore that kid. wouldnt go near it.

never said he was a thrashing machine. never said he could fight.

and as for kissing his ass, have you seen it, it has its own post code- the deepest cheeks on the eastern shore that kid. wouldnt go near it.
Are you in any position to making fun of someones deep cheeks dolamite? No i didnt think so!!!!

I have just been told that ben atkin left the ground on saturday with a serious knee injury can anyone tell me if this is true or not.

Wow - you blokes really are bitter!! - bit like the old bloke down the street who gets cranky at the kids walking on his footpath

Simon Taylor is playing well for the Hawks

Bottom line - 1. if people go to the Devils they get back to footy -simple - is there not a player running around with them who played old scholars last year. I to would love a return to the days of the 79 Clarence v Glenorchy final one of my favourite childhood memories

Come on stop whinging - Burgess had 21 touches in his first game - you may say it is only a reserve comp but it is a damn good standard

2. Doubt you blokes would support an AFL team - would find a reason not to

Hope you enjoy your day

1. Maybe it's because I'm stupid as Flood points out but how does Burgess trying his hand at VFL level (and good on him) "get back to footy" and benefit local clubs?

How is his former club University any better off?

2. I think herein lies the problem with this dram of a Tasmanian AFL side.

Hands up everyone on here if you'd all of a sudden drop the AFL club you've supported all your life and start supporting the Tasmanian side?

I know I wouldn't stop supporting Collingwood to do so, and I can bet Wilbur would do the same, and near everyone else would do the same!

How will this new side sell memberships with this already not insignificant problem?

OK Barge, i'll give you one example. Thomas Salter who played a practice match for the Devils this year is from Scottsdale. He is a product of the development system and at 17 may end up being drafted. There are a lot of boys in the 13, 14 and 15 year age group who watch Thomas with great anticipation of him playing for the Devils and hope he will be drafted. Its someting they can touch, and reach out for themselves. Jesse Crichton and Joey Robinson from Derby and Bridport respectively are two in that category who are hopefully heading along that path.

What does it do for small towns, it gets people excited about footy. It gets young kids saying if i put in the hard work i too can make it. It gets parents involved in clubs, and people passionate about their footy, talking about the next good young kid coming through. And furthermore, Anthony Taylor who played for the Devils is now back at Scottsdale with the Joey Robinson's of this world showing him what it takes and educating him about the system.

And for those who scoff at recruiting Mainland players, this has been the core of our success as a football state, going back to the likes of Bob Chitty who went to Scottsdale back in the dark ages. Many of our young blokes who are drafted are playing against the Devils so why not offer the opportunity for young players from the mainland to have a go down here and have a shot t being drfted or build a new life in the greatest place on earth. I for one believe our salary cap should be lifted so as we can entice former star AFL players to Tassie and the ex Tassie players back as well. This is how we could excite and lift the competiitons image and standard. Think of the publicity that a Mathew Richardson would generate as the playing coach of Devonport. Back in the "glory" days of Tassie footy, we got plenty of players coming here to play from the mainland as well as ex Tassie players back. This is one way to lift the standard. Even back in the 90's I remember playing for Scottsdale against Burnie when Jim Jess and Mark Lee played for them. For my Richmond supporting mate his proudest football memory is being whacked behind play by the General.

Anyway, here are my thoughts on how a vibrant and successful Devils and pathways system could help footy in this state.

Oh for the love of Pete!

Don't get me wrong, I hope this Tommy Salter kid goes on to have a 15 year career in the AFL, but wouldn't it have the same effect on the youth of the town by him being selected in the State Under 18 side for the Nationals?

Secondly, not having a dig at the guy but how many games did Taylor play for the Devils?

Bob Chitty? Jim Jess? Mark Lee? Richo?

I don't think any of these 2008 Devils Recruits are in their class!

I have just been told that ben atkin left the ground on saturday with a serious knee injury can anyone tell me if this is true or not.

Season over! :thumbsdown:

Done the ACL and needs the reco.

Whilst not good news for Claremont or Ben, it may be a blessing in disguise in that they will have to get the job done themselves rather than falling into the trap of sometimes leaving it up to Ben.

Why, Do you think Triabunna might have a chance of beating Claremont if he is not playing this week?

Well yeah he is the best player in the comp and triabunna need all the help they can get

Sad if true no one deserves that to happen

If your best effort is getting within 18 goals of Sorell then I don't like your chances of beating Claremont even without Ben Atkin.

Maybe your best chance is playing Millsy for a game and having him eliminate a dozen Magpies and hey presto you're right in the running!

If your best effort is getting within 18 goals of Sorell then I don't like your chances of beating Claremont even without Ben Atkin.

Maybe your best chance is playing Millsy for a game and having him eliminate a dozen Magpies and hey presto you're right in the running!

What are the chances that Mills would be lynched by the Magpie supporters at Abbotsfield park if that happened? I reckon it would be very highly likely he would be strung up the flag pole by old Ma Lockley herself! :D

The big clash is at the 'Bunna but I have no doubt if a lynching were to take place Millsy would take as many scalps as he could before hand!

I'm faeful of what the scoreline will be at Snug this week Cad, where your boys host Kermandie coming off a nine goal loss to Huonville!

I don't think they're gonna be in a real good mood!

The big clash is at the 'Bunna but I have no doubt if a lynching were to take place Millsy would take as many scalps as he could before hand!

I'm faeful of what the scoreline will be at Snug this week Cad, where your boys host Kermandie coming off a nine goal loss to Huonville!

I don't think they're gonna be in a real good mood!

Probably cop a a bit of a mauling, hopefully the young fellas can give a good account of themselves.

Good Luck to Paul "Frankie" Loveluck who heads off to the Kokoda track with a bunch of blokes (amongst them, young Loveluck who gave Daniel Gray a dust up in the practice game) next Tuesday for a 10 day trek to raise money for prostate cancer research. I think they have raised over $100,000 so far in sponsorship/pledges.

Be interesting to see if Frankie will pull the boots on when he comes back from that trek. Would be worth the admission itself if he came face to face with Mills himself.

Oh for the love of Pete!

Don't get me wrong, I hope this Tommy Salter kid goes on to have a 15 year career in the AFL, but wouldn't it have the same effect on the youth of the town by him being selected in the State Under 18 side for the Nationals?

Secondly, not having a dig at the guy but how many games did Taylor play for the Devils?

Bob Chitty? Jim Jess? Mark Lee? Richo?

I don't think any of these 2008 Devils Recruits are in their class!

No Barge its not he same as making the under 18 side, because a lot of young blokes have done that from the area, but the added committment and exposure from the Devils will hopefully see them afl ready. You've also missed the point about recruiting young blokes from the mainland to bolster our ranks, as well as the ideas around recruiting mature aged afl players into local competitions. The fact is with the coin on offer from mainland country leagues our clubs don't stand a chance of getting afl players to play for them. If we can get blokes who have been in the devils side back into the Tasmanian comps, then this is as close as we will get to having afl players as we did in the past. FWIW Ant Taylor played around three years for the Devils, as well as coming through the Mariners system when it was in the TAC. Invaluable experience that can be passed onto young blokes who think that they will play afl just by rocking up to training twice a week and having a kick with their mates on a weekend.

What we as a footy community have to get our heads around is that having strong and vibrant devils could be a benefit to our clubs and that we are not going to get back to the 60's and 70's or even the great days of the Statewide league. That the devils can be our source of professionalism and can lift the level of the Tassie leagues. I'm not saying we have to go and follow the club, but if we have big squads of blokes doing the work of semi professional footy players filtering back into local comps, the comps will be better for it. And clubs will also be better off if we can continue to get blokes like Plappy and Atkin back coaching at the end of their careers.
I understand and sympathise with many on here about the way Scott Wade and others have gone about the whole Devils thing, but realistically many are just pining for a bygone era, and don't have the vision for change and the opportunities that it could bring.

Oh, H!

Are you telling me that making Devils and making the State Under 18 Carnival Side is not the same in the regard of as you said it "It gets young kids saying if i put in the hard work i too can make it"??

If Thomas Salter makes the Mariners the young kids around are still gonna dream!

If he or any other kid doesn't get drafted the same year they play in these Under 18's titles then you well know their chances of getting drafted are almost gone. Saying the Devils provide that pathway is nothing but piffel!

If the Devils concept is so great then why didn't Ian Callinan get drafted?!

And your suggestion of giving the Devils an increased Salary Cap to "entice former AFL players and ex Tasmanians back" is ludicrous!

Can you imagine the reaction of Werribee, Williamstown, Box Hill and Coburg to this? They'll be screaming "Why give Tassie a better shot at a flag than us by giving them more coin to recruit with!"

To cut a long story short, the Devils were only ever created not to give a pathway to the AFL to those who don't get drafted at 18 years old, but to create a pathway to the dream of one day having a Tasmanian side in the AFL!

We all know that's the case!

2. I think herein lies the problem with this dram of a Tasmanian AFL side.

Hands up everyone on here if you'd all of a sudden drop the AFL club you've supported all your life and start supporting the Tasmanian side?

I know I wouldn't stop supporting Collingwood to do so, and I can bet Wilbur would do the same, and near everyone else would do the same!

How will this new side sell memberships with this already not insignificant problem?

It is hard to imagine but the reality is, it happens. I grew up in the 70s following Carlton from my home in Tassie and enjoyed the flags in the 70s and 80s. In 1989 I moved to Sydney for work and the only footy worth watching was the Swans at the SCG. I went as often as I could, watched the low points of the early 90s, bought a membership in 1993 as the side faced extinction, celebrated with a few thousand others when the 26 game losing streak was broken. Then it happened - in early 1995 the unbeaten ladder leaders, Carlton, came to town. The Swans under Barassi upset them by 72 points. I was there. I loved it. I was confused. The Blues won the 95 flag but to me it was just another Victorian club. By 2005 I was a Premiership Club Member at Sydney, decked out in red and white deliriously celebrating at the MCG on grand final day. If you'd told me that in 1988 I'd have laughed.

If Tassie had a team in the AFL lots of people would buy a membership even if they supported someone else. I probably would. After a few seasons of the Victorian media patronising the team and making endless jokes about two heads and appalling weather and how Tassie is hopeless and Collingwood supremos started whinging about all the handouts (even if they don't really exist) you might find yourself waivering.

I don't know for sure but never say never.

If the people in Launy attended more games sure there would be more games there!! This North / South argument is petty and crap - people from the south do not continually whinge about going up to watch Hawthorn - just ask for one game in Hobart - equity goes both ways - they represent Tas and have to be centralised to play as a team

Do something positive instead of whinging all the time

Carn Tassie Carn the DEVILS

www.tassiedevils.moonfruit.com

I'm one of those whingers, apparently, but where you see roses I see a problem we need to fix...I'd call that site a positive contribution, too...

The Hawks have nothing to do with the Devils. If the South wants one there, Hobart City Council needs to negotiate with Hawthorn and the AFL...

There is no evidence to suggest that the cricket scenario will work for footy, when you take into account the disparity in wages between the two sports, leading directly to players such as last year's captain and leading goalkicker deciding they couldn't play because of work. All that has happened is that good players have quit - simple as that. Once players don't have to make this decision, becoming full-time pros in the VFL, then by all means, make them move to Hobart - that's where the job is.

But that's training - I still don't see why the team still can't play half its games in the North. Look in that site, and you'll see attendances for the first couple of years even out across the state...but I can tell you that the North backed away pretty quickly once the 2002-03 push for Hobart centralisation by various southern pollies and footy presidents became common knowledge...I think everyone got burned by the SW League, and one of its primary faults was the southern-based administration's history of bias...so to Northerners it was no surprise when history seemed to repeat itself, and once that attitude set in, you're talking about nearly 200 years of greater grudges continuing on...the South does arrogantly selfish things, and the Northerners start grizzling like little b!tches...neither side comes out of this looking good...

You're not looking at the reasons behind the ditching of the team, just at the current numbers on the surface. I say go in the opposite direction of misguided demographics, and put it in the club constitution - an even split every year forever. Get the AFL to subsidise the loss. Tell everyone in the state that this is their team, because at the moment it's not - drive to Launceston and see for yourself. Go to the big sports store in L'ton, and have a chat with the manager - I did! Eye-opening stuff. Breaking down this attitude will take time. Otherwise, let's get real - call it the Hobart Devils and cut your losses - promote heavily in Hobart and expect half the state not to give a toss...because that's exactly what's happening right now...

Other than that, we are united by your last sentence! One of my big ambitions is to watch the Devils play any game at all (bit hard up here)...if they make a GF I'll fly down...

Flood and Barge have highlighted my points!!

Come on I am a strong Saints supporter but I am a strong Devils supporter and would support an AFL team from Tas as it is where I am from!! and I expect others would as well.

I am not expecting you to suddenly start supporting AFL Tas as you love bagging them so much!! I agree that local footy needs supporting but come on the fact that Burgess is playing for the Devils is a good thing (I used to play for Uni in a very bad way!!)

Start offering some alternatives - where is Justin Plapp now, where is Mat Geappen?

The alternative you are offering is to go backwards and for Tas to live up to its reputation of a backwater!

Who - me? Hell yes - I've said to many in the past that my 30+ year support of Hawthorn would be in serious jeopardy if a genuine Tasmanian side got into the AFL...not a relocation, not even the Hawks, but the real dark green deal...

All I'm saying is that this current "forward direction" is misguided. Ignoring the past isn't a solution to not "living in the past" - if you aren't looking at the reasons why the team hasn't grabbed the whole of Tassie and instead just blindly follow structure models of other places that have nothing to do with us, then your forward direction is instead a path to oblivion...

And it's arrogant to say to half the state "come on, support us" when the Devils once had it and now it's gone...why did they lose it? Already said why...if the Devils want the North back, they need to sell good reasons as to why they should get it - taking all of the stand-alone games and replacing them with a training session and BBQ in Scottsdale doesn't quite cut it...you can't attract them if you say the games will be given back if northerners stop being so naughty...

You want the solution? The Devils boost their finances so that they can employ every footballer and staff member as full-time professionals. Cutting a long story short, this won't happen (unless you get some VERY clever people on board), because there's a limit on how much sponsorship you can get for the side when your exposure and opposition is suburban Victoria, and alternately you will have 11 very angry ex-VFA teams asking for heads to roll if Tassie gets a big funding from the AFL to play in the VFL and they don't. You want Plapp, the Geappens, and all those very formidable ex-players mixing it with the current side? You've got to pay them. Ain't gonna happen...if you were paying attention during Andy's visit last year the reasons are obvious, so the Devils need to look at where they are physically standing. You can't compare it to cricket, because the Tigers are one of 6 pro teams fully funded by CA, which is the equivalent of the Devils being an AFL side...pros v amateurs...

Base the team to train and live in Hobart, play half of the home games at York Park without a Hawk link, apply for AFL funding on two counts - 1) forecasted loss of profits if those damned northerners won't show up, and 2) a relocation fund for Northern players to ensure they are taken care of when they move South (the Swans and Lions had a living away from home allowance)...and start selling merchandise - you can't buy any guernseys or team gear in Launceston, and it's because AFL Tas won't deliver - the stores are trying, which was that conversation I was alluding to in the previous post...I have a 2003 jumper and I lost a stubby holder (respect, DuffTV, respect!), but if you want to update, you can't on the internet - no site.

Get the games on tv, and give the Examiner and Advocate reasons and incentives to plug the team in their papers...you work this out - the two papers give token coverage these days to the Devils, and any newspaper is a business governed by interest in the topic and ascertaining what news will sell...the bare space instead says it all to me...and while we're at it, how about giving above-mentioned Duff half a million dollars so that he can put a weekly Tas footy wrap on SC or WIN...?

This weeks Regional games:

Lindisfarne (35) v Sorell - Should be entertaining, Lindis too much firepower up forward
Huonville (40) v Cygnet - Huonville to keep form going, Cygnet struggling
Dodges v Central (12)- Central in game of the round
Channel v Kermandie (80)- Young Channel side to have a crack for a half but fall away in second
Triabunna v Claremont (140)- Claremont to give Triabunna a lesson.

Come on Jelly, get the name right. It is the "Central Hawks" It is all or nothing, none of this Central crap ;)

So what has happened to change your tune from previous comments Ball N Chain?
I think the devils is a good concept it is just poorly managed. I think the mariners should go, the statewide comp needs to work to filter the VFL team, i think the heavy recruiting done is a shame as there is so much talent in this state, that was proven in 04 and 05 when the team reached the prelim and i think there was only one or two from interstate. Thats what i'm saying, my tune hasn't changed, i think the devils are fantastic and gives kids who want to play at a higher level a chance. I just think that the suits running the show forget about the other competitions which feed into it and that is whats letting down footy in this state.

This weeks Regional games:

Lindisfarne (35) v Sorell - Should be entertaining, Lindis too much firepower up forward
Huonville (40) v Cygnet - Huonville to keep form going, Cygnet struggling
Dodges v Central (12)- Central in game of the round
Channel v Kermandie (80)- Young Channel side to have a crack for a half but fall away in second
Triabunna v Claremont (140)- Claremont to give Triabunna a lesson.

While I can't fault your selections Jelly, I think you're being very generous with the margins.

I can see the Blues winning by more, the Lions by A LOT more, Sharks v Hawks could be your closest, put a one infront of the Kermandie winning margin (Sorry, but I think they'll be in a c... of a mood after last week) and I'd like to think Claremont, if they don't go up there thinking it's a matter of walking out there and collecting the points, can win by more than 140 as well!

However, on the very, very rare ocassions in the past I have been wrong before!