Tasmanian Football Thread

I must of missed the post on here in regards to the HOT DOG EATING REPRESENTATIVE MATCH!

Don't worry Sunshine, if I were the coach in any face feeding representative clash, you would be my first picked!

I'm actually amazed that considering the Trophy the NTFA and Regional League will be competing for, that there haven't been players banging the door down begging to be included in the squad.

A trophy named after two icons of said competitions.

Two legends of Tasmanian Football.

Two legends of this very forum.

I refer of course to the INAUGURAL .........

BARGE-ROORAT CUP!

Come on you bludgers, show a bit of Southern Pride!

Don't worry Sunshine, if I were the coach in any face feeding representative clash, you would be my first picked!

I'm actually amazed that considering the Trophy the NTFA and Regional League will be competing for, that there haven't been players banging the door down begging to be included in the squad.

BARGE-ROORAT CUP!

I'll put my hand up for the north. Mind you I'm an average reserves player. Anyway, we all know thew better half of the state going by results in recent years.

BARGE-ROORAT CUP!

Thanks Barge, for the Legend status, but think the name should be
The ROOBARGE CUP.

Another message in the Mercury Today for all you "Shirkers"​
Shirkers will be banned
"ANY Southern Regional League player who shirks the representative clash with the NTFA at Aurora Stadium in two weeks will automatically be suspended for two matches."
This should probably read unless you are selected in the Devils team.

SFL boss Roger Viney warned yesterday he would personally ensure all AWOL players copped the penalty."

"It's not good enough that we go to the trouble of organising the opportunity for our players to play at a higher level, and some of them appear disinterested in representing their competition," Viney said.
He said the main focus of the representative games was to increase the standard of Tasmania's three regional competitions.
"I would like to see these events bringing together the administrations in pursuit of the same goal, that being the improvement of footy in this state and underpinning the Devils (VFL side)," Viney said.

So what is this blokes main agenda the good of Football or "underpinning the Devils" When are they going to realise that our main agenda doesn't include the "honour" of playing for the Devils.

Do you get any match payments for playing in the Rep side or reimbursed any travel costs?
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,21787929-13222,00.html

Barge was to Claremont what Dermott Brereton was to Collingwood.....merely a large distraction for opposing teams who weren't sure whether he could play or not so they put a key defensive player on him......would that be right Barge?

Thanks Barge, for the Legend status, but think the name should be
The ROOBARGE CUP.

Another message in the Mercury Today for all you "Shirkers"​
Shirkers will be banned
"ANY Southern Regional League player who shirks the representative clash with the NTFA at Aurora Stadium in two weeks will automatically be suspended for two matches."
This should probably read unless you are selected in the Devils team.

SFL boss Roger Viney warned yesterday he would personally ensure all AWOL players copped the penalty."

"It's not good enough that we go to the trouble of organising the opportunity for our players to play at a higher level, and some of them appear disinterested in representing their competition," Viney said.
He said the main focus of the representative games was to increase the standard of Tasmania's three regional competitions.
"I would like to see these events bringing together the administrations in pursuit of the same goal, that being the improvement of footy in this state and underpinning the Devils (VFL side)," Viney said.

So what is this blokes main agenda the good of Football or "underpinning the Devils" When are they going to realise that our main agenda doesn't include the "honour" of playing for the Devils.

Do you get any match payments for playing in the Rep side or reimbursed any travel costs?

http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,21787929-13222,00.html

Maybe if the d*&^heads at the SFL had orginised properely in the first place, had trainers at the first session when there was a greater number of players there, then the players in question who have said they are not going to play would be showing more interest and wouldn't have organised a weekend away.
The SFL have no right to ban any player as they should have had their act together in the first place.

If they do go ahead and ban players they are going to be in some ripe old SHIT!

They aren't going to be in any shit at all. The CLUBS that control the vote at the SFL meetings vote UNANIMOUSLY for the bans. There were no if's or but's about it.

So does this mean a club like Dodges which has a few of their players like curran etc will stand by and see them suspended for 3 weeks? (not that I'm saying that he didnt attend - in fact I have no idea who went and who didnt.).

The Barge - Useful_Idiot challenge cup. Winner gets a years supply of Pluto pups or dinkum dogs.

As much as im quite partial to the odd pluto pup and dinkum dogs im afraid im fighting very much out of my wight division here against ol Barge and will have to conseed the cup to bargeland as it would get very ugly in this competition in a very one sided affair. Im quite happy to declare him the winner as he most definately is THE HOT DOG KING!

Hot dogs mate, Hot dogs!

Barge was to Claremont what Dermott Brereton was to Collingwood.....merely a large distraction for opposing teams who weren't sure whether he could play or not so they put a key defensive player on him......would that be right Barge?

Wilbur35, have you forgotten so quickly all those games I won single handedly when we both wore the black and white guernsey?

Have you forgotten all the screamers I took?

All the chicks I brought through the gate, hoping to see their heart throb?

Don't worry about Dermie, given our era was the early 90's, make no mistake about it, I was the Tony Modra of the day!

It was when one sexually liberated young lady (read: Glenorchy sl.t) said to me one night at Maloney's "Hey, you're (name witheld to protect my hermit like privacy). You play for Glenorchy don' t you?!" that I knew I was a superstar!

It's these qualities that has the youngsters on here such as Setlikejelly wishing upon a star that one day they will get to meet their hero!

The Man!

The King of Kings!

The legend known simply as ....... Barge!

Donvito, it eats you all up inside that you know you have never inspired a generation quite like I did, and quite frankly you never will!

As relates to the BARGE-roorat Cup, or more so the SFL Regional League side:

Oz, you seem to be in the know, is it true that in relation to some glaring omissions, W.Fox replied when asked "Which games have you been watching?" replied with "Na, I've just picked the squad going on the mentions in the paper!" ???

How would he know what kind of player he was picking?

I'll ask again, how the f..k is Adrian Burdon not in the squad?

Is the forward line going to be so good that he's not up to scratch?

As for the supposed bans, I'll have a quiet $5 on Cadoras-Sportsbet that they don't happen.

They've (The SFL) threatened these for years in these Rep games!

Here's a question for my Northern comrade, roorat - Are the Northerners up there pissing themselves laughing at the state of the Regional League squad?

As relates to the BARGE-roorat Cup, or more so the SFL Regional League side:

Here's a question for my Northern comrade, roorat - Are the Northerners up there pissing themselves laughing at the state of the Regional League squad?
In all honesty I think we treat it as a non event much like you guys. I really can't see the point of it, what does it prove especially if the best team isn't picked. I also can't see the point of risking injury in the middle of the season and players having to train for their club and for the regional side. I think most would rather have the weekend off to get over niggling injuries and have a bit of R & R.
It would probably create more interest to have the Premiers of the SFL play the NTFL and premiers of the Regional league play the NTFA a couple of weeks after the Grand Finals

Hey can one tell me about a lad called Gary "Shippy"Shipton plays up north for Hillwood looks pretty good at Tafe Footy played in last years Flag winning side for South L'ton now AC at hillwood
cheers

It would probably create more interest to have the Premiers of the SFL play the NTFL and premiers of the Regional league play the NTFA a couple of weeks after the Grand Finals

Good suggestion, fellow icon.

And to make it worthwhile have a substantial cash prize up for grabs.

Only problem is, if it's like the old State Amateur Grand Finals and held a week later, both teams are still pissed!

Hey Wilbur35, you sure OHA have named enough in the paper for today's clash, a squad of 28?

Whats this?

No comments on today's games??? Everyone's internet connections must be down!

Channel got flogged by Kermandie I left about 15 mins before the end so not sure of the final score but it was over a hundred points - not very entertaining football at all. Very painful to watch actually.

However I must congratulate Kermandie as they unveiled the shortest footballer I have seen so far in their Reserves side. Number 33. Must be 4 foot 9 or 10 easily. Beating Channel's retired 400+ gamer Kenny Smith by at least under a foot.

Any other scores?

The tribunal results for the SFL are up on this webpage now.

http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-3049-0-0-0&a=TRIB

Barge - Your fellow pluto pup :D muncher has got the biggest suspension (6 weeks) for decking one of our fellas so far apart from that Michael Latham with 52 weeks for doing fook knows what.

Noted in today's paper that Di - Ienno has done a runner from Hobart to Lauderdale....does this signal a start of an exodus?

Whats this?

No comments on today's games??? Everyone's internet connections must be down!

Channel got flogged by Kermandie I left about 15 mins before the end so not sure of the final score but it was over a hundred points - not very entertaining football at all. Very painful to watch actually.

However I must congratulate Kermandie as they unveiled the shortest footballer I have seen so far in their Reserves side. Number 33. Must be 4 foot 9 or 10 easily. Beating Channel's retired 400+ gamer Kenny Smith by at least under a foot.

Any other scores?
Norfick beat Hobart by 20-odd as did Clarence over Glenorchy.
North Hobart beat Kingborough by about 8 goals in a free scoring game, Lauderdale beat Brighton by 3 goals.
Kermandie beat Channel by 165 points, Central Hawks and Lindisfarne both lost. Didn't see the others results.

Cadoras, Kenny Smith was short, but there was one bloke who played two's at Hobart and later at North Hobart - Shane Allie - was even shorter. :p

The story I heard on DiIenno was that he wanted Hobart to pay his petrol money to come down from Lonnie every week to play, when Hobart said they wouldn't (obviously still not all that flush with cash) and made a suggestion that he play with a club up North while he was based up there - ala Matty Harvey, who is playing with an NTFA club - he went to Lauderdale, and they offered to pay his petrol money on top of his match fee, so he signed with them and quit Hobart.
Basically left Hobart for money reasons - no good of having him at the club if that's his biggest motivation.

Norfick beat Hobart by 20-odd as did Clarence over Glenorchy.
North Hobart beat Kingborough by about 8 goals in a free scoring game, Lauderdale beat Brighton by 3 goals.
Kermandie beat Channel by 165 points, Central Hawks and Lindisfarne both lost. Didn't see the others results.

Cadoras, Kenny Smith was short, but there was one bloke who played two's at Hobart and later at North Hobart - Shane Allie - was even shorter. :p

The story I heard on DiIenno was that he wanted Hobart to pay his petrol money to come down from Lonnie every week to play, when Hobart said they wouldn't (obviously still not all that flush with cash) and made a suggestion that he play with a club up North while he was based up there - ala Matty Harvey, who is playing with an NTFA club - he went to Lauderdale, and they offered to pay his petrol money on top of his match fee, so he signed with them and quit Hobart.
Basically left Hobart for money reasons - no good of having him at the club if that's his biggest motivation.
Rumour has it he is being payed5 times what he is worth .

Rumour has it he is being payed5 times what he is worth.
Wouldn't surprise me. That's why most of the ones that came from Lauderdale to Hobart a year or so back went back to Lauderdale, because they were being paid more at Lauderdale.
I wouldn't have a clue how the Lions are travelling these days money-wise, don't really care to be honest.
They got some big sponsor or something, whether they're doing that great out of it, who knows.
Most of the players running around these days aren't worth what they're being paid given the shit standard lets be honest , but if that's how they want it, let 'em go.
No good of keeping them if they keep wanting more and more and the club can't pay it.
The club's bigger than the individual, well that's how it used to be anyway, I'm not so sure now...

billybrownless16 said:
Starring at full back for Old Scotch with the helmet on
Yeah he's good player is Matt With The Hat, always gives a contest, probably past his very best days now given that he's getting a bit older but still is good.
Played a major role in Hobart's 1999 premiership and played really well under Gillbee, McGregor stuffed him around a bit when he coached Hobart and he kinda lost interest for awhile there apparently, glad to see him doing well though.

SFL Premier League - Seniors
New Norfolk 18.13 (121) - Hobart Lions 13.16 (94)
Clarence 18.14 (122) - Glenorchy 13.13 (91)
North Hobart 24.18 (162) - Kingborough 14.12 (96)
Lauderdale 10.20 (80) - Brighton 9.10 (64)

SFL Premier League - Reserves
New Norfolk 16.12 (108) - Hobart Lions 8.9 (57)
Clarence 15.15 (105) - Glenorchy 7.10 (52)
North Hobart 23.21 (159) - Kingborough 8.9 (57)
Lauderdale 13.15 (93) - Brighton 6.7 (43)

SFL Premier League - Under 19's
Hobart Lions 12.8 (80) - New Norfolk 6.4 (40)
Glenorchy 15.15 (105) - Clarence 4.7 (31)
North Hobart 9.12 (66) - Kingborough 8.11 (59)
Lauderdale 12.13 (85) - Brighton 5.6 (36)

SFL Regional League - Seniors
Dodges Ferry 18.14 (122) - Central Hawks 14.14 (98)
Huonville Lions 18.15 (123) - Cygnet 14.14 (98)
Kermandie 32.24 (216) - Channel 7.8 (50)
Claremont 19.22 (136) - Triabunna 7.7 (49)
Sorell defeated Lindisfarne - Score not published.

SFL Regional League - Reserves
Dodges Ferry 11.18 (84) - Central Hawks 9.15 (69)
Cygnet 15.16 (106) - Huonville Lions 4.5 (29)
Kermandie 11.19 (85) - Channel 12.7 (79)
Claremont 22.25 (157) - Triabunna 3.3 (21)
Lindisfarne v Sorell - Score not published.

SFL Regional League - Under 17's
Huonville Lions 14.20 (104) - Cygnet 2.2 (14)
Kermandie 9.7 (61) - Channel 8.7 (55)

NTFL - Seniors
Devonport 28.23 (191) - Penguin 4.4 (28)
Smithton 30.16 (196) - East Devonport 6.5 (41)
Ulverstone 26.10 (166) - Sth Launceston 16.10 (106)
Latrobe 16.19 (115) - Wynyard 14.12 (96)

NTFA Division One - Seniors
George Town 14.12 (96) - Scottsdale 10.12 (72)
Longford 20.12 (132) - Hillwood 9.8 (62)
Bracknell 18.15 (123) - Rocherlea 10.15 (75)
Deloraine 16.11 (107) - Bridgenorth 15.8 (98)

Old Scholars FA - Seniors
DOSA 15.15 (105) - Hutchins 12.17 (89)
University 18.20 (128) - St Virgil's 16.7 (103)
Richmond 15.13 (103) - OHA 11.10 (76)

Old Scholars FA - Reserves
DOSA 13.12 (90) - Hutchins 13.9 (87)
University 17.13 (115) - St Virgil's 9.20 (74)
OHA 22.12 (144) - Richmond 6.8 (44)

ODFA - Seniors
Woodsdale 26.17 (173) - Campania 2.3 (15)

Scores Courtesy: Sunday Tasmanian.