• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Tasmanian Football Thread

What a soft **** type of reply. Why can't Ulv win it. Crawford had injury problems all year last year Wish was playing VFL will miss Anderson and Howard although i think he will play again. Harris, (you know it all) will simply be a sensational player . I have seen him play and he will be the best onballer in the comp. Ford will be unstoppable. There will not be a defensive player in the league that will handle him.Vanderfeen Ponsoby and Howard up from the u/19s will be very very good players. Alford will play for Ulv. Don't be a goody to shoes. Aren't we all bias at some stage.

Here's a new talking point. Think about these....

2008 tips for:
a) Premiership
b) League Best and Fairest
c) Leading Goal Kicker
d) Player to watch/most improved/under the radar

Any league around the state..... Comments with predictions are good too!

I'll try SFL Regional League.

a) I'll play it safe and say Kermandie. Dunno they've lost much except for Kayzer and no doubt they'll have bought a suitable replacement.
b) I'll take a punt on Dodges Ferry's Isaac Bennett. Very good young player.
c) Michael Darcy. As obvious as Derbyshire in the NTFL injuries notwithstanding.
d) Kyle Chamberlain. Ex Glenorchy apparently playing with Sorell this year.

What a soft **** type of reply. Why can't Ulv win it. Crawford had injury problems all year last year Wish was playing VFL will miss Anderson and Howard although i think he will play again. Harris, (you know it all) will simply be a sensational player . I have seen him play and he will be the best onballer in the comp. Ford will be unstoppable. There will not be a defensive player in the league that will handle him.Vanderfeen Ponsoby and Howard up from the u/19s will be very very good players. Alford will play for Ulv. Don't be a goody to shoes. Aren't we all bias at some stage.

haha! you really do rate the ulv team to a great extent don't you? I do think from the hype Harris has got he will be reasonable, Ford aswell considering he is a SANFL/VFL premiership player, but all too often teams talk up there new recruits to the point of insanity...and it doesn't eventuate! Again, my original point, aside from taking the piss out of you due to you loving ulverstone, was that it was probably a bit early to make some of the calls you did! Should harris tear it up in round 1, 2 and 3...then i will start listening to your calls!

Are you speaking of Launceston as a confusion that they are in fact who i believe North Wester should have been infering to be the premiership favourite? To be honest, i am quite keen on Burnie, but my posts do not have ridiculous bias which was the point behind what i was saying...

i.e. i didn't write

a) premiership - Burnie they will have a crack because of their outstanding recruiting because i can still see reason that there other teams out there.

b) baldock medal - one of the burnie players whom will have so much of the ball

c) goalkicker - justin plapp because he is a star etc etc.

d) player to watch - every single burnie young gun...

Instead: i wrote what i honestly believed without being clouded by bias which is the whole point of this ridiculous post!

You stain on society - get off your knees and stop beating off at the same time you boring, boring piece of ****

Hobart Football Club look set to sell the Brisbane Hotel which has been owned by the club and run by the HFC Sports Club since 1974.
Curious decision given that the pub is now making more money than it has in living memory (it's now a very popular Goth nightspot) but it apparently needs a fair bit of renovating so they've deemed it in the best interests to offload the place now and go into another venture elsewhere.
Where that is, who knows. I just hope they don't piss the money away.
One insider remarked to me 'The club's got as much money in their bank account now as when Geoff George was president!'
Personally, I doubt that but I hope they don't follow the spending regime that ANZ Geoff did during the Browning era - money handed out like confetti in a hurricane and we were sent broke!.
From a traditional standpoint, although it's disappointing to see yet another tradition of Hobart being gotten rid of, I don't really see it as a big deal ending our association with them after such a longtime as the pub and club generally haven't been all that closely tied nor had the closest relationship for many years, as far as being a 'stronghold' for the club and fans goes.
The past players made it their HQ until about 12-18 months ago when they had a major falling out with the new licensee and went elsewhere.
Also the lack of people going to football matches these days and the lack of supporter involvement with the clubs doesn't see the need for a fans pub any longer, sadly.
The club has allegedly paid out all expenses from 2007 including players and coaching staff and allegedly has more money in the bank through sponsorship than it has had since the Statewide days (albeit that wouldn't be difficult).
Their TasKeno sponsorship has now been extended by 3 years which they share with Glenorchy.
According to last night's AGM the club will be wearing the Tiger jumper against Glenorchy in one match in July.
Apparently Kingborough's been having a big whinge about it, but as far as I'm concerned the precedent has been set with North & Brighton - so they can f*ck off with that argument.

Just thinking about it, there's very little or anything left of the old Hobart really from 10 years ago.

Sorry for changing the subject, but I'm after a bit of info if anyone has it.

Am new to Hbt and looking for a kick - prefer Old Scholars league so I don't have to travel so much and can tailor my training a bit.

I live near Hutchins - does anyone know where/when they are training at present? Also - who is coaching and what sort of numbers they are getting?

Any info appreciated.

I think the Mont could take it out this year
Jarrod Collis with big Nshy feeding him all year
Pud is a certainty
Nippa Webster- will give Collis a big shake if he is fit for the season

I'll try SFL Regional League.

a) I'll play it safe and say Kermandie. Dunno they've lost much except for Kayzer and no doubt they'll have bought a suitable replacement.
b) I'll take a punt on Dodges Ferry's Isaac Bennett. Very good young player.
c) Michael Darcy. As obvious as Derbyshire in the NTFL injuries notwithstanding.
d) Kyle Chamberlain. Ex Glenorchy apparently playing with Sorell this year.

Claremont
Nick Doyle
Pud
???

Glenorchy
Ken hall
Gareth Delaney
Blair kean or Brock Nightingale from the pies.

Phatom5 you know what you can do. I won't be far of the mark i can tell you. You dont like it dont read it you bake bean.

One thing to take into consideration is Uvie has The Fox as coach!! He knows how to get sides up, and win premierships. If Ulvie has the talent, and time will tell, Max will get them a priemersip. His results prove he is the best coach Tassie has had.....if there has been someone with a record such as Max please tell me???
He also coaches a team with a very small population base compared to the other sieds in the comp. Max will be reagrded as the best coach local footy has seen!

One thing to take into consideration is Uvie has The Fox as coach!! He knows how to get sides up, and win premierships. If Ulvie has the talent, and time will tell, Max will get them a priemersip. His results prove he is the best coach Tassie has had.....if there has been someone with a record such as Max please tell me???
He also coaches a team with a very small population base compared to the other sieds in the comp. Max will be reagrded as the best coach local footy has seen!

McGuane has been the best coach on the coast for the last 20 years. He won Burnie a premiership when all the big clubs were involved. Not like it was years ago when Brown left along with 20 odd senior players and Ennis took them to back to back premierships staight away. McGuane left Burnie and we won 4 premierships. McGuane changed the way we went about football. Max left Dport in poor shape 98/99 and Ulv last time in 03/04 when Plant took over. I suppose though coaches have to know when to get in and in the Fox's case when to GET OUT.

Docker5, you obviously were invovled with McGuane.
Yes he coached well, however could not get Burnie any higher than 5th when he coached them in THE BIG LEAGUE (Statewide) 2000. He won the flag the next year when the Statewide disbanded and the Dockers played in a lower level than Stsatewide. Brown is by far the best locally grown coach Tasmania has produced, and the manner in which he has developed Uverstone over many years, not just 1 or two years, is amazing!

Docker5, you obviously were invovled with McGuane.
Yes he coached well, however could not get Burnie any higher than 5th when he coached them in THE BIG LEAGUE (Statewide) 2000. He won the flag the next year when the Statewide disbanded and the Dockers played in a lower level than Stsatewide. Brown is by far the best locally grown coach Tasmania has produced, and the manner in which he has developed Uverstone over many years, not just 1 or two years, is amazing!

ha ha you fool boy, last time i checked, max has never won anything in the " big league" either! can you tell me how max has gone in his last 2grand finals??? o thats right, he has lost them!! dont ravel on here what a master coach he is when he has never done anything when power clubs were involved! he had a super team in 98 at dev and still couldnt make a grand final!

Thats a good call. I forgot about Max's preformance in that pre final when he had the most expensive side ever to grace the field in a game in Tasmania blew it and then left them in the luch. Please don't put Brown in the same basket as McGuane. McGuane was sensational. He took a very average Burnie side on and turned them into a power.

I reckon you're selling yourself a bit short in terms of Burnie's "natural talent" here. They were very good in all positions on the ground for a long period.

I have heard that Mick's pre-game addresses were outstanding, thoroughly well organised and very motivating. A professional approach from someone that had been in the big time and succeeded. On this basis, he set up a very good platform for those to follow.

I'm not certain, but are you sure McGuane coached Burnie in the Statewide League in 2000?

Sure it wasn't Graham Wright?

I can only recall MM coaching in the NTFL.

More than happy to be corrected if wrong.

I'm not certain, but are you sure McGuane coached Burnie in the Statewide League in 2000?

Well picked up Barge - following quote from Burnie website

McGuane was the first NTFL coach the Dockers had, followed by triple premiership coach Nick Probert and are currently led by club champion Errol Bourn. McGuane had a 100% success rate at the helm with the Dockers winning the 2001 flag with Ulverstone being the only side to get within 15 points of the side that year

Your code name says everything Dorky. Maguane shits all over the Fox, Max may have coached a couple of premierships but that was when it was a micky mouse comp. When all the good teams come back Max has faulted. As he did in 98 with the gun Devonport side he had. They were the best team on paper by far and couldn't get the job done. And if you don't rate Mick. Then surely Nick Probert's record is far better. He coached three in a row.

Ball N Chain again i like your style. McGuane was by far the best i have seen on the coast. And another thing he could put his own socks on. Brown won them when East Devonport were winning games for goodness sake.

mcgaune coached the last statewide burnie is 2000. won the premiership in the first year back in the ntfl in 2001, burnies first of 5 in a row. wright never coached burnie. barge, ill give credit where credit is due, i think in your 6 thousand posts on big footy, some sober some under the weather, this is your first incorrect comment:D

Maybe got mixed up with him being assistant coach in 99 and 2000