Tasmanian Football Thread

1) And who might that be Lion?

2) I take it from Menza's comments that he doesn't appear to be in agreeance with Rainbird's alleged salary OR he is trying his best not to confirm it!

3) Claremont started training last night and Lindisfarne start training this Wednesday.

Wilbur35, this never happened in our day. I remember the first training run for Claremont in 1995 was the start of FEBRUARY!

Oh how times change!

4) Ben Clark will stay at North Hobart after declining Claremont's offer of alot less that the reported $400 per game reported on here. My info comes froma very VERY reliable source! (Here's looking at you kid!) ;)

5) Menza, do you give much thought these days to your former clubs, ie, New Norfolk, Brighton and University?

3) Claremont started training last night and Lindisfarne start training this Wednesday.

A group of between 6 -12 "Farne" players have been training together for the last 3/4 weeks. Official training starts tonight under the watchful eye of Dave "The Doctor" Scott. (Fitness Coach).
All Players and intending players are welcome to attend. For further info PM me or check out www.lfc.org.au

5) Menza, do you give much thought these days to your former clubs, ie, New Norfolk, Brighton and University?

Barge, Here are my thoughts:

New Norfolk - Maybe I was young and impressionable when I was growing up but the place was full of great players. We never really did any good apart from 82' + 83'.
When I was playing we were getting thrashed week in week out but we did have a couple of up-set wins.
I will always have a soft spot for the Eagles (not the hawks).

Brighton - Had a great times when I was there, Played with some good players.
Things have changed.

Uni - A great club, The boys love their piss. The place has a great atmosphere when you can get the boys there.
I did hear a rumor early in the year that players Menzie, Thrasher and Gulliver were going back to the rainbows to play reserves. Hasn't eventuated this year but you never know. Always said I would like to go back and just have a kick in the ressies. This might be a better option for me instead of super rules!

1)

Wilbur35, this never happened in our day. I remember the first training run for Claremont in 1995 was the start of FEBRUARY!

Oh how times change!

Yes, Barge, I remember in 1995 the Ships started training at the end of January and it just got earlier and earlier each year.

Uni love the piss? That appears to be common theme with OSFA clubs, OHA's rep for liking to party has certainly been strong for many years.

Yes, Barge, I remember in 1995 the Ships started training at the end of January and it just got earlier and earlier each year.

Uni love the piss? That appears to be common theme with OSFA clubs, OHA's rep for liking to party has certainly been strong for many years.

Was the same at Friends too, had a lot more fun off the field than on it while I was there. May have been one of the reasons why we were so bad, probably should have concentrated on the game more...

I think the OSFA has a lot more relaxed and fun culture about it, which is why there is a lot more players interested in playing in it nowadays. I believe the comp will only get stronger in the next few years, with people having less time to commit to sport these days.

If anyone wants a copy of the AFL Tas presentation PM me.
I'm wondering if that's a copy of the same report that was conspicuously left on the desk at work for me to have a read through tonight.
'The AFL is our friend.... not our enemy! was one quote I had a good laugh at.
Something I didn't laugh at though was the 'family tree' of how the proposed model of clubs were to be set up.

► Tassie Hawks (until 2011) (Leaching pack of c*nts)
► Tassie Devils (for at least another 3 VFL seasons)
► The proposed nine Statewide 'clubs'.
► Then there were the 'community clubs' from each region.

I happened to read the Premier league clubs:
● Clarence
● Glenorchy
● New Norfolk
● North Hobart
● Kingborough
● Brighton
Hobart-Sandy Bay
● Lauderdale

Hang on a sec!
What's this Hobart-Sandy Bay business?
● Since when has there been any official dialogue on joining the Hobart senior club and Sandy Bay juniors together to help bring back part of a senior Sandy Bay?
I knew about the junior teams discussing a proposal to give the SBJFC players a 'clear pathway to Premier League football', but never any proposal to almost create a merged entity if this is to believed.

● Is there (once again) something that the Hobart board has hidden from everybody?
They've been good at hiding things for several years - wonder if they'll actually produce a financial report for their 30 financial members this year?

● Have AFL Tasmania got some sort of inside knowledge of a proposed alignment of HFC and Sandy Bay to bring back the Seagulls in some capacity at senior level?

The way Hobart's been run into the ground in the last four years it makes sense and it certainly answers a few more questions.

stevo148 said:
Todd Lewis appointed coach of Hobart for two years, option of one more (hobartfc.com)
I picked that like a dirty nose...

What about the NTFA Clubs?
Deloraine​

Launceston​

South Launceston​

Longford​

George Town​

Scottsdale​

North Launceston​

Prospect (new senior
Club)
Where are they expecting to form this one from? I know the Prospects sharks juniors have a good following but I hope they aren't relying on this to create a whole new club? Or are they going to can all the other comps in the state such as NTFA div 2 to fill these teams? Seein that they are too insignificant to them for much of a a mention​

The Devils provide the opportunity for the state of Tasmania to participate in the nations best competition outside the AFL (the gap between the VFL and NTFL/SFL is enormous – just ask the players who have played in the VFL)​

The "gap" wasn't always "enormous" until AFL Tas stuffed up footy in Tassie​

Loved this bit

"The absolute best management model for any Australian Football competition is for Clubs to focus on the management of Clubs and for competitions to be managed by independent administrators (i.e. a Commission type model)."

More jobs for the "Boys"? Or is Wade modelling himself on Demetriou?​

What about the NTFA Clubs?
Deloraine​

Launceston​

South Launceston​

Longford​

George Town​

Scottsdale​

North Launceston​

Prospect (new senior
Club)
Where are they expecting to form this one from? I know the Prospects sharks juniors have a good following but I hope they aren't relying on this to create a whole new club? Or are they going to can all the other comps in the state such as NTFA div 2 to fill these teams? Seein that they are too insignificant to them for much of a a mention​

The "gap" wasn't always "enormous" until AFL Tas stuffed up footy in Tassie​
Roo Rat, I know for a fact that AFLTAS have approached St Pat's Old Boys about being involved in the new Prospect team. They are not interested!!

Found this interestin snippet in another thread

If my memory is correct, I can remember reading in the Mercury a few days ago about the Devil's signing up a new recruit.
Is this the same bloke they "Signed" up?

THE AFL has announced the line-up of unlisted players who have been given permission to train with AFL clubs.

Hawthorn - James Allen (Box Hill Hawks); Luke Barker (Box Hills Hawks); Nathan Batsanis rookie); Brett Collins (Hawthorn rookie); Sam Gibson (Hawthorn rookie);:confused: Tom Langford (Port Melbourne);:confused: Ben Sharp Eagles rookie); Callum Urch (Kangaroos)

Above information courtesy of this thread

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=394836

Does this mean that if he gets picked up by Hawthorn in the draft - the Devil's will miss out on him, isn't it a bit premature to be trumpeting out the signing of a new recruit if there is a chance that he might not end up playing for them after all?:thumbsdown::thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

Good to see Nathan Grima having a run at Port in here.

Port Adelaide
- Jesse Aish (Norwood); Lachlan Button (Glenelg); Tom Carroll (South Adelaide); Ryan Darling (Sturt); Aaron Day (Glenelg); Sam Fairclough (Woodville West Torrens); Nathan Grima (Central Districts); Daniel Havelberg (Central Districts); Matthew Jaensch (Sturt); Luke Jarrad (Woodville West Torrens); Scott Luders (West Adelaide); Alan Obst (Central Districts); Steve Wenman (West Adelaide)

Todd Lewis according to the Mercury was unsure about taking the Hobart job because he was concerned they may be "too far behind the other clubs" in terms of preparation.

What, starting training on Nov 12 will have them miles behind the rest of the pack?

Methinks he was more worried about the apparent exodus en masse from the TCA.

Think you may also find he never played with Kermandie as the Mercury has said on 2 ocassions! Think they might mean his 1 year stint with Lindisfarne in 1997.

Why all the big stories about this little germ in recent weeks? Can't recall Brighton carrying on like pork chops about the appointment of Craig Stevenson the other week.

Heard a rumour big Big Stevo is on $13,000 as a non playing coach!

How close to the mark does this sound, MONNA?

Almost forgot this one! Maybe good ol Cadoras and the very quiet of recent times setlikejelly might be able to enlighten us ......

Heard that former Sandy Bay, Kingston, Southern Cats and Channel player and multiple time Hutchins Premiership Coach Adam Doran has been given the job of coching the Channel boys in 2008!

The question is (a) how much will it cost to get him there and (b) how much will it cost to bring all the Hutchins pretty boys with him?!

Almost forgot this one! Maybe good ol Cadoras and the very quiet of recent times setlikejelly might be able to enlighten us ......

Heard that former Sandy Bay, Kingston, Southern Cats and Channel player and multiple time Hutchins Premiership Coach Adam Doran has been given the job of coching the Channel boys in 2008!

The question is (a) how much will it cost to get him there and (b) how much will it cost to bring all the Hutchins pretty boys with him?!

Well....Master Barge,

"I havent heard anything"

However I hate to say this, but the little bird who passed you that bit of information seems to have been feeding you a bit of hot air.

Have a look at today's Mercury - Page 90, near the left hand bottom corner there is a re-advertisement for the Senior coaching positions, -Senior, Assistant and Senior Players with "excellent" renumnerations. By "excellent" renumerations, your guess is as good as mine.

Looks like the Reserves and Colts coaches positions have been filled, otherwise they would have re advertised that as well.

Whilst "I havent heard anything definite" - the names that have been doing the rounds are Sam Sinnit for the Reserves and Paul Loveluck for the Colts.

So guess Master Barge, it doesn look like Doran and the pretty boys from Hutchins haven quite arrived yet. Otherwise the Channel Football Club wouldnt be wasting money on advertising if this was the case.

Does this answer your questions?

How about some feedback on the Claremont Football Club? - recruits, player transfers etc?

Where did you hear that Barge? It'd be great if true...but I'm with Cadoras, they wouldn't waste the money to advertise it would they?

Now now, don't worry. When I heard it first I questioned it's validity, My source said they heard it from "Channel guy Rob Wallace" if that clears things up at all ?!?!?!?!?!

Have heard from the Claremont Dinner tonight the worst kept secret in town and that is that Ben Atkin is coaching the Magpies for 2008.

Now now, don't worry. When I heard it first I questioned it's validity, My source said they heard it from "Channel guy Rob Wallace" if that clears things up at all ?!?!?!?!?!

Have heard from the Claremont Dinner tonight the worst kept secret in town and that is that Ben Atkin is coaching the Magpies for 2008.

Robbie Wallace part owns the butchery down Cygnet with Darren Martin.

I will tell you a story about him that is unrelated to football. A couple of years ago in a tuna comp, Rob and a few of his mates were fishing in this boat down off Tasman Island when all of their rods went off, then went back to normal. Instead of winding in the lines to check to see if their lures were still on, they kept trawling for a few more hours while sinking a few cold ones.
When they decided to change lures, after winding them in, they discovered there was nothing at the end of their lines - the couta had bitten them off the first time. All that trawling for nothing:D

Wouldn't have a clue if Doran and the pretty boys are true or not. But butchers are famous for gossiping with their customers and stretching the truth a little bit arent they.

JellyBean has contacts in the committee so he would be in a better position to verify this than me.

What happened to D.Barrow the coach of last two years or so? has he stepped down to make way for B.Atkin?

Announced at the Hutchins B&F well over a month ago that Doran has re-signed as Hutchins senior coach for 2008. Can put that rumor to bed.

HBT/Sandy BAy merger

"What's this Hobart-Sandy Bay business?"

Kingpin, I have just got back from holidays and was flicking through the posts and saw this.

I know you are against it and as you know I am pro HBT/Sandy Bay but what's the latest?

Any news on this one?

Duff.

Re: HBT/Sandy BAy merger

Kingpin said:
What's this Hobart-Sandy Bay business?

DuffTV said:
Kingpin, I have just got back from holidays and was flicking through the posts and saw this.

I know you are against it and as you know I am pro HBT/Sandy Bay but what's the latest?

Any news on this one?

Duff.
G'day Duff - Hope the holiday was a good one.

No idea on the latest I only read the report on my desk at work and queried it.

All I knew was that the SFL were trying to get talks back underway between Hobart Football Club (minus a particular person that stuffed it all up last time - no prizes for correct guesses there) and the Sandy Bay Junior Football Club in order to give the Sandy Bay juniors a clear pathway to going up to the Premier League.
This had nothing to do at all with an alignment of the senior arm of the HFC merging with them to reinstate the Sandy Bay Football Club in part, by way of a merger to create a Hobart-Sandy Bay Football Club.
Reading this report, it had all the other senior clubs listed, but had Hobart as merged with Sandy Bay, to which I'm greatly unimpressed with.
Junior level is fine - I don't have any problem with that - but after this absolute fiasco that has been the Hobart "Lions" and the way the club was sold out, I do not want my club sold out again.

Basically, Hobart Football Club doesn't need to merge with the Bay at senior level, Hobart's troubles are of their own making and can be solved very, very easily should certain people be removed from office.
Their dodgy practices are an absolute disgrace and their ineptitude at running that club should be investigated further.
Furthermore, Hobart cannot use the tired old "Kingborough won't let us have our colours or jumper or emblem!" standard cop-out line any longer - because in short, that's absolute bullshit.
If they want to reinstate it, they could, and be wearing it in 2008 and with that, they may have more than 30 financial members (they had 242 only 4 years ago) and crowds of better than 200 at their games, have a relationship with the Old Players Association which has no involvement with the current club whatsoever - and generally be a club with some sort of standing - not this cheap, shoddy imitation football club that's there now.

Hobart needs hijacking :thumbsu:

I don't know what is going on with the senior job. I know the 2's and colts have been filled, but have no idea about the senior gig, although they would want to fill it very soon, seeing as though most of the clubs have started training. I have had no involvement with the club at all since the end of the season, and am not even thinking about footy till next year...

noticed in the merc it said matty drury was training with the devils again... anyone heard where he will be playing next yr club wise?

He'd have to be a certainty to be picked for the Devils wouldn't he?

He wouldn't be back there if he wasn't... Can't see him playing too many with the tigers... Apparently the tiges have had approx 50 to each of their training sessions so far, although a large number of these have been u17 and u19 players. If they keep their young group together, they could be a force in approx 3-4 years time (they are prob 2 years behind Lauderdale in this regard).